DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response filed 3/5/2026 did not include any claim amendments. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 103 rejection over Kim in view of Fareid from the office action mailed 12/11/2025; therefore, this rejection is maintained below. Also, the double patenting rejections from the office action mailed 12/11/2025 are maintained below for the reasons discussed in the “response to arguments” section below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2026 and 4/7/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the non-final office action on 12/11/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Publication No. KR101916404B1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim) in view of Fareid et al., Korean Publication No. KR20210057722A (hereinafter referred to as Fareid).
Regarding claims 1-12, Kim discloses a process and apparatus whereby plastic is pretreated by pyrolysis in an auger reactor, then pyrolysed in a second reactor, and the resulting gas is filtered in a hot filter, and condensed to obtain an oil (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 4-7 and 11) (see Figure 2 and see Claims 1-15 of Kim and Para. [0042] and [0111]), wherein the apparatus for recycling a plastic mixture containing polyvinyl chloride, to produce pyrolysis oil having a high content of aromatic compounds along with the decomposition of wax components in a fluidized bed reactor, and then finally produce oil having a chlorine content of 10 ppm or less by filtering with a high-temperature filter filled with calcium oxide (dewaxing as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 8-10 and 12) (Para. [0021]). After purging, the reactor was heated to the reaction temperature determined by the electric furnace, 1.2 kg of silica was used as the fluidized bed material (as recited in claims 2-3) (Para. [0076]).
Kim discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose recycling of condensed liquid in the filter.
Fareid discloses another process and apparatus whereby plastic waste is pretreated, pyrolysed, filtered and cooled, hydrogenated and fractionated into several oil fractions (see Claims 1, 8 and 16 and Para. [0062] and [0111]-[0118]). Given that the filter is used at high temperatures, only the heaviest compounds will condense in the filter. It is, however, well-known to recycle heavier and unconverted fractions in the refining industry, in particular in pyrolysis operations which would be suggested by the disclosure of Fareid.
Regarding claims 13-15, see discussion above.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
8. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/412,599. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '599 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting II
9. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/627,450. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '450 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting III
10. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/628,806. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '806 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting IV
11. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/628,812. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '812 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting V
12. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/629,942. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '942 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting VI
13. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/629,945. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '945 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting VII
14. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/629,957. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '957 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting VIII
15. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/635,007. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '007 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting IX
16. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of co-pending application No. 18/922,392. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '392 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Response to Arguments
17. Applicants’ arguments filed 3/5/2026 regarding claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the instant application demonstrates surprising results and as such overcomes the obviousness rejection set forth. This argument is not persuasive. In order to demonstrate unexpected results applicants must fulfill two criterions: 1) applicants must compare their formulations against the closest prior art, and 2) the claims must be commensurate in scope with the data provided.
Regarding the first criteria – applicants have compared their method against the closest prior art, as can be seen by Tables 1-2 from the instant specification wherein comparative example 1 is similar to the prior art.
Regarding the second criteria – the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data provided. For example, the pyrolysis oil yield from Tables 1-2 of the instant specification includes very specific hydrocarbons boiling in very narrow ranges wherein the concentrations of all the hydrocarbons are within a narrow range which are not recited in the instant, independent claims. For these reasons applicants have not fulfilled this criteria in the unexpected results analysis which is why the double patenting rejections are also maintained herein and would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated by reference.
Conclusion
18. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771