DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to Applicant’s application filed 04/04/2024.
Application filed: 04/04/2024
Applicant’s PgPUB: 2024/0339017
Claims:
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim 1 is independent.
Claims 1-18 are elected.
Claims 19-29 are not elected.
Claims 30-53 are canceled.
Continuity/Priority Data
The Application claims priority to Provisional Application No. 63/494,227 filed 04/04/2023.
IDS:
New IDS:
IDS filed 12/10/2024 has been considered.
IDS filed 08/23/2024 has been considered.
IDS filed 05/07/2024 has been considered.
Oral Election of Claims:
Examiner contacted Attorney on 01/14/2026 to discuss an election between claim sets 1 (1-18) and 2 (19-29). Attorney, after consultation with Applicant, elected claim set 1 which includes claims 1-18.
Examiner will examine elected claims 1-18
Examiner will not examine non-elected claims 19-29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”).
As to claim 1, Dahlfort discloses:
a method for indicating ethernet link information through RJ45 jacks of a device (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2 of Dahlfort), the method comprising:
determining, by the device, at least one ethernet link characteristic associated with at least one ethernet port of the device (Fig. 1, 120, 110B (indicator light), Fig. 2 of Dahlfort – Dahlfort shows how the light indicates mode and description); and
Trickler discloses what Dahlfort does not expressly disclose.
Trickler discloses:
receiving a configuration database (Figs. 2A-B, 4A-B, Intelligent Backlight Rules Database) that assigns colors to different ethernet link characteristics (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 4A-B, Fig. 6, Intelligent Backlight Rules Database (242, 442), col. 1 ll. 35-56, col. 20 ll. 12-38 – Trickler teaches quering other devices for the intelligent backlight rules (i.e, IBR) (i.e., receiving a configuration database) and the IBR is used to alter color, blinking, intensity, etc);
back lighting the at least one ethernet port with a color, wherein the color is determined by the at least one ethernet link characteristic and the configuration database (col. 1 ll. 35-56 – Trickler teaches determining of the next selectable lighting state available includes comparing the current lighting state and the sensor state to a set of intelligent backlighting rules. Examiner Note: while Trickler discussed backlighting other electronic devices, its teachings are applicable to the ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort.).
Dahlfort and Trickler are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to indicator lighting systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Trickler to the system/method of Dahlfort in order to determine the lighting state available based on set of intelligent backlighting rules (Trickler, col. 1 ll. 35-56).
As to claim 2, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Trickler discloses:
wherein the configuration database is provided by a controller separate from the device (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 4A-B, Fig. 6, Intelligent Backlight Rules Database (242, 442), col. 1 ll. 35-56, col. 20 ll. 12-38 – Trickler teaches quering other devices for the intelligent backlight rules (i.e, IBR) (i.e., receiving a configuration database) and the IBR is used to alter color, blinking, intensity, etc). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 4, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Trickler discloses:
wherein the configuration database is provided by a controller collocated within the device (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 4A-B, Fig. 6, Intelligent Backlight Rules Database (242, 442), col. 1 ll. 35-56, col. 20 ll. 12-38 – Trickler teaches quering other devices for the intelligent backlight rules (i.e, IBR) (i.e., receiving a configuration database) and the IBR is used to alter color, blinking, intensity, etc; Trickler shows that the IBR is collocated in multiple devices (see Figs. 2A-B, 4A-B)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 6, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 4, and
Trickler discloses:
wherein the configuration database is a default color assignment stored within the device (Fig. 6, col. 1 ll. 35-56, col. 20 ll. 12-38 – Trickler teaches the intelligent backlight rules (i.e, IBR) has default settings (i.e., default color assignments). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 10, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 9, and
Dahlfort discloses:
wherein the type of device includes at least one of an ethernet switch, a wired access point, a wireless access point, a server, or an intermediate node (¶0072 – Dahlfort teaches a network device being a swtich).
As to claim 14, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Dahlfort discloses:
wherein the color of the back light is further determined, at least in part, by at least one of cable quality or cable length of cable coupled to the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, ¶0046 – Dahlfort teaches detecting that the operational indicator light is in the “on” state, that one or more external (i.e., cable quality) or internal faults have been detected in the node).
As to claim 15, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Trickler discloses:
wherein the color of the back light is further determined, at least in part, by a temperature of the at least one ethernet port (col. 12 ll. 56-67 – Trickler teaches a lighting state is a general state or evaluation of the light output or intensity of a single or number of luminaires. The lighting state can be used to aggregate the state of multiple light fixtures and their intensities (including color, or color temperature, among other parameters of fixture)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 18, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 17, and
Trickler discloses:
wherein the command causes a cavity of the at least one ethernet port to blink or pulsate (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 4A-B, Fig. 6, Intelligent Backlight Rules Database (242, 442), col. 1 ll. 35-56, col. 20 ll. 12-38 – Trickler teaches quering other devices for the intelligent backlight rules (i.e, IBR) (i.e., receiving a configuration database) and the IBR is used to alter color, blinking, intensity, etc; Trickler shows that the IBR is collocated in multiple devices (see Figs. 2A-B, 4A-B)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 1.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0015165 to Engelen et al. (“Engelen”).
As to claim 3, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 2,
Engelen discloses what Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Engelen discloses:
wherein the configuration database is provided to the controller by a user (¶0048 – Engelen teaches that supplier configuration databased can replace a local configuration database (i.e., provided by user)).
Dahlfort, Trickler and Engelen are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to indicator lighting systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate configuration database as discussed in Engelen with lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Engelen to the system/method of Dahlfort and Trickler in order to demonstrate how usage of a configuration database is used to store configuration information (Engelen, ¶0056).
As to claim 5, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 4,
Engelen discloses what Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Engelen discloses:
wherein the configuration database is uploaded to the device by a user (¶0048 – Engelen teaches that supplier configuration databased can replace a local configuration database (i.e., provided by user)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 3.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0188757 to Bhogal et al. (“Bhogal”).
As to claim 7, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1,
Bhogal discloses what Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Bhogal discloses:
wherein the ethernet link characteristic is an amount of power provided by the ethernet port for power-over-ethernet (POE) equipment coupled to the at least one ethernet port (¶0130 – Bhogal teaches the external platform can directly or indirectly communicate with the control system to send cook programs, receive data (e.g., sensor data, grill states, etc.), send control instructions, send updates, and/or communicate other information. In a first variant, the external platform can communicate directly with the control system via a wired connection (e.g., LAN, power over ethernet, etc.) or a wireless connection (e.g., WIFI, cellular, etc.)).
Dahlfort, Trickler and Bhogal are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to networking systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate PoE as discussed in Bhogal with lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Bhogal to the system/method of Dahlfort and Trickler in order to demonstrate usage of power of ethernet (Bhogal, ¶0130).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0188757 to Bhogal et al. (“Bhogal”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0032890 to Stack (“Stack”).
As to claim 8, Dahlfort, Trickler and Engelen discloses:
method of claim 7,
Stack discloses what Dahlfort, Trickler and Engelen do not expressly disclose.
Stack discloses:
wherein the color of the back light changes in response to changing amounts of power provided by the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 1, ¶0014 – Stack teaches how LED colors are changed based on power levels).
Dahlfort, Trickler, Bhogal and Stack are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to networking systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate LED color with power level dependence as discussed in Stack with PoE as discussed in Bhogal with lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Stack to the system/method of Dahlfort, Trickler and Bhogal in order to demonstrate how power can effect color (Bhogal, ¶0014).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0275876 A1 to Ohno et al. (“Ohno”).
As to claim 9, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1,
Ohno discloses Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Ohno discloses:
wherein the ethernet link characteristic is based, at least in part, by a type of device coupled to the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 3, Computer ID/SW_ID of Ohno).
Dahlfort, Trickler and Ohno are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to indicator lighting systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate configuration tables as discussed in Ohno with lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Ohno to the system/method of Dahlfort and Trickler in order to demonstrate how device types can be stored within a table (Ohno, ¶0075).
As to claim 13, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1,
Ohno discloses Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Ohno discloses:
wherein the ethernet link characteristic is based, at least in part, by a virtual local area network (VLAN) packet type included in ethernet data passing through the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 3, VLAN_ID of Ohno). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 9.
Claims 11, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0275876 A1 to Ohno et al. (“Ohno”).
As to claim 11, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1,
Jain discloses what Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Jain discloses:
wherein the ethernet link characteristic is based, at least in part, on a data throughput of the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 4 of Jain).
Dahlfort, Trickler and Jain are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to indicator lighting systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate port information table as discussed in Jain with lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Ohno to the system/method of Dahlfort and Trickler in order to demonstrate how to a table can store a variety of port information (Jain, ¶0008).
As to claim 12, Dahlfort, Trickler and Jain discloses:
method of claim 11, and
Jain discloses:
wherein the data throughput is at least one of a real-time data throughput or a data throughput over a predetermined period of time (Fig. 4 of Jain). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 11.
As to claim 16, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Jain discloses what Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Jain discloses:
wherein the ethernet link characteristic is based, at least in part, on a data link speed of the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 4 of Jain). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection the same as in claim 11.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0384979 A1 to Dahlfort (“Dahlfort”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,930,763 to Trickler et al. (“Trickler”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0075297 A1 to Boulter (“Boulter”).
As to claim 17, Dahlfort and Trickler discloses:
method of claim 1,
Boulter discloses what Dahlfort and Trickler do not expressly disclose.
Boulter discloses:
wherein back lighting the at least one ethernet port is based, at least in part, on receiving a command to locate the at least one ethernet port (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶0103 – Boulter shows an image of a ethernet switch and locating ports (i.e., ports 3 and 24)).
Dahlfort, Trickler and Boulter are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to indicator lighting systems.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate ethernet port GUI as discussed in Boulter with lighting rules as discussed in Trickler with ethernet system as discussed in Dahlfort by adding the functionality of Boulter to the system/method of Dahlfort and Trickler in order to demonstrate how to present port data to a user (Boulter, ¶0103).
Conclusion
/TAYLOR A ELFERVIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445