DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because They do not meet Standards for Drawings in 37 CFR 1.84 sections:
(a) Drawings. Blank ink. Black and white drawings are normally required. Figures 1-10 contain non black ink.
(b) Photographs. Figures 10 contain what appears to be to be photographs and are not ordinarily permitted in utility patent application.
(m) Shading; figures 6A, 6B and 6C contain shading which prevents clear understanding of images.
(p) Numbers, letters, and reference characters; figures 1, 2, 4, 7A, 7B, 9A, 9B contain excessive writing.
(u) Numbering of views.
(1) The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Drawings do not contain a figure 8, but do have a figure 9A. which is nonconsecutive.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the slot, major axis, minor axis, distance relative to the base, second throughbore, second distance relative to the base, a distance relative to the rail, second distance relative to the rail, third throughbore must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, and 15 objected to because of the following informalities: Preamble reading “Seat interface of claim 1 wherein” or similar to, should have a comma after the claim number. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims not addressed below are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1 and 6, attempt to positively connect mobility apparatus to the seat interface but the claim is only to the seat interface. It is unclear if only the seat interface is required by the claim limitations or if the whole mobility apparatus is being seat interface so as to positively claim the mobility apparatus. As the claims are unclear, appropriate correction is required.
Claims, 1-7 and 13-15, attempt to positively claim a “base”. However the base is only in reference in ‘relative to’ and therefor is not positively claimed. It is unclear if the base is required by the claim limitations or only the bracket. See above in reference to mobility apparatus. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15, recite limitation. It is unclear what element this is referring to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims, 2, 8 and 13, recite limitation “major axis”. It is unclear what element this is referring to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 5, 9, 11 and 15, recite limitation “minor axis”. It is unclear what element this is referring to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4 and 14 recite limitation “distance relative to the base”. It is unclear what this is referring to and how the throughbore can define a distance. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 1 recites limitation “second distance relative to the base”. It is unclear what this is referring to and how the throughbore can define a distance. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14, lines 1-2 recites limitation “third distance relative to the base”. It is unclear what this is referring to and how the throughbore can define a distance. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 3 recites limitation “a tongue (element 220) configured for affixing relative to the base and having a second throughbore”. It is unclear if the tongue has the second throughbore as there is no first throughbore for the tongue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4813693 A Lockard; Walter G. et al.
Regarding claim 1, Lockard teaches, seat interface for a mobility apparatus comprising a bracket (element 250) configured for affixing relative to a base and having a throughbore configured for registering with a bore in a seat frame (fig. 2, element 250 mounts to frame element 24 and 26).
Regarding claim 2, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 1 wherein said throughbore defines a slot (element 252) having a major axis that is not aligned with the base.
Regarding claim 3, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 1 wherein said throughbore defines a slot (element 250) having a minor axis that is not aligned with the base.
Regarding claim 4, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 1, wherein said throughbore defines a distance relative to the base, further comprising a second throughbore that defines a second distance relative to the base (element 250 has multiple throughbores).
Regarding claim 5, Lockard teaches, Seat interface of claim 4 wherein said throughbore and/or said second throughbore defines a slot having a minor axis that is not aligned with the base (element 252).
Regarding claim 6, Lockard teaches, mobility device comprising: the seat interface (element 100) of claim 1; and a footrest configured for affixing relative to the base (element 174).
Regarding claim 7, Lockard teaches, Seat interface of claim 1 further comprising: a rail (elements 22, 24, 26, 14, 16) interposed between said bracket and the base; and a tongue (element 220) configured for affixing relative to the base and having a second throughbore configured for registering with a second bore in said rail.
Regarding claim 8, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 7 wherein said throughbore defines a slot (element 252) having a major axis that is not aligned with the rail.
Regarding claim 9, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 7 wherein said throughbore defines a slot (element 252) having a minor axis that is not aligned with the rail.
Regarding claim 10, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 7, wherein said throughbore defines a distance relative to the rail, further comprising a second throughbore that defines a second distance relative to the rail (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 10 wherein said throughbore and/or said second throughbore defines a slot (element 252) having a minor axis that is not aligned with the rail.
Regarding claim 12, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 7 wherein said rail has an end configured for pivoting relative to said tongue (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 7 wherein said second throughbore defines a slot (element 250) having a major axis that is not aligned with the base.
Regarding claim 14, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 7, wherein said second throughbore defines a distance relative to the base, further comprising a third throughbore that defines a third distance relative to the base (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Lockard teaches, seat interface of claim 14 wherein said throughbore and/or said second throughbore defines a slot (element 250) having a minor axis that is not aligned with the base.
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642