Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/04/2024, 6/24/2024, 8/08/2024, 8/12/2024, 8/13/2024, 2/24/2025, 10/01/2025, 10/06/2025, 12/03/2025, 12/08/2025 and 1/09/2026 seems to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant elect claims 1-16 without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
4. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 6 and 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, lines 4-5,”galvanically isolated ports to achieve meet the percentage of power drawn” should be –to achieve the percentage--. Similar correction is required in claim 9.
Claim 6, line 1, “wherein the at least one controller” should be –wherein at least one controller--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khaligh et. al. US Publication 20220321016 (Khaligh) in view of Neubert, M. (2020). “Modeling, synthesis and operation of multiport-active bridge converters” (Doctoral dissertation, Dissertation, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen, 2020 (Neubert).
Regarding claim 1, Khaligh discloses a modular multiport power system(e.g. 100)(Fig.1) comprising:
a central transformer (e.g. 120)(Fig. 1);
a plurality of ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N) (Fig. 1) inductively coupled to the central transformer (e.g. 120)(Fig. 1) via windings;
one or more voltage sensors and/or one or more current sensors (e.g. Fig. 35)(Para [0131], “Each controller block 3506, 3556 can comprise and/or be defined by a set of proportional and integral control (e.g., G(s)), which takes sampled port voltages 3512 and/or currents 3514 (measured using voltage and current sensors) as feedback and makes the error between the sampled feedback and reference as zero”)
for each of the plurality of ports (i.e., 102-N and 112-n) (Fig. 1) configured to
detect voltage and/or current characteristics of each of the plurality of ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1); Examiner notes that “one or more voltage sensors and/or one or more current sensors” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present.
at least one controller (e.g. Fig. 35 and 36) operable to selectively isolate
one or more of the plurality of ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1);
wherein each of the plurality of ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1) are connected to one or more sources and/or loads within an electric power grid (e.g. 120-1)(Fig. 1);
wherein the at least one controller (e.g. Fig. 35 and 36) is configured to
selectively charge and/or discharge the one or more sources and/or loads (para [0133], “In some embodiments, the power transfer for a port can be interrupted, or a port can be excluded from the system by hardware methods and/or software methods. For example, exemplary hardware methods can be implemented by adding a series back-to-back switch and operating it appropriately”); Examiner notes that “one or more sources and/or loads” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present.
wherein each of the plurality of ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1) includes a plurality of metal- oxide semiconductor field effect transistors (MOSFET) or integrated gate bipolar transistors (IGBT) in an AC switch or H-bridge configuration (e.g. Fig. 2A-2F); and
wherein the at least one controller is operable to stop MOSFET or IGBT switching by the plurality of MOSFETs or IGBTs on one or more of the plurality of galvanically isolated ports in response to the voltage and/or current characteristics detected by the one or more voltage sensors and/or the one or more current sensors (para [0085], “In operation, the line-frequency rectifier MOSFETs Q1:1 and Q1:3 can turn on when the AC voltage is greater than zero, and the MOSFETs Q1:2 and Q1:4 can turn on when the AC voltage is less than zero.”….” control of the MAB converter can be implemented using a single digital signal processor (DSP) microcontroller, multiple DSP microcontrollers, a field-programmable-gate-array-based (FPGA-based) solution”). Examiner notes that “one or more voltage sensors and/or the one or more current sensors” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present.
Khaligh discloses the plurality of isolated ports but fail to disclose a plurality of galvanically isolated ports.
However, Neubert in the same field of endeavor discloses the use of galvanically isolated ports (for example, see section Multiport Converters, page 5 line 2) for safety and reliable performance by preventing electrical faults and noises transferring between circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a plurality of galvanically isolated ports in Khaligh, as taught by Neubert, in order to prevent electrical faults and noises transferring between circuits.
Regarding claim 2, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses the plurality of isolated ports (e.g. 102-N and 112- N)(Fig. 1) including a decoupling impedance module (e.g. 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 and 414)(Fig. 4) spanning connection points between the plurality of isolated ports (e.g. 102-N and 112- N)(Fig. 1) and the central transformer (e.g. 120)(Fig. 1), wherein the decoupling impedance module (e.g. 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 and 414)(Fig. 4) includes an inductor, a capacitor, a resistor, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Khaligh discloses wherein the plurality of galvanically isolated ports includes a combination of AC and DC ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1). Regarding claim 4, Khaligh discloses wherein the one or more current sensors include open-loop, closed-loop, or flux gate current sensors (e.g. Fig. 35b).
Regarding claim 5, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the at least one controller utilizes zero voltage switching (ZVS) or zero current switching (ZCS)(Para [0062], “a power management control strategy for the MAB converter can be employed, for example, to provide for optimal RMS currents and zero-voltage switching (ZVS) of all MOSFET devices over an entire load range”) to manipulate current and/or voltage drawn by or supplied from the plurality of isolated ports.
Regarding claim 6, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the at least one controller receives instructions (e.g. Fig. 35A, 35B and 36) to control a percentage of power drawn by or supplied from one of the plurality of isolated ports (Para [0130], “Referring to FIGS. 35A-35B, exemplary closed-loop control schemes for an n-port MAB converter are shown, with FIG. 35A illustrating a scheme 3500 for output voltage control and FIG. 35B illustrating a scheme 3550 for output current control”), and
wherein the at least one controller (e.g. 3506,3556)(Fig. 35A/B) is operable to adjust a duty cycle and/or phase for at least one of the plurality of isolated ports (para [0132], “The optimal trajectory subsystem 3504 or 3554 can generate steady-state duty ratios 3516 and phase shifts 3518 based on the generalized harmonic analysis. The steady-state duty ratios 3516 and phase angle differences 3518 can act as feedforward terms and can be added to the respective control loop subsystem output that is fed to the PWM/PSM block 3510 or 3560. The PWM/PSM block 3510 or 3560 in the control loop subsystem 3502 or 3552 can then be used to generate gate pulses 3520 or 3570 with appropriate deadtimes for the switches in the active bridges of various ports”) to achieve meet the percentage of power drawn by or supplied from the one of the plurality isolated ports (e.g. Fig. 36).
Regarding claim 8, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the plurality of isolated ports includes four or more ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses the plurality of isolated ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1) including a decoupling impedance module (e.g. 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 and 414)(Fig. 4), wherein the decoupling impedance module (e.g. 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 and 414)(Fig. 4) includes an inductor, a capacitor, a resistor, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses the plurality of isolated ports includes a combination of AC and DC ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the one or more current sensors include open-loop, closed-loop, or flux gate current sensors (e.g. Fig. 35b).
Regarding claim 14, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the one or more sources and/or loads include at least one battery (e.g. 512a)(Fig. 5b), at least one solar cell, at least one wind turbine, at least one power plant, at least one microgrid, at least one steam turbine, and/or at least one electric vehicle (para [0061], “Indeed, based on the teachings of the present disclosure, a multi-port converter can be developed for use in any application having multiple voltage ports and/or power flow directions, such as, but not limited to, renewable energy generation and storage, and electric aircrafts”). Examiner notes that “one or more sources and/or loads” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present.
Regarding claim 15, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the at least one controller utilizes zero voltage switching (ZVS) or zero current switching (ZCS)(Para [0062], “a power management control strategy for the MAB converter can be employed, for example, to provide for optimal RMS currents and zero-voltage switching (ZVS) of all MOSFET devices over an entire load range”) to manipulate current and/or voltage drawn by or supplied from the plurality of isolated ports.
Regarding claim 16, Regarding claim 22, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention, more particularly Khaligh discloses wherein the plurality of isolated ports includes four or more ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1).
8. Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khaligh et. al. US Publication 20220321016 (Khaligh) in view of Neubert, M. (2020). “Modeling, synthesis and operation of multiport-active bridge converters” (Doctoral dissertation, Dissertation, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen, 2020 (Neubert) in further view of Hall et. al. U.S. Publication 20200313539 (Hall).
Regarding claim 7, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses the use of computer and predictable technology to determine which of the plurality of galvanically isolated ports to disconnect based on the voltage and/or current characteristics detected by the one or more voltage sensors and/or one or more current sensors but fails to specifically disclose at least one controller including at least one artificial intelligence module.
However, Hall in the same field of endeavor discloses a control manipulation module (e.g. 130)(Fig. 1A) selecting values based on an artificial intelligence predictable technology (Para [0114], “the control manipulation module 130 iteratively modify the control parameter(s) 105 by selecting different values for the control parameter(s) 105 based on an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm 132”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide wherein the at least one controller includes at least one artificial intelligence module configured to determine which of the plurality of galvanically isolated ports to disconnect, ramp up, or ramp down based on the voltage and/or current characteristics detected by the one or more voltage sensors and/or one or more current sensor in Khaligh in view of Neubert, as taught by Hall, in order to use a control with artificial intelligence as predictable technology.
Regarding claim 9, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, discloses a modular multiport power system (e.g. 100)(Fig. 1), comprising:
a central transformer (e.g. 120)(Fig. 1);
a plurality of isolated ports (i.e., 102-n and 112-n) (Fig. 1) coupled via inductive, capacitive, resistive, or hybrid coupling methods to the central transformer (i.e., 120) (Fig. 1) via windings;
one or more voltage sensors and/or one or more current sensors (e.g. Fig. 35)(Para [0131], “Each controller block 3506, 3556 can comprise and/or be defined by a set of proportional and integral control (e.g., G(s)), which takes sampled port voltages 3512 and/or currents 3514 (measured using voltage and current sensors) as feedback and makes the error between the sampled feedback and reference as zero”) for each of the plurality of isolated ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1) configured to detect voltage and/or current characteristics of each of the plurality of isolated ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1); Examiner notes that “one or more voltage sensors and/or one or more current sensors” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present; and
wherein each of the plurality of isolated ports (e.g. 102-N and 112-N)(Fig. 1) are connected to one or more sources and/or loads (e.g. Fig. 1); Examiner notes that “one or more sources and/or loads” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present.
wherein the at least one controller receives instructions (e.g. Fig. 35A, 35B and 36) to control a percentage of power drawn by or supplied from one of the plurality of isolated ports (Para [0130], “Referring to FIGS. 35A-35B, exemplary closed-loop control schemes for an n-port MAB converter are shown, with FIG. 35A illustrating a scheme 3500 for output voltage control and FIG. 35B illustrating a scheme 3550 for output current control”); and
wherein the at least one controller (e.g. 3506,3556)(Fig. 35A/B) is operable to adjust respective on-off duty cycles and/or phasing of the on-off duty cycles with respect to other ports (para [0132], “The optimal trajectory subsystem 3504 or 3554 can generate steady-state duty ratios 3516 and phase shifts 3518 based on the generalized harmonic analysis. The steady-state duty ratios 3516 and phase angle differences 3518 can act as feedforward terms and can be added to the respective control loop subsystem output that is fed to the PWM/PSM block 3510 or 3560. The PWM/PSM block 3510 or 3560 in the control loop subsystem 3502 or 3552 can then be used to generate gate pulses 3520 or 3570 with appropriate deadtimes for the switches in the active bridges of various ports”), to achieve meet the percentage of power drawn by or supplied from the one of the plurality isolated ports (e.g. Fig. 36).
Khaligh discloses the plurality of isolated ports but fail to disclose a plurality of galvanically isolated ports. Neubert in the same field of endeavor discloses the use of galvanically isolated ports (for example, see section Multiport Converters, page 5 line 2) for safety and reliable performance by preventing electrical faults and noises transferring between circuits. Khaligh also fails to disclose at least one controller, including an artificial intelligence module, operable to selectively manipulate one or more of the plurality of galvanically isolated ports.
However, Hall in the same field of endeavor discloses a control manipulation module (e.g. 130)(Fig. 1A) selecting values based on an artificial intelligence predictable technology (Para [0114], “the control manipulation module 130 iteratively modify the control parameter(s) 105 by selecting different values for the control parameter(s) 105 based on an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm 132”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide at least one controller, including an artificial intelligence module, operable to selectively manipulate one or more of the plurality of galvanically isolated ports in Khaligh in view of Neubert, as taught by Hall, in order to use a control with artificial intelligence as predictable technology
9. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khaligh et. al. US Publication 20220321016 (Khaligh) in view of Neubert, M. (2020). “Modeling, synthesis and operation of multiport-active bridge converters” (Doctoral dissertation, Dissertation, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen, 2020 (Neubert) in further view of Kangas, CN Document 101320942 (Kangas).
Regarding claim 13, Khaligh in view of Neubert, as applied in linking claims, fail to discloses a user interface, and wherein a user interface is configured to receive data from the one or more voltage sensors and/or the one or more current sensors and to indicate which ports have faults. Examiner notes that “one or more voltage sensors and/or the one or more current sensors” can be read multiple ways and may make it unclear whether the minimum required elements include at least one of either type, or require both when present.
Kangas in the same field of endeavor discloses a user interface (e.g. 4)(Fig. 1) is configured to receive data from the one or more voltage sensors and/or the one or more current sensors and to indicate a fault.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a user interface, and wherein a user interface is configured to receive data from the one or more voltage sensors and/or the one or more current sensors and to indicate which ports have faults in Khaligh in view of Neubert, as taught by Kangas, in order to communicate user of a fault in the system.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN WALTER SOILEAU/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838