DETAILED ACTIONS
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 15-17,20-32, and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (US 2020/0012852 A1, hereinafter, Ding, IDS reference).
Regarding Claim 1, Ding teaches,
An apparatus, comprising: one or more sensor modules adapted to be placed at one or more selected locations within an agricultural habitat (Ding, Figure 3, “[0011] As shown in FIGS. 1 and 4, a method Sl00 for selectively deploying sensors within an agricultural facility includes: accessing scan data of a set of modules deployed within the agricultural facility in Block S120”. Figure 3); said one or more sensor modules comprising:
an energy source (Ding, Figure 3, Solar cell, [0042] The sensor pod can further include a battery and/or a solar panel);
a plurality of individual sensors adapted to collect data comprising any two or more of temperature, temperature gradient(Ding, Figure 3, Temperature sensor),, humidity, light levels, light frequencies, (Ding, Figure 3, [0015] For example, the system can: detect ambient air temperature, ambient humidity, ambient light level)”) , soil moisture, soil composition,(Ding, Figure 3, [0016] Additionally or alternatively, the system can: access water quality data-such as water temperature, water level, dissolved oxygen, pH, and/or nutrient level-from sensor pods deployed to target modules throughout the facility”. [0038] the ambient sensors (e.g., air temperature, air speed, light level, and relative humidity sensors)); plant health, plant growth, and plant quality including any of maturity, health, fruit quantity, and ripeness;
a processor for processing and manipulating information collected by said plurality of sensors and storing said information in a memory (Ding, Figure 3, [0023] “a local or remote computer system configured to control various actuators within the facility to assist growth of plants based on data collected from sensor pods and other sensors throughout the facility”. [0045] “An onboard processor integrated into the sensor pod”)
wherein said processor identifies environmental trends within the agricultural habitat and prepares a report of said trends for export from said sensor module [0028] As shown in FIG. 1, the method Sl00 can be executed by a system including: a computer system; a fixed sensor suite; an automated (or "autonomous") mover; and a robotic manipulator. The fixed sensor suite is connected to the computer system and is configured to regularly collect optical data (e.g., overhead digital photographic images) of multiple modules-each containing multiple plants-staged within a grow area of the facility and to collect ambient sensor data from over these modules); and
a communications medium by which sensor module transmits sensor information to, and receives control information from, external systems. (Ding, Figure 3, wireless communication module, [0041] The sensor pod can also include a wireless communication module configured to broadcast ambient condition and water quality data back to a wireless hub, wireless gateway, or other computer system within the facility, such as once per ten-second interval over hours, days, or weeks in which the sensor pod is loaded into a module”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches wherein said selected locations comprise any of: between plant rows; within plant beds; and at different elevations within the agricultural habitat. (Ding, Figure 1-4, [0025] “insert a sensor pod exhibiting a form similar to that of the plant pod-into the target plant slot in the first module. A mover can then return the first module to its assigned location within a grow area of the facility. With the sensor pod now active and located in the first module, the sensor pod can regularly record local ambient and water quality conditions-such as air temperature, air speed, light level, relative humidity, water temperature, water level, dissolved oxygen, pH, and nutrient level and wirelessly broadcast these data to a local or remote computer system”).
Regarding Claim 3, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches further comprising: a robotic system (Ding, Figure 1, Robotic manipulator) adapted to periodically place and reposition at least one of said one or more sensor modules within the agricultural habitat based on any of a predetermined schedule and/or upon information derived from one or more of said sensor modules (Ding, Figure 1-3,[0023] “a transfer station including a robotic manipulator configured to autonomously move plants between modules of different types and to harvest fully-grown plants from modules; a mover configured to autonomously move modules between grow areas within the facility and the transfer station; plant pods configured to transiently support plants in plant slots within modules”).
Regarding Claim 4, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
Ding further teaches wherein said one or more sensor modules are adapted for placement by said robotic system at said one or more selected locations within said agricultural habitat. (Ding, figure 2, [0011] “scheduling a robotic manipulator within the agricultural facility to remove a particular plant from a particular plant slot in the target module in Block S140 and load the particular plant slot with a sensor pod from a first population of sensor pods deployed in the agricultural facility in Block S142; and monitoring environmental conditions at target modules in the first subset of target modules, the second subset of target modules”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said one or more sensor modules further adapted to collect data at each of several locations within the agricultural habitat; and said one or more sensor modules further adapted to map said collected data to each location and associate said collected data with a group of plants at said location. (Ding, Figure 1-2, [0040], “The robotic manipulator can then: retrieve a sensor pod from a magazine of sensor pods stored at the transfer station; adjust a height of a mast of the first sensor pod to approximately the representative height of the set of plants in the module; and then load the sensor pod into a particular plant slot in the module. By thus adjusting the height of the mast of the sensor pod according to height of
other plants in the module, [0041] The sensor pod can also include a wireless communication module configured to broadcast ambient condition and water quality data back to a wireless hub, wireless gateway, or other computer system within the facility”)
Regarding Claim 6, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 5,
Ding further teaches said one or more of said sensor modules further adapted to identify conditions at locations among said several locations where growth is not acceptable. (Ding, [0019] Therefore, the system can selectively deploy sensor pods to target modules in the facility to support collection of high-resolution, high-frequency environmental, water quality, and/or pest pressure data at discrete locations in the facility and then extrapolate these data to other modules not occupied by such sensor pods-in the facility to inform targeted adjustment of environment and water conditions and to inform targeted response to pest pressures that
maintain or increase yield, plant quality, and consistency of plant crops produced at the facility over time”. [0089] However, if the system fails to identify a preset
trigger condition in plants in the first module (or in one group of plants in the first module), the system can withhold sensor pods from these finishing-type modules.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 5,
Ding further teaches wherein said one or more of said sensor modules are repositioned when growth of the plants at said several locations is not uniform [0089] However, if the system fails to identify a preset trigger condition in plants in the first module (or in one group of plants in the first module), the system can withhold sensor pods from these finishing-type modules.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 5,
Ding further teaches said one or more of said sensor modules further adapted to monitor multiple locations to identify and mitigate substandard agricultural habitat infrastructure. (Ding, [0093] The system can then distribute sensor pods within a cluster of modules containing plants exhibiting characteristics of interest ( or predicted to yield a certain outcome based on these characteristics) in order to access higher-resolution environmental and water quality data for some of these modules, which may enable the system to interpolate ambient and water quality exposure of other plants in these clusters with great accuracy”)
Regarding Claim 9, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said energy source of said one or more of said sensor modules comprising any of internal batteries and a large capacitor or capacitor array. (Ding, Figure 3, [0042] “The sensor pod can further include a battery and/or a solar panel configured to power sensors and the wireless communication module in the sensor pod”).
Regarding Claim 10, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said energy source of said one or more of said sensor modules further comprising a power source that is adapted to be recharged by either of electrical connection with charging contacts or inductive coupling with charging inductors by engagement with an appendage of a robotic system. (Ding, Figure 3, [0042] “The sensor pod can further include a battery and/or a solar panel configured to power sensors and the wireless communication module in the sensor pod”).
Regarding Claim 11, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
Ding further teaches said robotic system comprising any of a robot arm configured for movement within said agricultural habitat via a conveyer or track system, a wheeled robot, or a drone. (Ding, Figure 1-2, Robotic manipulator, [0023] “transfer
station including a robotic manipulator configured to autonomously move plants between modules of different types and to harvest fully-grown plants from modules. [0024] Generally, a sensor pod can define a form that enables the robotic manipulator to interface with both plant pods-each supporting an individual plant-and sensor pods via the same end effector and according to similar detection and navigation pathways, thereby enabling simple and robust interactions between the robotic manipulator and both plant pods and sensor pods.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said plurality of sensors comprising any of a light sensor, a wind sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a CO2 sensor, a humidity sensor, a pH sensor, and an imaging device to monitor plant growth and health. (Ding, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 5,
Ding further teaches said light sensor further comprising an external system configured to adjust light exposure times (Ding, [0108] “the system can implement closed loop
controls to adjust artificial lighting over the cluster of modules in order to maintain a light level detected by a light level sensor in the sensor pod within a narrow target light level range, such as by automatically increasing a power
setting of select artificial lighting elements over the cluster of modules if the light level detected by the sensor pod is less than a target light level and vice versa”).
and/or wavelengths of light applied to plants within said agricultural habitat based on said mapping.
Regarding Claim 16, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said plurality of sensors comprising a sensor configured for direct contact with a medium in which plants in the agricultural habitat are grown to identify percentages of medium components. (Ding, [0025] then insert a sensor pod exhibiting a form similar to that of the plant pod-into the target plant slot in the first module. A mover can then return the first module to its assigned location within a grow area of the facility. With the sensor pod now active and located
in the first module, the sensor pod can regularly record local ambient and water quality conditions-such as air temperature, air speed, light level, relative humidity, water temperature, water level, dissolved oxygen, pH, and nutrient level and wirelessly broadcast these data to a local or remote computer system”)
Regarding Claim 17, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said one or more sensor modules further configured to export information to an external system that maps said information to different beds within the agricultural habitat based on sensor module location (Ding, Figure 3, wireless communication module, [0041] The sensor pod can also include a wireless communication module configured to broadcast ambient condition and water quality data back to a wireless hub, wireless gateway, or other computer system within the facility, such as once per ten-second interval over hours, days, or weeks in which the sensor pod is loaded into a module”).
; and said external system using said information to identify locations within the agricultural habitat that are more or less conducive to healthy plant growth. module [0028] As shown in FIG. 1, the method Sl00 can be executed by a system including: a computer system; a fixed sensor suite; an automated (or "autonomous") mover; and a robotic manipulator. The fixed sensor suite is connected to the computer system and is configured to regularly collect optical data (e.g., overhead digital photographic images) of multiple modules-each containing multiple plants-staged within a grow area of the facility and to collect ambient sensor data from over these modules).
Regarding Claim 20, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said one or more sensor modules further comprising: a unique label to identify the sensor module (Ding, [0036] Furthermore, in this implementation, the module can include a set of optical fiducials arranged on the top surface of the lid and/or the tray and configured to indicate position, orientation, distance, type, and/or unique identity of the module. For example, the module can include: one optical fiducial (e.g., a unique barcode or quick-response code”).
Regarding Claim 21, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 20,
Ding further teaches wherein an imaging device in a robotic system or in a drone scans the label and uses the sensor module identity to map a location of the module within the agricultural habitat. (Ding, [0079], “In one implementation, the system queues the mover to deliver modules from a grow area to the transfer station for scanning by the robotic manipulator during periods in which a low frequency of plant transfer cycles are scheduled at the transfer station. [0113] Additionally or alternatively, in response to a magnitude of the environmental condition gradient deviating from a target environmental condition range at a particular location in the agricultural facility, the system can: query a map of module locations throughout the facility to identify a particular module (or cluster of modules) proximal the particular location of the environmental condition deviation· schedule the particular module ( or the cluster of modules) for manual inspection by a human operator; and/or schedule the particular module (or the cluster of modules) for delivery to the transfer station----outside of a scheduled plant transfer cycle-for capture of a (high-resolution) module-level scan of the module or (higher-resolution) scans of individual plants occupying the module”).
Regarding Claim 22, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches, said one or more sensor modules further configured to be positioned and repositioned within the agricultural habitat by either of lift rings or a ferromagnetic plate with which the sensor module may be picked up and moved by a robot system. (Ding, [0078] In another variation, the robotic manipulator can
Additionally, or alternatively load a sensor pod into a plant slot in a module outside of a scheduled plant transfer cycle for this module. In particular, the system can select a module for enhanced monitoring at random or based on plant characteristics extracted from data collected by fixed infrastructure
in the facility and/or from data collected by the mover while autonomously navigating throughout the facility. Accordingly, the system can dispatch the mover to deliver this module to the transfer station for temporary installation of a sensor pod” (“robotic manipulator” reads on the “lift rings”).
Regarding Claim 23, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 22,
Ding further teaches, said lift rings (Ding, “The robotic manipulator can then: retrieve a sensor pod from a magazine of sensor pods stored at the transfer station; adjust a height of a mast of the first sensor pod to approximately the representative height of the set of plants in the module; and then load the sensor pod into a particular plant slot in the module”) further comprising: an insulated mount having either of electrical contacts or an inductive coupling mechanism by which the sensor module receives power to charge said energy source and by which the sensor module may be interrogated to receive information from, or output information to, an external system. (Ding, [0042] The sensor pod can further include a battery and/or a solar panel configured to power sensors and the wireless communication module in the sensor pod. For example: the solar panel can be arranged at the end of the upper mast opposite the base; the ambient sensors can be arranged around the solar panel; an antenna of the wireless communication module can be arranged along a length of the upper mast; and the wireless communication module and the battery can be arranged in the base of the sensor pod”).
Regarding Claim 24, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said one or more sensor modules further comprising: one or more photocells incorporated into the sensor module structure to charge the energy source within the sensor module. (Ding, Figure 3, Solar cell, [0042] The sensor pod can further include a battery and/or a solar panel configured to power sensors and the wireless communication module in the sensor pod”)
Regarding Claim 25, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding further teaches said one or more sensor modules further comprising: one or more feet configured to maintain a stable support for the sensor module, wherein said one or more feet comprise actuators and a leveling system to automatically level the sensor module after it is placed. (Ding, Figure 3, [0038] As shown in FIG. 3, “the sensor pod can include: a base defining a form factor similar to plant pods-that locate plants in plant slots in modules-and configured to insert into plant slots in modules deployed within the facility. the base can define a conical section including a small end of diameter less than the width of plant slots in these modules and including a large end of diameter greater than the width of plant slots in these modules;”).
Regarding Claim 26, Ding teaches
A method, comprising: placing one or more sensor modules at one or more selected locations within an agricultural habitat; (Ding, Figure 3, “[0011] As shown in FIGS. 1 and 4, a method Sl00 for selectively deploying sensors within an agricultural facility includes: accessing scan data of a set of modules deployed within the agricultural facility in Block S120”. Figure 3) said one or more sensor modules:
collecting with one or more sensors data comprising any two or more of temperature, temperature gradient, humidity, light levels, light frequencies, soil moisture, soil composition, plant health, plant growth, and plant quality including any of maturity, health, fruit quantity, and ripeness; (Ding, Figure 3, [0016] Additionally or alternatively, the system can: access water quality data-such as water temperature, water level, dissolved oxygen, pH, and/or nutrient level-from sensor pods deployed to target modules throughout the facility”. [0038] the ambient sensors (e.g., air temperature, air speed, light level, and relative humidity sensors))
processing and manipulating information collected by said sensors and storing said information in a memory (Ding, Figure 3, [0023] “a local or remote computer system configured to control various actuators within the facility to assist growth of plants based on data collected from sensor pods and other sensors throughout the facility”. [0045] “An onboard processor integrated into the sensor pod”);
identifying environmental trends within the agricultural habitat and preparing a report of said trends for export from said sensor module (Ding, [0028] As shown in FIG. 1, the method Sl00 can be executed by a system including: a computer system; a fixed sensor suite; an automated (or "autonomous") mover; and a robotic manipulator. The fixed sensor suite is connected to the computer system and is configured to regularly collect optical data (e.g., overhead digital photographic images) of multiple modules-each containing multiple plants-staged within a grow area of the facility and to collect ambient sensor data from over these modules); and transmitting sensor information to, and receiving control information from, external systems. (Ding, Figure 3, wireless communication module, [0041] The sensor pod can also include a wireless communication module configured to broadcast ambient condition and water quality data back to a wireless hub, wireless gateway, or other computer system within the facility, such as once per ten-second interval over hours, days, or weeks in which the sensor pod is loaded into a module”).
Regarding Claim 27, Ding teaches the method of claim 26,
Ding further teaches further comprising: a robotic system (Ding, Figure 1, Robotic manipulator) adapted to periodically place and reposition at least one of said one or more sensor modules within the agricultural habitat based on any of a predetermined schedule and/or upon information derived from one or more of said sensor modules (Ding, Figure 1-3,[0023] “a transfer station including a robotic manipulator configured to autonomously move plants between modules of different types and to harvest fully-grown plants from modules; a mover configured to autonomously move modules between grow areas within the facility and the transfer station; plant pods configured to transiently support plants in plant slots within modules”).
Regarding Claim 28, Ding teaches the method of claim 27,
Ding further teaches further comprising: collecting data at each of several locations within the agricultural habitat; mapping said collected data to each location; and associating said collected data with a group of plants at said location (Ding, Figure 1-2, [0040], “The robotic manipulator can then: retrieve a sensor pod from a magazine of sensor pods stored at the transfer station; adjust a height of a mast of the first sensor pod to approximately the representative height of the set of plants in the module; and then load the sensor pod into a particular plant slot in the module. By thus adjusting the height of the mast of the sensor pod according to height of
other plants in the module, [0041] The sensor pod can also include a wireless communication module configured to broadcast ambient condition and water quality data back to a wireless hub, wireless gateway, or other computer system within the facility”)
Regarding Claim 29, Ding teaches the method of claim 28
Ding further teaches said one or more of said sensor modules further adapted to identify conditions at locations among said several locations where growth is not acceptable. (Ding, [0019] Therefore, the system can selectively deploy sensor pods to target modules in the facility to support collection of high-resolution, high-frequency environmental, water quality, and/or pest pressure data at discrete locations in the facility and then extrapolate these data to other modules not occupied by such sensor pods-in the facility to inform targeted adjustment of environment and water conditions and to inform targeted response to pest pressures that maintain or increase yield, plant quality, and consistency of plant crops produced at the facility over time”. [0089] However, if the system fails to identify a preset trigger condition in plants in the first module (or in one group of plants in the first module), the system can withhold sensor pods from these finishing-type modules.”).
Regarding Claim 30, Ding teaches the method of claim 28,
Ding further teaches wherein said one or more of said sensor modules are repositioned when growth of the plants at said several locations is not uniform [0089] However, if the system fails to identify a preset trigger condition in plants in the first module (or in one group of plants in the first module), the system can withhold sensor pods from these finishing-type modules.”).
Regarding Claim 31, Ding teaches the method of claim 28,
Ding further teaches said one or more of said sensor modules further adapted to monitor multiple locations to identify and mitigate substandard agricultural habitat infrastructure. (Ding, [0093] The system can then distribute sensor pods within a cluster of modules containing plants exhibiting characteristics of interest ( or predicted to yield a certain outcome based on these characteristics) in order to access higher-resolution environmental and water quality data for some of these modules, which may enable the system to interpolate ambient and water quality exposure of other plants in these clusters with great accuracy”)
Regarding Claim 32, Ding teaches the method of claim 26,
Ding further teaches said plurality of sensors comprise any of a light sensor, a wind sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a CO2 sensor, a humidity sensor, a pH sensor, and an imaging device to monitor plant growth and health. (Ding, Figure 3, Temperature sensor, PH sensors, light sensor etc.).
Regarding Claim 35, Ding teaches the method of claim 28,
Ding further teaches further comprising: an external system adjusting light exposure times and/or wavelengths of light applied to plants within said agricultural habitat based on said mapping. (Ding, [0018] Furthermore, the system can: assemble these environmental, water-quality, and/or pest pressure gradients generated over time into timeseries exposure gradients for individua l plants occupying known plant slots in modules at known locations in the facility over time; [0060] In particular, the robotic manipulator functions to transfer plants between a first module (e.g., a nursery-type module) exhibiting a first density of plant slots to a second module (e.g., a finishing-type module) exhibiting a second density of plant slots less than the first density. By autonomously moving plants from high-density modules to lower density modules, the robotic system can ensure that plants have sufficient access to light, water-borne nutrients, and space to continue growing over time”).
Regarding Claim 36, Ding teaches the method of claim 28,
The method of claim 26, further comprising: exporting information to an external system that maps said information to different beds within the agricultural habitat based on sensor module location (Ding, Figure 3, [ 0028] As shown in FIG. 1, the method Sl00 can be executed by a system including: a computer system; a fixed sensor suite; an automated (or "autonomous") mover; and a robotic manipulator. The fixed sensor suite is connected to the computer system and is configured to regularly collect optical data (e.g., overhead digital photographic images) of multiple modules-each containing multiple plants-staged within a grow area of the facility and to collect ambient sensor data from over these modules); and said external system using said information to identify locations within the agricultural habitat that are more or less conducive to healthy plant growth. [0089] However, if the system fails to identify a preset trigger condition in plants in the first module (or in one group of plants in the first module), the system can withhold sensor pods from these finishing-type modules”).
Regarding Claim 37, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 26,
Ding further teaches comprising: each of said one or more of said sensor modules having an identify defined by a unique label (Ding, [0036] Furthermore, in this implementation, the module can include a set of optical fiducials arranged on the top surface of the lid and/or the tray and configured to indicate position, orientation, distance, type, and/or unique identity of the module. For example, the module can include: one optical fiducial (e.g., a unique barcode or quick-response code”); a robotic system or a drone scanning said unique label; and said robotic system or said drone using the sensor module identity to map a location of the module within the agricultural habitat. (Ding, [0079], In one implementation, the system queues the mover to deliver modules from a grow area to the transfer station for scanning by the robotic manipulator during periods in which a low frequency of plant transfer cycles is scheduled at the transfer station. [0113] Additionally or alternatively, in response to a magnitude of the environmental condition gradient deviating from a target environmental condition range at a particular location in the agricultural facility, the system can: query a map of module locations throughout the facility to identify a particular module (or cluster of modules) proximal the particular location of the environmental condition deviation· schedule the particular module ( or the cluster of modules) for manual inspection by a human operator; and/or schedule the particular module (or the cluster of modules) for delivery to the transfer station----outside of a scheduled plant transfer cycle-for capture of a (high-resolution) module-level scan of the module or (higher-resolution) scans of individual plants occupying the module”).
Regarding Claim 38, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 26,
Ding further teaches further comprising: positioning and repositioning said one or more sensor modules within the agricultural habitat with either lift rings or a ferromagnetic plate associated with the sensor module and with which the sensor module may be picked up and moved by a robot system. Ding, [0078] In another variation, the robotic manipulator can Additionally, or alternatively load a sensor pod into a plant slot in a module outside of a scheduled plant transfer cycle for this module. In particular, the system can select a module for enhanced monitoring at random or based on plant characteristics extracted from data collected by fixed infrastructure in the facility and/or from data collected by the mover while autonomously navigating throughout the facility. Accordingly, the system can dispatch the mover to deliver this module to the transfer station for temporary installation of a sensor pod” (“robotic manipulator” reads on the “lift rings”).
Regarding Claim 39, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 38,
Ding further teaches wherein said lift rings (Ding, “The robotic manipulator can then: retrieve a sensor pod from a magazine of sensor pods stored at the transfer station; adjust a height of a mast of the first sensor pod to approximately the representative height of the set of plants in the module; and then load the sensor pod into a particular plant slot in the module”) further comprising: an insulated mount having either of electrical contacts or an inductive coupling mechanism by which the sensor module receives power to charge said energy source and by which the sensor module may be interrogated to receive information from, or output information to, an external system. (Ding, [0042] The sensor pod can further include a battery and/or a solar panel configured to power sensors and the wireless communication module in the sensor pod. For example: the solar panel can be arranged at the end of the upper mast opposite the base; the ambient sensors can be arranged around the solar panel; an antenna of the wireless communication module can be arranged along a length of the upper mast; and the wireless communication module and the battery can be arranged in the base of the sensor pod”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Wolf et al. (US 2018/0180768 A1, hereinafter Wolf, IDS reference).
Regarding Claim 13, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 12,
Ding is silent on light sensor further comprising one or more filters adapted to measure different wavelengths of light to which plants within the agricultural habitat are exposed.
However, wolf teaches light sensor further comprising one or more filters adapted to measure different wavelengths of light to which plants within the agricultural habitat are exposed (Wolf, [0013] a light sensor can measure light in a narrow spectral band. In some configurations, a narrowband sensor can be a broadband
photodiode that can further comprise one or more filters that can filter out light outside a target spectral range”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Ding’s light sensors to include light filters as taught by Wolf to measure at different wavelengths light which can positively influence the detection of plant growth data (Wolf, [0002], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 14, combination of Ding and Wolf teaches the apparatus of claim 13,
Ding is silent on said one or more filters adapted to be automatically exchangeable at associated light sensors over predetermined intervals, wherein said associated light sensors each measure different wavelengths of light.
However, Wolf teaches said one or more filters adapted to be automatically exchangeable at associated light sensors over predetermined intervals, wherein said associated light sensors each measure different wavelengths of light. (Wolf, [0011] “The present inventors have developed a device that combines radiometric readings with light sensors in particular spectral bands, and with GPS readings that can be used for post-flight image processing. In various configurations, a station of the present teachings allows imagery to be corrected in a remote and automated fashion by retrospectively retrieving radiometric and positional data
collected by die station at the time of vehicle overpass, without a need for personnel in the field to collect such measurements at the time of image collection [0013] a light sensor can measure light in a narrow spectral band. In some configurations, a narrowband sensor can be a broadband photodiode that can further comprise one or more filters that can filter out light outside a target spectral range”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Ding’s light sensors to include light filters as taught by Wolf to measure at different wavelengths light which can positively influence the detection of plant growth data (Wolf, [0002], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 33, Ding teaches the method of claim 26,
Ding is silent on further comprising: measuring with one or more filters different wavelengths of light to which plants within the agricultural habitat are exposed.
However, wolf teaches further comprising: measuring with one or more filters different wavelengths of light to which plants within the agricultural habitat are exposed. (Wolf, [0013] a light sensor can measure light in a narrow spectral band. In some configurations, a narrowband sensor can be a broadband photodiode that can further comprise one or more filters that can filter out light outside a target spectral range”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Ding’s light sensors to include light filters as taught by Wolf to measure at different wavelengths light which can positively influence the detection of plant growth data (Wolf, [0002], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 34, combination of Ding and Wolf teaches the method of claim 33,
Ding is silent on further comprising: automatically exchanging said one or more filters at associated light sensors over predetermined intervals, wherein said associated light sensors each measure different wavelengths of light.
However, Wolf teaches said further comprising: automatically exchanging said one or more filters at associated light sensors over predetermined intervals, wherein said associated light sensors each measure different wavelengths of light. (Wolf, [0011] “The present inventors have developed a device that combines radiometric readings with light sensors in particular spectral bands, and with GPS readings that can be used for post-flight image processing. In various configurations, a station of the present teachings allows imagery to be corrected in a remote and automated fashion by retrospectively retrieving radiometric and positional data
collected by die station at the time of vehicle overpass, without a need for personnel in the field to collect such measurements at the time of image collection [0013] a light sensor can measure light in a narrow spectral band. In some configurations, a narrowband sensor can be a broadband photodiode that can further comprise one or more filters that can filter out light outside a target spectral range”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Ding’s light sensors to include light filters as taught by Wolf to measure at different wavelengths light which can positively influence the detection of plant growth data (Wolf, [0002], [0013]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding and in view of Bongartz et al. (US 2020/0184153 A1, hereinafter Bongartz).
Regarding Claim 18, Ding teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ding silent on said one or more sensor modules further comprising:
a beacon configured for any of: identifying a sensor module position; and
signaling to a robotic system sensor module status comprising any of a need for energy, a need to upload data to an external system, a detected greenhouse problem, and
to identify a system fault within the sensor module itself.
However, Bongartz teaches said one or more sensor modules further comprising:
a beacon (Bongartz, [2864]-[2867] Beacon”) configured for any of: identifying a sensor module position signaling (Bongartz, [0762] “The calculation of the position can be done using an (indoor) positioning system e.g. based on Bluetooth beacons”) to a robotic system sensor module status comprising any of a need for energy, a need to upload data to an external system, a detected greenhouse problem, and to identify a system fault within the sensor module itself. (Bongartz, [2852] The interface unit of the agricultural light fixture may comprise a gateway, such as a wireless gateway, that may connect to the light control unit. It may comprise a beacon, such as a Bluetooth™ beacon. [2853] The interface unit may be configured to connect to other elements of the Controlled Agricultural System, e.g. one or more other agricultural light fixtures and/or to one or more sensors and/or one or more actuators of the Controlled Agricultural System”).and
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Ding’s sensor pod to include a mounted beacon as taught by Bongartz with the benefit of updating status, position, energy state of the automated guided robot/vehicle status and update alert the user with accurate improved plant growth identification. (Bongartz, [2864]-[2867]).
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Ding and Bongartz teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
Ding is silent on wherein a color of the beacon indicates said status.
However, Bongartz teaches wherein a color of the beacon indicates said status (Bongartz, [2852] The interface unit of the agricultural light fixture may comprise a gateway, such as a wireless gateway, that may connect to the light control unit. It may comprise a beacon, such as a Bluetooth™ beacon. [2853] The interface unit may be configured to connect to other elements of the Controlled Agricultural System, e.g. one or more other agricultural light fixtures and/or to one or more sensors and/or one or more actuators of the Controlled Agricultural System”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Ding’s sensor pod to include a mounted beacon as taught by Bongartz with the benefit of updating status, position, energy state of the automated guided robot/vehicle status and update alert the user with accurate improved plant growth identification. (Bongartz, [2852]-[2853], [2864]-[2867]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ratanaphanyarat et al. (US 20200409384 A1) recites “An autonomous robot is provided, that includes a main body having a frame that includes a back end and a front end. The frame includes a first frame extension and a second frame extension that connects the back end of the frame to the front end of the frame. The front end of the frame includes a path to an open volume disposed between the first frame extension, the second frame extension and the back end. Further provided is a drive system connected to the frame, a retention system coupled to the frame, a lift mechanism attached to the frame, and a sweeper attachment having a dimension to substantially fit within the open volume of the main body. The sweeper attachment is connectable to the retention system to raise and lower of the sweeper attachment using the lift mechanism. Further provided is a controller interfaced with the drive system, the retention system and the lift mechanism. The controller is configured to activate the retention system to connect the frame with the sweeper attachment when the main body is disposed over the sweeper attachment and the sweeper attachment is disposed substantially within the open volume. The drive system is controlled by the controller to move the autonomous robot and activate the sweeper attachment to cause sweeping of a surface” (Abstract).
Bank et al. (US 2020/0057431 A1) discloses “A system for performing autonomous agriculture within an agriculture production environment includes one or more agriculture pods, a stationary robot system, and one or more mobile robots. The agriculture pods include one or more plants and one or more sensor modules for monitoring the plants. The stationary robot system collects sensor data from the sensor modules, performs farming operations on the plants according to an operation schedule based on the collected sensor data, and generates a set of instruction for transporting the agriculture pods within the agriculture production environment. The stationary robot system communicates the set of instructions to the agriculture pods. The mobile robots transport the agriculture pods between the stationary robot system and one or more other locations within the agriculture production environment according to the set of instructions” (Abstract)
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 August 3rd, 2026
/SON T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858