DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ripley (US 2018/0351457, of record and hereinafter “Ripley”).
Claim 25: Ripley discloses a wireless device (Figs.5, 7, and 10) comprising:
an antenna (530) configured to receive a signal (coupled to Rx 600, thus receiving a signal; see also [0064]);
an amplifier assembly (512) in communication with the antenna (see [0064], where the received signal from antenna 530 may include amplification by an LNA) and configured to amplify the signal (via an LNA; see [0064]);
a power management device (300, shown in Fig.5) comprising a first DC-DC converter (708) coupled to a first output voltage line (HB VCC) and a second output voltage line (MB, MLB, UHB VCC), a second DC-DC converter (710) coupled to the first output voltage line (HB VCC, via S8 and S6a), the second output voltage line (MB, MLB, UHB VCC, via S6a) and a third output voltage line (LB VCC, UL VCC), a first set of switches (S1a, S1b, S2) associated with the first DC-DC converter (see Fig.5), a second set of switches (S3-S6b) associated with the second DC-DC converter (see Fig.5), and a third set of switches (S8, S1a, S6a; see Fig.5) configured to activate the first DC-DC converter and the second DC-DC converter on two output lines of the first output voltage line, the second output voltage line, and the third output voltage line concurrently (see [0047] and [0054], where the first DC-DC converter and second DC-DC converter may be provided to output concurrently on HB VCC/MB,MLB,UHB VCC/LB VCC,UL VCC concurrently), and to provide a combined output voltage from the first DC-DC converter and the second DC-DC converter in parallel to the two output lines of the first output voltage line, the second output voltage line, and the third output voltage line concurrently (see[0053], where the “third output voltage line” is associated with both DC-DC converters 708 and 710); and
a transceiver (510) in communication with the amplifier assembly (512) and the power management device (see Fig.10) and configured to process the amplified signal (see [0062]).
Claim 26: Ripley discloses wherein the wireless device is a cellular phone configured to operate in one or more cellular bands (see [0067] and [0020]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 23-24 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the examiner agrees with Applicant that the prior does not clearly disclose within the context of the claims “and one or more switches of the third set of switches to implement one or more power output modes, including a high-band high power user equipment power output mode in which the first DC-DC converter and the second DC-DC converter combine in parallel to each supply power to both the first output voltage line and the second output voltage line concurrently” (Ripley discloses the third switches, but does not explicitly disclose the controller operating the third switch in “a high-band high power user equipment power mode”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regard to amended claims 1 and 23 have been considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection of claims 1-16 and 23-25 is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 with respect to amended claim 25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 25 that “Applicant respectfully refers the examiner to the table 303 at FIG. 3, which shows examples of various power output modes representing cellular bands, and including carrier-aggregated examples. As shown in the table 303, some modes can be supplied with the corresponding DC power by combining the output of both of the DC-DC converters (PMU1 and PMU2), at two of the three available power outputs VCC1, VCC2, and VCC3 at a given time. Please note, for example, on the right-hand side of the table, the third row, the power output mode HB HPUE. The "HB HPUE" power output mode describes a high-power output mode where the first DC-DC converter (PMU1) and the second DC-DC converter (PMU2) are each connected to and are active on both power output lines VCC1 and VCC2.”.
However as noted above, [0047], [0053], and [0054] of Ripley discloses S8 being used with other switches to provide the same output voltage to multiple lines via the switches, where the third output line is associated with both DC-DC converters 708 and 710. The examiner notes that claim 25 does not contain any limitations specifically requiring a HB HPUE power output mode.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849