DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the submission filed on 3/17/2026.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 13 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive in full. The claims are directed to tracking inventory of components on a reel and producing components based on demand from said tracking. This is seen as fundamental economic activity directed to demand-based production and inventory tracking. Tying the claims to a specific segment of products is seen as generally linking the exception to a field of use. Utilizing RFID technology in its ordinary capacity, as claimed, is seen as applying computing technology to perform the abstract idea. However, the combination of the RFID tag being supplied to the reel, storing information, shipping the reel, receiving and loading the reel, reading the tag and acquiring information is seen is seen as beyond that of generally linking the idea to a field of use, as well as providing a practical application beyond using claimed technology in its ordinary capacity to perform the idea. Then the claims are subject matter eligible.
Regarding pages 19 and 20 of remarks, Corriveau teaches in paragraph 54 that the RFID tag information can be loaded at the manufacturer, distinguished from the PCB plant. This is seen as manufacturer side steps, as para. 54 teaches two separate entities for component production and PCB production. Para. 37 teaches a separate location for PCB production, encompassing user-side steps.
Regarding pages 21 and 22, Corriveau teaches the need for shipments, as para. 54 teaches a PCB manufacturer receiving the components from a component manufacturer. It does not explicitly teach “shipping” but instead receiving the components from the manufacturer, strongly implying a shipment has occurred. This is galvanized in the secondary reference, relied upon in dependent claims for more than just teaching shipping items. The secondary reference, Gurumohan, teaches delivery of items, ordering items, and finalizing details of the order. It teaches distributors and delivery services. Para. 305 teaches delivery services initiated in the background. Without using a word such as “shipping”, at least Gurumohan teaches shipping items to a plurality of locations. Since Corriveau teaches receiving items, it is proper to add to the teaching of Corriveau the shipment of items.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corriveau (US 2008/0277469) in view of Gurumohan (US 2020/0249070).
Claims 1 and 13. Corriveau teaches an electronic component management method comprising:
manufacturer-side steps performed at a manufacturer-side facility where a manufacturer manufactures electronic components; and (paragraph 54 showing component manufacturer including steps of loading information to the tag)
user-side steps performed at a user-side facility where a user uses the electronic components manufactured in the manufacturer-side facility; wherein (paragraphs 37 and 54 showing reception and steps at PCB fabrication and processing plant)
the manufacturer-side steps include:
preparing a plurality of electronic component accommodation reels including a reel around which a tape accommodating a plurality of electronic components and an RFID tag storing a unique number is wound, the RFID tag being supplied to at least one of the tape or the reel; (para. 54 showing data entry to tags on reel at manufacturer)
and
the user-side steps include:
receiving and loading the electronic component accommodation reel; (para. 24 showing loading reels; para. 54 of reception of reels; also para. 64 fitting reels)
reading the unique number stored in the RFID tag; and (para. 39 showing tag read)
acquiring, based on the unique number read, information stored storing manufacturer-side information in a manufacturer-side information storage area of an external storage device in association with the unique number. (para. 54 reference database with component data) (para. 39 showing serial number from tag and cross referenced to a database for inventory management)
Claim 13 additionally: the manufacturer-side steps include: preparing a unique number associated with manufacturer-side information. (para. 54 showing data entry to tags on reel at manufacturer)
Corriveau teaches using cross reference databases for using lookup information regarding components, but not a manufacturer storing information for lookup. Corriveau teaches reception of items to PCB plant. It does not teach, but Gurumohan does:
shipping the replenishment to a plurality of user-side facilities. (para. 139 distributors receive plurality of orders; para. 304 showing delivery of respective item; para. 305 showing initiating of delivery services in the background. Examiner notes shipping includes delivery. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of reel inventory in Corriveau, with the known technique of shipping in Gurumohan, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for supply chain logistics solutions. (see Gurumohan para. 304).
Claims 2 and 14. Corriveau as modified by Gurumohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein the manufacturer-side steps further include:
reading the manufacturer-side information based on the unique number; (para. 54 reference database with component data)
attaching the label to the electronic component accommodation reel. (para. 33 showing attaching RFID transponder, and case)
Corriveau does not, but Gurumohan teaches: creating a label based on the manufacturer-side information read. (para. 163 showing manufacturer information used to create a label/profile for identifying said item)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of reel inventory in Corriveau, with the known technique of shipping information Gurumohan, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for supply chain logistics solutions.
Claims 3 and 15. Corriveau as modified by Guromohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein the manufacturer-side steps further include collectively reading the unique number from the RFID tag of each of a plurality of the electronic component accommodation reels upon shipping the plurality of electronic component accommodation reels each accommodating the plurality of electronic components. (para. 55 showing multiple reels being read by antennae during a given process)
Claims 4 and 16. Corriveau as modified by Guromohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein the user-side steps further include collectively reading the unique number from the RFID tag of each of a plurality of the electronic component accommodation reels upon receiving and loading the plurality of electronic component accommodation reels shipped. (para. 55 showing multiple reels being read by antennae during a given process)
Claims 5 and 17. Corriveau as modified by Guromohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein the user-side steps further include the user reading the RFID tag by a first reader installed at a predetermined location of the user-side facility to detect a location of the electronic component accommodation reel. (para. 55 showing presence detection at particular machines)
Claims 6 and 18. Corriveau as modified by Guromohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein the user-side steps further include a reel operator allocated at a predetermined location in the user-side facility reading the RFID tag to specify the reel operator. (para. 48 showing operator given RFID information at facility)
Claims 7 and 19. Corriveau as modified by Guromohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein the user-side steps further include:
a mounter mounting each of the plurality of electronic components accommodated in each of the electronic component accommodation reels on an electronic circuit board. (para. 53 showing reel mounting mechanisms)
Corriveau teaches multiple readers (para. 59). It does not, but Gurumohan teaches:
the mounter storing a designated unique number and including a second reader that reads the tag; and (para. 161 showing human mounter and barcode reader for tag scanning)
the mounter comparing the unique number stored in the tag read by the second reader with the designated unique number designated by the mounter. (para. 161 showing barcode verification; see also para. 313 showing matching data to determine item)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of reel inventory in Corriveau, with the known technique of inventorying in Guruomahan, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for supply chain logistics solutions.
Claims 8 and 20. Corriveau as modified by Gurumohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 7. Corriveau teaches wherein
the manufacturer-side steps further include storing, as the manufacturer-side information, quantity information of the electronic components accommodated in each of the electronic component accommodation reels in the manufacturer-side information storage area of the external storage device; and (para. 54 showing quantity information in tags, or said information in a reference database)
the user-side steps further include determining a consumption amount of the electronic components mounted on the electronic circuit board by the mounter based on the quantity information acquired based on the unique number. (para. 56 monitoring consumption of reel components)
Corriveau does not, but Gurumohan teaches: preparing another received electronic component accommodation reel based on the consumption amount. (para. 123 showing user side consumption-based replenishing)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of reel inventory in Corriveau, with the known technique of inventorying in Gurumohan, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for supply chain logistics solutions.
Claims 9 and 21. Corriveau as modified by Gurumohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 8. Corriveau teaches wherein the consumption amount of the electronic components is associated with the unique number. (showing recording and tracking of consumption per reel/tag/ID in para. 56).
Corriveau does not, but Gurumohan teaches: the unique number is stored in the user-side information storage area of the external storage device and transmitted to the manufacturer. (para. 304 showing user system providing reorder information to manufacturer)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of reel inventory in Corriveau, with the known technique of inventorying in Gurumohan, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for supply chain logistics solutions.
Claims 10 and 22. Corriveau as modified by Gurumohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 9. Corriveau teaches global tracking for efficiency, productivity measurements and inventory tracking implementations and solutions (para. 49.)
Corriveau does not, but Gurumohan teaches: the manufacturer prepares the item based on the consumption amount of the items transmitted from the user. (para. 305 showing delivery of reorder by manufacturer based on consumption)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of reel inventory in Corriveau, with the known technique of inventorying in Gurumohan, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for supply chain logistics solutions.
Claim 11. Corriveau as modified by Gurumohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein
at the manufacturer-side facility, a manufacturer-side unique number is used as the unique number; (Para. 39 serial number on tag) (para. 54, part, lot and serial numbers on tag)
at the user-side facility, a user-side unique number is used as the unique number; and (Para. 39 serial number on tag) (para. 54, part, lot and serial numbers on tag)
either one of the manufacturer-side unique number or the user-side unique number is identical to the unique number, and (Para. 39 serial number on tag) (para. 54, part, lot and serial numbers on tag)
either one of the manufacturer-side unique number or the user-side unique number is associated with the unique number. (paras. 49 and 54 of global database for referencing numbers to more component data)
Claim 12. Corriveau as modified by Gurumohan teaches the electronic component management method according to claim 1. Corriveau teaches wherein
at the manufacturer-side facility, a manufacturer-side unique number is used as the unique number; (Para. 39 serial number on tag) (para. 54, part, lot and serial numbers on tag)
at the user-side facility, a user-side unique number is used as the unique number; and (Para. 39 serial number on tag) (para. 54, part, lot and serial numbers on tag)
the manufacturer-side unique number and the user-side unique number are associated with the unique number. (paras. 49 and 54 of global database for referencing numbers to more component data)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, this action is made final. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON TUTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627