DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/627, 573 filed on 04/05/2024 is presented for examination. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 04/10/2025, 05/23/2025 and 03/20/2026 are acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Song (US 2015/0048797).
With respect to claims 1, 8 and 15, Song discloses an apparatus for charging and discharging a battery (Figs. 1-3; Para. # 0026) included in a device comprising a motor (Para. # 0022: the battery pack and a motor driven by electric energy stored in the battery pack), the apparatus comprising: a first cell discharged during driving of the device to supply power to the motor of the device (Para. #0057, 146: supplying power to the motor 624 while the electric car 600 is driven); a second cell charged with
power supplied from the motor by regenerative braking during deceleration of the device (Para. # 0147: recover and store regenerative braking energy of the motor 624 that operates as a generator during braking); a first switch on a charging/discharging path of the first cell; a second switch on a charging/discharging path of the second cell (Fig. 2, charge/discharge switch 261/262); and a processor electrically connected to the first switch and the second switch configured to control charging/discharging of the first cell and the second cell (Fig. 2, microcontroller 240; para. # 0009, 0076 and 161/) separately for the first cell and the second cell during charging/discharging of the first cell and the second cell (Para. #0052, 109 and 104: control the charging and discharging operations of the battery 110 based on the measured parameter).
With respect to claims 2 and 9, Song discloses the apparatus for charging and discharging the battery as disclosed above, further discloses wherein battery charging/discharging rates (C-rates) of the first cell and the second cell are different from each other (Para. # 0010: a cell voltage of the battery cell, the temperature of the battery, and a charging and discharging current of the battery).
With respect to claims 4-5 and 11-12, Song discloses the apparatus for charging and discharging the battery as disclosed above, further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to obtain a connection signal of an external charger of the device or a regenerative charging mode, measure a charging current on a charging/discharging path connected to the external charger or the motor, determine which charging cell of the first cell and the second cell is to be charged, based on the connection signal of the external charger, the regenerative charging mode signal, a magnitude of the charging current and control charging of the charging cell (Para. # 146/147: supplying power to the motor 624 while the electric car 600 is driven and may recover and store regenerative braking energy of the motor 624 that operates as a generator during breaking).
With respect to claims 6 and 13, Song discloses the apparatus for charging and discharging the battery as disclosed above, further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a driving mode signal corresponding to acceleration of the device; measure a voltage of the first cell and a voltage of the second cell (Fig. 2, 130), based on the driving mode signal; determine a discharging cell having a greater voltage between the first cell and the second cell; and control discharging of the discharging cell (Para. # 0077 and 0079: he measures unit 230 includes a cell voltage measuring unit 231 for measuring the cell voltages. The cell voltage measuring unit 231 may be connected to wires extending from nodes between the terminals 201 and the battery cells 211).
With respect to claims 7 and 14, Song discloses the apparatus for charging and discharging the battery as disclosed above, further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain an idle mode signal corresponding to an idle state of the device; measure a voltage of the first cell and a voltage of the second cell, based on the idle mode signal; and, if the voltage of the second cell is greater than the voltage of the first cell, discharge the second cell to control charging of the first cell (Para. # 0052: battery managing unit 120 monitors the state of the battery 110 and controls overall operations, such as charging and discharging, of the battery 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US as described above, further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2015/0236529).
With respect to claims 3 and 10, Song discloses the apparatus/method for charging and discharging the battery as described above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the battery charge rate (C-rate) of the second cell is greater than the battery C-rate of the first cell.
Tanaka, on the other hand, discloses wherein the battery charge rate (C-rate) of the second cell is greater than the battery C-rate of the first cell (Para. # 0047: change of the charging rate (SOC (state of charge)) of the secondary battery 2 as compared with the first charging and discharging control).
SONG and Tanaka are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely apparatus and method of managing battery pack and charge control apparatus.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a charging/discharging rate controller to the controller/microcontroller of Song in viw of Tanaka for the benefit of adjusting charging/discharging rate for cells that have smaller charge rate from the others in order to keep charge/discharge balance for longer use of the rechargeable battery cells and keep rolling the vehicle from being short of energy or driving power (Para. # 0047).
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859