DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s response filed on 09/17/2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 09/17/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the previous 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection, Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in view of Mattingly (US 2008/0235055 A1).
With respect to the previous ODP rejection, claims 1-20 are now rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of 11,978,191 B1 in view of Mattingly. See the ODP rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,978,191 B1 view of Mattingly (US 2008/0235055 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current independent claims and patented independent claims scan each slide of a plurality of slides, generate an initial slide image and associated scanning metadata, determine a quality control metric from the image and metadata, and rescan slides based on the quality control metric. The patented claims are narrower since they require flagging, generating at least one scanning profile and rescan flagged slides suing that profile. However, the patented claims fail to disclose the associated scanning metadata comprises at least a label indicative of a grouping of slides with a same specimen or performing the re-scan as a function of metadata of the grouping of slides with the same specimen. However, in related art, Mattingly teaches providing slides with machine-readable RFID or barcode labels containing identifying information and storing or retrieving information associated with those identifiers, see paragraphs 218-221. Mattingly teaches that a gross tissue sample is divided to prepare slides, that the RFID label for a slide includes case and slide specific information, and that a unique identifier associated with the gross tissue sample may be used to determine all slides associated with that particular tissue sample, see paragraph 221. Mattingly further teaches slide identifiers derived from a gross tissue sample identifier such that slides originating from the same specimen share specimen identifying information, see paragraph 289. Mattingly also teaches reading the encoded slide information and grouping slides having the same case information, explaining that slides of the same case may constitute all slides produced from a gross tissue sample and that slides having a common identifier are placed into the same grouping, see paragraphs 302-303. Thus, the encoded RFID information is a label indicative of a grouping of slides originating from the same specimen. Mattingly further teaches use of such label metadata in quality control processing by teachings storing QC information on or in association with the slide identifier and teaches that information associated with the RFID label may itself be used in determining a QC failure, see paragraphs 218-219. During subsequent QC processing, when a quality problem is identified, Mattingly teaches scanning the slide label to determine the slide identifier and recording information and remedial instructions associated with the quality problem, see paragraph 377.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Mattingly into the teachings of Eichorn to effectively reduce errors caused by misidentification of slides.
18/627,093 11,978,191 B1 + Mattingly
1-5
1 + paragraphs 218-221, 289, 302-303 and 377 of Mattingly, which teaches same specimen identifier and grouping metadata and identifying related slides associated with the same specimen
6
1, 6, 8
7
6, 8
8
1, 9
9
3
10
3, 6, 8
11-15
11 + paragraphs 218-221, 289, 302-303 and 377 of Mattingly, which teaches same specimen identifier and grouping metadata and identifying related slides associated with the same specimen
16
11, 16, 18
17
16, 18
18
11, 19
19
13
20
13, 16, 18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichhorn (US 2014/0294266 A1) in view of Mattingly (US 2008/0235055 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Eichhorn discloses a system of digitalizing a slide, wherein the system comprises: (paragraphs 70-71; Eichhorn discloses a digital pathology system in which digital pathology scans the microscope glass slide and stores a digitized microscope slide. Eichhorn further discloses a scanner system 400 and scanning system 440 for determining quality of digital microscope slides.)
at least one imaging device; and (paragraphs 82-83 and 95-6)
a computing device communicatively connected to the imaging device, wherein the computing device is configured to: (paragraphs 70-72)
scan each slide of a plurality of slides at the imaging device to generate, for each slide of the plurality of slides, an initial slide image and associated scanning metadata; (paragraphs 34, 49, 71, 74 and 77; Eichhorn discloses that the scanning system may digitize a plurality of samples to create a corresponding plurality of digital slide images and tissue sample acquisition module 505 obtains an initial digital slide image from a microscope slide scanner while managing scanner functions such as automatic focus and exposure control. Eichhorn also discloses stored image descriptors and acquisition settings. Under BRI, the acquisition settings, stored image descriptors, automatic focus information, and score map data are associated scanning metadata.)
determine a quality control metric for each slide of the plurality of slides as a function of the initial slide image and the associated scanning metadata; and (paragraphs 37-49, 52-56 and 64-67; Eichhorn determines image quality by breaking the whole digital slide image into blocks, calculating block quality scores from spatial frequency content, generating a score map, and computing a whole slide quality score. The macro-analysis summarizes slide quality, specimen measured, and artifact locations from the score map. Under BRI, Eichhorn’s block score, score map, artifact degradation score and WSQ score are quality control metrics.)
re-scan one or more slides of the plurality of slides at the imaging device as a function of the quality control metric. (paragraphs 68-69; Eichhorn discloses comparing an overall score to a threshold, determining that a slide is unsatisfactory when the score is below a threshold, and rescanning the slide. Eichhorn also discloses auto-scanning unsatisfactory slides in a batch and, in an operational scenario, identifying poor focus locations and instructing the scanner to automatically rescan the slide with special focus in those areas.)
Eichorn fails to specifically disclose the associated scanning metadata comprises at least a label indicative of a grouping of slides with a same specimen or performing the re-scan as a function of metadata of the grouping of slides with the same specimen.
However, in related art, Mattingly teaches providing slides with machine-readable RFID or barcode labels containing identifying information and storing or retrieving information associated with those identifiers, see paragraphs 218-221. Mattingly teaches that a gross tissue sample is divided to prepare slides, that the RFID label for a slide includes case and slide specific information, and that a unique identifier associated with the gross tissue sample may be used to determine all slides associated with that particular tissue sample, see paragraph 221. Mattingly further teaches slide identifiers derived from a gross tissue sample identifier such that slides originating from the same specimen share specimen identifying information, see paragraph 289. Mattingly also teaches reading the encoded slide information and grouping slides having the same case information, explaining that slides of the same case may constitute all slides produced from a gross tissue sample and that slides having a common identifier are placed into the same grouping, see paragraphs 302-303. Thus the encoded RFID information is a label indicative of a grouping of slides originating from the same specimen. Mattingly further teaches use of such label metadata in quality control processing by teachings storing QC information on or in association with the slide identifier and teaches that information associated with the RFID label may itself be used in determining a QC failure, see paragraphs 218-219. During subsequent QC processing, when a quality problem is identified, Mattingly teaches scanning the slide label to determine the slide identifier and recording information and remedial instructions associated with the quality problem, see paragraph 377.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Mattingly into the teachings of Eichorn to effectively reduce errors caused by misidentification of slides.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein determining the quality control metric comprises flagging a slide based on the determined quality control metric. (paragraphs 60-62 and 67-68)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein re-scanning the one or more slides of the plurality of slides at the imaging device as a function of the quality control metric comprises re-scanning the flagged slides within the plurality of slides at the imaging device. (paragraphs 68-71)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein re-scanning the one or more slides of the plurality of slides at the imaging device as a function of the quality control metric comprises: generating at least one scanning profile for the one or more slides as a function of the scanning metadata based on the quality control metric; and re-scanning the plurality of slides at the imaging device using the at least one scanning profile. (paragraphs 55-61 and 68-77)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein re-scanning the one or more slides of the plurality of slides at the imaging device as a function of the quality control metric comprises: identifying at least one slide from the plurality of slides associated with the flagged slide; and rescanning the flagged slide as a function of the quality control metric and the at least one slide. (paragraphs 68-71; Mattingly paragraphs 221 and 302-303)
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein re-scanning the one or more slides of the plurality of slides at the imaging devise as a function of the quality control metric comprises: generating a plurality of scanning profiles for each of the one or more slides as a function of the quality control metric; and re-scanning the one or more slides using the plurality of scanning profiles. (paragraphs 56-61, 68-69 and 74)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein re-scanning the one or more slides using the one or more scanning profiles comprises: determining a weighting for each of the one or more scanning profiles; selecting one or more scanning profiles from the plurality of scanning profiles as a function of the weightings; and re-scanning the one or more slides as a function of the one or more scanning profiles. (paragraphs 44-46, 55-61, 54 and 68-69)
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein re-scanning the one or more slides as a function of the one or more scanning profiles comprises iteratively re-scanning each slide of the one or more slides as a function of an updated quality control metric of each re-scanned slide. (paragraphs 68-69)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein generating the initial slide image and associated scanning metadata for each slide of the plurality of slides comprises: imaging, using the at least one imaging device, each slide of the plurality of slides based on a default scanning profile. (paragraphs 34, 71, 74 and 77)
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Eichhorn, as modified by Mattingly, discloses the claimed invention wherein the at least a computing device is configured to: identify a sequence of scanning profiles as a function of a plurality of scanning profiles; determine at least one common parameter within the sequence of scanning profiles; and modify the default scanning profile as a function of the at least one common parameter. (paragraphs 68-77, 83 and 105-109)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665