Applicant’s filing of claims 1-10 on 4/5/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS was filed.
The listing of references in the specification (see e.g., [0064] of Applicant’s PG Pub.) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See e.g., [0057] of Applicant’s PG Pub. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea because “a control unit that confirms an administrative district . . . for the determined total area” in claim 1, and “confirming, by a control unit, an administrative district and a map sheet of an evaluation area to calculate a change of carbon stock of vegetation before and after forestry project” in claim 6 appear to be mental process that can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. The claims still recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. In light of applicant’s specification, while it is unclear whether the control unit is performing the mental processes on a computer, the claimed use of a computer performing the mental processes 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept is still considered to recite a mental process. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because once the control unit calculates the change of carbon stock of the vegetation, there is no application, much less a particular practical one. The control unit also appears to be an extra-solution feature that is well-known, or using a well-known tool for data gathering. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the database and control unit, which can be a general-purpose computer, are routine and conventional in the art, and thus does not qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims all further refine the method steps and were considered, however, the subject matter does not affect the result established above.
Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control unit that confirms an administrative district . . . for the determined total area” in claim 1, and “confirming, by a control unit, an administrative district and a map sheet of an evaluation area to calculate a change of carbon stock of vegetation before and after forestry project” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected because the corresponding structure of the claimed “control unit” is not disclosed in the specification. See MPEP 2181(II)(A). What is the control unit? See MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Claim 1 is rejected because the scope of the claimed invention is unclear. The preamble claims an “apparatus for calculating a change of a carbon stock in a terminal”, but the body of the claim does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the claimed “apparatus” and “terminal”. What is the structural relationship between the terminal, database and control unit? How do the features claimed in the functional claim language associated with the control unit structurally further limit the claimed apparatus?
Claim 1 is rejected because “an evaluation area from the database” is unclear. Is this different from the initially claimed “evaluation area”?
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected because “collects one of an allometric equation and a growth coefficient using the collected forest information” in claim 1; and “collecting one of an allometric equation and a growth coefficient using the collected forest information” are unclear. How is the collected forest information used to collect one of an allometric equation and a growth coefficient?
Claim 1 is rejected because “a total area of the evaluation area” is unclear. Is this referring to the initially claimed “evaluation area” or the “evaluation area from the database”?
Claims 2-5 are rejected because it is unclear how the features claimed in the functional claim language associated with the control unit structurally further limit the claimed apparatus?
Claim 3 is rejected because “calculates the carbon stock for the total area using the carbon stock per unit area when the calculated carbon stock of the vegetation is based on the quadrat area” is unclear. How is the carbon stock per unit area used to calculate the carbon stock for the total area?
Claim 4 is rejected because “calculates the carbon stock of the soil using the collected soil information” is unclear. How is the collected soil information used to calculates the carbon stock of the soil?
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected because “data published by national agencies and prior research data” is indefinite. It is unclear how one skilled in the art would be able to determine soil information from a vast array of data published by a plurality of national agencies and a vast array of data published from prior research data. The scope of the claim language also does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the soil information collected.
Claim 5 is rejected because “derives the carbon stock of the soil after the forestry project using the determined carbon stock of the soil based on a forest type in the evaluation area” is unclear. How is the determined carbon stock of the soil based on a forest type in the evaluation area used to derive the carbon stock of the soil after the forestry project?
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 10 are rejected because “type” in the claim language, “forest type” makes the claim indefinite.
Claim Interpretation of the pending claims
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “for” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “for” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson et al. (“Pearson,” Measurement Guidelines for the Sequestration of Forest Carbon, 2007) in view of Joseph et al. (“Joseph,” US 11615428).
As to claims 1 and 6, Pearson discloses an apparatus for calculating a change of carbon stock in a terminal (e.g., p. 2 et seq. discloses “primary focus is on field measurements designed to produce accurate estimates of net changes in carbon stocks to known levels of precision”), comprising: a database (e.g., regional databases on p. 2 et seq.); and a control unit (e.g., Monte Carlo software on p. 34 et seq.) that confirms an administrative district and a map sheet of an evaluation area to calculate a change of carbon stock of vegetation before and after forestry project, collects forest information in an evaluation area from the database, collects one of an allometric equation and a growth coefficient using the collected forest information, calculates the carbon stock of the vegetation by applying a diameter at a breast height and a tree height to the collected allometric equation when the allometric equation is collected, determines that the calculated carbon stock of the vegetation is a carbon stock for a total area of the evaluation area when the calculated carbon stock of the vegetation is not based on a quadrat area, and calculates the change of the carbon stock of the vegetation by considering the carbon stock for the determined total area.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, while Pearson discloses e.g., a software that can perform at least one of the claimed functions of the control unit, Pearson does not specifically disclose one particular software that can perform all the claimed functions of the control unit. Joseph discloses in e.g., col. 25, line 35 et seq., the various “data processors” may each be implemented by a physical or virtual or cloud-based general-purpose computer having a central processor, memory, disk or other mass storage, communication interface(s), input/output (I/O) device(s), and other peripherals. The general-purpose computer is transformed into the processors and executes the processes described above, for example, by loading software instructions into the processor, and then causing execution of the instructions to carry out the functions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a control unit, such as a physical or virtual or cloud-based general-purpose computer, that performs all the claimed functions because such a physical or virtual or cloud-based general-purpose computer is known in the art and it would ensure the data is properly inputted and outputted in a secure location. Furthermore, the combination of Pearson and Joseph teach the steps of the claimed method. See MPEP 2112.02.
As to claims 2 and 7, the combination of Pearson and Joseph disclose the control unit calculates the carbon stock of the vegetation by applying a forest type map information and the collected growth coefficient to a calculation equation when the growth coefficient is collected. See e.g., p. 4 et seq. of Pearson and e.g., col. 25, line 35 et seq. of Joseph.
As to claims 3 and 8, the combination of Pearson and Joseph disclose the control unit determines that the calculated carbon stock of the vegetation is carbon stock per unit area of the evaluation area, calculates the carbon stock for the total area using the carbon stock per unit area when the calculated carbon stock of the vegetation is based on the quadrat area, and calculates the change of the carbon stock of the vegetation by considering the carbon stock for the calculated total area. See e.g., p. 24 et seq. of Pearson and e.g., col. 25, line 35 et seq. of Joseph.
As to claims 4 and 9, the combination of Pearson and Joseph disclose the control unit confirms the administrative district of the evaluation area to calculate a change of carbon stock of soil before and after the forestry project, collects soil information in the evaluation area from the database, calculates the carbon stock of the soil using the collected soil information, and calculates the change of the carbon stock of the soil calculated using the carbon stock of the soil. See e.g., p. 4 et seq. of Pearson and e.g., col. 25, line 35 et seq. of Joseph.
As to claims 5 and 10, the combination of Pearson and Joseph disclose the control unit determines that the carbon stock of the soil is the carbon stock of the soil before the forestry project when the soil information is collected through data published by national agencies and prior research data, derives the carbon stock of the soil after the forestry project using the determined carbon stock of the soil based on a forest type in the evaluation area, and compares the determined carbon stock of the soil with the derived carbon stock of the soil to calculate the change of the carbon stock of the soil. See e.g., p. 4 et seq. of Pearson and e.g., col. 25, line 35 et seq. of Joseph.
Furthermore, the combination of Pearson and Joseph teach the steps of the claimed method of claims 7-10. See MPEP 2112.02.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
10/15/2026