DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following claim(s) is/are pending in this office action: 1-14
The following claim(s) is/are amended: 1, 3, 7, 9
The following claim(s) is/are cancelled: -
The following claim(s) is/are new: -
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 4/20/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s Invention as Claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cella (US Pub. 2021/0287459) in view of Goemann-Thoss (US Pub. 2015/0125961) and further in view of Morita (US Pub. 2015/0339567).
With respect to Claim 1, Cella teaches a method of managing an access to data of a digital twin in an industrial system, (para. 6-7; a digital twin is a digital information construct of a real machine. Paras. 734-739; digital twin of a vehicle is linked to the identity of a user such as an owner. The digital twin is integrated with an identity management system which controls roles which have capabilities to view, modify or configure the digital twin. Para. 939; digital twins may be used with industrial assets or manufacturing facilities. Therefore, to the extent that vehicle modelling does not constitute an industrial system and the reference does not anticipate the vehicle acts also being done with an industrial system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to apply the digital twin management and access technique that is applied to vehicles to an industrial system because application of a known technique to similar devices for the same benefit is obvious, see MPEP 2143(I)(C) and (D) and further because it would have allowed one of ordinary skill to model the industrial system in the same manner as the vehicle to allow for analysis of an industrial system.)
the method comprising: receiving by a processor one or more datasets of a digital twin of a physical device of the industrial system from each of a plurality of devices of a hierarchical system implementing the digital twin, (Fig. 59, para. 729; Cloud computing platform comprises processor and uses a modelling application. Modelling application receives information from sensors and external information about the state of a vehicle and generates a digital twin that simulates the operating state of the vehicle. Para. 734; digital twin encompasses hierarchies and functional relationships between the vehicle and various components and subsystems. A digital twin of a vehicle encompasses digital twins of the electrical and fuel subsystems as well as digital twins of the engine, etc.)
the one or more datasets comprise data related to services associated with the digital twin, (para. 744, 754-756, 767-768; Digital twin includes operational state of the vehicle and the operational state is used to both predict the need for maintenance and repairs and as a tool during the maintenance process, which makes the operational state data related to services associated with the digital twin. paras. 779-783; system may also maintain a digital twin of the driver and use the combined digital twins systems to configure a vehicle experience based on the driver/vehicle state. Para. 842; digital twin used to represent various abstractions of a delivery service enterprise.)
wherein the data related to the services associated with the digital twin includes configurations associated with applications, (para. 790; user may install a mobile application and may indicate a wish to track personal items that would be found in the car. The digital twin of the vehicle may integrate digital twins of the personal items. Therefore the item tracking is a service, the wish to engage in tracking is a configuration associated with an application, and that data is related to the digital twin of the car.)
communication, (paras. 779-789; system may also maintain a digital twin of the driver and use the combined digital twins systems to configure a vehicle experience based on the driver/vehicle state. Para. 783; when driver is determined to be drowsy, the system may communicate with the driver, switch on music or turning up the volume. Para. 515, 530-531, 537; system may change the operational parameter of a vehicle based on the emotional state of the driver by changing audio content or offering communication options such as sending a note that the driver will be delayed. Para. 393-394; user experience includes sound levels.
operation limit, (para. 739; manufacturer role of digital twin allows for adjusting a vehicle operating parameter limit such as setting a maximum speed for badly worn tires. Para. 743; driver may communicate with digital twin to solve problems, including by adjusting an operating parameter or mode of vehicle. Para. 415; in a self-driving vehicle, the vehicle state is used to optimize an operating parameter such as putting the car into a safe driving mode. Para. 663; system may change amount of acceleration or suspension at different times of day.)
and user role; (para. 739; Digital twin system includes identity manager which manages role definitions.)
determining by the processor a lifecycle state of the digital twin corresponding to each of the one or more datasets, by mapping each of the one or more datasets with pre-defined lifecycle state data; (A lifecycle state will be taught later. para. 729, 734; Vehicle parameters from the multiple devices are used to model the entire vehicle. Para. 729; operating state of the vehicle.)
receiving by the processor information related to a role of each user of one or more users associated with each of the plurality of devices from one or more sources; (para. 729; a user device may display one or more vehicle states using the digital twin data to users such as a driver, a rider, an observer, an owner, an operator of a vehicle fleet, a traffic safety representative, a vehicle designer, or a digital twin development engineer. Fig. 60, paras. 737-739; Digital twin system is integrated with an identity and access management system. The identity manager stores users and roles and provisions access to resources of the digital twin system. The access management system verifies an identity and provides access rights for viewing, modifying and configuring the digital twin to different roles of different users. Therefore the provisioning system receives user role information associated with the vehicle. para. 730; cloud computing platform includes processors.)
generating by the processor an access matrix indicating the one or more users and corresponding access rights on the one or more datasets associated with each of the plurality of devices by mapping the lifecycle state of the digital twin corresponding to each of the one or more datasets with the role of each of the one or more users (An access matrix will be taught later. Fig. 60, paras. 737-739; provisioning of a user identity including role definition. Management of access rights related to identities and roles.)
and managing by the processor an access to the one or more datasets by the one or more users at each of the plurality of devices based on the access matrix indicative of the access rights. (para. 739; Access management system uses identities and roles to determine entitlements for the data.)
But Cella does not explicitly teach an access matrix.
Goemann-Thoss, however, does teach an access matrix (Examiner asserts that Cella renders this limitation obvious on its own, because it teaches the storage of a user and their access rights for a resource, see para. 739, which renders obvious the creation of a matrix identifying access as that is a simple rearrangement of data. Rearrangement of parts is obvious, see MPEP 2144. Regardless, since obviousness is needed anyway, Examiner will cite Goemann-Thoss, paras. 24-25, 32, 44; access matrix that relates subject/object pair (i.e. user and resource) with permissible operations such as read or write.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Cella with the access matrix in order to quickly identify permitted operations of a user on a resource.
But modified Cella does not explicitly teach a lifecycle state.
Morita, however, does teach a lifecycle state; to indicate access rights of each of the one or more users to each of the one or more datasets based at least in part on the associated lifecycle state; (First see Cella, para. 729, 734; Vehicle parameters from the multiple devices are used to model the entire vehicle. para. 768; digital twin may store vehicle state data and maintenance records. Para. 829; digital twin may reflect workflow or various stages of a process and reflect a current state of the process. Then see Morita, paras. 6, 46, 47; lifecycle of vehicle is tracked and access control policy accepts access requests based on the role based on respective stages of the lifecycle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of modified Cella with the lifecycle state to allow users who have access to the electronic information to be changed according to the stage of the lifecycle. (Morita, para. 6)
With respect to Claim 2, modified Cella teaches the method of claim 1, and Cella also teaches wherein the one or more datasets comprise at least one of, data related to software components associated with the digital twin, data related to hardware components associated with the digital twin, operational data associated with the digital twin, data related to services associated with digital twin. (para. 734; digital twin is a virtual replication of hardware, software and processes in the vehicle. Para. 729; operating state of the vehicle.)
With respect to Claim 3, modified Cella teaches the method of claim 1, and Morita also teaches wherein the lifecycle state of the digital twin comprises at least one of, an under-development state, a productization state, a commissioning state, a validation state, an operation state, a maintenance state, an upgrade state, and an end-of-life state. (para. 41; production, service, collections and recycle, disposal stages. See also Cella, para. 729; operating state of the vehicle.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 4, modified Cella teaches the method of claim 1, and Cella also teaches wherein managing the access comprising either providing the access or denying the access to the one or more datasets based on a request received from each of the one or more users to access the one or more datasets. (para. 739; Access is provided to verified users based on access policies following a resource access request. For example, a manufacturer is allowed to access content relevant to wear-and-tear, maintenance, needs for service, but not be authorized to view other content related to the vehicle.)
With respect to Claim 5, modified Cella teaches the method of claim 4, and Cella also teaches further comprising: providing one or more notifications related to a state corresponding to a dataset of the one or more datasets, to the one or more users; (paras. 731, 913-918, 924; alert or notification on state change.)
and displaying a status of one or more tasks associated with the state of the dataset, to the one or more users. (para. 729; interface on user device may display one or more vehicle states such as maintenance state. Para. 636, 752; status/condition of one or more vehicles. Para. 398; time required to charge a vehicle battery.)
With respect to Claim 6, modified Cella teaches the method of claim 1, and Goemann-Thoss also teaches wherein the access matrix is stored in each of the plurality of devices. (para. 20; access permissions database can be stored centrally, in a plurality of devices with each having a full copy, or a plurality of devices each having a partial copy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to store the relevant part of the matrix in each of the devices to reduce centralized data storage requirements by having a distributed database.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 7, it is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying. Further, Cella also teaches a processor; a memory configured to store processor-executable instructions that, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: (para. 1009; processor and non-transitory storage medium that stores code.)
With respect to Claims 8-12, they are substantially similar to Claims 2-6, respectively, and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
With respect to Claim 14, modified Cella teaches the method according to claim 5, and Cella also teaches wherein providing the one or more notifications related to the state corresponding to the dataset of the one or more datasets, to the one or more users, is based on a role of the users, (para. 731, 913-918, 924; alert or notification on state change. para. 729; interface on user device may display one or more vehicle states such as maintenance state. para. 739; Roles have different access rights, including a manufacturer role that may access wear-and-tear or maintenance data. Therefore, entering a maintenance state is a state change that prompts a notification and the notification is presented to the manufacturer account based on its role.)
and further comprising maintaining a user activity log that indicates access to data of the digital twin by the users. (para. 739; System includes authorization manager which uses identity to determine access. Authorization is performed by checking access request against policies and a database stores all authorization-related data. Since authorization controls a response to access request and a database stores authorization related data, that suggests storing authorization requests and responses, which is an access log.)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cella (US Pub. 2021/0287459) in view of Goemann-Thoss (US Pub. 2015/0125961) in view of Morita (US Pub. 2015/0339567) and further in view of Hubauer (US Pub. 2022/0292136).
With respect to Claim 13, modified Cella teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach a Bill of Materials.
Hubauer, however, does teach wherein the one or more data sets includes dependency mapping (para. 3-5; digital twins use a relational database. para. 11; dependencies between digital representations. Paras. 10, 22; tree structure for a bill of materials. See also Cella, para. 734; The digital twin encompasses hierarchies and functional relationships between the vehicle, various components and subsystems.)
of a Bill of Materials of the hardware components and the software components. (Paras. 10, 22; tree structure for a bill of materials. Para. 19, 22, 41; generating digital representations using a bill-of-material model. For hardware and software components, see Cella, para. 734; digital twins include virtual replication of hardware and software. The digital twin encompasses hierarchies and functional relationships between the vehicle, various components and subsystems.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of modified Cella with the Bill of Materials in order to fully describe the item to be digitally represented in a tree-like structure.
Remarks
Applicant argues at Remarks, pg. 7 that the amended claims are nonobvious over the cited art. Examiner cites Morita and maintains the rejection.
All claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449