DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0017548) in view of Fujii (WO Publication 2023/053657, U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0266599 will be used as an English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses a method for producing a sulfide solid electrolyte material comprising: amorphizing a raw material composition and heating the amorphized ion conductive material in an inert gas atmosphere (Paragraph 0096, 0112). As to claim 2, Kato teaches that the raw material is formed by mixing phosphorus, tin, lithium and sulfur-containing starting materials (Paragraph 0118). Kato also teaches that the formed composition after heating is Li3.275Sn0.275P0.725S4 (Paragraph 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the formed raw material prior to amorphization and heating would have this composition as well. Regarding claim 3, Kato states that the average particle diameter of the sulfide solid electrolyte material is 0.1 to 50 µm (Paragraph 0066). As to claim 4, Kato teaches that the sulfide solid electrolyte has a peak at 2θ=26.96° (Paragraph 0053).
Kato fails to disclose that the heated ion conductive material is then pulverized into a fine particle form and heated to a temperature of 300 to 450 °C in an inert gas stream, and that the sulfide solid electrolyte has a full width half maximum of a peak at a 2θ of 26.70 ± 0.50° of 0.73 or less in an X-ray diffractometry.
Regarding claim 1, Fujii discloses a method of producing a sulfide solid electrolyte powder comprising: amorphizing a raw material mixture, heating the amorphized material; pulverizing the formed sulfide solid electrolyte to form a solid electrolyte powder with a particle diameter of 3 µm or less, and heating and drying the obtained powder at a temperature of 100 to 300°C, wherein the sulfide solid electrolyte comprises Li, P and S (Paragraphs 0044, 0114, 0130, 0141, 0144, 0151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the process of Kato could also comprise a pulverizing and heating step after the first heating step because Fujii teaches that this forms a solid electrolyte powder with a desired particle diameter for improved battery properties. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the FWHM of the sulfide solid electrolyte of Kato at about 26.7° could be 0.73 or less because the formula of the solid electrolyte of Kato is the same as that of the present invention and the method of making it combined with the pulverizing and heating steps of Fujii are the same as that of the present invention. Thus, the resulting product would have the same properties as that of the present invention.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722