DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 (and 6), 13 (and 14) and claim 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16 and 17 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11981020. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patent claims anticipate the application claims.
Issued patent claim 1, where bold text shows claim 1, and underlined text shows claim 6: A modular system for food product preparation, the method system comprising: a container configured to provide an environment for preparation of food items; one or more intake ports on the container configured to receive the food items and supplies; one or more delivery ports on the container configured to provide prepared food product; one or more re-configurable anchor systems in the container configured to anchor one or more food preparation equipment; one or more re-configurable supply ports in the container configured to supply the one or more food preparation equipment; and an on-board controller configured to: determine travel information of a vehicle, food items information, and food product information associated with the food product to be prepared and delivered; determine one or more steps and a timing for a process to prepare the food product based on the travel information, the food items information, and the food product information; and control robotic devices of the one or more food preparation equipment to autonomously execute the process such that the food product is prepared when the vehicle reaches the delivery destination.
Claims 8 and 9 can be mapped to claims 7 and 8 of the issued patent.
Issued patent claim 16, where bold text shows claim 13, and underlined text shows claim 14: A vehicle to prepare food items en route, the vehicle comprising: a container configured to provide a re-configurable, sterile environment for one or more food preparation and storage equipment with robotic devices to autonomously prepare food items en route to a delivery destination; a communication system configured to enable wired or wireless communications with a remote controller system; and an on-board controller communicatively coupled to the communication system and robotic devices on each of the one or more food preparation and storage equipment, wherein the on-board controller is configured to: receive instructions from the remote controller system associated with one or more steps and a timing for a process to prepare the food items based on travel information, food items information, and food product information collected by the remote controller system for the vehicle; and control operations of the robotic devices to autonomously execute the process en route based on the received instructions.
Issued patent claim 17, where bold text shows claim 17, A food delivery truck to prepare food items en route, the food delivery truck comprising: a cab portion to control travel operations; a cargo portion configured to provide a re-configurable, sterile environment for one or more food preparation and storage equipment with robotic devices to autonomously prepare food items en route to a delivery destination; a communication system configured to enable wireless communications with one or more remote devices; and an on-board controller communicatively coupled to the communication system and robotic devices on each of the one or more food preparation and storage equipment, wherein the on-board controller is configured to: determine travel information, food items information, and food product information associated with a food product to be prepared and delivered; determine one or more steps and a timing for a process to prepare the food product based on the travel information, the food items information, and the food product information; and control robotic devices of the one or more food preparation and storage equipment to autonomously execute the process such that the food product is prepared when the food delivery truck reaches the delivery destination.
As can be seen the scope of the issued patent claims anticipates the application claims in its entirety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 13-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garden [20140370167].
With respect to claim 1, Garden discloses: A modular system for food product preparation, the system comprising: a container (110) configured to provide an environment for preparation of a food product [paragraph 0039]; one or more re-configurable anchor systems (at 506) in the container configured to anchor food preparation equipment comprising robotic devices [paragraph 0012 with reference to “The portable cooking and delivery system may further include a securement structure in the cargo compartment of the vehicle that releasably secures the oven rack in the cargo compartment.” and paragraph 0090]; and an on-board controller (102) configured to control the robotic devices of the one or more food preparation equipment to autonomously execute a process to prepare the food product such that the food product is prepared when the container is delivered by a vehicle to a delivery destination [see FIG 2A, paragraph 0040-0041].
Garden further discloses:
{cl. 4} The modular system of claim 1, wherein the container is compartmentalized to enable distinct environmental conditions for the food preparation equipment [paragraph 0011, 0080].
{cl. 6} The modular system of claim 1, wherein the on-board controller is configured to: determine travel information of the vehicle, food items information, and food product information associated with the food product to be prepared and delivered; and determine one or more steps and a timing for the process to prepare the food product based on the travel information, the food items information, and the food product information [paragraph 0068-0070].
{cl. 7} The modular system of claim 6, wherein the travel information includes one or more delivery destination locations, one or more potential routes between the delivery destinations, road condition information for the potential routes, traffic condition information for the potential routes, or weather condition information for the potential routes; the food items information includes one or more of quantity information, quality information, or type information associated with ingredients for the food product to be prepared; and the food product information includes one or more of quantity information, quality information, type information, or packaging information associated with the food product to be prepared [paragraph 0068-0070].
{cl. 8} The modular system of claim 1, wherein the on-board controller is further configured to: determine an estimated time to reach the delivery destination; and determine one or more of an initiation time, a duration, or a termination time for each step for the process to prepare the food product [paragraph 0068-0070].
With respect to claim 13, Garden discloses: A vehicle to prepare a food product en route, the vehicle comprising: a container (110) configured to provide a re-configurable environment for food preparation equipment with robotic devices to autonomously prepare a food product en route to a delivery destination [paragraph 0039]; and an on-board controller (102) communicatively coupled to the robotic devices on the food preparation equipment, wherein the on-board controller is configured to control operations of the robotic devices to autonomously execute a process to prepare the food product while en route to the delivery destination [see FIG 2A, paragraph 0040-0041].
Garden further discloses:
{cl. 14} The vehicle of claim 13, further comprising a communication system configured to enable wired or wireless communications with a remote controller system [paragraph 0032, 0044].
With respect to claim 17, Garden discloses: A food delivery truck to prepare a food product en route, the food delivery truck comprising: a cargo portion configured to provide a re-configurable environment for food preparation equipment with robotic devices (112) to autonomously prepare a food product en route to a delivery destination [paragraph 0039-0041]; and an on-board controller (102) configured to control robotic devices of the one or more food preparation equipment to autonomously execute a process to prepare the food product such that the food product is prepared when the food delivery truck reaches a delivery destination [see FIG 2A, paragraph 0040-0041].
Garden further discloses:
{cl. 18} The food delivery truck of claim 17, further comprising a communication system communicatively coupled to the on-board controller, wherein the on-board controller is communicatively coupled to the robotic devices on the food preparation equipment [paragraph 0032, 0044].
{cl. 19} The food delivery truck of claim 17, wherein the on-board controller is further configured to: determine travel information, food items information, and food product information associated with the food product to be prepared and delivered; and determine one or more steps and a timing for the process to prepare the food product based on the travel information, the food items information, and the food product information [paragraph 0068-0070].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garden [20140370167], further in view of Niessner [3888539].
With respect to claims 2-3, Garden discloses the invention as substantially claimed, however does not show the further details of the anchor system
Niessner makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 2} The modular system of claim 1, wherein the one or more re-configurable anchor systems comprise a plurality of unitary anchor points (44) [see FIG 7, col 3, line 58-col 4, line 21].
{cl. 3} The modular system of claim 1, wherein the one or more re-configurable anchor systems comprise a plurality of separated anchor points (42) along one or more frames or rails (44) within the container (22) [see FIG 7, col 3, line 58-col 4, line 21].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Garden with the teachings of Niessner because Niessner provides a known arrangement that prevents hazardous transport of heavy equipment during transit.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garden [20140370167], further in view of Taviera et al [20190066032].
With respect to claim 12, Garden discloses the invention as substantially claimed, however does not show the drone.
Taviera makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 12} The modular system of claim 1, further comprising a storage area (450) for one or more airborne or ground-based delivery drones (100), wherein the on-board controller is further configured to control operations of the one or more airborne or ground-based delivery drones to deliver the prepared food product [see FIGs 2A, 4, paragraph 0068].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Garden with the teachings of Taviera because Taviera provides a drone that allows deliveries to be completed in inaccessible areas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-11, 15-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The features are not found in the prior art.
Conclusion
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
6/2/2026