DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-16, and 18-24 were filed with the amendment dated 06/16/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/16/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 06/16/2026 overcome the previously set forth 35 USC 112 rejections.
Applicant contends that the language in claims 10 and 11 should not be interpretated under 35 USC 112f. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive.
With regard to independent claims 1 and 16, Applicant argues that Kirk fails to teach an external circumferential seal to reside between the top portion of the valve stem and the valve housing (see Remarks at page 12 and page 13). Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0390785 (“Moore”). Moore discloses an external circumferential seal (26) between a top portion of the valve stem (30) and the valve housing (20).
The rejection is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 4,153,096 (“Kirk”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0390785 (“Moore”).
With regard to claim 1, Kirk discloses a tubeless tire inflation valve (inflation valve 19; Figs 3-5). The phrase “tubeless” in the preamble is not given patentable weight. The preamble is not given patentable weight because the claim is drawn to a structure that is a self-contained description of the structure not relying on the preamble for completeness. (See MPEP 2111.02). The inflation valve (19) comprises: a valve housing (20) to be screwed onto (col. 3, lines 37-40) and sealed against a valve stem (30), the valve stem (30) protruding from a wheel onto which a pneumatic tire (22; see Fig 3) is mounted (col. 3, lines 34-36), wherein the valve stem (30) includes: a base portion with external threads (external threads on base portion shown in annotated Fig 4) for accepting corresponding internal threads of the valve housing (20) (threads mating with threads of 30 shown in annotated Fig 4); and a top portion (portion under external threads is considered to be a “top portion” as it is still an uppermost portion of 30) with a smooth external surface for sealing against the valve housing (30) (Fig 4 shows smooth external surface sealing against valve housing 30, see annotated Fig 4); and a poppet stem (24, col. 3, line 56) extending through a center of the valve housing (20), the poppet stem (24) axially aligned with the valve stem (30, see Fig 5) and the valve housing (20, see Figs 4-5), wherein: in a closed orientation (orientation in Fig 4) of the tubeless tire inflation valve (19), the poppet stem (24) circumferentially seats and seals against the valve housing (20; col. 3, lines 67 to col. 4, line 2; O-ring 40 on stem 24 seats and seals against flange 41); and in an open orientation (Fig 5 orientation) of the tubeless tire inflation valve (19), the poppet stem (24) mechanically seats against the valve stem (30 (because 24 seats on 34 of 30) and is open to fluid flow through the valve stem (30) and the valve housing (20) and around the poppet stem (24) (col 4, lines 24-38, see Fig 5).
Kirk discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing an external circumferential seal to reside between the top portion of the valve stem and the valve housing.
Moore teaches that it is known in the art to provide a tire inflation valve, similar to that of Kirk, and to modify the valve to include an external circumferential seal (26) to reside between the top portion (see annotated Fig 3, smooth surface portion of 30) of the valve stem (30) and the valve housing (20) (see para [0027] and Fig 3 of Moore).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add an external circumferential seal, such as taught by Moore, between the top portion of the valve stem and the valve housing of Kirk for the purpose of providing additional sealing between the valve stem and valve housing, such as taught by Moore (see Fig 3 and para [0027]).
With regard to claim 5, Kirk discloses that in the closed orientation (Fig 4 orientation) of the tubeless tire inflation valve (19), the poppet stem (24) is to be circumferentially seated against an internal circumferential seal within the valve housing (20) (stem 24 is sealed against O-ring 40, see Fig 4 and col. 3, lines 56-57).
With regard to claim 6, Kirk discloses that the internal circumferential seal (40) includes one or more O-rings or x-rings (O-ring; col. 3, lines 56-57).
With regard to claim 10, Kirk discloses that the poppet stem (24) includes a centering feature located at an end (bottom end) of the poppet stem (24) residing within the valve stem (30) (bottom end of 24 has a diameter that meets the broadly recited “centering feature” as it is enlarged enough to center and connect on 34 and is within 30 in orientation of Fig 5).
With regard to claim 11, Kirk discloses that the poppet stem (24) includes an anti-rotation feature located at an end (bottom end) of the poppet stem (24) residing within the valve housing (30) (bottom end of 24 is considered to have an anti-rotation feature as so broadly recited because the enlarged diameter larger than 34 minimizes rotation by the friction when pressed upon 34; bottom end of 24 is within 30 in orientation of Fig 5).
With regard to claim 12, Kirk discloses that the valve housing (20) includes tip threads (shown in annotated Fig 4) to accept corresponding fitting internal threads (internal threads can mate on external tip threads shown in Fig 4). The phrase “for a dust cap or an inflator fitting” is a statement of intended use and not given patentable weight (intended use of an apparatus does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. See MPEP 2114).
With regard to claim 13, Kirk discloses that valve stem is that of one of a Presta valve, a Schrader valve, or a Dunlop valve (the valve stem 30 is that of a Schrader valve, as so broadly recited, as it is a spring loaded stem valve, see Fig 4).
With regard to claim 14, Kirk discloses that the valve stem (30) fluidly connects to an interior of the pneumatic tire (22; col. 4, lines 64-68; and Fig 3).
With regard to claim 15, Kirk discloses that the valve housing (20) and the poppet stem (24) are removable from the valve stem (30) by unscrewing the valve housing (20) from the valve stem (30) and pulling the valve housing (20) away from the valve stem (30) (as can be seen by Fig 4, valve housing 20 is threaded onto valve stem 30, so can be removed by unthreading and pulling. Poppet stem 24 is within 20 and would be removed by the removal of the valve housing 20; col. 3, lines 33-40).
Claims 3, 4, 16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 4,153,096 (“Kirk”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0390785 (“Moore”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 3,610,312 (“Kilmarx”).
With regard to claim 3, Kirk discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the valve stem including an asymmetric stopper to seal the valve stem to an interior surface of the wheel.
Kilmarx teaches that it is known in the art to modify an inflation valve to include a valve stem (82) of a tubeless tire inflation valve. The valve stem (82) is attached to a rim (80) of the tubeless tire (Figs 4-6; “tubeless tire” – Abstract). The valve stem (82) includes an asymmetric stopper (asymmetric similar to that of the application) (62+72) to seal the valve stem (82) to an interior surface of a wheel (80) (flange portion at 64 is underneath and inside of the wheel 80, see Figs 4-6; col. 3, lines 48-62).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the inflation valve of Kirk on a tubeless tire inflation valve by using an asymmetric stopper as taught by Kilmarx in place of the attachment and tire of Kirk since the use of inflation valves on tires (tubeless or not) and the use of stopper to connect the valves are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 4, (claim 4 depends from claim 3) the combination of Kirk and Kilmarx disclose that the asymmetric stopper (62+72 of Kilmarx) includes a tapered grommet (62) with an elliptical cone shape (shape shown in Figs 4 and 5).
With regard to claim 16, Kirk discloses a bicycle wheel (at 22) for mounting a tubeless tire comprising: a rim (not labeled, shown in Fig 3) to be sealed to a tire (22), a valve stem (30) protruding from the bicycle wheel (22) (see fig 3) and sealed to the bicycle wheel (sealed by seal at 31 and 33; also inherently sealed because cannot have air leak from wheel), the valve stem (30) fluidly connected to an interior of the tire (see Fig 3 and via passage within 30 in Figs 4-5); wherein the valve stem (30) includes: a base portion with external threads (external threads on base portion shown in annotated Fig 4) for accepting corresponding internal threads of a valve housing (20) (threads mating with threads of 30 shown in annotated Fig 4); and a top portion (portion under external threads is considered to be a “top portion” as it is still an uppermost portion of 30) with a smooth external surface for sealing against the valve housing (30) (Fig 4 shows smooth external surface sealing against valve housing 30, see annotated Fig 4); the valve housing (20) to be screwed (col. 3, lines 37-40) onto and sealed against the valve stem (30) (see Fig 4); and a poppet stem (24) extending through a center of the valve housing (20, see fig 4), the poppet stem (24) axially aligned with the valve stem (30) and the valve housing (20) (can see alignment in Figs 4 and 5 see also col. 3, lines 56-60), wherein: in a closed orientation (Fig 4 orientation), the poppet stem (24) circumferentially seats and seals against the valve housing (20) (seats and seals when 24+40 seat and seal against flange 41, col 3, line 67 to col. 4, line 2); and in an open orientation (Fig 5 orientation), the poppet stem (24) mechanically seats against the valve stem (when bottom of 24 seats against portion 34 of valve stem 30, see Fig 5) and is open to fluid flow through the valve stem (30) and the valve housing (20) and around the poppet stem (24) (see Fig 5 and col. 4, lines 24-38).
Kirk discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the bicycle wheel comprises a tubeless tire, and an external circumferential seal to reside between the top portion of the valve stem and the valve housing.
Moore teaches that it is known in the art to provide a tire inflation valve, similar to that of Kirk, and to modify the valve to include an external circumferential seal (26) to reside between the top portion (see annotated Fig 3, smooth surface portion of 30) of the valve stem (30) and the valve housing (20) (see para [0027] and Fig 3 of Moore).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add an external circumferential seal, such as taught by Moore, between the top portion of the valve stem and the valve housing of Kirk for the purpose of providing additional sealing between the valve stem and valve housing, such as taught by Moore (see Fig 3 and para [0027]).
Kilmarx teaches that it is known in the art to modify an inflation valve to include a valve stem (82) of a tubeless tire. The valve stem (82) is attached to a rim (80) of the tubeless tire (Figs 4-6; Abstract: “the tubeless tire”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the inflation valve of Kirk on a tubeless tire as taught by Kilmarx in place of the tire of Kirk since the use of a tubeless tire has the benefit of a better traction and less chance of punctures.
With regard to claim 18, Kirk (as modified above for claim 16) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the valve stem including an asymmetric stopper to seal the valve stem to an interior surface of the wheel.
Kilmarx teaches that it is known in the art to modify an inflation valve to include a valve stem (82) of a tubeless tire inflation valve. The valve stem (82) is attached to a rim (80) of the tubeless tire (Figs 4-6; “tubeless tire” – Abstract). The valve stem (82) includes an asymmetric stopper (asymmetric similar to that of the application) (62+72) to seal the valve stem (82) to an interior surface of a wheel (80) (flange portion at 64 is underneath and inside of the wheel 80, see Figs 4-6; col. 3, lines 48-62).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the asymmetric stopper as taught by Kilmarx in place of the attachment Kirk since the use of inflation valves on tires (tubeless or not) and the use of stopper to connect the valves are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 19, (as modified above for claim 18) the combination of Kirk and Kilmarx disclose that the asymmetric stopper (62+72 of Kilmarx) includes a tapered grommet (62) with an elliptical cone shape (shape shown in Figs 4 and 5).
With regard to claim 20, Kirk (as modified above for claim 16) discloses that in the closed orientation (Fig 4 orientation), the poppet stem (24) is to be circumferentially seated against an internal circumferential seal within the valve housing (20) (stem 24 is sealed against O-ring 40, see Fig 4 and col. 3, lines 56-57).
With regard to claim 21, Kirk (as modified above for claim 20) discloses that the internal circumferential seal (40) includes one or more O-rings or x-rings (O-ring; col. 3, lines 56-57).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 4,153,096 (“Kirk”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0390785 (“Moore”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0013940 (“Courtney”).
With regard to claim 9, Kirk discloses a poppet stem (24) movable between the valve stem (30) and housing (20) (see Figs 4-5)
Kirk discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a stem cap to be screwed onto an end of the poppet stem residing within the valve housing, wherein: in a closed and unsecured orientation, the stem cap is removed from or partially screwed onto the poppet stem such the poppet stem is movable between the valve stem and the valve housing and there is a gap between the stem cap and the valve housing; and in a closed and secured orientation, the stem cap is further screwed onto the poppet stem until the stem cap seats against the valve housing and the poppet stem is pulled and secured against the valve housing.
Courtney teaches that it is known in the art to modify an inflation valve (see Abstract) a stem cap (130; para [0089]) to be screwed (threads 152 on end 150 of 130, para [0095], Figs 5 and 7) onto an end (150) of the poppet stem (120) residing within the valve housing (110 para [0087]), wherein: in a closed and unsecured orientation (Fig 5 orientation), the stem cap (130) is removed from or partially screwed (partially screwed) onto the poppet stem (120) such the poppet stem is movable between the valve stem and the valve housing (para [0096] moves) and there is a gap (shown by space/gap between inner shoulder of stem cap 30 and top edge of housing 110, see annotated Fig) between the stem cap (130) and the valve housing (110); and in a closed and secured orientation (Fig 4 orientation), the stem cap (130) is further screwed onto the poppet stem (120) until the stem cap (130) seats against the valve housing (130 seats against outer portion near threads shown in Fig 4) and the poppet stem (20) is pulled and secured against the valve housing (see para [0095] : “cap 130 is screwed fully onto threads 152 of threaded end 150, such that the valve stem may not be pressed or otherwise moved toward the proximal end of the valve. In this position, an interior surface of the cap abuts an end surface of the valve body, preventing both the valve stem and the cap from moving toward the opened position.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a stem cap, such as taught by Courtney, to the inflation valve of Kirk, for the purpose of providing a locking mechanism for the inflation valve to adjust the position of the poppet stem to a desired position and keep there as needed by being fully screwed together (see para [0095] and Fig 4 of Courtney).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 22-24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the poppet stem includes mechanical valve stem seats and poppet stem recesses, and wherein in the open orientation of the tubeless tire inflation valve, the mechanical valve stem seats rest against a circumferential tip of the valve stem and fluid is to flow through the poppet stem recesses, the poppet stem recesses placed between the mechanical valve stem seats circumferentially around the poppet stem” (claim 7); or “in a closed and unsecured orientation, the valve housing is partially screwed onto the valve stem such the poppet stem is movable between the valve stem and the valve housing; and in a closed and secured orientation, the valve housing is further screwed onto the valve stem until the poppet stem is compressed and secured between the valve stem and the valve housing” (claim 8); or “wherein in the open orientation, the poppet stem mechanically seats against the valve stem and is open to fluid flow through the valve stem and the valve housing and around the poppet stem; … releasing the poppet stem to put the tubeless tire inflation valve in a closed orientation, wherein in the closed orientation, the poppet stem circumferentially seats and seals against the valve housing; and screwing the valve housing onto the valve stem to put the tubeless tire inflation valve in a secured orientation” (claim 22) in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
The closest prior art references of record are: U.S. Pat. No. 4,153,096 (“Kirk”); U.S. Pat. No. 3,610,312 (“Kilmarx”); and U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0013940 (“Courtney”).
However, none of the references teach or suggest each and every element of the claimed invention.
Kirk, Kilmarx, and Courtney each fail to teach or suggest mechanical valve stem seats rest against a circumferential tip of the valve stem and fluid is to flow through the poppet stem recesses, the poppet stem recesses placed between the mechanical valve stem seats circumferentially around the poppet stem.
Kirk, Kilmarx, and Courtney each fail to teach or suggest in a closed and unsecured orientation, the valve housing is partially screwed onto the valve stem such the poppet stem is movable between the valve stem and the valve housing; and in a closed and secured orientation, the valve housing is further screwed onto the valve stem until the poppet stem is compressed and secured between the valve stem and the valve housing or wherein in the closed orientation, the poppet stem circumferentially seats and seals against the valve housing; and screwing the valve housing onto the valve stem to put the tubeless tire inflation valve in a secured orientation. None of the references disclose a closed and secured orientation that has the valve housing further screwed onto the valve stem. Courtney discloses additional screwing of a cap, not the valve housing. It would not have been obvious to modify Kirk, Kilmarx, and/or Courtney (taken together or separately) to arrive at the claimed subject matter without improperly changing the principle of operation of any of the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753