DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/07/2026. Claims 2-21 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claim 1 is canceled by the applicant.
4. The allowability of the claimed invention of the last office action, mailed on 04/07/2026, is withdrawn because of the amendments. Claims 2-6, and 9-21 filed on 07/07/2026 are rejected under new ground of rejections. Claims 7-8 are objected. See below for details.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 2-10 and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, line 2, please insert a colon “:” after the word “comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(1) Claim 11 recites the limitation "the one or more mobile networks" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. However, for the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets "the one or more mobile networks" to be "a second one or more mobile networks".
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9-13, 15-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CATOVIC et al. (US 20230144323) (hereinafter CATOVIC).
Regarding claims 20 and 11:
As shown in figures 1-8, CATOVIC discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (350 in figure 3, 502 in figure 5 and 602 in figure 6) comprising:
a first mobile termination (MT) (612 in figure 6);
a second MT (614 in figure 6); and
terminal equipment (TE) (602 in figure 6), wherein:
the TE (602 in figure 6) is to transmit a first request (628 in figure 6) to register the first MT (612 in figure 6) with a first mobile network (604 and 606 in figure 6) of a first one or more mobile networks (see plurality of network in figure 6) (par 0079-0083),
the second MT (614 in figure 6) is to select a second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6) from at least one candidate mobile network of the one or more mobile networks (see plurality of network in figure 6) (par 0079-0083), and
configuring the second MT (614 in figure 6) to connect with the second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6), wherein the TE (602 in figure 6) is to transmit a second request (644 in figure 6) to register the second MT with the second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6) (par 0079-0083).
Regarding claims 2 and 12:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein the first mobile network (604 and 606 in figure 6) and the second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6) are in common (figures 5-6 show first and second PLMN are in common).
Regarding claims 3 and 13:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein the first mobile network (604 and 606 in figure 6) and the second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6) are different (figures 5-6 show first and second PLMN are in different).
Regarding claims 5 and 15:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein: the first mobile network comprises a public land mobile network (PLMN) (606 in figure 6), and the WTRU (602 in figure 6) is to receive configuration information from the PLMN (see 636 and 640 in figure 6) to cause the second MT (614 in figure 6) to be configured to connect with the at least one candidate mobile network (610 in figure 6) (see 644 and 646 in figure 6, par 0079-0083).
Regarding claims 6 and 16:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein: the first MT (612 in figure 6) is to: determine to perform a registration update with the first mobile network (604 and 606 in figure 6) (par 0081), generate a message comprising third information (630 in figure 6) about the first MT (612 in figure 6) and about the second MT (614 in figure 6) based on determining to perform the registration update (par 0081), transmit the message (630 in figure 6) to the first mobile network (604 and 606 in figure 6), and receive from the first mobile network a response to the message indicative of the registration update being accepted (see 636 in figure 6) by the first mobile network (604 and 606 in figure 6) (par 0081); and the message comprises fourth information (644 in figure 6) for the second MT (614 in figure 6) (par 0079-0083).
Regarding claims 9 and 19:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein communications between the first MT and the second MT are performed using an inter-MT coordination function of the WTRU (figures 5-6 show communications between the first MT (612 in figure 6) and the second MT (614 in figure 6) are performed using an inter-MT coordination function of the WTRU (602 in figure 6)).
Regarding claim 21:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein selecting the second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6) is based on data indicative of the first MT's configuration (figure 6 shows selecting the second mobile network (608 and 610 in figure 6) is based on data indicative of the first MT's (612 in figure 6) configuration. See steps 628-646).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATOVIC in view of Lovlekar et a. (US 20220240079) (hereinafter Lovlekar).
Regarding claims 4 and 14:
CATOVIC further discloses wherein: the first mobile network (see figure 6) comprises a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (606 in figure 6) and the second mobile network comprises a second PLMN (616 in figure 6).
CATOVIC discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching the first MT selects a first radio access technology (RAT) on the first PLMN, and the second MT selects a second RAT on the second PLMN based on the second information.
However, Lovlekar in the same field of endeavor teaches the first MT selects a first radio access technology (RAT) on the first PLMN, and the second MT selects a second RAT on the second PLMN based on the second information (par 0095, 0144, 0245). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use radio access technologies (RATs) as taught by Lovlekar to modify the system and method of CATOVIC in order to communicate over the transmission medium (par 0095) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also overcome the above claimed objection and the above 35 USC 112(b) rejection.
15. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, CATOVIC does not teach or suggest wherein the first MT is to determine to perform the registration update based on a time period elapsing since a previous registration update was performed.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Murakami et al. (US 20130121483) disclose a telephone that is capable of accessing a memory for storing subscription information that includes a phone number.
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631