2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-12, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yamasaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013//0193803).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yamasaki discloses a piezoelectric motor (Figure 4A paragraph [0024] describes a piezoelectric linear motor for a camera. Paragraph [0026] describes the motor to include piezoelectric element 103.) comprising:
a vibrator (102+103+105+106) including an elastic body (102) and a piezoelectric element (103) attached to the elastic body (Paragraphs [0021] and [0026]); and
a rod (108) coupled (via 106+105) to the vibrator (102+103+105+106) and configured to move based on vibration of the vibrator (Paragraph [0023] describes shaft 108 to move only in a perpendicular direction to vibrator.), wherein the piezoelectric element (103) includes a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite to the first surface of the piezoelectric element (103) and attached to the elastic body (102),
wherein the rod (108) extends substantially perpendicular to the piezoelectric element (Figure 4A depicts shaft/rod 108 arranged perpendicular to element 103.),
wherein the vibrator (102+103+105+106) is configured to generate bending vibration in a lengthwise direction (paragraph [0023]) of the rod (108) based on a voltage (paragraph [0026]) applied to the piezoelectric element (103) and is configured such that at least one nodal position (The current application’s originally filed figure 9 and specification paragraph [182] specifically defines nodal position as the non-vibrating portions of the vibrator or positions in which the vibration displacements are substantially 0. However, since claim 2 defines the nodal position to be the above definition, the intent of the claimed limitation “nodal position” in the independent claim is to be broader. Therefore, in view of claim 2, the broadest most reasonable interpretation of “nodal position” is any point which comprises any relation to vibration. This is noted to encompass an extremely broad scope, but since the particular definition is utilized in claim 2, adding said definition to the independent claim would make the entirety of claim 2 subject matter moot/void.) is defined (mental process) during the bending vibration (Paragraph [0025] describes protrusions portions 102b to be formed at a central portion of the vibration plate 102. Paragraph [0042] describes protrusions establish a stable frictional contact state to the lower substrate 101, describing a relation to the piezoelectric element vibrations (nodal position).), and
wherein the elastic body (102) includes:
a base portion (102a) to which the second surface (bottom of 103) of the piezoelectric element (103) is attached (figure 4A and paragraphs [0021] and [0026]), and
at least one protruding portion (102b) protruding from the base portion (102a), and formed at a position corresponding to the at least one nodal position of the vibrator (Paragraph [0025] describes protrusions portions 102b to be formed at a central portion of the vibration plate 102. Paragraph [0042] describes protrusions establish a stable frictional contact state to the lower substrate 101, describing a relation to the piezoelectric element vibrations (nodal position).).
Regarding claim 3, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 1, wherein the base portion (Figure 4A 102a) of the elastic body (102) includes a first surface (top) to which the piezoelectric element (103) is attached (figure 4A and paragraphs [0021] and [0026]) and a second surface (bottom) configured to face away from the first surface (top) of the base portion (102a), and wherein the at least one protruding portion (102b) protrudes from a partial region of the second surface (bottom) of the base portion (102a) in a direction substantially perpendicular (figure 4 depicts protrusion 12b to be perpendicular to lengthwise direction of 102) to the second surface (top) of the base portion (102a).
Regarding claim 5, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding portion (Figure 4A 102b) is formed at a position overlapping the corresponding one of the at least one nodal position (see nodal position interpretation of claim 1 to regard any position in the piezoelectric element) when the vibrator is viewed from above the first surface of the piezoelectric element (103) (Without a definition of vibration value such as claim 2, nodal position covers any point on the piezoelectric element. Further, since protrusions 102b exist under the piezoelectric element it inherently overlaps positions interpreted to regard the mentally processed defined “nodal positions”.).
Regarding claim 6, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 1, wherein, when the voltage is applied to the piezoelectric element, the piezoelectric element is configured to contract and/or expand in a widthwise direction of the piezoelectric element, based on the voltage (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 6, wherein a central portion (Figure 3 and 4A 102a) of the vibrator (102+103+105+106) is bent in a shape convex toward the second surface (bottom) of the piezoelectric element (103) as the piezoelectric element (103) contracts in the widthwise direction, and the central portion (Figure 3 and 4A 102a) of the vibrator (102+103+105+106) is bent in a shape convex toward the first surface (top) of the piezoelectric element (103) as the piezoelectric element (103) expands in the widthwise direction (Paragraph [0026] describes the vibration to be elliptical which includes convex bending shapes in both directions.).
Regarding claim 8, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 6, wherein the elastic body (Figure 3 and 4A 102) further includes extending portions (104) configured to extend from opposite ends of the base portion (102a) and formed to be thicker than the base portion (Figure 4A depicts 104 to be substantially thicker than 102.), and
wherein the extending portions (104) are configured to face each other in the widthwise direction (Figure 4A depicts opening between and facing each side of 104 filled with 106.) and to expand the vibration displacement of the vibrator during the bending vibration based on a weight of the extending portions (Paragraph [0028] describes the members 104 allowing transmission without hindering the vibration.).
Regarding claim 9, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 1, wherein the at least one nodal position includes two nodal positions formed at positions symmetrical to each other with respect to the center of the vibrator (Paragraph [0025] describes protrusions portions 102b to be formed at a central portion of the vibration plate 102. Paragraph [0042] describes protrusions establish a stable frictional contact state to the lower substrate 101, describing a relation to the piezoelectric element vibrations (nodal position).), and
wherein the at least one protruding portion includes a first protruding portion and a second protruding portion formed at positions corresponding to the two nodal positions (Figures 3 and 4A reference two protrusions 102b).
Regarding claim 10, Yamasaki discloses the piezoelectric motor of claim 8, wherein the extending portions (Figure 4A 104) include a first extending portion (104 left) configured to form one end portion of the elastic body (102) and a second extending portion (104 right) configured to form an opposite end portion of the elastic body (102) (paragraphs [0027]-[0028] describes attachment of 104 to 102c), and
wherein the at least one protruding portion (102b) includes a first protruding portion (102b left) spaced apart (depicted in figure 4A) from the first extending portion (104 left) toward a central portion (102a) of the vibrator (102+103+105+106) by a first length (undisclosed range. Figure 4A depicts a length of space between 104 and 102b laterally to be the same on both sides.) and a second protruding portion (102b right) spaced apart (depicted in figure 4A) from the second extending portion (104 right) toward the central portion (102a) of the vibrator (102+103+105+106) by the first length (undisclosed range. Figure 4A depicts a length of space between 104 and 102b laterally to eb the same on both sides.).
Regarding independent claim 11, Yamasaki discloses a camera module (figure 7) comprising:
a camera housing (401-404) (Figure 7 barrels/housings 401-404 described in paragraph [0050] to be used for a camera.);
a first carrier (Figure 3 and 4A 109) disposed in the camera housing (Figure 7 depicts the motor 400 in general housed within the barrels 401-404 and figures 3 and 4A detail the motor to comprise plate 109.);
a lens assembly (G1-G3) coupled (via 404) to the first carrier (109), the lens assembly (G1-G3) including at least one lens (paragraph [0050] describes G1-G3 as focus lens); and
a piezoelectric motor (Figures 3 and 4A 103+102), at least a portion of which is connected to the first carrier (Figure 4A reference 103 coupled to 109 via 108), the piezoelectric motor (103) being configured to provide a driving force to move the first carrier (109) in a direction of an optical axis (figure 7 L paragraph [0052]) of the lens (paragraphs [0021]-[0023]),
wherein the piezoelectric motor (102+103) includes a piezoelectric element (103) including a first surface (top of 103) and a second surface (bottom of 103) configured to face away from the first surface (top of 103), a rod (108) coupled (via 106+105) to the first surface (top of 103) of the piezoelectric element (103) and configured to extend in the direction of the optical axis (L) (Figure 4A depicts shaft/rod 108 arranged perpendicular to element 103 along the optical axis 201.), and an elastic body (102) coupled (Paragraphs [0021] and [0026]) to the second surface (bottom of 103) of the piezoelectric element (103),
wherein the piezoelectric element (103) and the elastic body (102) form a vibrator (102+103+105+106) configured to undergo bending vibration in the direction of the optical axis based on a voltage applied to the piezoelectric element (Paragraphs [0021], [0023], and [0026]),
wherein the vibrator (102+103+105+106) is configured such that at least one nodal position (see interpretation as described in claim 1) is generated (mental process without definition to include vibration value) during the bending vibration (Paragraph [0025] describes protrusions portions 102b to be formed at a central portion of the vibration plate 102. Paragraph [0042] describes protrusions establish a stable frictional contact state to the lower substrate 101, describing a relation to the piezoelectric element vibrations (nodal position).), and
wherein the elastic body (102) includes at least one protruding portion (102b) formed at a position corresponding to the nodal position of the vibrator (102+103+105+106) (Paragraph [0025] describes protrusions portions 102b to be formed at a central portion of the vibration plate 102. Paragraph [0042] describes protrusions establish a stable frictional contact state to the lower substrate 101, describing a relation to the piezoelectric element vibrations (nodal position).).
Regarding claim 12, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 11, further comprising:
a second carrier (Figure 7 408) disposed in the camera housing (401-404) so as to be movable in a direction perpendicular (CL1) to the optical axis (L) and configured to support the piezoelectric motor (102+103) (paragraphs [0052] and [0053]),
wherein the first carrier (109) is connected to the second carrier (408) through the piezoelectric motor (102+103) so as to be movable in the direction of the optical axis (L) (paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 12, wherein the second carrier (Figure 7 408) includes a seating portion (101) on which the piezoelectric motor (102+103) is seated (paragraph [0021]),
wherein the elastic body (Figure 3 and 4A 102) is spaced apart from the seating portion (101) by a specified gap (Figure 4A reference gap between 101 and 102), and
wherein the seating portion (101) includes at least one support recess, wherein at least part of each one of the at least one protruding portion is accommodated and movably supported in one of the at least one support recess.
Regarding claim 15, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 11, wherein the piezoelectric element (103) is configured to contract or expand in a width direction of the piezoelectric element (103) based on the voltage applied to the piezoelectric element (paragraph [0026]),
wherein the vibrator generates vibration displacement in the direction of the optical axis (L) by the contraction or expansion of the piezoelectric element (103) (Paragraph [0026] describes the vibration to be elliptical which includes contracting and expanding.), and
wherein the rod (108) is configured to move in the direction of the optical axis (L) in response to the vibration displacement of the vibrator (Paragraph [0023] describes shaft 108 to move only in a perpendicular direction to vibrator.).
Regarding claim 18, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 11, wherein the at least one protruding portion partially overlaps the at least one nodal position in the direction of the optical axis (Figure 4A particularly depicts the protrusions 102b to not overlap with the shaft 108.).
Regarding claim 19, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 11, wherein the at least one protruding portion is formed at a position overlapping the at least one nodal position (see nodal position interpretation of claim 1 to regard any position in the piezoelectric element) when the vibrator is viewed from above the first surface of the piezoelectric element (103) (Without a definition of vibration value such as claim 2, nodal position covers any point on the piezoelectric element. Further, since protrusions 102b exist under the piezoelectric element it inherently overlaps positions interpreted to regard the mentally processed defined “nodal positions”.).
Regarding claim 20, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 11, wherein the elastic body (Figure 4A 102) further includes a base portion (102a) including a third surface (top of 102) to which the piezoelectric element (103) is attached (Paragraphs [0021] and [0026]) and a fourth surface (bottom of 102) configured to face away from the third surface (top of 102) and extending portions (104) configured to extend from opposite ends of the base portion configured to face in a width direction (Figure 4A depicts opening between and facing each side of 104 filled with 106.), and
wherein the extending portions are formed to be thicker than the base portion (Figure 4A depicts 104 to be substantially thicker than 102.) and are configured to expand vibration displacement of the vibrator during the bending vibration (Paragraph [0028] describes the members 104 allowing transmission without hindering the vibration.).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 2, 4, 13-14, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Yamasaki does not specifically disclose the piezoelectric motor of claim 1, wherein the at least one nodal position is formed inside the vibrator, and the vibration displacement of the vibrator is substantially 0 at the at least one nodal position during the bending vibration (Yamasaki does not disclose vibration amounts at any of the particular [nodal] points of the piezoelectric element.).
Regarding claim 4, Yamasaki does not specifically disclose the piezoelectric motor of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding portion partially overlaps the corresponding one of the at least one nodal position in the lengthwise direction of the rod (Figure 4A particularly depicts the protrusions 102b to not overlap with the shaft 108.).
Regarding claim 13, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 12, wherein the second carrier (Figure 7 408) includes a seating portion (101) on which the piezoelectric motor (102+103) is seated (paragraph [0021]),
wherein the elastic body (Figure 3 and 4A 102) is spaced apart from the seating portion (101) by a specified gap (Figure 4A reference gap between 101 and 102).
However, Yamasaki does not specifically disclose wherein the seating portion (101) includes at least one support recess, wherein at least part of each one of the at least one protruding portion is accommodated and movably supported in one of the at least one support recess.
It is noted Lee (US Patent 2016,0161828) discloses a recess for a piezoelectric vibrator (Figure 2 and paragraph [0037]). However, it is not considered combinable in a mechanical sense with Yamasaki which discloses a flat surface to establish particular friction via the protrusions 102b.
Claim 14 is also objected to because it depends upon claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Yamasaki discloses the camera module of claim 15, wherein the first carrier (Figure 4A 109) includes a frame (Figure 7 404) to which the lens assembly (G1-G3) is coupled.
However, Yamasaki does not specifically disclose a connecting member coupled to the frame, the rod being inserted into the connecting member, wherein the connecting member is configured to move together with the rod or to be separated from a movement of the rod, based on a moving speed of the rod, and wherein the frame integrally moves with the connecting member.
It is noted Yamada et al. (US Patent Application 2008/0258579) discloses a rod 423 with a connecting member 443 (Figure 1 and paragraph [0043]). However, it is not considered combinable in a mechanical sense with Yamasaki which discloses a surface 109 applied to the top of the rod 108.
Regarding claim 17, Yamasaki does not specifically discloses the camera module of claim 11, wherein the at least one nodal position is formed inside the vibrator, and vibration displacement of the vibrator is substantially 0 at the at least one nodal position during the bending vibration (Yamasaki does not disclose vibration amounts at any of the particular [nodal] points of the piezoelectric element.).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621