DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamasaki et al. (2007/0261249), hereinafter Yamasaki.
Regarding claim 1, Yamasaki teaches a depilatory device comprising:
a main body (1, 2);
a blade part (5, 10) that is provided at the main body, the blade part being configured to remove hair; and
a motor 4 that is built in the main body, and drives the blade part,
wherein a first space 26 in which a battery 27 configured to supply electric power to the motor is disposed is provided in the main body, the first space has a shape elongated in a first direction extending in a horizontal direction in a state where the blade part and the main body are lined up in an up-down direction, and
the motor is built in the main body in a state of being elongated in a direction extending in the horizontal direction.
See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 2, the motor 4 elongating in the first direction and in the main body is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, a battery space is best seen in Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 5, outer blades 10, inner blades 5, and linear motor 4 are best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 6, the central axis of the battery extending perpendicular to the horizontal direction is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 7, the length of the blade part (10, 5) in the up-down direction is shorter than the total high of the main body. See Figs. 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 8, the battery space is a three dimensional space and thus there are 3 perpendicular axes.
Regarding claim 11, a switch 28 is best seen in Fig. 1. It is at a bottom position when the device is tilted to the left. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the bottom of the device defines a second space and it is opened. See Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (2007/0261249), hereinafter Yamasaki, in view of Sawaga (2006/0265880) and Krumke et al. (2021/0008746), hereinafter Krumke.
Regarding claim 9, Yamasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the device having a cap attached to the main body by magnetic.
Sawaga teaches a trimming device comprising a cap 19 for covering a trimming head for safety purpose and protecting the trimming head. See Fig. 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the depilatory device of Yamasaki a lid as taught by Sawaga for safety purpose and protecting the trimming head.
The modified depilatory device of Yamasaki does not teach the cap and the trimming head attached by magnetic force.
Krumke teaches a shaving device having a cartridge 40 attached to a base plate 90 by a magnetic force. See Fig. 21.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a magnetic force as taught by Krumke between the trimming head and the cap in the depilatory device of Yamasaki for attaching the trimming head and the lid together.
Regarding claim 10, the modified depilatory device of Yamasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a protective-cap-side waterproof space in the cap.
Sagawa teaches the use of waterproof elements (14, 29) for waterproofing desired components. See Figs. 2 and 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a waterproof element between the cap and the trimming head to keep the trimming head dried.
The magnet and the waterproof element are provided between the inner space of the cap and the trimming head.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (2007/0261249), hereinafter Yamasaki, in view of Sawaga (2006/0265880).
Regarding claim 14, Yamasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a waterproof space in a battery compartment and a motor compartment .
Sagawa teaches the use of waterproof elements (14, 19) for waterproofing desired components. See Figs. 2 and 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a waterproof element in a battery compartment and a motor compartment for keeping the battery and the motor dried.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (2007/0261249), hereinafter Yamasaki, in view of Sawaga (2006/0265880) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Matsuoka et al. (WO2013/015034), hereinafter Matsuoka.
The modified depilatory device of Yamasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the main body being waterproofed and a discharge port at a lower end of the main body.
Matsuoka teaches a depilatory device comprising a main body being waterproofed at S1 and a discharge port 53. See Fig. 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the modified body of the depilatory device being waterproofed and provide a water discharge port as taught by Masuoka for preventing the battery and electrical circuit getting wet.
As to providing the discharge port at the lower end of the body, the water runs from a high location to a low location. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to position the water discharge at a lower end of the main body since it is where the water is collected.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (2007/0261249), hereinafter Yamasaki, in view of Cheng (2009/0199412).
Regarding claim 16, Yamasaki teaches invention substantially as claimed except for a charging unit on the main body.
Cheng teaches a hair trimmer comprising a charging unit 42 on a main body for charging rechargeable battery 54. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the depilatory device of Yamasaki a charging unit on a main body as taught by Cheng for charging rechargeable battery to reduce changing new battery.
Regarding claim 17, official notice is taken that to provide a cap to cover the charging unit is within the knowledge of one skilled in the art.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (2007/0261249), hereinafter Yamasaki, in view of Yoshitake (JP2013-070809).
Regarding claim 18, Yamasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a display on the main body.
Yoshitake teaches a shaving device having a display 6 for displaying an operation state and a charging state of the device. See Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the depilatory device of Yamasaki a display as taught by Yoshitake for displaying an operation state and a charging state of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shaving devices of general interest are cited in form PTO-892.
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724