DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the Merits in response to communications filed by applicant on November 24th, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims filed on November 24th, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-12 are currently amended and pending, and claims 13-20 are original, unamended, and pending. The amendments to the Title filed on November 24th, 2025 have been entered and have over com each an every object set forth in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 11-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11839981 B2 ("Dan") in view of US 11029603 B2 ("Chen") in further view of US 11104268 B2 ("White") in further view of US 20160236869 A1 ("Kimura").
Regarding claim 1, Dan teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 1 autonomous moving transfer robot 100, Column 5 lines 11-37, “Referring to FIG. 1, a one-side load-bearing two-arm type autonomous moving transfer robot 100 comprises: … a load bearing mechanism comprising a plurality of board-like bearers 5 for bearing the target object 400, the plurality of bearers 5 being all fixed to a same side ( either a front side 30 or a rear side, in the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 to 7, the bearers 5 are all fixed to the front side of the vertical plate 12, while in other embodiments, the bearers 5 could be all fixed to the rear side of the vertical plate 12), and spaced apart in the vertical direction;… and a control system for 35 controlling walking/stopping and steering of the running mechanism and controlling movement of the manipulators.”, Column 5 lines 38-67, “According to the above technical scheme, the autonomous moving transfer robot provided according to the first aspect of the preset disclosure is capable of transferring multiple target objects 400 at a time. The specific working process is as follows: firstly, the control system controls the running mechanism 2 to run so as to move the unloaded autonomous moving transfer robot to a first position in which the target object 400 is stored; then, the control system controls the attitude of the gripper 4 (the angle of rotation of the gripper about a pivot shaft thereof) and the movement of the mechanical arm 3 to send the gripper 4 to a desired position, so that the target object 400 is gripped by the gripper 4 through the movement of the mechanical arm 3; and thereafter, by controlling the movement of the mechanical arm 3, the gripped target object 400 is placed onto one bearer 5 of the load bearing mechanism, thereby completing the "loading" of one target object 400. Then, the above process could be repeated until all of the bearers 5 have the target objects 400 placed thereon. Then, the running mechanism 2 is controlled to run so as to move the autonomous moving transfer robot and target object loaded thereof to a second position to which the target objects 400 are to be transferred, and the target objects 400 are in tum gripped by the manipulators from the corresponding bearers 5 and moved to corresponding storage positions in the second position, thereby achieving the "unloading" of the target objects 400.”, Column 6 lines 11-18, “The autonomous moving transfer robot of the present disclosure is applicable to an unmanned production workshop, for example, a production workshop for silicon wafers, and the target object 400 is a foup box containing silicon wafers…”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that a control system for controlling the movements of a robot would include a processor. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly teaches a mobile robot configured to transport an object. Additionally, The robot clearly includes a contact portion that comes into contact with a transport object, which is the board-like bearers. Furthermore, the transport object can clearly be a box configured to store the transport object. The cited passages provide the example of a foup box.)
wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box (Dan: Figure 1 board-like bearers 5 and Figure 21 target object 400, Column 5 lines 11-37, “Referring to FIG. 1, a one-side load-bearing two-arm type autonomous moving transfer robot 100 comprises: … a load bearing mechanism comprising a plurality of board-like bearers 5 for bearing the target object 400, the plurality of bearers 5 being all fixed to a same side ( either a front side 30 or a rear side, in the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 to 7, the bearers 5 are all fixed to the front side of the vertical plate 12, while in other embodiments, the bearers 5 could be all fixed to the rear side of the vertical plate 12), and spaced apart in the vertical direction;”, Column 6 lines 11-18, “The autonomous moving transfer robot of the present disclosure is applicable to an unmanned production workshop, for example, a production workshop for silicon wafers, and the target object 400 is a foup box containing silicon wafers…”. The robot clearly includes a contact portion that comes into contact with a transport object, which is the board-like bearers. Furthermore, the transport object can clearly be a box configured to store the transport object. The cited passages provide the example of a foup box. Additionally, the contact portion is clearly on an upper side of the mobile robot.),
and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, “According to a fifth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a bearer 5 for an autonomous moving transfer robot, an embodiment of which is shown in FIGS. 18 to 20. As shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the bearer 5 comprises: a board-like main body 51 having a bearing surface for bearing the target object 400; a positioning structure 52 fixed to the bearing surface to mate with a positioning slot of the target object 400 to limit movement of the target object 400 on the board-like main body 51;”, Column 14 lines 46-65, “In embodiments of the present disclosure, the board-like main body 51 could be configured in any suitable manner. Optionally, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the board-like main body 51 comprises a main board 511, a sandwiched board 512 and a cover board 513 which are sequentially connected in an overlapping manner, the sandwiched board 512 has an opening 5121 formed therein, a second signal light source 55 is arranged in the opening 5121, and the second signal light source 55 is capable of emitting light of multiple colors each indicating one working condition. For example, the second signal light source 55 could emit red light indicating an alarm, green light indicating normal operation, blue light indicating battery is low, etc.”, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6, “Wherein, in order to enable a user to see the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 from various angles and orientations, the second signal light source 55 could be configured to be bar-shaped, and four second signal light sources 55 are arranged in the opening 5121 and emit light towards the front, rear, left and right, respectively, so that the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 irradiates every orientation and comer.”. The cited passage and figure describe the configuration of the bearer 5. As can be seen from the cited passage and figure, there are a plurality of light emitting units (second signal light source 55) around the contact portion (bearer 5) that indicate the state of the robot. This is accomplished by emitting a different color of light based on the state. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the color of the light emitted is a type of emission pattern of said light.),
Dan does not teach the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box,
the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot,
the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”. The cited passage clearly teaches that the holder for the bottle can be configured with an indicator light. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the holder is a transport box.),
the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”).
Dan teaches an autonomous transportation robot that is configured to place a transport box on an upper surface wherein the upper surface as a light-emitting unit. Chen teaches a transport box configured with a light emitting unit. The transport box taught in Dan could have been easily configured with the light taught in Chen by simply adding the light to the box according to known methods. Additionally, adding a light to a box would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination of Dan in view of Chen teaches the limitation “the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot”.
Dan teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot, wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box, and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot. Dan does not teach the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. Chen teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan with the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot taught in Chen. Furthermore, the control system taught in Dan already teaches a transport box. Modifying this transport box this a light emitting unit as taught in Chen would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control system taught in Dan with the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit, provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot taught in Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Dan in view of Chen does not the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot,
the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
White, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (White: Figure 1 pattern of illumination 104 and graphic indication 112, Column 8 lines 12-25, “As an autonomous mobile robot autonomously performs operations, the autonomous mobile robot may visually indicate to a user a status or a condition of the robot. Referring to FIG. 1, an autonomous mobile robot 100 includes a light indicator system 102 that generates a visual indication in the form of a pattern of illumination 104 indicative of a status, service condition, etc. of the robot 100.”, Column 8 lines 26-40, “In some cases, in addition to the visual indication provided by the pattern of illumination 104 generated by the light indicator system 102 on the robot 100, a remote computing device with a user display, e.g., a smartphone 108, provides an additional visual indication indicative of the status or the service condition associated with the robot 100. The smartphone 108 and the robot 100 wirelessly communicate with one another such that the robot is capable of transmitting information pertaining to the status or the service condition of the robot 100 to the remote computing device. In the example of FIG. 1, the smartphone 108 includes a display 110. The smartphone 108 receives data from the robot 100 causing the display 110 to show a graphic indication 112 and a message 113 corresponding to the status or the service condition.”, Column 8 lines 41-60, “In some implementations, the graphic indication 112 corresponds to the pattern of illumination 104. The graphic indication 112 of the smartphone 108 and the pattern of illumination 104 of the light indicator system 102 of the robot 100 can be synchronized in real time. In some implementations, the synchronization between the graphic indication 112 and the pattern of illumination 104 for the robot 100 includes a delay, e.g., 100 milliseconds to 5 seconds, more, or less.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the graphic indication representing the illumination pattern and the illumination pattern are synchronized to display the same light emission pattern).
Dan in view of Chen teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot, wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box, and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot, the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit, provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. Dan in view of Chen does not teach the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. White teaches the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen with the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion taught in White. Even though White teaches synchronizing the light emission pattern of the light on the robot with a remote computing device with a display, the display of a remote computing device uses light emitting units in order to achieve the display of information, so the method taught in White therefore comprises the synchronization of two different light emitting units to the same light emission pattern. Furthermore, the indicator light of the holder taught in Dan in view of Chen is already configured to communicate with a computer system. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method of synchronizing light emitting units to the same light emission pattern taught in White to synchronize the first light emitting unit and box-side light emitting unit taught in Dan in view of Chen without changing or introducing new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen with the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion taught in White with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White does not teach the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot,
the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
Kimura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Kimura: ¶ 0108, “A plurality of connection portions 202 which are electrically connected to the connected portions 102 of the rack 100 are attached to the upper plate of the loading and unloading unit 201.”),
the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot (Kimura: ¶ 0108, “A plurality of connection portions 202 which are electrically connected to the connected portions 102 of the rack 100 are attached to the upper plate of the loading and unloading unit 201.”).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot, wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box, and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot, the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit, provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Dan in view of Chen in further view of White does not teach the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot. Kimura teaches the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White with the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot taught in Kimura. Furthermore, the system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White is already configured to load a transport box onto an upper surface of the robot. As such, modifying the system to attach and detach to the transport box on the upper surface would require the simple addition of the connections taught in Kimura according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a system comprising: the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White with the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot taught in Kimura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the control for controlling the mobile robot includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, “According to a fifth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a bearer 5 for an autonomous moving transfer robot, an embodiment of which is shown in FIGS. 18 to 20. As shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the bearer 5 comprises: a board-like main body 51 having a bearing surface for bearing the target object 400; a positioning structure 52 fixed to the bearing surface to mate with a positioning slot of the target object 400 to limit movement of the target object 400 on the board-like main body 51;”, Column 14 lines 46-65, “In embodiments of the present disclosure, the board-like main body 51 could be configured in any suitable manner. Optionally, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the board-like main body 51 comprises a main board 511, a sandwiched board 512 and a cover board 513 which are sequentially connected in an overlapping manner, the sandwiched board 512 has an opening 5121 formed therein, a second signal light source 55 is arranged in the opening 5121, and the second signal light source 55 is capable of emitting light of multiple colors each indicating one working condition. For example, the second signal light source 55 could emit red light indicating an alarm, green light indicating normal operation, blue light indicating battery is low, etc.”, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6, “Wherein, in order to enable a user to see the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 from various angles and orientations, the second signal light source 55 could be configured to be bar-shaped, and four second signal light sources 55 are arranged in the opening 5121 and emit light towards the front, rear, left and right, respectively, so that the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 irradiates every orientation and comer.”, Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”).
Dan teaches a light emitting unit a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot. Chen teaches changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the box side light-emitting unit when an object is placed in the box. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system in Dan to change the light emission pattern of the first light emitting unit when on object is placed on the contact portion using the same method used to change the emission pattern of the box side light emitting unit when an object is placed in the box taught in Chen. Such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that the combination of Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion.
Regarding claim 6, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the box-side light-emitting unit is provided on at least one of a lateral surface side or an upper surface side of the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”. The cited passage clearly teaches that the indicator light can be placed on a lateral surface of the transport box i.e. the side wall of the holder.).
Regarding claim 11, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the transport box is configured to receive electric power supplied from the mobile robot when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (Kimura: ¶ 0021, “In order to achieve the object, according to the invention, there is provided a transfer robot system including: a plurality of movable racks each of which includes a transfer unit for moving a stored article; at least one robot that is capable of transferring a predetermined rack to a predetermined position; and a management terminal that issues a transfer instruction to the robot. The robot detachably holds the rack and includes a connection portion that is electrically connected to the rack, a driving unit, and a control unit. The control unit moves the robot to a vicinity of a first rack, using the driving unit, connects the robot to the first rack through the connection portion, moves the robot and the first rack to a vicinity of a second rack, supplies power to the transfer unit of the first rack or/and the second rack through the connection portion, operates the transfer unit corresponding to a position where an article to be moved is placed, and moves the article to be moved from a rack in which the article to be moved is placed to a predetermined position of another rack.”, ¶ 0114, “Then the robot 200 operates the transfer units 101 of the rack 100, the power supply 204 supplies power to the transfer units 101 of the rack 100 through the connection portion feeding controller 205, the connection portions 202, and the connected portions 102 of the rack 100.”, ¶ 0115, “In this embodiment, the robot 200 operates the connection portion feeding controller 205 to control the transfer units 101 of the rack 100. The connection portion feeding controller 205 is connected to the connection portions 202, the power supply 204, and the robot main computer 206 and applies potential to each connection portion 202, using the power supply 204, in response to an instruction from the robot main computer 206. When the connection portions 202 are connected to the connected portions 102 of the rack 100 and the connection portion feeding controller 205 applies potential to each connected portion 102, a potential difference is generated between the connected portions 102a and 102b corresponding to the transfer unit 101. Then, the transfer unit 101 is operated.”. The cited passages clearly show that the robot is configured to supply electric power to the racks that the robot transports when the rack comes into contact with the contact surface of the robot.).
Regarding claim 12, Dan teaches a control method comprising performing system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object (Dan: Figure 1 autonomous moving transfer robot 100, Column 5 lines 11-37, “Referring to FIG. 1, a one-side load-bearing two-arm type autonomous moving transfer robot 100 comprises:…”, Column 5 lines 38-67, “According to the above technical scheme, the autonomous moving transfer robot provided according to the first aspect of the preset disclosure is capable of transferring multiple target objects 400 at a time. The specific working process is as follows: firstly, the control system controls the running mechanism 2 to run so as to move the unloaded autonomous moving transfer robot to a first position in which the target object 400 is stored; then, the control system controls the attitude of the gripper 4 (the angle of rotation of the gripper about a pivot shaft thereof) and the movement of the mechanical arm 3 to send the gripper 4 to a desired position, so that the target object 400 is gripped by the gripper 4 through the movement of the mechanical arm 3; and thereafter, by controlling the movement of the mechanical arm 3, the gripped target object 400 is placed onto one bearer 5 of the load bearing mechanism, thereby completing the "loading" of one target object 400. Then, the above process could be repeated until all of the bearers 5 have the target objects 400 placed thereon. Then, the running mechanism 2 is controlled to run so as to move the autonomous moving transfer robot and target object loaded thereof to a second position to which the target objects 400 are to be transferred, and the target objects 400 are in tum gripped by the manipulators from the corresponding bearers 5 and moved to corresponding storage positions in the second position, thereby achieving the "unloading" of the target objects 400.”, Column 6 lines 11-18, “The autonomous moving transfer robot of the present disclosure is applicable to an unmanned production workshop, for example, a production workshop for silicon wafers, and the target object 400 is a foup box containing silicon wafers…”. The cited passages clearly teach a robot that is configured to move and transport an object autonomously. Furthermore, the transport object can clearly be a box configured to store the transport object. The cited passages provide the example of a foup box.),
wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which moves into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box (Dan: Figure 1 board-like bearers 5 and Figure 21 target object 400, Column 5 lines 11-37, “Referring to FIG. 1, a one-side load-bearing two-arm type autonomous moving transfer robot 100 comprises: … a load bearing mechanism comprising a plurality of board-like bearers 5 for bearing the target object 400, the plurality of bearers 5 being all fixed to a same side ( either a front side 30 or a rear side, in the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 to 7, the bearers 5 are all fixed to the front side of the vertical plate 12, while in other embodiments, the bearers 5 could be all fixed to the rear side of the vertical plate 12), and spaced apart in the vertical direction;”, Column 6 lines 11-18, “The autonomous moving transfer robot of the present disclosure is applicable to an unmanned production workshop, for example, a production workshop for silicon wafers, and the target object 400 is a foup box containing silicon wafers…”. The robot clearly includes a contact portion that comes into contact with a transport object, which is the board-like bearers. Furthermore, the transport object can clearly be a box configured to store the transport object. The cited passages provide the example of a foup box. Additionally, the contact portion is clearly on an upper side of the mobile robot),
and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, “According to a fifth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a bearer 5 for an autonomous moving transfer robot, an embodiment of which is shown in FIGS. 18 to 20. As shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the bearer 5 comprises: a board-like main body 51 having a bearing surface for bearing the target object 400; a positioning structure 52 fixed to the bearing surface to mate with a positioning slot of the target object 400 to limit movement of the target object 400 on the board-like main body 51;”, Column 14 lines 46-65, “In embodiments of the present disclosure, the board-like main body 51 could be configured in any suitable manner. Optionally, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the board-like main body 51 comprises a main board 511, a sandwiched board 512 and a cover board 513 which are sequentially connected in an overlapping manner, the sandwiched board 512 has an opening 5121 formed therein, a second signal light source 55 is arranged in the opening 5121, and the second signal light source 55 is capable of emitting light of multiple colors each indicating one working condition. For example, the second signal light source 55 could emit red light indicating an alarm, green light indicating normal operation, blue light indicating battery is low, etc.”, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6, “Wherein, in order to enable a user to see the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 from various angles and orientations, the second signal light source 55 could be configured to be bar-shaped, and four second signal light sources 55 are arranged in the opening 5121 and emit light towards the front, rear, left and right, respectively, so that the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 irradiates every orientation and comer.”. The cited passage and figure describe the configuration of the bearer 5. As can be seen from the cited passage and figure, there are a plurality of light emitting units (second signal light source 55) around the contact portion (bearer 5) that indicate the state of the robot. This is accomplished by emitting a different color of light based on the state. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the color of the light emitted is a type of emission pattern of said light.),
Dan does not teach the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box,
the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot,
the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”. The cited passage clearly teaches that the holder for the bottle can be configured with an indicator light. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the holder is a transport box.),
the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”).
Dan teaches an autonomous transportation robot that is configured to place a transport box on an upper surface wherein the upper surface as a light-emitting unit. Chen teaches a transport box configured with a light emitting unit. The transport box taught in Dan could have been easily configured with the light taught in Chen by simply adding the light to the box according to known methods. Additionally, adding a light to a box would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination of Dan in view of Chen teaches the limitation “the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot”.
Dan teaches a control method comprising performing system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot. Dan does not teach the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. Chen teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control method taught in Dan with the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box taught in Chen. Furthermore, the control method taught in Dan already teaches a transport box. Modifying this transport box this a light emitting unit as taught in Chen would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control method wherein the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control method taught in Dan with the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot taught in Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Dan in view of Chen does not teach the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot,
the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
White, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (White: Figure 1 pattern of illumination 104 and graphic indication 112, Column 8 lines 12-25, “As an autonomous mobile robot autonomously performs operations, the autonomous mobile robot may visually indicate to a user a status or a condition of the robot. Referring to FIG. 1, an autonomous mobile robot 100 includes a light indicator system 102 that generates a visual indication in the form of a pattern of illumination 104 indicative of a status, service condition, etc. of the robot 100.”, Column 8 lines 26-40, “In some cases, in addition to the visual indication provided by the pattern of illumination 104 generated by the light indicator system 102 on the robot 100, a remote computing device with a user display, e.g., a smartphone 108, provides an additional visual indication indicative of the status or the service condition associated with the robot 100. The smartphone 108 and the robot 100 wirelessly communicate with one another such that the robot is capable of transmitting information pertaining to the status or the service condition of the robot 100 to the remote computing device. In the example of FIG. 1, the smartphone 108 includes a display 110. The smartphone 108 receives data from the robot 100 causing the display 110 to show a graphic indication 112 and a message 113 corresponding to the status or the service condition.”, Column 8 lines 41-60, “In some implementations, the graphic indication 112 corresponds to the pattern of illumination 104. The graphic indication 112 of the smartphone 108 and the pattern of illumination 104 of the light indicator system 102 of the robot 100 can be synchronized in real time. In some implementations, the synchronization between the graphic indication 112 and the pattern of illumination 104 for the robot 100 includes a delay, e.g., 100 milliseconds to 5 seconds, more, or less.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the graphic indication representing the illumination pattern and the illumination pattern are synchronized to display the same light emission pattern).
Dan in view of Chen teaches a control method comprising performing system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot, the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. Dan in view of Chen does not teach the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. White teaches the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control method taught in Dan in view of Chen with the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion taught in White. Even though White teaches synchronizing the light emission pattern of the light on the robot with a remote computing device with a display, the display of a remote computing device uses light emitting units in order to achieve the display of information, so the method taught in White therefore comprises the synchronization of two different light emitting units to the same light emission pattern. Furthermore, the indicator light of the holder taught in Dan in view of Chen is already configured to communicate with a computer system. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method of synchronizing light emitting units to the same light emission pattern taught in White to synchronize the first light emitting unit and box-side light emitting unit taught in Dan in view of Chen without changing or introducing new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control method wherein the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control method taught in Dan in view of Chen with the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion taught in White with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White does not teach the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot,
the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
Kimura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Kimura: ¶ 0108, “A plurality of connection portions 202 which are electrically connected to the connected portions 102 of the rack 100 are attached to the upper plate of the loading and unloading unit 201.”),
the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot (Kimura: ¶ 0108, “A plurality of connection portions 202 which are electrically connected to the connected portions 102 of the rack 100 are attached to the upper plate of the loading and unloading unit 201.”).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White teaches a control method comprising performing system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot, the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Dan in view of Chen in further view of White does not teach the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot. Kimura teaches the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White with the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot taught in Kimura. Furthermore, the method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White is already configured to load a transport box onto an upper surface of the robot. As such, modifying the method to attach and detach to the transport box on the upper surface would require the simple addition of the connections taught in Kimura according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method comprising: the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White with the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the system control includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot taught in Kimura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, “According to a fifth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a bearer 5 for an autonomous moving transfer robot, an embodiment of which is shown in FIGS. 18 to 20. As shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the bearer 5 comprises: a board-like main body 51 having a bearing surface for bearing the target object 400; a positioning structure 52 fixed to the bearing surface to mate with a positioning slot of the target object 400 to limit movement of the target object 400 on the board-like main body 51;”, Column 14 lines 46-65, “In embodiments of the present disclosure, the board-like main body 51 could be configured in any suitable manner. Optionally, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the board-like main body 51 comprises a main board 511, a sandwiched board 512 and a cover board 513 which are sequentially connected in an overlapping manner, the sandwiched board 512 has an opening 5121 formed therein, a second signal light source 55 is arranged in the opening 5121, and the second signal light source 55 is capable of emitting light of multiple colors each indicating one working condition. For example, the second signal light source 55 could emit red light indicating an alarm, green light indicating normal operation, blue light indicating battery is low, etc.”, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6, “Wherein, in order to enable a user to see the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 from various angles and orientations, the second signal light source 55 could be configured to be bar-shaped, and four second signal light sources 55 are arranged in the opening 5121 and emit light towards the front, rear, left and right, respectively, so that the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 irradiates every orientation and comer.”, Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”).
Dan teaches a light emitting unit a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot. Chen teaches changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the box side light-emitting unit when an object is placed in the box. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method in Dan to change the light emission pattern of the first light emitting unit when on object is placed on the contact portion using the same method used to change the emission pattern of the box side light emitting unit when an object is placed in the box taught in Chen. Such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that the combination of Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion.
Regarding claim 17, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the box-side light-emitting unit is provided on at least one of a lateral surface side or an upper surface side of the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”. The cited passage clearly teaches that the indicator light can be placed on a lateral surface of the transport box i.e. the side wall of the holder.).
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11839981 B2 ("Dan") in view of US 11029603 B2 ("Chen") in further view of US 11104268 B2 ("White") in further view of US 20160236869 A1 ("Kimura") in further view of US 11529913 B2 ("Weed").
.Regarding claim 4, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion.
Weed, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion (Weed: Column 34 line 60 – Column 35 line 7, “Additionally, and/or alternatively, referring back to FIG. 25, the controller 156 may determine a power limit threshold and load shed accessories based on the power limit threshold. For example, the controller 156 may determine whether to increase or decrease the current power limit threshold based on the determined battery state (e.g., charging/discharging) and/or the engine speed. For example, as represented by block 770, if the controller 156 determines the engine is not running based on the engine speed, the controller 156 might not change the current power limit threshold. The processing sequence 750 then moves to block 766. If the engine is running, the process sequence 750 may move to block 772. As represented by block 772, the controller 156 may determine whether the charging state indicates the battery is charging or discharging.”, Column 35 lines 36-47, “As represented by block 766, the controller 156 determines accessories to load shed (e.g., terminate and/or reduce power to) based on the determined power limit threshold (e.g., the increased, decreased, and/or previous power limit threshold). For example, the controller 156 may determine to load shed accessories based on the battery charging state (e.g., charging/discharging) and/or the determined power limit threshold. The controller 156 may adjust the power consumption of the accessories (e.g., reduce/terminate power to the accessories) until the battery charging state and/or the power limit threshold are satisfied (e.g., the battery charging state indicates the battery 162 is charging and/or the total power consumption is below the power limit threshold). For example, the controller 156 may determine to terminate power to one or more accessories to lower the total power consumption of the accessories to below the determined power limit threshold. Additionally, and/or alternatively, the controller 156 may determine to reduce the power to one or more accessories (e.g., decrease the PWM level of one or more connected the accessories) to lower the total power consumption to below the determined power limit threshold.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to selectively turn off accessories of the vehicle if the current total power consumption exceeds a power consumption limit. This is functionally the same as if the difference between the current total and the limit exceed a threshold.).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches a control system comprising one or more processors configured to perform system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion. Weed teaches wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion taught in Weed. Furthermore, the control system in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches changing the emission pattern of the light emitting units based on the state of the robot, so modifying the control system to change the emission pattern of the light emitting unit in response to the difference between the total power consumption and the consumption of the first light emitting unit exceeding a threshold would not change or introduce new functionality. Additionally, even though the method taught in Weed doesn’t not specify that the limit is the power consumption of the first light emitting unit, such a modification would be a simple substitution of variables and would have no effect on the functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion taught in Weed with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion.
Weed, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion (Weed: Column 34 line 60 – Column 35 line 7, “Additionally, and/or alternatively, referring back to FIG. 25, the controller 156 may determine a power limit threshold and load shed accessories based on the power limit threshold. For example, the controller 156 may determine whether to increase or decrease the current power limit threshold based on the determined battery state (e.g., charging/discharging) and/or the engine speed. For example, as represented by block 770, if the controller 156 determines the engine is not running based on the engine speed, the controller 156 might not change the current power limit threshold. The processing sequence 750 then moves to block 766. If the engine is running, the process sequence 750 may move to block 772. As represented by block 772, the controller 156 may determine whether the charging state indicates the battery is charging or discharging.”, Column 35 lines 36-47, “As represented by block 766, the controller 156 determines accessories to load shed (e.g., terminate and/or reduce power to) based on the determined power limit threshold (e.g., the increased, decreased, and/or previous power limit threshold). For example, the controller 156 may determine to load shed accessories based on the battery charging state (e.g., charging/discharging) and/or the determined power limit threshold. The controller 156 may adjust the power consumption of the accessories (e.g., reduce/terminate power to the accessories) until the battery charging state and/or the power limit threshold are satisfied (e.g., the battery charging state indicates the battery 162 is charging and/or the total power consumption is below the power limit threshold). For example, the controller 156 may determine to terminate power to one or more accessories to lower the total power consumption of the accessories to below the determined power limit threshold. Additionally, and/or alternatively, the controller 156 may determine to reduce the power to one or more accessories (e.g., decrease the PWM level of one or more connected the accessories) to lower the total power consumption to below the determined power limit threshold.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to selectively turn off accessories of the vehicle if the current total power consumption exceeds a power consumption limit. This is functionally the same as if the difference between the current total and the limit exceed a threshold.).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches a control method comprising performing system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion. Weed teaches wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion taught in Weed. Furthermore, the control system in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches changing the emission pattern of the light emitting units based on the state of the robot, so modifying the control system to change the emission pattern of the light emitting unit in response to the difference between the total power consumption and the consumption of the first light emitting unit exceeding a threshold would not change or introduce new functionality. Additionally, even though the method taught in Weed doesn’t not specify that the limit is the power consumption of the first light emitting unit, such a modification would be a simple substitution of variables and would have no effect on the functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control method wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to achieve a state in which a difference falls within a predetermined range, the difference being a difference between a sum of a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the box-side light-emitting unit and a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion taught in Weed with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7, 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11839981 B2 ("Dan") in view of US 11029603 B2 ("Chen") in further view of US 11104268 B2 ("White") in further view of US 20160236869 A1 ("Kimura") in further view of US 20230009071 A1 ("Zhu").
Regarding claim 3, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to reduce a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit compared to a case where the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion.
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to reduce a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit compared to a case where the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion (Zhu: ¶ 0142, “For example, if the object is located within the sensitive distance on the right side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the right side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the right light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0143, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance on the left side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the left side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the left light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0144, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance of a center line of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the lower light source is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the lower light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”. The cited passages clearly teach changing a light emission pattern (i.e. turning the light off) of a light emitting unit (the light source) for the purpose of reducing power consumption.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to reduce a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit compared to a case where the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion taught in Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it saves power (Zhu: ¶ 0119, “In the embodiment of the present disclosure, when a switching frequency of the left and the right light sources is high enough or the left and the right light sources are activated at the same time, the overall FOV of the light sources is much larger than that of a single light source. The embodiment of the present disclosure can obtain image data of objects farther away, and can also obtain the image data of objects in a wider range. The light source at the corresponding position is used for illumination according to the position of the object, which not only saves the power, but also improves the brightness of the light beam illuminated by the light source onto the object, thus improving the quality of the image acquired.”).
Regarding claim 5, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Zhu teaches wherein in the pattern change control, light emission of the first light-emitting unit is stopped when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, “According to a fifth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a bearer 5 for an autonomous moving transfer robot, an embodiment of which is shown in FIGS. 18 to 20. As shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the bearer 5 comprises: a board-like main body 51 having a bearing surface for bearing the target object 400; a positioning structure 52 fixed to the bearing surface to mate with a positioning slot of the target object 400 to limit movement of the target object 400 on the board-like main body 51;”, Column 14 lines 46-65, “In embodiments of the present disclosure, the board-like main body 51 could be configured in any suitable manner. Optionally, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the board-like main body 51 comprises a main board 511, a sandwiched board 512 and a cover board 513 which are sequentially connected in an overlapping manner, the sandwiched board 512 has an opening 5121 formed therein, a second signal light source 55 is arranged in the opening 5121, and the second signal light source 55 is capable of emitting light of multiple colors each indicating one working condition. For example, the second signal light source 55 could emit red light indicating an alarm, green light indicating normal operation, blue light indicating battery is low, etc.”, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6, “Wherein, in order to enable a user to see the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 from various angles and orientations, the second signal light source 55 could be configured to be bar-shaped, and four second signal light sources 55 are arranged in the opening 5121 and emit light towards the front, rear, left and right, respectively, so that the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 irradiates every orientation and comer.”, Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”, Zhu: ¶ 0142, “For example, if the object is located within the sensitive distance on the right side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the right side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the right light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0143, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance on the left side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the left side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the left light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0144, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance of a center line of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the lower light source is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the lower light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Zhu teaches turning off one or more light emitting units. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the pattern change control of the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with the method of tuning off one or more light emitting units taught in Zhu. Furthermore, such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that the combination of Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Zhu teaches wherein in the pattern change control, light emission of the first light-emitting unit is stopped when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion.
Regarding claim 7, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the control for controlling the mobile robot includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit or both the predetermined light emission pattern and the light emission pattern of the box-side light-emitting unit when the mobile robot is traveling near a wall (Dan: Figure 9 obstacle 204, Column 23 lines 30-51, “In the examples described with respect to FIGS. 8 and 9, the confinement beam 202 and the obstacle 204 define an edge of a predefined area within which the robot 100 is confined. In this regard, in some implementations, the controller 302 operates the light indicator system 102 to indicate a direction of edges of a predefined area within which movement of the robot is confined. The robot 100 is, for example, confined to movement within an area defined by physical obstacles on the floor surface. The area is defined by, for example, walls on the floor surface. Alternatively or additionally, the area is defined by confinement beams. The obstacles and the confinement beams define the perimeter of the predefined area. When the robot 100 detects a portion of the perimeter, e.g., by detecting the confinement beam or detecting an obstacle, the controller 302 operates the light indicator system 102 to indicate the direction of the detected portion of the perimeter relative to the robot 100. To indicate the direction of the confinement beam 202 or the obstacle 204, the light indicator system 102 emits, for example, a colored light, e.g., a blue light, indicating that the robot 100 is executing a behavior, e.g., obstacle avoidance behavior, and the user need not intervene in robot operations.”. The cited figure and passage clearly shows that the robot is configured to change an emission pattern of the light emitting unit when the robot is traveling near a wall.)
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach to reduce a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on a wall side or both the power consumption of the light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on the wall side and a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the box-side light-emitting unit on the wall side compared to a case where the mobile robot is not traveling near the wall.
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches teach to reduce a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on a wall side or both the power consumption of the light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on the wall side and a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the box-side light-emitting unit on the wall side compared to a case where the mobile robot is not traveling near the wall (Zhu: ¶ 0142, “For example, if the object is located within the sensitive distance on the right side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the right side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the right light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0143, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance on the left side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the left side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the left light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0144, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance of a center line of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the lower light source is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the lower light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”. The cited passages clearly teach changing a light emission pattern (i.e. turning the light off) of a light emitting unit (the light source) based on the location of an object and for the purpose of reducing power consumption.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control system wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit or both the predetermined light emission pattern and the light emission pattern of the box-side light-emitting unit when the mobile robot is traveling near a wall taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with to reduce a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on a wall side or both the power consumption of the light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on the wall side and a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the box-side light-emitting unit on the wall side compared to a case where the mobile robot is not traveling near the wall taught in Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it saves power (Zhu: ¶ 0119, “In the embodiment of the present disclosure, when a switching frequency of the left and the right light sources is high enough or the left and the right light sources are activated at the same time, the overall FOV of the light sources is much larger than that of a single light source. The embodiment of the present disclosure can obtain image data of objects farther away, and can also obtain the image data of objects in a wider range. The light source at the corresponding position is used for illumination according to the position of the object, which not only saves the power, but also improves the brightness of the light beam illuminated by the light source onto the object, thus improving the quality of the image acquired.”).
Regarding claim 14, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to reduce a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit compared to a case where the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion.
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to reduce a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit compared to a case where the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion (Zhu: ¶ 0142, “For example, if the object is located within the sensitive distance on the right side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the right side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the right light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0143, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance on the left side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the left side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the left light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0144, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance of a center line of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the lower light source is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the lower light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”. The cited passages clearly teach changing a light emission pattern (i.e. turning the light off) of a light emitting unit (the light source) for the purpose of reducing power consumption.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein in the pattern change control, the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit is changed when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion to reduce a power consumption of the first light-emitting unit compared to a case where the transport box is not loaded on the contact portion taught in Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it saves power (Zhu: ¶ 0119, “In the embodiment of the present disclosure, when a switching frequency of the left and the right light sources is high enough or the left and the right light sources are activated at the same time, the overall FOV of the light sources is much larger than that of a single light source. The embodiment of the present disclosure can obtain image data of objects farther away, and can also obtain the image data of objects in a wider range. The light source at the corresponding position is used for illumination according to the position of the object, which not only saves the power, but also improves the brightness of the light beam illuminated by the light source onto the object, thus improving the quality of the image acquired.”).
Regarding claim 16, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Zhu teaches wherein in the pattern change control, light emission of the first light-emitting unit is stopped when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, “According to a fifth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a bearer 5 for an autonomous moving transfer robot, an embodiment of which is shown in FIGS. 18 to 20. As shown in FIGS. 18 to 20, the bearer 5 comprises: a board-like main body 51 having a bearing surface for bearing the target object 400; a positioning structure 52 fixed to the bearing surface to mate with a positioning slot of the target object 400 to limit movement of the target object 400 on the board-like main body 51;”, Column 14 lines 46-65, “In embodiments of the present disclosure, the board-like main body 51 could be configured in any suitable manner. Optionally, as shown in FIGS. 19 and 20, the board-like main body 51 comprises a main board 511, a sandwiched board 512 and a cover board 513 which are sequentially connected in an overlapping manner, the sandwiched board 512 has an opening 5121 formed therein, a second signal light source 55 is arranged in the opening 5121, and the second signal light source 55 is capable of emitting light of multiple colors each indicating one working condition. For example, the second signal light source 55 could emit red light indicating an alarm, green light indicating normal operation, blue light indicating battery is low, etc.”, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6, “Wherein, in order to enable a user to see the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 from various angles and orientations, the second signal light source 55 could be configured to be bar-shaped, and four second signal light sources 55 are arranged in the opening 5121 and emit light towards the front, rear, left and right, respectively, so that the light emitted by the second signal light source 55 irradiates every orientation and comer.”, Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40, “In some embodiments, holder 106 includes an indicator light (not shown in FIG. 1) attached at a suitable position ( e.g., the sidewall of holder 106 or door unit 102). The indicator light can communicate with holder 106 through wired and/or wireless means. In some embodiments, when a mistaken PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a warning signal (e.g., red flashing light); and when a correct PR bottle is placed in holder 106, the indicator light emits a different signal (e.g., green light).”, Zhu: ¶ 0142, “For example, if the object is located within the sensitive distance on the right side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the right side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the right light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0143, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance on the left side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the left side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the left light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0144, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance of a center line of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the lower light source is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the lower light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Zhu teaches turning off one or more light emitting units. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the pattern change control of the control method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with the method of tuning off one or more light emitting units taught in Zhu. Furthermore, such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that the combination of Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Zhu teaches wherein in the pattern change control, light emission of the first light-emitting unit is stopped when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion.
Regarding claim 18, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit or both the predetermined light emission pattern and the light emission pattern of the box-side light-emitting unit when the mobile robot is traveling near a wall (Dan: Figure 9 obstacle 204, Column 23 lines 30-51, “In the examples described with respect to FIGS. 8 and 9, the confinement beam 202 and the obstacle 204 define an edge of a predefined area within which the robot 100 is confined. In this regard, in some implementations, the controller 302 operates the light indicator system 102 to indicate a direction of edges of a predefined area within which movement of the robot is confined. The robot 100 is, for example, confined to movement within an area defined by physical obstacles on the floor surface. The area is defined by, for example, walls on the floor surface. Alternatively or additionally, the area is defined by confinement beams. The obstacles and the confinement beams define the perimeter of the predefined area. When the robot 100 detects a portion of the perimeter, e.g., by detecting the confinement beam or detecting an obstacle, the controller 302 operates the light indicator system 102 to indicate the direction of the detected portion of the perimeter relative to the robot 100. To indicate the direction of the confinement beam 202 or the obstacle 204, the light indicator system 102 emits, for example, a colored light, e.g., a blue light, indicating that the robot 100 is executing a behavior, e.g., obstacle avoidance behavior, and the user need not intervene in robot operations.”. The cited figure and passage clearly shows that the robot is configured to change an emission pattern of the light emitting unit when the robot is traveling near a wall.)
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach to reduce a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on a wall side or both the power consumption of the light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on the wall side and a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the box-side light-emitting unit on the wall side compared to a case where the mobile robot is not traveling near the wall.
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches teach to reduce a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on a wall side or both the power consumption of the light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on the wall side and a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the box-side light-emitting unit on the wall side compared to a case where the mobile robot is not traveling near the wall (Zhu: ¶ 0142, “For example, if the object is located within the sensitive distance on the right side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the right side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the right light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0143, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance on the left side of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the light source on the left side of the body of the mobile robot is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the left light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”, ¶ 0144, “If the object is located within the sensitive distance of a center line of the traveling direction of the mobile robot, the lower light source is activated; whether the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens is determined, and if the height of the object is lower than the optical axis of the lens, the upper light source is activated to illuminate the upper surface of the object, so that the vision machine may acquire the image of the upper surface of the object. Alternatively, the vision machine may deactivate the lower light source when activating the upper light source, to reduce power consumption.”. The cited passages clearly teach changing a light emission pattern (i.e. turning the light off) of a light emitting unit (the light source) based on the location of an object and for the purpose of reducing power consumption.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control method wherein the system control includes pattern change control for changing the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit or both the predetermined light emission pattern and the light emission pattern of the box-side light-emitting unit when the mobile robot is traveling near a wall taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with to reduce a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on a wall side or both the power consumption of the light-emitting portion of the first light-emitting unit on the wall side and a power consumption of a light-emitting portion of the box-side light-emitting unit on the wall side compared to a case where the mobile robot is not traveling near the wall taught in Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it saves power (Zhu: ¶ 0119, “In the embodiment of the present disclosure, when a switching frequency of the left and the right light sources is high enough or the left and the right light sources are activated at the same time, the overall FOV of the light sources is much larger than that of a single light source. The embodiment of the present disclosure can obtain image data of objects farther away, and can also obtain the image data of objects in a wider range. The light source at the corresponding position is used for illumination according to the position of the object, which not only saves the power, but also improves the brightness of the light beam illuminated by the light source onto the object, thus improving the quality of the image acquired.”).
Claim(s) 8-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11839981 B2 ("Dan") in view of US 11029603 B2 ("Chen") in further view of US 11104268 B2 ("White") in further view of US 20160236869 A1 ("Kimura") in further view of US 11142401 B2 ("Melanson").
Regarding claim 8, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object.
Melanson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object (Melanson: Abstract, “Disclosed are a system and a method that includes a robotic unit configured to deliver items (e.g., medicine, foodstuff, linens, equipment, etc.) to sites (e.g., rooms, offices, etc.) and/or individuals (e.g., patients, pharmacists, technician, etc.) throughout a facility (e.g., hospital, office building, mailroom, manufacturing facility, etc.). The robotic unit is a mobile unit that operates autonomously to follow predetermined or programmed routes throughout the facility to deliver the items. The system is configured to maintain a chain of custody for the items. In addition, the robotic unit is configured to only allow designated items to be delivered to designated sites and/or to authorized individuals. This can be achieved by the robotic unit having a plurality of containers that are locked within a storage space of the robotic unit, and are only accessible upon successful completion of an authorization process.”, Column 2 lines 13-38, “Any of the items can be provided with tracking markers to facilitate generating chain of custody information. For example, any one or combination of the items can be associated with a barcode, RFID tag, infrared-detectable marker, etc. Sensors or scanners on the robotic unit can track the presence, absence, or location of an item that has been marked with a marker to generate information that will be part of the chain of custody information. The chain of custody information can include when and where the container was accessed, when and where the item was removed from the container, who accessed the container and/or item, if an item had been delivered or not, if an item had been delivered to a specified individual and/or location, etc.”, Column 2 line 62 – Column 3 line 11, “For instance, the robotic unit can be configured for use as a vending unit. In this case, the robotic unit could have a plurality of first type containers carrying drinks and second type containers carrying snacks. The robotic unit is locked so as to only be accessed by a user (e.g., a hotel guest) who enters a recognized access code. For example, hotel guest can be given an access code or token when registering with the hotel. This access code can allow them open the door (e.g., unlock the door) of the robotic unit and/or gain access to the containers within the robotic unit. In this situation, the chain of custody tracking feature can be initiated as soon as the robotic unit has been unlocked via input of an access code. The chain of custody information can track whether an item has been removed from the robotic unit via, for example, RFID tags placed on the items. The chain of custody information can track which hotel guest removed which item, and charge them appropriately.”, Column 3 lines 35-48, “As another non-limiting example, the robotic unit can be made to travel throughout a residential setting (e.g., an apartment complex, a condominium complex, etc.) with a plurality of lockable containers, each container configured to carry a parcel or package. The robotic unit travels to apartment-1 designated as a location for delivery of parcel-1. The apartment resident of apartment-1 can enter his/her access code and be allowed to access container-1 to retrieve parcel-1, but cannot access any other container within the robotic unit. The robotic unit travels to apartment-2 designated as a location for delivery of parcel-2. The apartment resident of apartment-2 can enter his/her access code and be allowed to access container-2 to retrieve parcel-2, but cannot access any other container within the robotic unit.”. The cited passages teach an autonomous delivery robot that is capable of determining what it is carrying and maintain a chain of custody of these items. In one of the examples provided, the robot can act as a mobile vending machine, keeping track of the items it is currently holding and charging people accordingly using this information when an item is requested. In another example, the robot can act as a package delivery system and deliver the correct package to the correct person an only allow said person to access their package. This “chain of custody” system clearly tracks what items the robot is currently holding and when, where, and to who it is delivered. Therefore, this “chain of custody system” clearly comprises information regarding the transportation state of a robot, including if the robot is transporting an item.).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches a control system comprising one or more processors configured to perform system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object. Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object. Melanson teaches wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object taught in Melanson. Furthermore, the system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura already teaches information comprising the state of the robot, so modifying this state information to include information regarding the transportation state would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with teaches wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object taught in Melanson with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predicable results.
Regarding claim 9, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Melanson teaches wherein the transporting state includes, when the mobile robot is transporting the transport object, information indicating the transport object in the transport box being transported by the mobile robot (Melanson: Column 2 line 13– Column 3 line 48. The cited passages teach several examples of the “chain of custody” system implemented on the robot. In each of the examples, it is clear that the robot has knowledge of the types of articles being transported. Therefore, the chain of custody system comprises information regarding the transportation state of a robot, including if the robot is transporting an item.).
Regarding claim 10, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Melanson teaches wherein the transporting state includes, when the mobile robot is transporting the transport object, information indicating a type of the transport box loaded on the contact portion (Melanson: Column 3 lines 58-67, “A benefit of the disclosed system is the ability to provide a flexible, modular delivery system by which a robotic unit follows delivery routes and delivers different types of items based on the type of container(s) used.”, Column 5 lines 20-47, “For example, item-A 104a may be designated for delivery to individual-A 108a, and thus the robotic unit 102 can transport item-A 104a to a site 106 where many individuals 108 are located but only allow individual-A 108a to access item-A 104a from a storage space 112 within the robotic unit 102. This can be achieved by the robotic unit 102 having a plurality of containers 114 that are locked within the storage space 112 of the robotic unit 102 and are only accessible upon successful completion of an authorization process. The containers 114 are preferably modular containers of different sizes to allow a range of elements to be transported by the robotic unit 102.”, Column 10 lines 35-53, “The container 114 can be configured to carry different items 114. For example, a first container 114 can be configured to carry a first type of item 104, a second container 114 can be configured to carry a second type of item 104, a third container 114 can be configured to carry a third type of item 104, etc. The engagement of the containers 114 with the guides 160 can facilitate easy re-configuration of the payload of the robotic unit 102. For example, the first container 114 can be configured as a drink holder to carry beverage type items 104, the second container 114 can be configured as a snack holder to carry snack type items 104, and the third type of container 114 can be configured as an amenities holder to carry cosmetic and toiletry type items 104. Any of the first, second, or third type containers 114 can be removed and replaced by another type of container 114 to allow the robotic unit to accommodate a specific demand for an item 104, to follow a specific delivery schedule, etc. It should be noted that the types of items 104 described above are exemplary and that other types of items 104 can be used.”, Column 11 lines 31-53, “Some embodiments can include a container lock 184. (See FIGS. 19-21). The container lock 184 can be configured to selectively retain the container 114 within the storage space 112. The container lock 184 can be operated based on electrical signals sent from the processor of the robotic unit 102. After the housing door 140 is unlocked and open, the system 100 can be configured to allow selective access to a certain container 114 based on the designated site 106 and/or the authorization of the individual 108. For example, upon the system 100 determining that the robotic unit 102 is within the designated site 106 the door lock 184 can open, allowing or causing the housing door 140 to open. Yet, only when the system 100 identifies the individual 108 as an authorized person, will that person be granted access to a certain container 114 by the system 100 unlocking the container lock 184 for that container 114.”, Column 11 line 54 – Column 12 line 2, “Some containers 114 may not have a container lock 184. These can be referred to as “free containers”. A free container can be a container 114 that is accessible by anyone, as long as the housing doors 140 of the robotic unit 102 are unlocked and opened. The containers 114 that are locked during a particular delivery can be referred to as “restricted containers”. A restricted container can be a container 114 that is accessible only by an authorized individual 108. As a non-limiting example, upon the system 100 determining that the robotic unit 102 is within the designated site 106 the door lock 184 can open, allowing or causing the housing door 140 to open. At that time, anyone can access the free containers and the items 104 contained therein. Yet, only when the system 100 identifies the individual 108 as an authorized person, will that person be granted access to the restricted container associated with that person.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the robot is configured to use a variety of different containers for transport. Furthermore, the type of container(s) being carried are included in the transportation state information of the robot, as the robot is configured to know what containers are “free”, “restricted”, or have locks.).
Regarding claim 19, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object.
Melanson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object (Melanson: Abstract, “Disclosed are a system and a method that includes a robotic unit configured to deliver items (e.g., medicine, foodstuff, linens, equipment, etc.) to sites (e.g., rooms, offices, etc.) and/or individuals (e.g., patients, pharmacists, technician, etc.) throughout a facility (e.g., hospital, office building, mailroom, manufacturing facility, etc.). The robotic unit is a mobile unit that operates autonomously to follow predetermined or programmed routes throughout the facility to deliver the items. The system is configured to maintain a chain of custody for the items. In addition, the robotic unit is configured to only allow designated items to be delivered to designated sites and/or to authorized individuals. This can be achieved by the robotic unit having a plurality of containers that are locked within a storage space of the robotic unit, and are only accessible upon successful completion of an authorization process.”, Column 2 lines 13-38, “Any of the items can be provided with tracking markers to facilitate generating chain of custody information. For example, any one or combination of the items can be associated with a barcode, RFID tag, infrared-detectable marker, etc. Sensors or scanners on the robotic unit can track the presence, absence, or location of an item that has been marked with a marker to generate information that will be part of the chain of custody information. The chain of custody information can include when and where the container was accessed, when and where the item was removed from the container, who accessed the container and/or item, if an item had been delivered or not, if an item had been delivered to a specified individual and/or location, etc.”, Column 2 line 62 – Column 3 line 11, “For instance, the robotic unit can be configured for use as a vending unit. In this case, the robotic unit could have a plurality of first type containers carrying drinks and second type containers carrying snacks. The robotic unit is locked so as to only be accessed by a user (e.g., a hotel guest) who enters a recognized access code. For example, hotel guest can be given an access code or token when registering with the hotel. This access code can allow them open the door (e.g., unlock the door) of the robotic unit and/or gain access to the containers within the robotic unit. In this situation, the chain of custody tracking feature can be initiated as soon as the robotic unit has been unlocked via input of an access code. The chain of custody information can track whether an item has been removed from the robotic unit via, for example, RFID tags placed on the items. The chain of custody information can track which hotel guest removed which item, and charge them appropriately.”, Column 3 lines 35-48, “As another non-limiting example, the robotic unit can be made to travel throughout a residential setting (e.g., an apartment complex, a condominium complex, etc.) with a plurality of lockable containers, each container configured to carry a parcel or package. The robotic unit travels to apartment-1 designated as a location for delivery of parcel-1. The apartment resident of apartment-1 can enter his/her access code and be allowed to access container-1 to retrieve parcel-1, but cannot access any other container within the robotic unit. The robotic unit travels to apartment-2 designated as a location for delivery of parcel-2. The apartment resident of apartment-2 can enter his/her access code and be allowed to access container-2 to retrieve parcel-2, but cannot access any other container within the robotic unit.”. The cited passages teach an autonomous delivery robot that is capable of determining what it is carrying and maintain a chain of custody of these items. In one of the examples provided, the robot can act as a mobile vending machine, keeping track of the items it is currently holding and charging people accordingly using this information when an item is requested. In another example, the robot can act as a package delivery system and deliver the correct package to the correct person an only allow said person to access their package. This “chain of custody” system clearly tracks what items the robot is currently holding and when, where, and to who it is delivered. Therefore, this “chain of custody system” clearly comprises information regarding the transportation state of a robot, including if the robot is transporting an item.).
Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura teaches a control method performing system control for controlling a system including a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object. Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura does not teach wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object. Melanson teaches wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object taught in Melanson. Furthermore, the system taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura already teaches information comprising the state of the robot, so modifying this state information to include information regarding the transportation state would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control method wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the control method taught in Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura with teaches wherein the state of the mobile robot includes a transporting state indicating whether the mobile robot is transporting the transport object taught in Melanson with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predicable results.
Regarding claim 20, Dan in view of Chen in further view of White in further view of Kimura in further view of Melanson teaches wherein the transporting state includes, when the mobile robot is transporting the transport object, information indicating the transport object in the transport box being transported by the mobile robot (Melanson: Column 2 line 13– Column 3 line 48. The cited passages teach several examples of the “chain of custody” system implemented on the robot. In each of the examples, it is clear that the robot has knowledge of the types of articles being transported. Therefore, the chain of custody system comprises information regarding the transportation state of a robot, including if the robot is transporting an item.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 24th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on Pages 7-10, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the limitations of the amended independent claims 1 and 12. Specifically on Page 8, Applicant argues that the secondary reference Chen fails to teach the limitations “the transport box is configured to attach and detach to the mobile robot on the upper side of the mobile robot, such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot, the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light- emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Additionally, as is clear from the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025 and above in this Final Office action, Chen was not relied upon to teach the limitation “the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light- emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion and attached to the upper side of the mobile robot”. As was stated in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025 and above in this Final Office action, the primary reference Dan teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 1 autonomous moving transfer robot 100, Column 5 lines 11-37, Column 5 lines 38-67, Column 6 lines 11-18) wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box (Dan: Figure 1 board-like bearers 5 and Figure 21 target object 400, Column 5 lines 11-37, Column 6 lines 11-18), and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, Column 14 lines 46-65, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6). The secondary reference Chen teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40), the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that because Dan teaches an autonomous transportation robot that is configured to place a transport box on an upper surface wherein the upper surface as a light-emitting unit and Chen teaches a transport box configured with a light emitting unit, that the combination of Dan in view of Chen teaches the limitation “the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot”. Additionally, Furthermore, the control system taught in Dan already teaches a transport box. Modifying this transport box this a light emitting unit as taught in Chen would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box, the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot. Therefore, it is the opinion of the examiner that the combination of Dan in view of Chen teaches the limitation “the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot”.
Specifically on Page 9 Applicant argues that the third reference White does not teach the limitations of claim 1 and 12 because White does not teach to two different light-emitting units, one on a mobile robot, and one on a transport box above the robot, emitting corresponding patterns. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Additionally, as is clear from the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025 and above in this Final Office action, White was not relied upon to teach the limitation two different light-emitting units, one on a mobile robot, and one on a transport box above the robot, emitting corresponding patterns. As was stated in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025 and above in this Final Office action, the combination of Dan in view of Chen teaches two different light-emitting units, one on a mobile robot, and one on a transport box above the robot. The third reference White teaches the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (White: Figure 1 pattern of illumination 104 and graphic indication 112, Column 8 lines 12-25, Column 8 lines 26-40, Column 8 lines 41-60). The cited passages of White clearly teach a method by which two light-emitting units are synchronized to display the same emission pattern. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the control system taught in Dan in view of Chen with the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion taught in White. Even though White teaches synchronizing the light emission pattern of the light on the robot with a remote computing device with a display, the display of a remote computing device uses light emitting units in order to achieve the display of information, so the method taught in White therefore comprises the synchronization of two different light emitting units to the same light emission pattern. Additionally, the second light emitting unit taught in White is already positioned on an upper side of the mobile robot. Furthermore, the indicator light of the holder taught in Dan in view of Chen is already configured to communicate with a computer system. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method of synchronizing light emitting units to the same light emission pattern taught in White to synchronize the first light emitting unit and box-side light emitting unit taught in Dan in view of Chen without changing or introducing new functionality. Modifying the method taught in White such that one of the lights to be synchronized is positioned on the transport box rather than a display of a computing device would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The method taught in White would retain its functionality regardless the form or placement the second light emitting unit. The method of synchronizing lights being used in a similar but different application would not render the teaching non-obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The method used in White to synchronize two light-emitting units is still reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, and as such, the combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion. Therefore, it is the opinion of the examiner that the combination of Dan in view of Chen in further view of White teaches the limitation “the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion”.
Specifically on Page 10, Applicant argues that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the prior art reference. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The specific rationale relied upon to combine the prior art references was combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention was not relied upon. MPEP 2143(A) describes the requirements to reject a claim under the used rationale. The following points must be articulate: (1) a finding that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; (2) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. With regards to the combination of Dan in view of Chen, it is obvious from the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025 and above in this Final Office action that Dan teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 1 autonomous moving transfer robot 100, Column 5 lines 11-37, Column 5 lines 38-67, Column 6 lines 11-18) wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box (Dan: Figure 1 board-like bearers 5 and Figure 21 target object 400, Column 5 lines 11-37, Column 6 lines 11-18), and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, Column 14 lines 46-65, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6) and that Chen teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40), the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily able to install a light to the box taught in Dan as taught in Chen according to known methods. Both the light-emitting unit on the robot and the light-emitting unit on the box would still retain its functionality and no new functionality would be introduced to either. Additionally, the combination would have recognized that the results of this combination were predictable, as the combination only requires the simple addition of a light onto a box according to methods taught in Chen and known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the requirements for the rationale regarding the combination of Dan and Chen have clearly been met. Regarding the combination of Dan in view of Chen in further view of White, it is obvious from the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed September 5th, 2025 and above in this Final Office action that Dan teaches a system comprising a mobile robot configured to move autonomously and transport a transport object, a transport box configured to store the transport object, and one or more processors configured to perform control for controlling the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 1 autonomous moving transfer robot 100, Column 5 lines 11-37, Column 5 lines 38-67, Column 6 lines 11-18) wherein the mobile robot includes a contact portion on an upper side of the mobile robot which is configured to move into contact with the transport box when loading and transporting the transport box (Dan: Figure 1 board-like bearers 5 and Figure 21 target object 400, Column 5 lines 11-37, Column 6 lines 11-18), and a first light-emitting unit provided around the contact portion and configured to emit light in a predetermined light emission pattern associated with a state of the mobile robot (Dan: Figure 22 second signal light 55, Column 13 lines 57-67, Column 14 lines 46-65, Column 14 line 66 – Column 15 line 6), that Chen teaches the transport box includes a box-side light-emitting unit which is a light-emitting unit provided on the transport box (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40), the transport box is configured such that the box-side light-emitting unit is above the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is attached to the mobile robot (Chen: Column 4 lines 4-40), and that White teaches the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion (White: Figure 1 pattern of illumination 104 and graphic indication 112, Column 8 lines 12-25, Column 8 lines 26-40, Column 8 lines 41-60). Even though White teaches synchronizing the light emission pattern of the light on the robot with a remote computing device with a display, the display of a remote computing device uses light emitting units in order to achieve the display of information, so the method taught in White therefore comprises the synchronization of two different light emitting units to the same light emission pattern. Additionally, the second light emitting unit taught in White is already positioned on an upper side of the mobile robot. Furthermore, the indicator light of the holder taught in Dan in view of Chen is already configured to communicate with a computer system. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method of synchronizing light emitting units to the same light emission pattern taught in White to synchronize the first light emitting unit and box-side light emitting unit taught in Dan in view of Chen without changing or introducing new functionality. Modifying the method taught in White such that one of the lights to be synchronized is positioned on the transport box rather than a display of a computing device would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The method taught in White would retain its functionality regardless the form or placement the second light emitting unit. The method of synchronizing lights being used in a similar but different application would not render the teaching non-obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The method used in White to synchronize two light-emitting units is still reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, and as such, the combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control system wherein the control for controlling the mobile robot includes control on the box-side light-emitting unit to emit light in a light emission pattern corresponding to the predetermined light emission pattern of the first light-emitting unit when the transport box is loaded on the contact portion, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the requirements for the rationale regarding the combination of Dan in view Chen in further view of White have clearly been met.
Specifically on Page 10, Applicant argues that there is no reason to combine Dan in view of Chen in further view of White because White is nonanalogous art. In response to applicant's argument that White is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the problem of synchronizing two light-emitting units, one of which is disposed on an upper side of a mobile robot, is taught in White. Even though White teaches synchronizing the light emission pattern of the light on the robot with a remote computing device with a display, the display of a remote computing device uses light emitting units in order to achieve the display of information, so the method taught in White therefore comprises the synchronization of two different light emitting units to the same light emission pattern. The method taught in White would retain its functionality regardless the form or placement the second light emitting unit. The method of synchronizing lights being used in a similar but different application would not render the teaching non-obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, White is clearly reasonable pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned.
Therefore, for the reasons stated above and in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section of this Final Office Action, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of the independent claims 1 and 12 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/TRUC M DO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658