DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 02/11/25 via a preliminary amendment, which is considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-16 & 18 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
5. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 09/16/24 & 01/27/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
6. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
7. The drawings filed on 04/05/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
8. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “DATA TRANSMISSION THROUGH THE PROTOCOL DATA UNIT (PDU) SESSION BASED ON DATA ROUTING POLICY”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
9. Claims 3-5, 12-13 & 14-15 are objected to because of minor informalities:
10. Claim 3, in part, recites, “…and/or…” in line 5. It is suggested to clarify the use of words instead of “/”.
11. Claims 4, 12-13 & 15 are also objected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
12. Claim 3, in part, recites, “…a DSCP…” in line 4. For consistency and clarification with “a DSCP” recited in claim 3, lines 3-4, it is suggested to change “a DSCP” in line 4, to “the DSCP”.
13. Claims 5 (a DSCP in line 3), 12 (a DSCP in line 3) & 14 (a DSCP in line 3) is also objected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
14. Claims 15 is also objected since they are depend upon objected claim 12 set forth above.
15. Claim 5, in part, recites, “…a TCID…” in line 3. For consistency and clarification with “a TCID” recited in claim 5, lines 3, it is suggested to change “a TCID” in line 3, to “the TCID”.
16. Claim 14 (TCID in line 3) is also objected for the same reason as claim 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claims 1-2, 6-11 & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE et al. (hereinafter referred as ZTE) Chinese Application No. CN 108632953A, in view of Youyang et al. (hereinafter referred as Yooyang) European Patent Application No. EP 3 755 117 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1: Zeng discloses an apparatus (See Page 30; Session Management Function (SMF)) comprising:
receive first information (corresponding to the PDU session establishment request message) from a first node (Corresponding to a User Equipment (UE)) for requesting to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session (See page 30; Steps 701-702; the non-3GPP access network (i.e., UE) sends a PDU session establishment request message to the SMF over the AMF, in which routing rules information requesting the PDU session is carried);
send second information to the first node (See Page 21-22; the SMF transmits the PDU session message to the UE),
wherein the second information (corresponding to the PDU session message) indicates an identifier of the first PDU session and a first quality of service (QOS) configuration policy corresponding to the first PDU session (See Page 21-22; the SMF transmits the PDU session message to the UE, including a PDU session identification of a currently existing PDU session, PDU IP address of a currently existing PDU session, data network information of the currently existing PDU session connection, routing rules information or QoS rule); and
send third information (Corresponding to PDU session establishment response message ) to the first node (See Page 28-29; the SMF sends a PDU session establishment response message to the UE over the AMF, PDU session parameters like session identity, IP address, data network name carried in the PDU session establishment response message, and routing rues according to which the UE subsequently performs routing IP flows),
wherein the third information indicates a data routing policy corresponding to the first PDU session, and the data routing policy comprises session information of the first PDU session (See Page 28-29; the SMF sends a PDU session establishment response message to the UE over the AMF, PDU session parameters like session identity, IP address, data network name carried in the PDU session establishment response message, and routing rues according to which the UE subsequently performs routing IP flows).
Zeng does not explicitly discloses an apparatus (i.e., SMF) comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory.
However, Youyang from the same field of endeavor discloses an apparatus (See FIG. 15; an apparatus 200 (i.e., access network node)) comprising:
at least one memory (See FIG. 15; an apparatus includes a storage unit 240), coupled to the at least one processor (See FIG. 15; an apparatus includes a processing unit 210), and storing programming instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to:
receive first information from a first node (See Para. 0390 & 0404; an access network device receives indication information from the first core network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an apparatus comprising a memory as taught by Youyang in the system of ZTE to implement an update procedure of a multi-access PDU session (See Para. 0006; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the method comprises: perform, based on the data routing policy, data transmission through the first PDU session (See Page 21-22; the SMF transmits the PDU session message to the UE, including a PDU session identification of a currently existing PDU session, PDU IP address of a currently existing PDU session, data network information of the currently existing PDU session connection, routing rules information or QoS rule. The SMF initiates the user plane tunnel establishment procedure between the non-3GPP access network and the UPF).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the method further comprises: receive fourth information from a third node, wherein the fourth information indicates a second QoS configuration policy of the first PDU session, and the second QoS configuration policy comprises a 5G quality of service indicator (5QI) (See Page 25; Step 510; the SMF sending to the PCF a policy control update request containing UE access registration information from WLAN, the PCF decides that the current PDU session is associated with the WLAN, sends the routing rules information or QoS information of the decided UE PDU session to the SMF through the policy control update response message. Wherein the routing rules information indicates the routing
of the IP flows, i.e., whether the IP flows are routed from the WLAN access network or the 3GPP access network).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the fourth information is carried in a non-access stratum (NAS) message (See Page 8; non-access stratum signaling).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
before receiving the fourth information from a third node, send first request information, wherein the first request information for requesting the second QoS configuration policy of the first PDU session (See Pages 26; the PCF sends routing rules information or QoS information of the decided UE PDU session to the SMF through the policy control update response message).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
after a registration request is sent to the third node and before the first information is received, the method further comprises: send the first request information (See Pages 26; the PCF sends routing rules information or QoS information of the decided UE PDU session to the SMF through the policy control update response message).
Regarding claim 10: Zeng discloses an apparatus (See Page 30; a Use Equipment (UE)) comprising:
send first information to a second node, wherein the first information is used to request to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session (See page 30; Steps 701-702; the non-3GPP access network (i.e., UE) sends a PDU session establishment request message to the SMF over the AMF, in which routing rules information requesting the PDU session is carried);
receive second information sent by the second node (See Page 21-22; the SMF transmits the PDU session message to the UE),
wherein the second information indicates an identifier of the first PDU session and a first quality of service (QOS) configuration policy corresponding to the first PDU session (See Page 21-22; the SMF transmits the PDU session message to the UE, including a PDU session identification of a currently existing PDU session, PDU IP address of a currently existing PDU session, data network information of the currently existing PDU session connection, routing rules information or QoS rule); and
receive third information sent by the second node (See Page 28-29; the SMF sends a PDU session establishment response message to the UE over the AMF, PDU session parameters like session identity, IP address, data network name carried in the PDU session establishment response message, and routing rues according to which the UE subsequently performs routing IP flows),
wherein the third information indicates a data routing policy corresponding to the first PDU session, and the data routing policy comprises session information of the first PDU session (See Page 28-29; the SMF sends a PDU session establishment response message to the UE over the AMF, PDU session parameters like session identity, IP address, data network name carried in the PDU session establishment response message, and routing rues according to which the UE subsequently performs routing IP flows).
Zeng does not explicitly discloses the apparatus includes at least one processor; and at least one memory, coupled to the at least one processor, and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor and causing the apparatus to:
However, Youyang from the same field of endeavor discloses the apparatus includes at least one processor (See FIG. 14; an apparatus 100 includes processing unit 110); and at least one memory (See FIG. 14; an apparatus 100 includes storage unit 140), coupled to the at least one processor, and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor and causing the apparatus to:
send first information to a second node (See Para. 0390 & 0404; an access network device receives indication information from the first core network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one processor; and at least one memory as taught by Youyang in the system of Zeng to implement an update procedure of a multi-access PDU session (See Para. 0006; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: perform, based on the data routing policy, data transmission through the first PDU session (See Page 21-22; the SMF transmits the PDU session message to the UE, including a PDU session identification of a currently existing PDU session, PDU IP address of a currently existing PDU session, data network information of the currently existing PDU session connection, routing rules information or QoS rule. The SMF initiates the user plane tunnel establishment procedure between the non-3GPP access network and the UPF).
Regarding claim 16: Zeng discloses an apparatus (See Page 30; Session Management Function (SMF)) comprising:
sending fourth information to a second node, wherein the fourth information indicates a second quality of service (QOS) configuration policy of a first PDU session, and the second Qos configuration policy comprises a 5G quality of service indicator (5QI) (See Page 25; Step 510; the SMF sending to the PCF a policy control update request containing UE access registration information from WLAN, the PCF decides that the current PDU session is associated with the WLAN, sends the routing rules information or QoS information of the decided UE PDU session to the SMF through the policy control update response message. Wherein the routing rules information indicates the routing of the IP flows, i.e., whether the IP flows are routed from the WLAN access network or the 3GPP access network).
Zeng does not explicitly discloses the apparatus includes at least one processor; and at least one memory, coupled to the at least one processor, and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor and causing the apparatus to:
However, Youyang from the same field of endeavor discloses the apparatus includes at least one processor (See FIG. 15; an apparatus 200 includes processing unit 210); and at least one memory (See FIG. 14; an apparatus 200 includes storage unit 240), coupled to the at least one processor, and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor and causing the apparatus to:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one processor; and at least one memory as taught by Youyang in the system of Zeng to implement an update procedure of a multi-access PDU session (See Para. 0006; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the fourth information is carried in a non-access stratum (NAS) message (See Page 8; non-access stratum signaling).
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: before sending the fourth information to the second node, receive first request information, for requesting the second QoS configuration policy of the first PDU session (See Pages 26; the PCF sends routing rules information or QoS information of the decided UE PDU session to the SMF through the policy control update response message).
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein the first request information is carried in a registration request received from the second node See Page 25; Step 510; the SMF sending to the PCF a policy control update request containing UE access registration information from WLAN, the PCF decides that the current PDU session is associated with the WLAN, sends the routing rules information or QoS information of the decided UE PDU session to the SMF through the policy control update response message).
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose the apparatus.
Furthermore, Zeng discloses the apparatus, wherein communication with the second node is performed by using a second communication technology; and a service is provided, by using the second communication technology, for a first node that uses a first communication technology (See page 30; Steps 701-702; the 3GPP access network or the non-3GPP access network is selected to sends a PDU session establishment request message to the SMF over the AMF, in which routing rules information requesting the PDU session is carried).
19. Claims 4 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE, in view of Youyang, further in view of Hong et al. (hereinafter referred as Hong) international Publication No. WO 2018/062949 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claims 4 & 13: The combination of Zeng and ZTE disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the data routing policy comprises a number of QoS flows comprised in the first PDU session, a mapping manner of the first PDU session, a number of first nodes comprised in the first PDU session (See Fig. 5; Step 308; the base station receives user plane data, obtains QoS information of a data packet according to header information of the data packet, and the base station should have a QoS Flow to DRB mapping function. The mapping function module maps one or more QoS flows to a DRB, and a mapping principle mainly refers to QoS of the QoS Flow. For example, the packet header indicates QoS Flow-1. According to the saved QoS policy, the specific QoS requirement corresponding to QoS Flow-1 can be known, and a default DRB or a certain DRB that has been established can meet the QoS requirement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the data routing policy comprises a number of QoS flows comprised in the first PDU session, a mapping manner of the first PDU session, a number of first nodes comprised in the first PDU session as taught by Hong in the combined system of Youyang and Zeng to io improve the throughput of the system and improve the reliability of data receiving and increase transmission rate (See Para. 0008; lines 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 3, 5, 12 & 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the claim objection set forth above.
Conclusion
21. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Doostnejad et al. 2024/0015569 A1 (Title: Quality of service management for 5G network) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. HE et al. 2024/0251300 A1 (Title: Communication method and apparatus and system) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Xiong et al. 2023/0073391 A1 (Title: Handover process-based message transmitting….) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469