Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-10 of Remarks, filed 9/1/2026, with respect to 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant contends the amended claimed language overcomes the prior art reference.
After further consideration of the references, unfortunately, the recited limitations, as amended, are determined as disclosed by the prior art references as indicated below. Please see the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-10,12,15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sierhuis et al (US Publication No.: 20160180222) in view of Schuck (US Publication No.: 20230067083).
Claim 1, Sierhuis et al discloses
Receiving data output by data sources, wherein the received data includes numerical sensor data from one or more sensors located at the manufacturing site (Fig. 1, label sensors 300, paragraph 27 discloses “sensors 300, the person, agent or machine 200 …”. Paragraph 5 discloses “… provide responsive information to such machines, sensors, or other people or request certain actions to be taken by such machines, sensors, or other people.” Paragraph 29 discloses “position, angle, displacement, distance, speed and acceleration sensors; … force, density and level sensors; thermal, heat and temperature sensors;” Such sensors are examples of sensors collecting numerical data.);
Storing the received data to a memory (Fig. 2, label 170);
Generating an identifier of the stored data (Fig. 2, label 120. Paragraph 50 discloses 120 receives sensor data and “enables different analysis tasks for each type of sensor data or data from databases 103 and allows users (or data analysts) to analyze multiple sensor data streams and data from the databases 103 at the same time. … Results of the analysis performed by the analytics service 120 are stored in the sensor data store database 170.” The identifier of the stored data or sensor data of 170 is the analysis on the sensor data.);
determining, from the received data and according to at least one machine learning model (Paragraph 76 discloses analytics service receiving sensor data and others to generate analysis. The analytics service 120 includes machine learning, Fig. 9 shows label 120 with machine learner, label 123.), one or more predictors having correlations with one or more performance metrics characterizing a process carried out by the machines (Paragraph 88 discloses analytics service predicts the violates the threshold for a user, Hank, wherein such prediction correlates to correlations with performance metrics such as comparison of the heart rate to the threshold resulting to a violation.);
determining the one or more performance metrics at least in part from the received data (Paragraph 88 discloses one or more performance metrics such as heart rate from the received sensor data.);
determining the correlations, the correlations being relationships between the determined one or more predictors and the determined one or more performance metrics (Paragraph 88 discloses correlations between the heart rate and prediction of sign of deterioration such as heart rate violation. The correlation indicates a relationship between sign of deterioration such as heart rate violation and performance metrics such as heart rate. “The analytics service 120 determines that the heart rate data violates a threshold for Hank. The analytics service 120 sends a heart rate violation message with the heart rate data to Hank’s intelligent personal agent 145. Hank’s intelligent personal agent 145 infers, based on Hank’s location information, activity, heart rate, and other physiological sensors, that this may be a sign of deterioration and that a car should be dispatched.”);
determining an occurrence of an anomalous event in one or more of the received data, the one or more predictors, or the one or more performance metrics (Paragraph 88 discloses an anomalous event occurrence determination in the performance metrics when the performance metrics, ex heart rate, is over a threshold for the patient. The prediction of a heart rate data violation indicates a heart rate violation indicating a prediction of health deterioration. To determine whether there is an anomalous event, the received data is compared to a threshold, wherein the result indicates a sign of deterioration. This is an indication of determination of an anomalous event occurrence in the received data.);
predicting a causal relationship between the one or more correlations and the anomalous event (Paragraph 88-90 discloses the correlation (relationship between sign of deterioration or heart data violation and performance metric of heart rate data) is related to sign of deterioration and heart rate violation. This determination leads to predicting a causal relationship of Hank’s health, which triggers scheduling a car to Han’s location, sending a notification to Jessica who is nearby indicating a car is detected nearby to transport Hank to a clinic or emergency room or providing additional point of care testing services. Further communication is triggered between Jessica, intelligent personal agent on Hank’s wellbeing.);
generating, using a natural language processing model (Paragraph 75 discloses natural language processing service may be running on the device (user mobile) or an application running on platform 100 (shown in Fig. 3). Fig. 3, label 100 shows analytics which is performed on questions received from 200 along with data from various sources. Paragraph 75 and Fig. 3 shows label 100 uses natural language processing model to generate analytics in order to generate a response.), one or more textual sentences describing the one or more predictors and the corresponding correlations (Paragraph 88 discloses analytics service predicts the violates the threshold for a user, Hank, wherein such prediction correlates to correlations with performance metrics such as comparison of the heart rate to the threshold resulting to a violation. The system outputs a violation message or summary of the violation. Paragraph 50 discloses analytics can include trend analysis, descriptive statistics, etc. which also indicates summary or textual sentence describing predictors.);
generating a computer-based interface for receiving a query requesting information describing the manufacturing site (Paragraph 54 discloses the user may ask questions to the intelligent personal agents in the agent service via the interaction service. Paragraph 53 discloses “The interaction service communicates with these various components within and external to the platform to pass data necessary between the components.” Such indicates generation of a computer-based interface to receive query requesting information.);
receiving the query (Paragraph 54 discloses user may ask questions to the intelligent personal agents via the interaction service which indicates reception of the query.) from a user computer (Fig. 3, label 200,400);
in response to receiving the query, transmitting the query and the generated one or more textual sentences to a conversational agent (Fig. 3, label 120 outputs the analytics such as summary of the sensor data or textual sentences, and user 200,400 sends questions via the user interaction label 160 to label 140, via 120, 140, 130, etc.),
wherein transmitting the query comprises transmitting the identifier (Fig. 3, label 170 is shown transferring or transmitting data to the agent at label 140, with query from label 200,160. The analysis generated by label 120 is stored in 170 indicating sensor data with analysis is transmitted to 140. The analysis is considered the identifier as explained above.);
receiving, by the user computer (Fig. 3, label 200 as the user computer receives 400) and from the conversational agent (Fig. 3, label 140 communicates with 200 via 400.), a response to the transmitted query (Fig. 3, label 400,200); and
displaying, by the user computer (Fig. 3, label 200, 400), the response on the computer-based interface (Fig. 3, label 400).
Sierhuis et al fails to disclose the machines are at a manufacturing site.
Schuck et al discloses manufacturing plant with machines monitored by sensors and analysis of the data from the sensors (Fig. 1, label 122, 110 as the sensors at the manufacturing site or plant, label 118 as the analytics processing apparatus or risk processing apparatus. Fig. 2, label 118 is shown with probably assessor and analysis of overall plant risk.).
Sierhuis et al discloses sensors or machines (paragraph 5), and Schuck et al discloses monitoring manufacturing plants (Fig. 1, label 110). Both Sierhuis et al and Schuck et al discloses such monitoring for the purpose of monitoring machines or sensors in areas such as healthcare, military, emergency response, planning, automotive, etc., where monitoring of machines in a manufacturing plant of Schuck et al is a similar area as disclosed by Seirhauis et al (paragraph 13). Hence, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sierhuis et al’s monitoring system with chatbot to monitor machines in a manufacturing site as disclosed by Schuck et al in order to solve the same problem of monitoring the condition of machines for the purpose of determining the conditions of the machines, whether it be machines or sensors for healthcare as disclosed by Sierhuis et al or machines in a manufacturing plant as disclosed by Schuck et al so to improve provide services necessary for those using the monitored machines such as preventing health failure as disclosed by Sierhuis et al to provide emergency services when needed or failure of machines at a manufacturing plant as disclosed by Schuck et al to provide emergency services when needed.
Claim 2, Schuck et al the data sources include one or more sensors monitoring the process carried out at the manufacturing site (Fig. 1, label 110, 116,122,140), and wherein the data includes output of the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, label 122, 144,142a-142b).
Claim 5, Sierhuis et al wherein the query is a natural language query (paragraph 54 discloses “the user may ask questions to the intelligent personal agents…”. This indicates the query is a natural language query.), and wherein the response is a natural language response (Paragraph 82 discloses the intelligent personal agent generates answers such as trend and likelihood of meeting a predefined goal or plan to meet a defined goal. This indicates a natural language response.).
Claim 6, Schuck et al discloses wherein the predictors include one or more of a physical state associated with the process, or an environmental state of the manufacturing site (Paragraph 41 discloses sensors are located through the plan constantly or periodically record data. Paragraph 43 discloses examples of the different sensors and data received from the respective sensors. For example, a power sensor may be assigned to all devices of the plan measures the overall power draw by the plant’s devices. This indicates environmental state (power consumption) of the manufacturing site.).
Claim 7, Schuck et al discloses wherein the correlations include positive correlations between the one or more predictors and the one or more performance metrics, and negative correlations between the one or more predictors and the one or more performance metrics (Paragraph 88 discloses a correlation between the predictors such as heart rate compared to a threshold, and performance metrics such as over a threshold indicates violation. The heart rate indicates sensor data. Depending on whether the heart rate or sensor data compared to a threshold indicates violation or no violation, the correlations includes positive (no violation) and negative (violation).).
Claim 8, Sierhuis et al discloses wherein the predictors comprise one or more of the output of the data sources or a quantity determined from the output of the data sources (Paragraphs 50 discloses analytics generating predictors from sensor data. Paragraph 29 discloses sensors collect data such as physical sensors, virtual sensors and human services or computation services wherein a variety of devices or data sources have sensors to collect data. This indicates the predictors comprise one or more of the output of the data sources.).
Claim 9, Sierhuis et al discloses wherein the performance metrics comprise one or more of the output of the data sources or a quantity determined from the output of the data sources (Paragraph 50 discloses analytics and paragraph 42 discloses sensors may include software in which several measurements are processed together or where measurements or process parameters from one metric are used to calculate another metric …”. This indicates the performance metrics or analytics generated from the sensor data compare one or more output of the data sources or quantity determined from the output data sources such as device with sensors discussed in paragraph 29.).
Claim 10, Sierhuis et al discloses the transmitting the query further comprises transmitting a request to include a reference to the identifier in the response to the transmitted query (Fig. 3, label 120 outputs the analytics such as summary of the sensor data or textual sentences, and user 200,400 sends questions via the user interaction label 160 to label 140, via 120, 140, 130, etc. Depending on the user, the question can include a request to reference the analysis in the response to the query. Paragraph 90 discloses “Jessica’s intelligent personal agent 145 sends a request to Hank’s intelligent personal agent 145 to ask for Hank’s latest heart rate and activity.” This indicates a request including a reference to the identifier (heart rate and activity indicates a reference to the analysis result) in the answer to the query: How Hank is doing.).
Claim 12, Sierhuis et al discloses further comprising determining whether values of any one or more of the one or more predictors, the correlations, or the one or more performance metrics exceed one or more corresponding predetermined thresholds (Paragraph 83 discloses “the system can also send alerts when a simple threshold is reached (e.g. for a CHF patient, alert the physician when more than 5 pounds are gained in a week to detect fluid retention, which is an indication heart failure).” This indicates performance metric (weight gain) exceeds a threshold (more than 5 pounds gained). Paragraph 88 discloses “determines that the heart rate data violates a threshold for Hank”. This indicates the heart rate (performance metric) is not within an acceptable range which indicates the heart rate can be above or below a threshold.);
Wherein the generated text further describes the one or more predictors, the correlations or the one or more performance metrics exceeding the corresponding one or more predicted thresholds. (Paragraph 88 discloses sending a heart violation message with the heart rate data. This indicates the text (heart violation message) describes performance metric exceeds a threshold. Paragraph 83 discloses alerting a physician when a threshold is exceeded, where the alert describes when the threshold has been exceeded.).
Claim 15, Sierhuis et al discloses wherein the transmitting the query (Fig. 3, label 120 outputs the analytics such as summary of the sensor data or textual sentences, and user 200,400 sends questions via the user interaction label 160 to label 140, via 120, 140, 130, etc.) further comprises, in response to receiving the query, transmitting the query, the generated one or more textual sentences, and at least a portion of the received data to the conversational agent (Fig. 3, label 400 as query receives via 160, 120 (analytics or generated one or more textual sentences),300,350 (sensor data or received data) is transmitted to agent service, interaction service in order to generate an answer to the query.).
Claim 16, Sierhuis et al discloses analytics of the sensor data is generated, wherein analytics includes summary or the textual sentences such as descriptive statistics, trend analysis, etc. (paragraph 50) and Schuck et al shows risk report included in the summary or analytics (Fig. 4) including text (Fig. 4, label 410,5, where textual sentences that are grammatically complete sentences are type of text). Although Fig. 4 does not show sentences in the report, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date, based on design choice, for the text to include sentences or grammatically complete sentences since text is included in the report and sentences are a type of text.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1. In addition, Sierhuis et al discloses one or more processors (paragraph 32); a memory (paragraph 32); and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for limitations similarly found in claim 1 (paragraph 32 and see claim 1).
Claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 16 and is rejected on the same grounds as claim 16.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as claim 16 and is rejected on the same grounds as claim 16.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sierhuis et al (US Publication No.: 20160180222) in view of Schuck (US Publication No.: 20230067083), further in view of Gomes et al (US Publication No.: 20210072736).
Claim 3, Sierhuis et al discloses wherein the determining further comprises determining the one or more predictors according to an analytics service having the received data as input (Paragraph 50 discloses software that receives sensor data and generates any number of analyses such as trend analysis, machine learning, descriptive statistics, etc.) and trained to generate the one or more predictors as output (Paragraph 50 discloses any number of analyses may be performed including machine learning which indicates training, wherein the analytics services generates one or more predictors indicating the analytic services is trained to generate predictors.).
Sierhuis et al discloses software that receives the sensor data and generates analyses (paragraph 50), but fails to disclose at least one machine learning model.
Gomes et al discloses analytics generated by a trained machine learning model, trained to generate analytics. (Paragraph 14 discloses “this specification provides real-time (or predictive) and accurate assessments of the operational state of the manufacturing device based on real-time sensor data (e.g. data from sound and/or vibration sensors distributed around the manufacturing plant) and model-based analysis (e.g. models that are trained on historic sensor data and their corresponding operational states) of the sensor data.”) It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sierhuis et al by incorporating a trained model to generate analytics or predictions from sensor data as disclosed by Gomes et al so to detect failures in the plant in order determine the health of the operations of the plant, hence preventing failure such as plant operation reduction.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sierhuis et al (US Publication No.: 20160180222) in view of Schuck (US Publication No.: 20230067083), further in view of Siebel et al (US Publication No.: 20240202225).
Claim 4, Sierhuis et al discloses wherein the conversational agent comprises a chatbot generating the response (Fig. 1 shows a chatbot or a virtual interaction between user and agent.), but fails to disclose the response is generated at least in part according to a large language model.
Siebel et al discloses virtual interaction between user and agent comprising receiving a query and generating a response or answer to the query using large language models (paragraph 42 discloses a user query is received, and utilizing “the various agents, large language models, and other features to generate an accurate and reliable … answer to the user query …”.) Both Sierhuis et al and Siebel et al discloses receiving a user query and generating a response (Paragraph of 54 of Sierhuis et al and Paragraph 42 of Siebel et al), hence it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sierhuis et al by incorporating a large language model to generate a response to the user query as disclosed by Siebel et al so to solve the problem of generating a response to a user query and improve accuracy of the response.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sierhuis et al (US Publication No.: 20160180222) in view of Hadad et al (US Publication No.: 20190290172).
Claim 11, Sierhuis et al discloses further comprising determining a trend in values of any one or more of the one or more predictors, the correlations, or the one or more performance metrics (Paragraph 88 discloses “based on Hank’s location information, activity, heart rate and other physiological sensors, that this may be a sign of deterioration and that a car should be dispatched.” This indicates a trend (sign of deterioration) in values (heart rate and other physiological sensors) of any one of the one or more performance metrics (heart rate and other physiological sensors). Paragraph 88 discloses the trend includes correlation such as heart rate compared to a threshold, which is used to determine sign of deterioration.), but fails to disclose the generated text further describes the determined trend.
Hadad et al discloses a virtual health assistant determining a trend in values of any one or more of the one or more predictors, the correlations, or the one or more performance metrics (Paragraph 346 discloses the virtual health assistant provides a summary of the trend in values of a user’s glucose levels (one or more performance metrics).) and the generated text further describes the determined trend (Paragraph 346 discloses the virtual assistant’s summary indicating the trend of the user’s glucose level (one or more performance metrics) during different periods of time such as “past 2 months”, during specific physical activities (running or swimming), etc.
Both Sierhaus et al and Hadad et al discloses health conditions of a user and generates summaries or alarms or descriptions based on the performance metrics, etc., hence it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sierhaus et al by incorporating generating text or summaries or descriptions as disclosed by Hadad et al so to accurately answer a user’s question and provide essential information indicating the condition of a user.
Conclusion
/LINDA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655