Summary
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/627,448 filed on 04/05/2024.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “a barrier disposed in an at least one an outside”, however, the claim should read “a barrier disposed in an at least one of an outside”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamo et al.
(referred to as Kamo) (US PGPUB US2020/0235445A1) in view of Parkanzky et al. (referred to as Parkanzky) (US PG PUB US2021/0104793A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kamo teaches a battery pack [0001] comprising:
A pack housing including a beam partitioning an internal space (Kamo, [Fig. 5] as annotated in the figure below);
A plurality of battery modules (Kamo, [Fig. 5], 20) including a plurality of battery cells (Kamo, [Fig. 5], 22) and accommodated in each of spaces partitioned by the beam of the pack housing (Kamo, [Fig. 5], 50, 55);
And a barrier disposed in at least one an outside of the battery module (Kamo, [Fig. 14] 70) and an inside of the battery module (Kamo, [Fig. 2] 23f);
Wherein the barrier includes: a barrier housing (Kamo, [Fig. 2] 23f, [Fig. 14] 70).
However, Kamo fails to explicitly teach that the barrier housing includes a phase change material (PCM) inserted into an inside of the barrier housing and melting at a predetermined temperature of higher; and a discharge hole provided in the barrier housing and through which the molten phase change material is discharged.
Analogous in the field of battery packs and barriers, Parkanzky teaches that the barrier housing includes a phase change material (PCM) inserted into an inside of the barrier housing and melting at a predetermined temperature of higher (Parkanzky [0002] The thermal barrier includes one or more phase change materials configured to be deposited into the one or more pockets. The phase change materials are configured to undergo an endothermic phase change reaction when a temperature is at or above an activation temperature); and
discharge holes (Parkanzky, [Fig. 1], 40) provided in the barrier housing and through which the molten phase change material is discharged (Parkanzky, [Fig. 1], 42).
Parkanzky teaches that the “phase change material is configured to be deposited into the holes (referred to as pockets) and undergoes an endothermic reaction [0019]” and that “the endothermic phase change reaction may produce a fluid F, which may include a liquid and/or a gas [0020]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the barrier of Parkanzky for the barrier of Kamo in order to have a “cooling effect [0004]” and the discharge holes in the barrier housing as does Parkanzky as the holes allow for the discharge of the fluid.
Regarding Claim 2, modified by Parkanzky, Kamo meets the claim, the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the battery comprises a first barrier disposed between battery modules disposed adjacent to the internal space or between the battery module and the beam (Kamo, [Fig. 14], 70) and second barrier disposed between adjacent battery cells within the battery module (Kamo, [Fig. 2], 23f).
Regarding Claim 4, Kamo teaches a battery pack and barriers [0001]. However, Kamo is silent to teach that the barrier has one of a first state in which the inside of the barrier housing is filled with the phase change material and a second state in which the inside of the barrier housing is filled with air.
Analogous in the field of battery packs, Parkanzky teaches that the barrier has one of a first state in which the inside of the barrier housing is filled with the phase change material (Parkanzky [0002] The thermal barrier includes one or more phase change materials configured to be deposited into the one or more pockets) and a second state in which the inside of the barrier housing is filled with air (Parkanzky [0002] The phase change materials are configured to undergo an endothermic phase change reaction when a temperature is at or above an activation temperature; [0020] the endothermic phase change reaction may produce a fluid F, which may include a liquid and/or a gas). The gas produced by the endothermic reaction will leave through the discharge holes in the barrier. Because the system is not in a vacuum, something must take place of the escaping gas. Therefore, there must be a second state where the inside of the barrier housing is filled with air.
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to specify a second state where the inside of the barrier housing is filled with air as taught by Parkanzky as a second state where the barrier housing is filled with air means that the phase change material has undergone a reaction and produced a fluid.
Regarding Claim 9, Kamo teaches a battery pack with barriers [0002] but is silent to teach a plurality of discharge holes on both sides of the barrier in an extension direction thereof, respectively, in height direction of the barrier.
Parkanzky teaches a plurality of discharge holes on both sides of the barrier in an extension direction thereof, respectively, in a height direction of the barrier (Parkanzky [Fig. 2], 40, refer to figure above).
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamo in view of Parkanzky
and Seo et al. (referred to as Seo) (US PG PUB US2021/0036277A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified by Parkanzky, Kamo teaches a battery pack wherein the first barrier is disposed between the beam and battery module (Kamo, [Fig. 14, 70), however, it is silent to teach that the beam includes a cross beam partitioning the internal space in a length direction of the pack housing.
Analogous in the field of battery packs, Seo teaches a battery pack where the beam includes a cross beam partitioning the internal space in a length direction of the pack housing (Seo, [Fig. 7], see annotated figure below).
Seo discusses that the embodiment helps “realize a more compact size while further securing a greater space for battery cells, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack [0021]”
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to specify that the housing contains a cross beam, as well as insert the modified Kamo’s modules into the accommodation cavities as taught by Seo as the configuration allows for more compact size battery packs.
Claims 5-8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamo in view of
Parkanzky and Park et al. (referred to as Park) (EP 4 075 572 A2).
Regarding Claim 5, Kamo teaches a battery pack and barriers [0001], however, is silent to explicitly mention that the barrier housing is formed of a metal material including at least one of stainless steel, aluminum, or iron, or a plastic engineering material.
Analogous in the field of battery packs and barriers, Park meets the claimed, wherein the barrier housing is formed of a metal material including at least one of stainless steel, aluminum, or iron, or a plastic engineering material (Park [0079] The cell accommodating member 100 may be formed of a metal material such as aluminum or stainless steel.... alternatively, the cell accommodating member 100 may be formed of a thermally conductive plastic material). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to specify the material of the housing of modified Kamo as taught by Park as those materials help “dissipate heat generated in the cell unit externally [0079]”.
Regarding Claim 6, modified, Kamo meets the claimed, the battery pack, wherein one side of the first barrier is in contact with the battery module, and the other side of the first barrier is in contact with the battery module or the beam (Kamo [Fig. 14], 70, refer to figure above).
Regarding Claim 7, modified, Kamo meets the claimed, the battery pack of claim 5, wherein one side and the other side of the second barrier are in contact with adjacent battery cells, respectively (Kamo [Fig. 2], 23f, [Fig. 5], 22).
Regarding Claim 8, Kamo teaches a battery pack with first and second barriers, however, Kamo is silent to explicitly mention that the first barrier has a length, longer than a length of the second barrier, at least in a height direction of the battery cell.
Analogous in the field of battery packs, Park teaches the first barrier has a length, longer than a length of the second barrier, at least in a heigh direction of the battery cell (Park, [Fig. 15B], [Fig. 17], refer to annotated figures below). It is necessary for this to be true as in order for the case to close on the battery pack and for the system to be complete, the second barriers (in between battery cells) must be shorter than the first barriers, at least in a height direction.
Park teaches a complete “battery pack capable of improving the cooling efficiency of a battery cell and a method of manufacturing the same [0019]”.
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to specify the height of the barriers as taught by Park in order to enable a sealed device or a complete and contained battery pack that is capable of having cooling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 12, Kamo teaches the battery pack with a cooling system and cooling medium [0078], but fails to explicitly mention that the cooling plate cooling the plurality of battery modules is further disposed between the plurality of battery modules and a bottom surface of the pack housing.
Park meets the claimed, the battery pack, wherein a cooling plate cooling the plurality of battery modules is further disposed between the plurality of battery modules and a bottom surface of the pack housing (Park [FIGS. 9 and 10] are cross-sectional views of the battery pack 1000 to which a cooling portion 600 or a cooling tube 610 is applied according to embodiments). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pack to include a cooling plate as taught by Park as “since the cooling portion 600 is provided on the outer side of the first housing 510, the temperature gradient from the cell unit 200 to the first housing 510 is greater than when the cooling portion 600 is not provided, and thus, thermal energy generated in the cell unit 200 may be more smoothly discharged through the first housing 510 [0112]”.
Claims 10-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamo in view
of Parkanzky and Kim et al. (referred to as Kim) (KR20230040718A, wherein the US PG PUB 2023/0170576 A1 is cited herein as the English equivalent).
Regarding Claim 10, Kamo teaches a battery pack with barriers [0002] but does not explicitly mention that a gap is formed between the first barrier and the pack housing in an extension direction of the first barrier.
However, Kim meets the claimed the battery pack, wherein a gap is formed between the first barrier and the pack housing in an extension direction of the first barrier (Kim, [Fig. 20], S1).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pack to include a gap between the first barrier and the pack housing as taught by Kim as “gas discharged from the battery cell 120 may flow through the flow space SF and may be then discharged to an outside [0059]”.
Regarding Claim 11, Kamo teaches a battery modules with bus bars (Kamo [0034] The positive electrode terminals 22b of the battery cells 22 constituting the first battery stack 21A are connected to each other by an unillustrated bus bar) but does not explicitly mention that the battery module includes a busbar assembly disposed on both sides of the battery cell in a length direction, or that a gap is formed between the second barrier and the busbar assembly in an extension direction of the second barrier.
Analogous in the field of battery modules and bus bars, Kim teaches the battery module includes a busbar assembly disposed on both sides of the battery cell in a length direction (Kim, [Fig. 20]; [0014] the busbar assembly may be coupled to the electrode lead on both end portions of each of the plurality of battery cells in the longitudinal direction, and the first space may be located on both sides of the plurality of battery cells in the longitudinal direction) wherein a gap is formed between the second barrier and the busbar assembly in an extension direction of the second barrier (Kim, [Fig. 20], S1).
Kim teaches that “a flow space in which the gas discharged from the gas outlet flows may be formed between an outer side surface of the busbar assembly and an inner side surface of the module housing [0009]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pack to include busbar assemblies on both sides of the battery cell and a gap between the busbar assembly and barrier as taught by Kim as the gas flow will help to block or delay heat propagation between battery cells or modules.
Regarding Claim 13, Kamo teaches a battery module (Kamo, [Fig. 5], 20) comprising:
A plurality of battery cells arranged in one direction (Kamo, [Fig. 2], [Fig. 5], 22);
and a barrier disposed between adjacent battery cells to separate some of the plurality of battery cells (Kamo, [Fig. 2], 23f),
wherein the barrier includes: a barrier housing (Kamo, [Fig. 5], [Fig. 2], 23f, [Fig. 14], 70).
However, Kamo fails to explicitly mention that there is a busbar assembly disposed on both sides of the battery cell in a length direction thereof; a phase change material (PCM) inserted into an inside of the barrier housing and melting at a predetermined temperature or higher; or a discharge hole provided in the barrier housing and through which the molten phase change material is discharged.
Analogous in the field of battery packs and batteries, Kim teaches a busbar assembly disposed on both sides of the battery cell in a length direction thereof (Kim, [Fig. 20]; [0014] the busbar assembly may be coupled to the electrode lead on both end portions of each of the plurality of battery cells in the longitudinal direction, and the first space may be located on both sides of the plurality of battery cells in the longitudinal direction).
Kim teaches that the busbar is “configured for electrical connection to electrode leads of the battery cells [0007]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pack to include a busbar assembly disposed on both sides of the battery cell as taught by Kim as a complete system with is necessary for the battery cells and pack to function.
However, Kim is also silent to explicitly teach that a phase change material (PCM) inserted into an inside of the barrier housing and melting at a predetermined temperature or higher; or a discharge hole provided in the barrier housing and through which the molten phase change material is discharged.
Analogous in the field of battery packs and barriers, Parkanzky teaches a phase change material (PCM) inserted into an inside of the barrier housing and melting at a predetermined temperature or higher (Parkanzky [0002] The thermal barrier includes one or more phase change materials configured to be deposited into the one or more pockets. The phase change materials are configured to undergo an endothermic phase change reaction when a temperature is at or above an activation temperature). Parkanzky also teaches that a discharge hole provided in the barrier housing and through which the molten phase change material is discharged (Parkanzky [0002] The thermal barrier includes one or more phase change materials configured to be deposited into the one or more pockets. The phase change materials are configured to undergo an endothermic phase change reaction when a temperature is at or above an activation temperature). Parkanzky teaches that the “phase change material is configured to be deposited into the holes (referred to as pockets) and undergoes an endothermic reaction [0019]” and that “the endothermic phase change reaction may produce a fluid F, which may include a liquid and/or a gas [0020]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute in the barrier containing the phase change material and discharge holes of Parkanzky as the endothermic reaction would have a cooling effect and the holes would allow for the discharge of the fluid.
Regarding Claim 14, Kamo teaches a battery module [0001] wherein the barrier is disposed such that the barrier housing is in contact with the adjacent battery cells (Park, [Fig. 2] 23f, [Fig. 5], 22). However, Kamo is silent to mention that the barrier housing is formed of a metal material including at least one of stainless steel, aluminum, or iron, or a plastic engineering material.
Analogous in the field of battery barriers, Park mentions that the barrier housing is formed of a metal material including at least one of stainless steel, aluminum, or iron, or a plastic engineering material (Park [0079] The cell accommodating member 100 may be formed of a metal material such as aluminum or stainless steel to dissipate heat generated in the cell unit 200 externally. Alternatively, the cell accommodating member 100 may be formed of a thermally conductive plastic material).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to specify the material of the housing as taught by Park as those materials help “dissipate heat generated in the cell unit externally [0079]”.
Regarding Claim 15, Kamo teaches a battery module [0001] wherein the barrier is extended in a length direction of the battery cell (Kamo, [Fig. 5]) however, is silent to explicitly mention the discharge hole is provided as a plurality of discharge holes on both sides of the barrier in an extension direction thereof, respectively, in a height direction of the barrier.
Parkanzky teaches the discharge hole is provided as a plurality of discharge holes on both sides of the barrier in an extension direction thereof, respectively, in a height direction of the barrier (Parkanzky, [Fig. 2], 40).
Regarding Claim 16, Kamo teaches a battery modules with bus bars (Kamo [0034] The positive electrode terminals 22b of the battery cells 22 constituting the first battery stack 21A are connected to each other by an unillustrated bus bar) but fails to explicitly mention that a gap is formed between the barrier and the busbar assembly in the extension direction of the barrier.
Analogous in the field of battery modules and bus bars, Kim teaches that a gap is formed between the barrier and the busbar assembly in the extension direction of the barrier (Kim, [Fig. 20], S1).
Kim teaches that “a flow space in which the gas discharged from the gas outlet flows may be formed between an outer side surface of the busbar assembly and an inner side surface of the module housing [0009]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pack to include busbar assemblies on both sides of the battery cell and a gap between the busbar assembly and barrier as taught by Kim as the gas flow will help to block or delay heat propagation between battery cells or modules.
Conclusion
/GAURI EMMA MIDHA/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 10/13/2026