DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,7-9,11-14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henon et al (2019/0219823 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Henon et al discloses (refer to figures 3,4,7 and 8) a reflection device (20) of a Head Up Display (HUD), the reflection device comprising: a support rigidly fixed to a housing of the HUD (see figure 3, a support under rotary rings (78) and(80) rigidly fixed to a housing (22)); a frame (rigid frame supporting the mirror, , see figure 4, the leg 46 is attached to a frame supporting the mirror 40, ) rotatable about a first axis'; a reflection element (38) comprising: a first side fixed to the frame; and a second side that is reflective and opposite of the first side; and a plurality of rotary rings (78,80) configured to couple the support and the frame (paragraph 0025-paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Henon et al discloses wherein the support comprises a plurality of coupling legs (46).
Regarding claim 3, Henon et al discloses wherein each coupling leg of the plurality of coupling legs (46) comprises a coupling element extending axially along the first axis.
Regarding claim 7, Henon et al discloses wherein the support comprises a plurality of stopping legs.
Regarding claim 8, Henon et al discloses herein the frame comprises a plurality of stopping members each stopping member comprising: a second recess configured to receive a stopping element of a stopping leg of the plurality of stopping legs (46 and 48) (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 9, Henon et al discloses wherein each stopping element of the plurality of stopping legs (46 and 48) extends axially along the first axis.
Regarding claim 11, Henon et al discloses wherein the reflection device (20) further comprises a rotation mechanism connected to the frame, the rotation mechanism configured to rotate the frame in relation to the support about the first axis ( see tilt actuator assembly 66).
Regarding claim 12, Henon et al discloses (refer to figures 3,4,7 and 8) a method for mounting a reflection device (20) of a Head Up Display (HUD) and positioning a reflection element (38) of the reflection device (20) within a housing (22) of the HUD, the method comprising: fixing a support of the reflection device (20) to the housing of the HUD; securing a first side of the reflection element to a frame of the reflection device (20), the reflection element (38) further comprising a second side that is reflective and opposite of the first side; coupling the support and the frame by a plurality of rotary rings (78 and 80) ; and rotating the frame about a first axis (paragraph 0025- paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 13, Henon et al discloses further comprising coupling the plurality of rotary rings to a plurality of coupling legs (46) and (48) of the support.
Regarding claim 14, Henon et al discloses wherein the coupling of the plurality of rotary rings (78 and 80) to the plurality of coupling legs (46) and (48) of the support comprises inserting, in a direction parallel to the first axis, a coupling element of each coupling leg into an opening of a body of each rotary ring of the plurality of rotary rings.
Regarding claim 18, Henon et al discloses further comprising inserting a stopping element of each stopping leg of a plurality of stopping legs (46 and 48) of the support into a second recess of each stopping member of a plurality of stopping members of the frame.
Regarding claim 20, Henon et al discloses wherein the rotating of the frame comprises actuating a rotation mechanism connected to the frame (see tilt actuator assembly 66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henon et al (2019/0219823 A1) in view of Shin YU Jin (2018/0373037 A1).
Claim(s) 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henon et al (2019/0219823 A1) in view of Shin YU Jin((2018/0373037 A1).
Regarding claim 10, depends on claim 1, Henon et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except the reflection device further comprises a spring connected to the support and the frame.
Shin Yu discloses the reflection device further comprises a spring connected to the support and the frame (figure 10 and paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide a spring connected to the support and the frame in to the Henon a reflection device for the purpose of to fulfil a function of stabilization in the art of head of display as taught by Shin Yu.
Regarding claim 19, depends on claim 11, Henon et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except the reflection device further comprises a spring connected to the support and the frame.
Shin Yu discloses the reflection device further comprises a spring connected to the support and the frame (figure 10 and paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide a spring connected to the support and the frame in to the Henon a reflection device for the purpose of to fulfil a function of stabilization in the art of head of display as taught by Shin Yu.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 4-6 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
wherein the frame comprises a plurality of coupling members, each coupling member
comprising: a cylindrical protrusion; a first recess formed within the cylindrical protrusion
and configured to receive the coupling element of a coupling leg of the plurality of
coupling legs of the support; and a plurality of noses protruding outwardly from the
cylindrical protrusion and wherein each rotary ring of the plurality of rotary rings
comprises: a body comprising an opening and a plurality of snaps; and a plurality of
fingers protruding inwardly from an interior wall of the body and configured to couple
with the coupling element of a coupling leg of the plurality of coupling legs of the
support; wherein the plurality of snaps are formed by a plurality of notches along the
body; and wherein each snap of the plurality of snaps comprises a window configured to
couple with a nose of the plurality of noses of a coupling member of the plurality of
coupling members of the frame and wherein the plurality of snaps are tapered.
further comprising coupling each rotary ring of the plurality of rotary rings to the coupling
element of each coupling leg of the plurality of coupling legs by a plurality of fingers
protruding inwardly from an interior wall of the body of each rotary ring and
wherein the coupling of the support and the frame by the plurality of rotary rings
comprises coupling a body of each rotary ring to a different coupling member of a
plurality of coupling members of the frame, each coupling member comprising: a
cylindrical protrusion; a first recess formed within the cylindrical protrusion and
configured to receive a coupling element of a coupling leg of the plurality of coupling legs of the support; and a plurality of noses protruding outwardly from the cylindrical protrusion and wherein the coupling of the body of a rotary ring of the plurality of rotary rings to a coupling member of the plurality of coupling members of the frame comprises: aligning the plurality of noses of the cylindrical protrusion of the coupling member with a plurality of notches of the body of the rotary ring; inserting, in a direction parallel to the first axis, the cylindrical protrusion of the coupling member within an opening of the body; and rotating the rotary ring about the first axis until each nose of the plurality of noses of the coupling member couple with a window of a snap of a plurality of snaps formed along the body of the rotary ring by the plurality of notches.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
6. In response to applicant argument with regards independent claims 1 and 12 , Henon et al (2019/0219823 A1) discloses (refer to figures 3 and 4) a reflection device (20) of a Head Up Display (HUD), the reflection device (20) comprising: a support rigidly fixed to a housing of the HUD (see figure 3, a support under rotary rings (78) and(80) rigidly fixed to a housing (22)); a frame (rigid frame supporting the mirror, , see figure 4, the leg 46 is attached to a frame supporting the mirror 40, ) and a reflection element (38) comprising: a first side fixed to the frame (paragraph 0025-paragraph 0028) and securing a side of the reflection element (38) to a frame of the reflection device (20).
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 6/22/2026