DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Townend et al., U.S. RE50653 E, in view of Michalscheck et al., U.S. Patent Number 10,950,051 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Townend discloses a device, comprising: a processor; a network interface controller configured to provide access to a network; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises an augmented reality management logic (col. 12, lines 5-15) that is configured to: receive an image and position data (col. 2, lines 52-55, receiving image data including image data relating to a network asset, the image data also including information regarding a plurality of identifiers; positioned at a predetermined location relative to the network asset); identify one or more objects visible in the image based on the position data (col. 2, lines 56-59, determining an identity of the network asset based at least in part on recognition of the plurality of identifiers and a relative position); obtain status data corresponding to the one or more objects (col. 11, lines 33-36, communicate the identification and location of the network asset to the technician, or to communicate various other information to the technician as required for interaction with the asset (e.g., warranty, error, status, or instruction information)); and generate, based on the status data, overlay data associated with the image (col. 2, lines 60-62, generating overlay information identifying a location and an identity of the network asset in the image data).
However, it is noted that Townend receives an image and position data, but fails to specifically disclose the position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device.
Michalscheck discloses position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device (col. 6, lines 10-13, leveraging the location and/or orientation of the computing device relative to physical features in a facility; col. 11, lines 18-26, computing device may include a location sensor, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor; location sensor may enable the computing device to provide information relevant to the particular industrial automation equipment; col. 22, line 42-43, GPS coordinates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the image and receiving of position data as disclosed by Townend, the position data comprising three-dimensional coordinates of the device as disclosed by Michalscheck, to provide information relevant to a spatial position of the user.
Regarding claim 2, Townend discloses wherein the augmented reality management logic is further configured to transmit the overlay data to an augmented reality display (col. 11, lines 30-32, overlay information if then generated and provided to the display of the mobile device).
Regarding claim 3, Townend discloses wherein the overlay data corresponds to an augmented overlay configured to be superimposed on the image (FIG. 7; which Examiner interprets as augmented overlay configured as superimposed on the image).
Regarding claim 4, Townend discloses wherein the overlay data is configured to facilitate a generation of an augmented overlay to be superimposed on the image (col. 9, lines 10-20, the display presents to the user an interface including overlay information that includes labels for the various type of identified equipment; an overlay label can be included, either upon selection of the device type button, or in response to tapping on the display).
Regarding claim 5, Townend discloses wherein identifying the one or more objects visible in the image comprises: accessing an object identification database (col. 5, lines 15-17, network asset tracking engine includes an asset identifier database); transmitting an identification request to indicate the device position data to the object identification database (col. 5, lines 23-25, records are illustrated in the asset identifier database; specifically, each asset can have associated with it a particular location an properties); and receiving identification data from the object identification database in response to the identification request, wherein the one or more objects are identified based on the identification data (col. 5, lines 42-45, identification of the asset can correspond to an image recognition process relating to both the asset and to a location identifier).
Regarding claim 6, Townend discloses wherein the augmented reality management logic is further configured to: receive periodic status data of a plurality of objects (col. 11, lines 50-52, provides for continual (or periodic) updating of overlay data as image data is received from the mobile device); and store the periodic status data of the plurality of objects (col. 5, lines 1-4, management tracking engine can be stored at one or both location (i.e., either at a server or on a mobile device).
Regarding claim 7, Townend discloses wherein obtaining the status data comprises retrieving, from the stored periodic status data, the status data corresponding to the one or more objects (col. 9, lines 29-31, various misconfigured or error-state systems can be highlighted by accessing error reports stored at the server when generating the overlay information).
Regarding claim 8, Townend discloses wherein obtaining the status data comprises: identifying at least one controller associated with the one or more objects (col. 9, lines 42-46, a user can tap on a particular asset that is a device to display full warranty information associated with the device, or to get further information about the panel or blade, or port of such a device); transmitting a status request to the at least one controller (col. 10, lines 40-42, captured image data is then transferred to a network asset tracking engine, either at the mobile device such as device 102, or a server at a remote location); and receiving the status data corresponding to the one or more objects from the at least one controller in response to the status request (col. 47-50, supplemental information can be presented to the user as well, such as instructional videos or diagrams that illustrate how to accomplish various routing and/or maintenance tasks).
Regarding claim 9, Townend discloses wherein the status data comprises power consumption data or version data of at least one of the one or more objects (col. 6, lines 26-30, additionally, the overlay information can include, for example, additional details regarding operation of the particular asset; such as a rack system or switch, information such as a traffic load, power consumption; col. 9, lines 17-18, show the identity of the device, including a device type, software version).
Regarding claim 10, Townend discloses wherein the status data comprises communication port statistics data or client statistics data of at least one of the one or more objects (col. 6, lines 31-35, a display of memory usage, available services at the device (or a particular port of the device); additionally a number of ports or jacks actively in user, or system utilization, could be used).
Regarding claim 11, Townend discloses wherein the status data comprises operational status data of at least one of the one or more objects (col. 6, lines 26-28, overlay information can include, for example, additional details regarding operation of the particular asset).
Regarding claim 12, Townend discloses wherein the operational status data comprises at least one of: a link status, a speed status, a fault status, or a data transfer status of at least one of the one or more objects (col. 9, lines 23-31, can display information about routing from a panel, such as an identifier of another panel to which the current panel is connected; additionally, various misconfigured or error-state systems).
Regarding claim 13, Townend discloses wherein the augmented reality management logic is further configured to: generate at least one control signal corresponding to the one or more objects based on the status data; and transmit the at least one control signal to the one or more objects (col. 9, lines 60-62, options can exist for a user to select and reset one or more settings of a particular device via remote control through server at the network management facility).
Regarding claim 14, Townend discloses a device, comprising: a processor; a network interface controller configured to provide access to a network; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises an augmented reality management logic (col. 12, lines 5-15) that is configured to: receive an image and position data (col. 2, lines 52-55, receiving image data including image data relating to a network asset, the image data also including information regarding a plurality of identifiers associated with the network asset and positioned at a predetermined location relative to the network asset); identify one or more objects visible in the image based on the position data (col. 2, lines 56-59, determining an identity of the network asset based at least in part on recognition of the plurality of identifiers and a relative position); obtain status data corresponding to the one or more objects (col. 11, lines 34-36, communicate various other information to the technician as required for interaction with the asset (e.g., warranty, error, status, or instructional information); translate the status data into one or more visual indicators (col. 10, lines 8-11, different images can be used on each panel (or different images can be used on opposite sides of the same panel); and generate, based on the one or more visual indicators, overlay data associated with the image (col. 10, lines 10-15, overlay information to that illustrated could be generated associated with the arrangement; using the images within the arrangement).
However, it is noted that Townend receives an image and position data, but fails to specifically disclose the position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device.
Michalscheck discloses position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device (col. 6, lines 10-13, leveraging the location and/or orientation of the computing device relative to physical features in a facility; col. 11, lines 18-26, computing device may include a location sensor, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor; location sensor may enable the computing device to provide information relevant to the particular industrial automation equipment; col. 22, line 42-43, GPS coordinates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the image and receiving of position data as disclosed by Townend, the position data comprising three-dimensional coordinates of the device as disclosed by Michalscheck, to provide information relevant to a spatial position of the user.
Regarding claim 15, Townend discloses wherein the overlay data corresponds to an augmented overlay configured to be superimposed on the image (col. 5, lines 11-14, generate an overlay indicating such information to a user by displaying combined image data and overlay information on the display of the mobile device).
Regarding claim 16, Townend discloses wherein the augmented overlay comprises the one or more visual indicators (col. 9, lines 7-8, overlay information and image data can be still image data and static overlay information; Figures 4-8).
Regarding claim 17, Townend discloses wherein at least one visual indicator of the one or more visual indicators is a graphical element (col. 9, lines 32-33, additional information associated with the asset in the detailed information area can include a textual or graphical description of a full routing arrangement including the particular asset; Figure 8; col. 10, lines 3, associated set of identifiers; lines 8-10, different images can be used on each panel).
Regarding claim 18, Townend discloses wherein the graphical element is configured to be at least partially superimposed on at least one of the one or more objects visible in the image (Figure 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 19, Townend discloses wherein the augmented reality management logic is further configured to: access a mapping database (col. 5, lines 50, accesses information in the asset identifier database); and identify the one or more visual indicators corresponding to the status data in the mapping database, wherein the status data is translated in response to identification of the one or more visual indicators in the mapping database (col. 5, lines 57-67, a specific telecommunications jack on a particular panel may require service; this related asset to the asset directly identified by the asset identified can be detected by comparison to the asset identifiers, and based on a known relative location of the asset to the asset identifiers as included in the asset identifier database; for example, if three or more identifiers are viewable within the image, the image analysis module could apply one or more triangulation algorithms).
Regarding claim 20, Townend discloses a method comprising: receiving an image and position data (col. 2, lines 52-55, receiving image data including image data relating to a network asset, the image data also including information regarding a plurality of identifiers associated with the network asset and positioned at a predetermined location relative to the network asset); identifying one or more objects visible in the image based on the position data (col. 2, lines 56-59, determining an identity of the network asset based at least in part on recognition of the plurality of identifiers and a relative position); obtaining status data corresponding to the one or more objects (col. 11, lines 34-36, communicate various other information to the technician as required for interaction with the asset (e.g., warranty, error, status, or instructional information); and generating, based on the status data, overlay data associated with the image (col. 2, lines 60-62, generating overlay information identifying a location and an identity of the network asset in the image data).
However, it is noted that Townend receives an image and position data, but fails to specifically disclose the position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device.
Michalscheck discloses position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device (col. 6, lines 10-13, leveraging the location and/or orientation of the computing device relative to physical features in a facility; col. 11, lines 18-26, computing device may include a location sensor, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor; location sensor may enable the computing device to provide information relevant to the particular industrial automation equipment; col. 22, line 42-43, GPS coordinates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the image and receiving of position data as disclosed by Townend, the position data comprising three-dimensional coordinates of the device as disclosed by Michalscheck, to provide information relevant to a spatial position of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 04/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 103, Townend in view of Michalscheck.
Applicant argues Townend fails to disclose receiving position data comprising three-dimensional positional coordinates of the device. Examiner responds Michalscheck discloses col. 11, lines 18-26, computing device may include a location sensor, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor; location sensor may enable the computing device to provide information relevant to the particular industrial automation equipment; col. 22, line 42-43, GPS coordinates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hartmann et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2025/0342442 A1
Hartmann discloses paragraph 0020, receiving an up-to-date spatial position of a user wearing the augmented reality glasses from a positioning system; paragraph 0035, each spatial anchor relates a coordinate system associated with the augmented reality glasses for the display of the data to a spatial coordinate system associated with the spatial coordinates; paragraph 0078.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619