DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 9-12, 15-18, and 21-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-4, 6, 9-12, 15-18, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUNG et al. (US 2018/0226948).
Regarding claim 1, SUNG teaches a front-end module for a wireless device (Fig. 9 and page 1, paragraphs 3 – 11). SUNG teaches that at least one transmit path configured to receive a first transmit signal (pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89 and Fig. 9A, where teaches a transmit path configuring for receiving a transmitting signal), at least one receive path configured to receive a first receive signal (pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89 and Fig. 9A, where teaches a receive path configuring for receiving a signal), at least one transmit/receive path (Fig. 9A teaches transmit/receive paths), coupled to the at least one receive path and to the at least one transmit path (pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89 and Fig. 9A, 9B, where teaches receive path and transmit path coupling to duplexing path), an antenna (Fig. 9A) switching module (Fig. 9A) coupled between the at least one transmit/receive path and an antenna port (pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89 and Fig. 9A, 9B, where teaches antenna switching module coupling between transmit/receive path and an antenna), and a first transmit filter (Fig. 9B) disposed in at least one of the at least one transmit path and the at least one receive path and configured to reduce harmonic content from the first transmit signal (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112, where teaches disposing filters in transmit path and receive path and filters connected to RF IC circuit and performing a larger size of the device allows harmonic suppression and reducing signal loss and increasing efficiency).
Regarding claim 2, SUNG teaches that the first transmit filter includes an inductive/capacitive tank circuit (pages 5, paragraphs 83 – pages 6, paragraphs 102 and Fig. 10, 11).
Regarding claim 3, SUNG teaches that a capacitive element of the inductive/capacitive tank circuit includes one of a surface mount capacitor and an acoustic wave resonator (pages 5, paragraphs 83 – pages 6, paragraphs 102 and Fig. 10, 11).
Regarding claim 4, SUNG teaches that the first transmit filter is disposed in a first transmit path of the at least one transmit path, the front-end module further including a receive filter disposed in the at least one receive path and a second transmit filter disposed in the transmit/receive path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 6, SUNG teaches that the antenna switch module is configured to selectively couple the transmit/receive path to the antenna port (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 9, SUNG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, SUNG further teaches that a receive module (Fig. 9), a first transmit module (Fig. 9), a first transmit path coupled to the first transmit module and configured to receive a first transmit signal from the first transmit module (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 10, SUNG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 6 and 9. Furthermore, SUNG further teaches that an antenna switching module coupled between the at least one transmit/receive path and an antenna port (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 11, SUNG teaches that a second transmit module and a second transmit path coupled to the second transmit module and to the at least one transmit/receive path, wherein the second transmit module is configured to provide a second transmit signal to the second transmit path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 12, SUNG teaches that the first transmit filter is configured to reduce harmonic content from the second transmit signal (pages 9, paragraphs 145, Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 15, SUNG teaches that a second transmit filter disposed in the transmit/receive path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 16, SUNG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 9. Furthermore, SUNG further teaches that an antenna switching module disposed in the at least one transmit path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112), filtering at least one harmonic from the transmit signal using a filter disposed in one of the transmit path and the receive path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112, where teaches disposing filters in transmit path and receive path and filters connected to RF IC circuit and performing a larger size of the device allows harmonic suppression and reducing signal loss and increasing efficiency), and controlling the antenna switching modules to route the transmit signal from the transmit/receive path to the antenna port (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112, where teaches selectively controlling switching module to path the transmit signal).
Regarding claim 17, SUNG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 9. Furthermore, SUNG further teaches that the filter is disposed in the receive path, the method further comprising receiving a receive signal at the at least one antenna port and routing the receive signal to the receive path and through the filter in the receive path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 18, SUNG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 12. Furthermore, SUNG further teaches that receiving a second transmit signal on the transmit path and filtering at least one harmonic from the second transmit signal using the filter in the receive path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 21, SUNG teaches that routing the transmit signal from the transmit/receive path to the antenna port includes routing the transmit signal through an impedance matching network disposed in the at least one transmit/receive path (Fig. 8, 10, 11 and pages 5, paragraphs 75 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 22, SUNG teaches that the filter is coupled to a reference node, and filtering the at least one harmonic from the transmit signal includes routing the at least one harmonic to the reference node (pages 9, paragraphs 145, Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 23, SUNG teaches that an impedance matching network disposed in the at least one transmit/receive path (Fig. 8, 10, 11 and pages 5, paragraphs 75 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 24, SUNG teaches that the first transmit filter is coupled to a reference node (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 25, SUNG teaches that an impedance matching network disposed in the at least one transmit/receive path (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Regarding claim 26, SUNG teaches that the first transmit filter is coupled to a reference node (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 5 IS rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUNG in view of TAKEUCHI et al. (US 2018/0019730).
Regarding claim 5, SUNG teaches that the front-end module is configured to support wireless communication (Fig. 9, 12, pages 5, paragraphs 75 – 89, and pages 6, paragraphs 104 – pages 7, paragraphs 112). SUNG does not specifically disclose the limitation “the receive signal is a mid-band 5G signal, and the first transmit signal is a mid-band 5G signal”. However, TAKEUCHI teaches the limitation “the receive signal is a mid-band 5G signal, and the first transmit signal is a mid-band 5G signal” (Fig. 5D and pages 2, paragraphs 19 – 25, where teaches the RF front-end circuit may further include a input/output terminal, and a filter that is connected to the antenna common terminal, is disposed between the antenna common terminal and the input/output terminal, and has a pass band, and the first filter, the second filter, and the fourth filter may define a triplexer, the first pass band, the second pass band, and the third pass band may be applied to a low band (LB) of about 698-960 MHz, a middle band (MBa) of about 1710-2200 MHz, and a high band (HBa) of about 2300-2690 MHz, for example, the first pass band may be any one of the low band, the middle band, and the high band). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of the SUNG’s RF front-end circuit structure as taught by TAKEUCHI, provide the motivation to improving the communication performance by using filters in RF front-end circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Korden et al. (US 2009/0003286) discloses Front End Module Comprising an Antenna Switch.
Pusl, III et al. (US 2018/0262229) discloses Transmit Loopback Path Architecture.
Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)."
Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
J.L
July 14, 2026
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649