DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The first paragraph should be updated to indicate that US App. No. 17/364,357 is now US Patent No. 11,975,185.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan et al. (US 2016/0074667, hereinafter Sullivan).
Regarding claims 1-5, 21, and 23, Sullivan discloses a wearable cardioverter defibrillator (WCD), as seen in figure 1. The WCD includes a support structure 170, an energy storage module 250, a discharge circuit 255 connected to the energy storage module, an ECG sensor 220 and an activity sensor 281 that includes a GPS sensor, as well as an accelerometer, that measures activity of a user (par. 0037, 0039, 0041, 0046, 0064, 0066, 0090, figure 2). A processor 230 determines if a shock criterion is met and controls the discharge circuit to discharge the stored electric charge through the patient while the support structure is worn by the patient (par. 0034, 0049, 0054-0055). The WCD monitors activity data of the patient generated by the sensor to determine an activity level/intensity/duration of the patient, and then the ECG data, accelerometer data and GPS data is transmitted to a server (such that anything that receives data over a network is a “server”) by a mobile communication device 290 (par. 0037, 0052, 0065, 0068, 0090).
Regarding claim 6, impedance is sensed to determine whether a shock crtiterion is met (see claim 7 of Sullivan).
Regarding claim 24, a display is used to display what is measured (i.e., ECG) (par. 0034).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan in view of Joo et al. (US 2013/0338724, hereinafter Joo).
Regarding claim 7, 8 and 10, Sullivan, as described above, discloses a plurality of sensors, including sensors for determining breathing and impedance sensors, which can be used to determine if a shock criterion is met (e.g., if a patient is conscious) (par. 0036 and 0089). Sullivan is silent as to filtering an impedance signal using a frequency bandpass filter in order to determine if a patient is breathing. Joo discloses a defibrillator and thus is analogous art with Sullivan (par. 0019). Joo discloses frequency bandpass filtering an impedance signal and using the filtered signal to determine if the patient is breathing (par. 0157). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Sullivan to frequency bandpass filter the impedance signals and using the filtered signal to determine if the patient is breathing, as taught by Joo, as this could help indicate that at person is conscious and would aid in the purpose of Sullivan, which is to utilize impedance signals to determine if a patient is conscious before delivering a shock (claim 7 of Sullivan).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan.
Regarding claim 22, as described above, Sullivan discloses a variety of activity monitors for determining the activity of a user, including a smart watch with an accelerometer (par. 0071-0072). While Sullivan is silent as to determining a step count of a patient, it is notoriously old and well known in the art that smart watches can utilize an accelerometer to determine a step count of a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Sullivan to determine a step count using the accelerometers, as this would indicate that at person is conscious and would aid in the purpose of Sullivan, which is to determine if a patient is consciously moving or moving ambiently (e.g., in a moving vehicle) (par. 0072).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 40 of U.S. Patent No. 10,857,371. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose a WCD with a support structure, an energy storage module, a discharge circuit, heart sensors and activity sensors for determining a step count (which indicates a level/intensity/duration of activity based on the number of steps). The sensor data is then sent via a communication system to a remote server. While the claims are silent as to specifically using ECG data to determine a shock criterion, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of ECG signals in a defibrillator to determine a shock criterion is notoriously old and well known in the art as a preferred method for determining the presence of a shockable rhythm and then determining if/when to deliver a shock.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796