CTNF 18/627,557 CTNF 79590 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 2. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA 3. Claim s 1-3, 7-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2024/0430759) . Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a method performed by a masternode (MN) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: generating (see sections 0504-0505) a first key (first secondary key) for a first second node (SN) based on a first SN counter (first counter) and a second key (additional secondary key) for a second SN (nth SN as disclosed in section 0505) based on a second SN counter (selected additional counter); transmitting (as disclosed in sections 0465-0466), to the first SN, a first request message including the first key for the first SN; transmitting (as disclosed in section 0465-0466), to the second SN, a second request message including the second key for the second SN; and transmitting (as disclosed in section 0460), to a user equipment (wireless device), a radio resource control (RRC) connection reconfiguration message including the first SN counter (first adj2 counter) and the second SN counter (additional counter). Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. discloses the second SN counter is different from the first SN counter (see Fig. 34, sections 0504-0505), and wherein the second key (additional secondary key) is different from the first key (first secondary key). Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. discloses receiving, from the UE (wireless device), an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message (see section 0434). Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. discloses a method performed by a user equipment (wireless device as disclosed in section 0460) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving (see sections 0460-0461, from a master node (base station), a radio resource control (RRC) connection reconfiguration message including a first secondary node (SN) counter (first counter) for a first SN and a second SN counter (additional counter) for a second SN; and generating a first key (first secondary key as disclosed in section 0460) for the first SN based on the first SN counter. Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. discloses the second SN counter is different from the first SN counter (as disclosed in sections 0460-0462, see also Fig. 34, sections 0504-0505), and wherein the second key (additional secondary key) is different from the first key (first secondary key). Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. discloses transmitting, to the MN (base station), an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message (see section 0434, see also section 0505). Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. discloses (see sections 0504-0505) wherein the RRC connection reconfiguration message includes a first set of SN counters (one or more first counter) for the first SN and a second set of SN counters (one or more additional counter) for the second SN (as disclosed in section 0504, see also sections 0510 and 0529), wherein the first SN counter is included in the first set of SN counters for the first SN and the second SN counter is included in the second set of SN counters for the second SN (as disclosed in sections 0504-0505), and wherein the first set of SN counters are used for generating a first set of keys (first secondary key as disclosed in section 0504) for the first SN and the second set of SN counters are used for generating a second set of keys (additional secondary key as disclosed in section 0505) for the second SN. Regarding claims 11-13, Kim et al. discloses a master node (MN or base station as disclosed in sections 0434, 0460, and 0504-0505, see Fig. 15, block 1504) in a wireless communication system, the MN comprising: a transceiver (Fig.15, air interface 1506, see sections 0214-0215) , and a controller (block 1508, see section 0220) coupled with the transceiver and configured to perform the method of claims 1-3, the rejection of which is applicable hereto. Regarding claims 17-20, Kim et al. discloses a user equipment (wireless device as shown in Fig. 15, element 1502) in a wireless communication system, the user equipment comprising: a transceiver (Fig.15, air interface 1506, see sections 0214-0215), and a controller (block 1518, see section 0220) coupled with the transceiver and configured to perform the method of claims 7-10, the rejection of which is applicable hereto . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 4. Claim s 4-6 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CURTIS B ODOM whose telephone number is (571)272-3046. The examiner can normally be reached 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah S Wang can be reached at (571)-272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 March 6, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/627,557 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/627,557 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/627,557 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/627,557 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/627,557 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631