DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first lens group, a second lens group, a third lens group, and a fourth lens group sequentially disposed … a reflective member disposed on an object side of the first lens group … and L is a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to the imaging plane” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “0.45 ≤ fG1/L ≤ 0.8 is satisfied, where fG1 is a focal length of the first lens group, and L is a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to the imaging plane”, Claim 17 recites “0.4 ≤ LG3/L ≤ 0.7 is satisfied, where LG3 is a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to an object-side surface of the third lens group”, and Claim 21 recites “the first lens group has a positive refractive power, and 0.08 ≤ dG2/L ≤ 0.7 is satisfied, where dG2 is a distance along the optical axis that the second lens group moves between the wide-angle mode and the telephoto mode”. For Claims 17 and 21, the limitations on the claimed invention do not include an explicit definition of “L” within the claim. An explicit definition in Claim 1 does not define the term in all claims, though for the purposes of examination it will be understood that “L” carries the same meaning in Claims 17 and 21 albeit an indefinite meaning. The metes and bounds of the phrase “L is a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to the imaging plane” would not have been clear to a person having ordinary skill in the art in light of the Specifications. The disclosure does not specify a means for determining the object-side of the reflective member from which to measure the distance “L”. The specifications provides two exemplary embodiments in, for example, [0083]: “the reflective member may be a mirror or a prism”. Absent a specific embodiment provided in the disclosure, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to understand that which is captured in the scope of the claims defined by a relationship with the claimed length. In the art, there is no one form factor of a reflective member nor of a prism nor of a mirror and the corresponding object-side surface would not be understood given the breadth of the invention. In US Pat. 7,123,425, there are embodiments of the reflective member that include a lens integrated with a reflective surface (Fig. 1A) and a distinct lens preceding a reflective surface (Fig. 3A). In light of the claimed invention and for an infringement test, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not understand a corresponding measure of the claimed “L” in light of multiple possible “object-side surface of the reflective member”. For the Fig. 1A embodiment, it would be unclear if the object-side surface is the entrance surface of L11 or the reflective surface of L11. For the Fig. 3A embodiment, it would be unclear if the object-side surface is the entrance surface to L31, the entrance surface to L32, or the reflective surface of L32. In US Pat. 7,253,834, lenses surround a mirror in the mirror group (reflective member) and it would be unclear which of the surfaces would correspond an object-side surface of the reflective member: an entrance surface of LN1 or the surface of VM. In Fig. 4 of US Pat. 7,253,834, there is a mirror preceding the lens group G1 and while an artisan would understand how to interpret a surface of this mirror VM, there would be no corresponding description as object-side because there is no “side” to a single plane. In CN 112612125, the leading prism is a standard optical wedge with three flat surfaces labeled Sa, Sb, Sc. The disclosure clearly presents data on the position of these surfaces in Table 1 ([0128]). Applicant provides no clear embodiment of the reflective member from which to clearly define L and the corresponding numerical ranges captured in respective claims.
Claim 17 defines LG3 analogously to the definition of L and is indefinite for analogous reasons.
Dependent claims 2-16, 18-20, and 22-24 do not remedy these deficiencies.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-24 explicitly, or implicitly, define L to be “a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to the imaging plane”. Without further specification of the reflective member itself, there is a meaning of this measure within the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification in which the length is a measure relative to the most object-side surface of the lens system positioned between the image-side of the reflective member and the image plane. As there is no clarity to the structure of the reflective member and the surfaces thereof, the measure of fG1/L, LG3/L, and dG2/L for example, appear to relate to the relative size of the lengths within the lens system relative to the overall length of the lens system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would both understand that a reflective member necessarily has a finite extent related to effective diameters of the lens system and could be arbitrarily positioned as close to the lens system entrance as possible. For the latter, the effective position of a surface of the reflective member substantially coincides with the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group. In this way, measure of the claimed “L” substantially coincides with the distance between the object-side surface of a first lens of a first lens group and the image plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112612125 to Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses an optical imaging system (Fig. 1) comprising: a first lens group (L1 and L2, Fig. 1, Table 1, [0128]), a second lens group (L3 and L4, Fig. 1, Table 1, [0128]), a third lens group (L5, L6, L7, Fig. 1, Table 1, [0128]), and a fourth lens group (L8, Fig. 1, Table 1, [0128]) sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system away from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (he image surface S19, Fig. 1, Table 1, [0128]), at least one lens group among the first to fourth lens groups being configured to be movable along the optical axis (lenses L1-L7, Fig. 1, Table 1, [0128]; and a reflective member (right-angle prism 120 with surfaces Sa, Sb, Sc, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) disposed on an object side of the first lens group and comprising a reflective surface (Sb of prism 120, Fig. 1) configured to change an optical path of the optical imaging system, wherein the first lens group has a positive refractive power (fL1 = 9.207, Table 1), and 0.45 ≤ fG1/L ≤ 0.8 is satisfied (18.12mm/33.8mm = 0.54, Table 1; [0128]), where fG1 is a focal length of the first lens group, and L is a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to the imaging plane.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the first lens group comprises a first lens (L1, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) and a second lens (L2, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along the optical axis from an object side of the first lens group toward an image side of the first lens group, one (L1, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) of the first lens and the second lens has a positive focal length (fL1 = 9.207mm, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) and an Abbe number of 50 or more (Abbe-L1= 56.11, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) , and another one (L2, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128])of the first lens and the second lens has a negative focal length (fL2 = -16.973mm, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]) and an Abbe number of 30 or less (AbbeL2 = 27.77, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the second lens group has a negative refractive power (fL2 = -7.18mm, Table 1; [0128]), comprises at least two lenses (L3 and L4, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]), and is configured to move along the optical axis away from the object side of the optical imaging system toward the image side of the optical imaging system to narrow a field of view of the optical imaging system ((d2+d3)short > (d2+d3)tele, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Yang discloses 0.4 ≤ LG3/L ≤ 0.7 is satisfied (1LG3 = 16.22mm and LG3/L = 6.22mm/33.8mm = 0.48, Fig. 1, Table 1; [0128]), where LG3 is a distance on the optical axis from the object-side surface of the reflective member to an object-side surface of a frontmost lens of the third lens group.
Claims 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub. 2004/0233302A1 to Kojima (hereinafter Kojima).
Regarding claim 17, Kojima discloses an optical imaging system (Fig. 2) comprising: a first lens group (lGr1, Fig. 2), a second lens group (Gr2, Fig. 2), a third lens group (Gr3, Fig. 2), and a fourth lens group (Gr4, Fig. 2) sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system away from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Abstract), at least one lens group among the first to fourth lens groups being configured to be movable along the optical axis (Fig. 2); and a reflective member (prism PR, Fig. 2 & 17) disposed on an object side of the first lens group and comprising a reflective surface (RL of PR, Figs. 2 & 17) configured to change an optical path of the optical imaging system, wherein the first lens group has a positive refractive power (lens L2, Table 2; [0107]), wherein the first lens group has a positive refractive power, 0.4 ≤ LG3/L ≤ 0.7 is satisfied (LG3/L = 41.38mm/57.16mm = 0.7, Table 2; [0107]), where LG3 is a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of the reflective member to an object-side surface of the third lens group.
Regarding claims 18 and 22, Kojima discloses the first lens group comprises two lenses (lenses L1 and l2, Fig. 2), the second lens group has a negative refractive power (Gr2, Fig. 2, Table 2; [0107]) and comprises two or three lenses (lenses of Gr2, Fig. 2), the third lens group has a positive refractive power (Gr3, Fig. 2, Table 2; [0107]) and comprises a stop (stop ST, Fig. 2) and two lenses, and the fourth lens group has a positive refractive power and comprises one or two lenses (Fig. 2; [0107]).
Regarding claim 21, Kojima discloses an optical imaging system (Fig. 2) comprising: a first lens group (lGr1, Fig. 2), a second lens group (Gr2, Fig. 2), a third lens group (Gr3, Fig. 2), and a fourth lens group (Gr4, Fig. 2) sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system away from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Abstract), at least one lens group among the first to fourth lens groups being configured to be movable along the optical axis (Fig. 2); and a reflective member (prism PR, Fig. 2 & 17) disposed on an object side of the first lens group and comprising a reflective surface (RL of PR, Figs. 2 & 17) configured to change an optical path of the optical imaging system, wherein the first lens group has a positive refractive power (lens L2, Table 2; [0107]), wherein the first lens group has a positive refractive power, and 0.08 ≤ dG2/L ≤ 0.7 is satisfied (dG2/L = 8.215mm/57.16mm = 0.14), where dG2 is a distance along the optical axis that the second lens group moves between the wide-angle mode and the telephoto mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
It cannot be said that Claims 3-4, 7-16, and 23-24 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872