DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal (US 2018/0203924) and in view of Boyer (US 2008/0208834)
Re claim 1, Agrawal discloses A method, comprising: maintaining, by a device, a catalog of attributes that can be collected via an application ([0017]-]0019], a database that includes a application that is able to collect to compile the desired data based on the category and the key terms);
receiving, at the device and from a user interface, a natural-language prompt for input to a language model that specifies a user intent to collect requests collection of a particular type of data from the application ([0025], user inputs a natural language query such as “what is the average score of math? Or “How’s the growth of monthly total sales”. Their intent is to find out the average score or growth of monthly total sales.);
generating, by the device and using the language model based on the natural-language prompt, one or more candidate attribute names associated with the user intent ([0019], [0025]-[0026], the user’s intent is to find out the average score of the class or the growth of the monthly sales. To identify the average score, it requires summing up all test scores in the class and dividing the sum by the total number of students. Words such as “monthly growth” and “sales” may be identifies as query terms);
identifying, by the device, one or more attributes within the catalog of attributes corresponding to at least one of the one or more candidate attribute names ([0025]-[0026], Words such as “monthly growth” and “sales” may be identifies as query terms);
generating, by the device, a recommended configuration to collect data corresponding to the one or more identified attributes from the application ([0058]-[0063] the user may be prompted to re-enter the question with a time period and then it is used in the analysis of the data plots . The computing device sends the input to the operations of the data storage devices to look for the data as a monthly total);
generating, by the device and using the language model, a response to the natural- language prompt that includes the recommended configuration ([0028]-[0030], Words inputted as language model such as “monthly growth” and “sales” may be identifies as query terms and send over to the server as a query string and identified in the tables/spreadsheet to be selected); and
providing, by the device, the response to the user interface for display (fig. 4, [0057]-[0060], the quest is inputted by the user “hows the growth of monthly totals?” and the results are shown.)
Agrawal does not clearly disclose, however Boyer discloses a monitoring agent ([0013], monitoring module is configured to record information about a usage of the applications to use in a search criteria).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Agrawal’s search module with Boyer’s search module in order to provide additional modules to help with collecting data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow the system to utilize different data monitoring techniques needed for search activity data.
Re claim 2, Agrawal discloses wherein maintaining the catalog of attributes comprises: storing representations of the attributes along with a reverse index that associates each representation with corresponding metadata for configuring the monitoring agent to collect a corresponding type of data ([0041], the tables may server to reverse lookup row and indices).
Re claim 3, Agrawal discloses wherein the corresponding metadata of an attribute includes one or more of: a file name, a method name, an attribute name, or a function return value associated with the attribute ([0028]-[0031], it is able to include index of rows and columns that correspond to the values of data such as the monthly sales)
Re claim 4, Agrawal discloses wherein the recommended configuration defines an extension configuration to customize data collection by the monitoring agent to include collection of the particular type of data without altering code of the monitoring agent ([0028]-[0031], in order to find out what the growth of the monthly sales are, it needs to extract the keyworks and prepare a table summary with the detectable data needed.).
Re claim 6, Agrawal discloses metadata associated with at least one of the one or more identified attributes identifies a method of the application from which data corresponding to the at least one identified attribute is collectible ([0028]-[0031], in order to find out what the growth of the monthly sales are, it needs to extract the keyworks and prepare a table summary with the detectable data needed.).; and
generating the recommended configuration is based on the metadata to cause the monitoring agent to collect the data corresponding to the at least one identified attribute during an invocation of the method. associated with the attributes within the catalog of attributes that correspond to the particular type of data specified in the prompt (fig. 4, [0057]-[0060], the quest is inputted by the user “hows the growth of monthly totals?” and the results are shown. [0028]-[0031], in order to find out what the growth of the monthly sales are, it needs to extract the keyworks and prepare a table summary with the detectable data needed.)
Re claim 7, Agrawal discloses generating a recommended configuration for the monitoring agent to collect an additional type of data based on a relationship of the additional type of data to the particular type of data ([0028]-[0030], Words inputted as language model such as “monthly growth” and “sales” may be identifies as query terms and send over to the server as a query string and identified in the tables/spreadsheet to be selected for chart recommendations).
Re claim 8, Agrawal discloses prioritizing configurations for recommendation based on a frequency of corresponding data collected at the application. ([0035], the user may be prompted to re-enter the question with a time period).
Re claim 9, Agrawal discloses providing the recommended configuration to a control plane associated with the monitoring agent to propagate the recommended configuration to the monitoring agent ([0058]-[0063] the user may be prompted to re-enter the question with a time period and then it is used in the analysis of the data plots . The computing device sends the input to the operations of the data storage devices to look for the data as a monthly total). In addition, Boyer discloses monitoring, analysis, and search modules that are utilizes to use more search criteria and operations.
Re claim 10, Agrawal discloses wherein the recommended configuration causes the particular type of data collected from the application to be added to a tracing span ([0035], [0058]-[0060] the user may be prompted to re-enter the question with a time period and then it is used in the analysis of the data plots).
Re claims 11-14 and 16-22 are similar to claims 1-4 and 6-10 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443