DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
• “buffer unit” as recited in at least claim 1 (first, “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “buffer”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “buffer” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the unit)
• “detection unit” as recited in at least claims 1 and 4 (first, “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “detection”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “detection” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the unit)
• “loading unit” as recited in at least claim 8 (first, “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “loading”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “loading” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the unit)
• “removal device” as recited in at least claim 9 (first, “device” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “removal”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “removal” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the device)
• “calibre receiving units” as recited in at least claim 10 (first, “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “calibre receiving”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “calibre receiving” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the unit)
• “drive unit” as recited in at least claim 10 (first, “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “drive”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “drive” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the unit)
• “cooling unit” as recited in at least claim 11 (first, “unit” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “cooling”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “cooling” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the unit)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bauer (US 20220032487).
Regarding claim 1, Bauer discloses a slicing machine (slicing apparatus 15; see fig. 1A) for slicing a predetermined number of product calibres into slices and for producing portions from the slices (products 13 are cut into slices 25 and collected to form portions 107; see paragraph [0098]), the slicing machine comprising: - a cutting unit with a knife for separating the slices from the predetermined number of product calibres (located within cutting region 23 is blade 83, which cuts products 13 into slices 25; see paragraph [0097] and fig. 1A), - a feeding unit with a feed conveyor for feeding a plurality of product calibres to the cutting unit along a feed direction (feeding unit 21 comprises conveying means 95 for transporting products 13 in a feeding direction F towards cutting region 23; see paragraph [0097] and fig. 1A), - a buffer unit arranged at or upstream of the feeding unit and configured to receive the plurality of product calibres (loading apparatus 11 is arranged upstream of feeding unit 21 and receives a plurality of products 13 from either manual loading by an operator or automatic loading by a supply wagon; see paragraphs [0104, 110] and figs. 1A), - a weight detection unit configured to detect a product calibre weight of each of the plurality of product calibres received in the buffer unit (loading apparatus 11 may comprise a weighing device to determine the weight of products 13; see paragraph [0110]), and - a controller operatively connected to the buffer unit and the weight detection unit (controller 81 comprises display 169 to provide information to an operator, including number and/or weight of products 13 to be sliced (wherein the weighing device is part of loading apparatus 11); see paragraphs [0110, 0134]), - wherein the controller is configured to obtain from the weight detection unit the product calibre weight of each of the plurality of product calibres received in the buffer unit (controller 81 receives information regarding weight of products 13 (wherein the weighing device is part of loading apparatus 11); see paragraphs [0110, 0134]), control the buffer unit to feed the predetermined number of product calibres from the plurality of product calibres to the feeding unit sequentially or simultaneously (since controller 81 controls transfer of products 13 to feeding device 21 and provides information to an operator including number of products 13 to be sliced to complete a lot, controller 81 is interpreted to be capable of stopping supply to feeding unit 21 (either by a preselected program or manual input from an operator) once this number has been reached; see paragraphs [0122, 0134]) such that the product calibre weight of each of the predetermined number of product calibres has at most a predetermined deviation from the product calibre weight of each other of the predetermined number of product calibres (since controller 81 controls transfer of products 13 to feeding device 21, provides information regarding weight of products 13 while they are in loading apparatus 11, and is configurable (either by preselected program or manual input from an operator), it is interpreted that controller 81 is capable of detecting and supplying only products 13 that fall within an acceptable predetermined deviation of weight; see paragraphs [0122, 0134]), and when the plurality of the product calibres includes more than the predetermined number of product calibres having product calibre weights with at most the predetermined deviation from each other, control the buffer unit to feed the predetermined number of product calibres to the feeding unit sequentially or simultaneously (products 13 may be transferred to feeding unit 21 according to any product parameter, or in a predetermined order. Thus, it is interpreted that controller 81 is capable of transferring products 13 in a specific order based on their weights; see paragraphs [0033, 0122, 0134]) such that a deviation of the product calibre weight of each of the predetermined number of product calibres from the product calibre weight of each other of the predetermined number of product calibres is minimized (products 13 can be fed to feeding unit 21 such that products 13 of similar weights are sliced together, which results in less deviation and a more consistent operation).
Examiner notes that as presently interpreted, controller 81 of Bauer is understood to control the entirety of slicing apparatus 15. Bauer discloses that controller 81 is configured to control feeding unit 21 and the slicing process in general, and that controller 81 may be a common controller that allows for components of slicing apparatus 15 to be synchronized for an optimized slicing process (see paragraph [0134]). Further, controller 81 may be configured to adjust the slicing process depending on a product weight (see paragraph [0040]). Therefore, as best understood, controller 81 is capable of controlling the transfer of products 13 from the buffering unit (loading apparatus 11) to the feeding unit (feeding unit 21).
Regarding claim 9, Bauer discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer further discloses at least one removal device (entraining device 52; see fig. 6) configured to remove a relevant product calibre from the buffer unit and to convey the relevant product calibre onto the feed conveyor of the feeding unit (entraining device 52 detects (via sensor 77) when product 13 has reached transferring height H. Entraining device 52 then moves product 13 in transferring direction T such that product 13 moves from loading apparatus 11 to conveying means 95 of feeding unit 21; see paragraphs [0097, 0108, 0129] and figs. 1A, 6), - wherein the removal device is further configured to push the relevant product calibre onto the feed conveyor of the feeding unit in parallel with the feed direction (products 13 are deposited on conveying means 95 of feeding unit 21 and move in a feeding direction F towards cutting region 23; see paragraph [0097] and fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Bauer discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer further discloses wherein: - the buffer unit is designed as a paternoster buffer unit comprising a plurality of calibre receiving units, - wherein the plurality of calibre receiving units is displaceable in and/or against a direction of rotation by a drive unit of the buffer unit, or - the buffer unit is designed as a compartment buffer unit (loading apparatus 11 comprises compartments 117; see paragraph [0128] and fig. 6), which comprises a plurality of calibre receiving units in the form of calibre compartments (a plurality of compartments 117 (formed by adjacent product support surfaces 27, run 113, and wall member 93) are supported by conveying means 19; see paragraph [0128] and fig. 6), - wherein the plurality of calibre receiving units is displaceable in and/or against a height direction by a drive unit of the buffer unit (compartments 117 are vertically displaceable along conveying means 19 by action of driving means 43; see paragraphs [0117, 0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 20220032487).
Regarding claim 2, Bauer discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. However, Bauer does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined deviation of the product calibre weights of the predetermined number of product calibres is at most ± 4.5%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bauer to make the predetermined deviation of the product calibre weights of the predetermined number of product calibres at most ± 4.5% since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)). In the instant case, the device of Bauer would not operate differently if the predetermined deviation was at most ± 4.5%, since as best understood, this is a control parameter that can be set via controller 81. If desired, the deviation could be set to either a larger or more narrow range, depending on the needs of the process; however, the overall function of the device does not change (that is, the device is still controlled in such a way that products are transferred from a buffer to a feeding device that transports the product to a blade where it is sliced). Further, it appears Applicant has placed no criticality on the claimed range, simply indicating that the deviation “can preferably be at most approximately ±4.5%” (see instant specification paragraph [0033]).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 20220032487) in view of Graselli (US 20190030740).
Regarding claim 4, Bauer discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer does not explicitly disclose the slicing machine further comprises a further detection unit operatively connected to the controller and configured to detect at least one further product parameter comprising a length and/or a volume and/or a shape of the product calibres.
Graselli discloses the slicing machine further comprises a further detection unit operatively connected to the controller (scanning device 8 is connected to a processing unit; see paragraphs [0107, 0112]) and configured to detect at least one further product parameter comprising a length and/or a volume and/or a shape of the product calibres (the processing unit comprises a volume module and a shape module that calculate the volume and shape of product 2 based on data received from scanning device 8; see paragraphs [0107, 0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bauer in view of Graselli to include a further detection unit for detecting length and/or volume and/or shape of the product. Graselli discloses a detection unit (scanning device 8) that is connected to a processing unit capable of calculating the shape, volume, and density. As a result of these calculations, the proper slice thickness can be set in order to achieve a predetermined weight (see paragraph [0115]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a detection device that results in the abovementioned variables is useful in that it provides an alternative method for determining weight without the need for a weighing device. That is, the detection device of Graselli could be used either in addition to, or as an alternative to a weighing device.
Bauer as modified discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the buffer unit as a function of the at least one further product parameter (controller 81 is capable of controlling transfer of products 13 from loading apparatus 11 to feeding device 21 based on data from the weighing device. As modified, controller 81 would then be able to control this operation based on data from the further detection unit; see paragraphs [0110, 0134]).
Regarding claim 5, Bauer as modified discloses the limitations of claim 4 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer as modified further discloses wherein: - the slicing machine further comprises a cutting device operatively connected to the controller (controller 81 is configured to control motion of blade 83; see paragraph [0134]) and configured to cut the product calibres in the longitudinal direction into a plurality of product calibre parts (blade 83 cuts products 13 into slices 25 as products 13 move in a longitudinal feeding direction F; see paragraph [0097] and fig. 1A).
Graselli further discloses wherein the cutting device at least two cutting elements (cutting station T includes blades 21, 22, 23; see paragraph [0034] and fig. 3) adjustable in the transverse direction (blades 21, 22, 23 are vertically adjustable by a plurality of adjustment means 30-35, 40-45; see paragraphs [0034, 0064]), - wherein the controller is further configured to control the cutting device as a function of the at least one further product parameter detected by the further detection unit (the processing unit adjusts the distance between blades 21, 22, 23 based on data obtained by scanning device 8; see paragraphs [0107, 0117]).
Regarding claim 6, Bauer as modified discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer as modified further discloses wherein: - the controller is further configured to control the cutting device as a function of at least one product parameter limit value comprising a minimum slice width of the slices and/or a maximum slice width of the slices (thickness of slices 25 may be set by controller 81, which is further configured to control the motion of blade 83; see paragraph [0134]).
Regarding claim 7, Bauer as modified discloses the limitations of claim 4 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein: - the weight detection unit or the further detection unit is arranged upstream of the buffer unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bauer to make the weight detection unit or the further detection unit arranged upstream of the buffer unit since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). In the instant case, the weighing device can be integrated into the loading unit (upstream of the buffer unit) without changing the overall function of the device; that is, there appears to be no functional difference between weighing the product while on the buffer unit versus weighing the product while on the loading unit.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 20220032487) in view of Sauer (US 20040149541).
Regarding claim 8, Bauer discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer does not explicitly disclose a loading unit arranged upstream of the buffer unit and configured to load the plurality of product calibres into the buffer unit through a supply opening of the buffer unit.
Sauer discloses a loading unit arranged upstream of the buffer unit (input device 12 is located upstream from carriers 09 of intermediate storage device 01; see fig. 1) and configured to load the plurality of product calibres into the buffer unit through a supply opening of the buffer unit (input device 12 transports objects 11 onto carriers 09 by action of pushers 14; see paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bauer in view of Sauer to include a loading unit in order to provide a means for automatically loading the buffer unit. Bauer discloses that products can be loaded onto the buffer unit (loading apparatus 11) manually by an operator or automatically by a supply wagon (see paragraphs [0109-0110]). Sauer provides a similar system to the supply wagon in the form of a belt conveyor device, which delivers objects onto the input device (see paragraph [0026]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the input device of Sauer is an alternative method for supplying a buffer unit and thus would be a simple substitution of loading elements.
Bauer as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the loading unit is designed to be functionally unified with the weight detection unit and/or the further detection unit, and/or – the weight detection unit is designed as a weighing and/or transport belt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bauer to make the loading unit functionally unified with the weight detection unit and/or the further detection unit since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). In the instant case, the weighing device can be integrated into the loading unit without changing the overall function of the device; that is, there appears to be no functional difference between weighing the product while on the buffer unit versus weighing the product on the while on the loading unit.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 20220032487) in view of Burk (US 20160271822).
Regarding claim 11, Bauer discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bauer does not explicitly disclose wherein: - the buffer unit comprises a cooling unit configured to passively or actively cool the plurality of the product calibres accommodated therein.
Burk discloses wherein: - the buffer unit comprises a cooling unit configured to passively or actively cool the plurality of the product calibres accommodated therein (food product 2 is passed through pre-cooling device 4 to chill food product 2 prior to slicing; see paragraphs [0010, 0060-0061] and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bauer in view of Burk to include a cooling device. Burk discloses that cooling or freezing a food product prior to slicing results in higher cutting quality, which leads to standardization of cutting performance (see paragraph [0010]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that standardization of the cutting operation is desirable in order to reduce deviation of products, and therefore potential defects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Bauer does not disclose a controlled selection and grouping of product calibres based on their weights prior to feeding them to the slicing process, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Bauer discloses a controller (controller 81) which is configured to control feeding unit 21 and the slicing process in general (see paragraph [0134]). Specifically, the products may be transferred to the respective lane and/or feeding unit according to any product parameter, e.g. a product weight or quality parameter, or in a predetermined order (see paragraph [0033]). Because Bauer includes a controller that is capable of transferring products according to weight or in a predetermined order (and may include programs that perform this task automatically – see paragraph [0134]), it is interpreted that the controller is able to perform the intended use recited in at least claim 1. That is, controller 81 can be used to control the buffer unit (loading apparatus 11) to feed a specific number of product calibres to the feeding unit (feeding unit 21) in a sequential or simultaneous manner, such that deviation between product calibres is minimized.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 4572044 to Antonissen, drawn to a method and apparatus for slicing a product in accordance with its anticipated weight distribution; and US 3995517 to Smith, drawn to a method and apparatus for obtaining desired batch weight in a solid slicing control system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724