DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024, and 09/03/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of "the carrier with battery pack" in line 4 is inconsistent with the terminology previously introduced in claims 1 and 2, “a/the carrier including a/the battery pack”. Although "the carrier with battery pack" appears intended to refer to the previously recited “the carrier including the battery pack”, consistent terminology should be used to avoid ambiguity. For consistency and clarity, it is suggested that “the carrier with battery pack” be edited to “the carrier including the battery pack”.
Dependent claim 5 is similarly objected to for encompassing the limitations of claim 4 and also for similar reason. Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and repeats the inconsistent terminology discussed above
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “removing a carrier with battery pack to be replaced from the receiver in the vehicle prior to inserting the carrier with battery pack into the receiver.” It is unclear whether “a carrier with battery pack to be replaced” refers to the carrier previously recited in claim 4 or introduces a different carrier and battery pack that are removed and replaced by the carrier subsequently inserted according to claim 4.
If the former is intended, article “a” created uncertainty as to whether a new carrier is being introduced. If the latter is intended, the claim should distinguish the carrier being removed from the carrier being inserted so that the relationship between the two carriers is clear. Accordingly, the scope of claim 5 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsuji (US 20170106733 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuji teaches a hot swap battery carrier system ([0055-0057]; Fig. 3; removable sub-batteries 16B; storage cases 75 are also removable from battery storage unit 56), comprising: a receiver configured to be installed in a vehicle ([0046, 0054-0055]; Fig. 3; battery storage unit 56 is part of the rear structure of electric vehicle 10); a carrier including a battery pack ([0055-0056; 0062-0064]; Figs. 3, 4; storage case 75 receives/stores sub-battery 16B); a slide mechanism configured to enable the carrier including the battery pack to slide into and out of the receiver ([0057-0059, 0094]; Figs. 3, 6; inclined surface 62a with guiderail 76, and lid-side guide portion 77; sub batteries 16B can be slid on the inclined surface 62a and stored into the battery storage unit 56; guiderail 76 guides the sub-battery storage cases 75 when they are taken in and out of the battery storage unit 56; lid-side guide portion 77 easier guides the sub batteries 16B into the sub-battery storage cases 75).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuji teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Tsuji further teach a limitation wherein the slide mechanism includes rails and slots operatively associated to allow the carrier including the battery pack to slide in and out of the receiver ([0057]; Fig. 3).
Specifically, Tsuji teaches a guiderail 76 extending in the front-rear direction and provided between the left and right sub-battery storage cases 75, wherein guiderail 76 guides the sub-battery storage cases 75 when they are taken in and out of the battery storage unit 56 ([0057]; Fig. 3). As illustrated in Fig. 3, each sub-battery storage case 75 includes a corresponding elongated recessed portion/slot configured to receive and cooperate with guide rail 76 as the storage case 75 is guided into and out of battery storage unit 56. Thus, guide rail 76 and the corresponding slot of storage case 75 are operatively associated to permit storage case 75, including sub-battery 16B, to slide into and out of battery storage unit 56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Delafargue (GB 2570870 A, citation from enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuji teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Tsuji does not teach a quick retention mechanism configured to enable the carrier including the battery pack to be released without automated equipment.
Tsuji teaches that sub-battery 16B can be taken into and out of storage case 75, and storage case 75 is guided into and out of battery storage unit 56 ([0056-0059]). Tsuje further teaches that opening second lid 62 permits access to battery storage unit 56 and facilitate the taking in and out of sub battery 16B ([0058-0059, 0091-0094]).
However, Delfargue teaches a releasable locking mechanism for a removable battery (page 3; lines 31-41). Delfargue teaches backup rechargeable battery 3 are removably insertable into the vehicle and removably connectable to the vehicle circuit (page 1, lines 31-36). Delfargue further teaches male mechanical connectors 19 configured to engage corresponding female connectors 21 on battery 3. The male connectors 19 are rotatable about their longitudinal axes such that they may be inserted into female connectors 21 in a first orientation and, when rotated to a second orientation, battery 3 cannot be removed (page 8, lines 56-59; page 9, lines 1-3; Fig. 2). Thus, connectors 19 and 21 provide a retention/locking mechanism for selectively securing and releasing removable battery 3.
Further, Tsuji, and Delfargue are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to removable/swappable battery arrangements for vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery carrier system of Tsuji to include the mechanical locking arrangement of connectors 19 and 21, as taught by Delfargue, in order to retain/lock the removable battery/carrier arrangement in its installed position while permitting its selective release for removal and replacement (page 1, lines 31-36; page 3; lines 31-41).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuji, as modified by Delfargue, teaches all limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Tsuji further teaches a method of using the hot swap battery carrier system, comprising providing the hot swap battery carrier system of claim 2 with the receiver installed in the vehicle (battery storage unit 56 is provided in electric vehicle 10 and stores sub-battery storage cases 75, each configured to store a sub-battery 16B; [0046, 0054-0056]; Figs. 3-4); inserting the carrier with battery pack into the receiver in the vehicle (sub-battery storage cases 75 are taken into and out of battery storage unit 56 and are guided by guide rail 76; [0055-0057]; Fig. 3).
Tsuji does not teach engaging the quick retention mechanism, securing the carrier with battery pack in place in the receiver.
However, as discussed above regarding claim 2, Delfargue teaches a mechanical locking mechanism including male mechanical connectors 19 configured to engage corresponding female connectors 21 associated with removable battery 3. The male connectors 19 are inserted into female connectors 21 in a first orientation and rotated to a second orientation in which they cannot be removed, thereby locking/retaining the removable battery in its installed position (page 8, lines 56-59; page 9, lines 1-3; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to engage the releasable locking mechanism of Delfargue after inserting the battery-containing carrier of Tsuji into battery storage unit 56, in order to secure and retain the carrier including the battery pack in its installed position (page 8, lines 56-59; page 9, lines 1-3; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuji, as modified by Delfargue, teaches all limitations of claim 4 as stated above. Modified Tsuji further teaches disengaging the quick retention mechanism and removing a carrier with battery pack to be replaced from the receiver in the vehicle prior to inserting the carrier with battery pack into the receiver.
Tsuji teaches removing a carrier with battery pack to be replaced from the receiver in the vehicle prior to inserting the carrier with battery pack into the receiver ([0055-0059], [0091-0094]). Specifically, Tsuji teaches that sub-battery storage cases 75, each configured to store a sub-battery 16B, are taken into and out of battery storage unit 56 ([0055-0057]; Figs. 3-4). Tsuji further teaches that sub-batteries 16B can be taken into and out of battery storage unit 56 ([0058-0059, 0091-0094]).
Tsuji does not teach disengaging the quick retention mechanism prior to removing a carrier with battery pack.
However, as discussed with respect to claims 2, and 4, Delfargue teaches a mechanical locking mechanism including male mechanical connectors 19 configured to engage corresponding female connectors 21 associated with removable battery 3. The male connectors 19 are rotatable between an orientation permitting insertion/removal and an orientation in which the battery cannot be removed; thus, the locking mechanism is disengageable to permit removal of the removable battery (page 8, lines 56-59; page 9, lines 1-3; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disengage the releasable locking mechanism of Delfargue before removing the battery-containing carrier of Tsuji from battery storage unit 56 since disengagement of the locking mechanism would permit removal of the retained carrier/battery arrangement. Such a combination constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728