DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 21, 23, 29, 31, 35, and 37 have been amended. Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are now pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29, line 22, it is suggested to have “a memory to store instructions, the instructions is executed by processor to”.
Because “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2114.II.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Patent 11,954,220.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions are obvious variants. Claim 1 of the instant application substantially recites the limitations of claim 1 of Patent 11,954,220as shown in comparison table below.
Instant Application
Patent 11,954,220
21. A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, whether to issue a request to access a container storage volume based on a volume-level access policy and a storage operation attribute of the request, wherein the volume-level access policy defines one or more allowable storage operations associated with the container storage volume; and
in response to determining to issue the request, issuing the request.
23. The method of claim 21, wherein determining whether to issue the request comprises:
denying access responsive to the storage operation attribute failing to meet a volume-level access policy.
28. The method of claim 21, further comprising:
receiving a second request to access the container storage volume based on one or more allowable storage operations and a storage operation attribute of the second request; and
allowing the second request being more restrictive than the request.
A method comprising:
assigning, by a computing device comprising at least one processor and memory, to a container storage volume, a volume-level access policy that indicates one or more allowable storage operations, wherein the container storage volume is presented to one or more containers by a storage management service;
receiving, by the computing device, a request to access the container storage volume;
determining, by the computing device, whether to allow access to the container storage volume based on the volume-level access policy and one or more attributes that comprise a type of storage operation of the request;
responsive to determining to allow access to the container storage volume, issuing, by the computing device, from the storage management service to a storage resource, the request;
responsive to determining not to allow access to the container storage volume, preventing, by the computing device, the request from being serviced by the storage resource;
receiving, by the computing device, a request to modify the volume-level access policy to an updated volume-level access policy; and
denying, by the computing device, the request responsive to the updated volume- level access policy being less restrictive than the volume-level access policy.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine claims 21, 23 and 28 to arrive of claims 1 of Patent 11,954,220 because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Similar rejection also apply to Patent 11,675,503.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 29-31 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2013/0282978).
Referring to claim 21, Kumar et al. teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a processing device, whether to issue a request to access a container storage volume (If the requested access is permitted, logic 204 is further adapted to forward the request to the identified LUN of the identified storage, see Kumar et al., Para. 24) based on a volume-level access policy (control logic to define access permission information (e.g., access control information) associated with each LUN defined by an attached storage, see Kumar et al., Para. 8) a storage operation attribute of the request (querying the LUN access permission structure to determine whether the attached host system has sufficient access permission to the LUN identified in the received I/O request, see Kumar et al., Para. 10, the LUN access permission information comprises a structure in the memory identifying a level or access permission for each of the one or more host systems to access each of the LUNs associated with the target addresses of each of the one or more storage enclosures, see Kumar et al., Claim 5), wherein the volume-level access policy defines one or more allowable storage operations associated with the container storage volume (control logic to define access permission information (e.g., access control information) associated with each LUN defined by an attached storage, see Kumar et al., Para. 8, logical volumes (i.e., for LUNs identifying each of multiple logical devices), see Kumar et al., Para. 6); and
in response to determining to issue the request, issuing the request to the container storage volume (Thus, only if the requested access is permitted will be received request be forwarded (unchanged) through the switching device to the identified storage enclosure, see Kumar et al., Para. 24, whether the identified host has sufficient access permission to access the identified LUN of the identified storage enclosure in the received request, see Kumar et al., Para. 27).
As to claim 22, Kumar et al. teaches determining whether to issue the request comprises issuing the request responsive to the storage operation attribute (querying the LUN access permission structure to determine whether the attached host system has sufficient access permission to the LUN identified in the received I/O request, see Kumar et al., Para. 10, the LUN access permission information comprises a structure in the memory identifying a level or access permission for each of the one or more host systems to access each of the LUNs associated with the target addresses of each of the one or more storage enclosures, see Kumar et al., Claim 5). As to claim 23, Kumar et al. as modified teaches determining whether to issue the request comprises denying access responsive to the storage operation attribute failing to meet the volume-level access policy (Thus, only if the requested access is permitted will be received request be forwarded (unchanged) through the switching device to the identified storage enclosure, see Kumar et al., Para. 24, whether the identified host has sufficient access permission to access the identified LUN of the identified storage enclosure in the received request, see Kumar et al., Para. 27). Referring to claim 29, Kumar et al. teaches an apparatus comprising a memory (memory, see Kumar et al., Para. 20); and a processing device (processor, see Kumar et al., Para. 18) operatively coupled to the memory, configured to, which recites the corresponding limitations as set forth in claim 21 above; therefore, it is rejected under the same subject matter.
Claim 30 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 22 rejection.
Claim 31 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 23 rejection.
Referring to claim 35, Kumar et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (memory, see Kumar et al., Para. 20) storing instructions that, when executed, cause a computer to carry out the steps, which recites the corresponding limitations as set forth in claim 21 above; therefore, it is rejected under the same subject matter.
Claim 36 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 22 rejection.
Claim 37 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 23 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 25, 32, 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2013/0282978) in view of McClintock et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10,007,779).
As to claim 24, Kumar et al. the storage operation attribute comprises a source of the request (the LUN access permission information comprises a structure in the memory identifying a level or access permission for each of the one or more host systems to access each of the LUNs associated with the target addresses of each of the one or more storage enclosures, see Kumar et al., Claim 5). However, Tian as modified does not explicitly teach one or more geographic access permissions.
Schneider et al. teaches s one or more geographic access permissions
(Locality (L). The location at which the subject resides. This is usually the city in which the subject resides, but can be used for any location-related value, see Schneider et al., Col. 12, lines 27-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kumar et al., to have one or more geographic access permissions, as taught by Schneider et al., to have better scalability with regard to both management of and performance in the VPN (Schneider et al., Col. 22, lines 48-49).
As to claim 25, Kumar et al. does not explicitly teach a data sensitivity level and a security level.
Schneider et al. teaches a data sensitivity level and a security level (attributes of the object such as the sensitivity level of resources and the trust level of modes of user identification, network links, and encryption methods, see Schneider et al., Col. 7, lines 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tian as modified, to have a data sensitivity level and a security level, as taught by Schneider et al., to have better scalability with regard to both management of and performance in the VPN (Schneider et al., Col. 22, lines 48-49).
Claim 32 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 24 rejection.
Claim 33 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 25 rejection.
Claim 38 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 24 rejection.
Claims 27 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2013/0282978) in view of Desai et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10,509,914).
As to claim27, Kumar et al. does not explicitly teach providing, to a storage management service, information describing data stored in the container storage volume.
Desai et al. teaches providing, to a storage management service, information describing data stored in the container storage volume (applying labels or tags to the data (volumes) based on the instances that generate the data, contents of the data, and/or sensitivity of the data, see Desai et al., Col. 2, lines 35-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kumar et al., to have providing, to a storage management service, information describing data stored in the container storage volume, as taught by Desai et al., to easily and efficiently replicate the applications and data across different regions ( and/or CSPs) of the world. (Desai et al., Col. 1, lines 44-45).
Claim 40 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 27 rejection.
Claims 28, 34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2013/0282978) in view of McClintock et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10,007,779).
As to claim 28, Kumar et al. teaches receiving a second request to access the container storage volume based on one or more allowable storage operations and a storage operation attribute of the second request (generate requests for access to LUNs defined on one or more storage enclosures 108 and 110, see Kumar et al., Para. 15).
However, Kumar et al. as modified does not explicitly teach
allowing the second request being more restrictive than the request.
McClintock et al. teaches allowing the second request being more restrictive than the request (More restrictive access rights may be granted, see McClintock et al., Col. 19, lines 2-3, if a user is located at a public place, such as an airport, he may be associated with a higher risk of compromise and therefore granted a more restrictive set of access rights than if he is at a private or semi-private place, such as at home or office, see McClintock et al., Col. 19, lines 8-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kumar et al., to have allowing the second request being more restrictive than the request, as taught by McClintock et al., to improve user experience and reducing administrative costs (McClintock et al., Col. 4, lines 19-20).
Claim 34 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 28 rejection.
Claim 39 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 28 rejection.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s remarks filed on 8/3/2026 with respect to claims 21, 29 and 35 have been considered and they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/JAU SHYA MENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168