DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff, US Pub. 2018/0174413.
Siminoff discloses a customizable intrusion zones associated with security system comprising: an audio/video (A/V) recording and communication device 100, located near the entrance to a structure (not shown), such as a dwelling, a business, a storage facility, etc.; the A/V recording and communication device 100 includes a camera 102, a microphone 104, and a speaker 106; the A/V recording and communication device 100 communicates with a user's network 110, which may be for example a wired and/or wireless network; if the user's network 110 is wireless, or includes a wireless component, the network 110 may be a Wi-Fi network compatible with the IEEE 802.11 standard and/or other wireless communication standard(s); the user's network 110 is connected to another network 112, which may comprise, for example, the Internet and/or a public switched telephone network (PSTN); the A/V recording and communication device 100 may communicate with the user's client device 114 via the home network 110 and the network 112 (Internet/PSTN); the user's client device 114 may comprise, for example, a mobile telephone (may also be referred to as a cellular telephone), such as a smartphone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), or another communication and/or computing device; the user's client device 114 comprises a display (not shown) and related components capable of displaying streaming and/or recorded video images; the user's client device 114 may also comprise a speaker and related components capable of broadcasting streaming and/or recorded audio, and may also comprise a microphone; the A/V recording and communication device 100 may also communicate with one or more remote storage device(s) 116 (may be referred to interchangeably as “cloud storage device(s)”), one or more servers 118, and/or a backend API (application programming interface) 120 via the home network 110 and the network 112 (Internet/PSTN); when a person (may be referred to interchangeably as “visitor”) arrives at the A/V recording and communication device 100, the A/V recording and communication device 100 detects the visitor's presence and begins capturing video images within a field of view of the camera 102; the A/V communication device 100 may also capture audio through the microphone 104; the A/V recording and communication device 100 may detect the visitor's presence by detecting motion using the camera 102 and/or a motion sensor, and/or by detecting that the visitor has pressed a front button of the A/V recording and communication device 100 (if the A/V recording and communication device 100 is a doorbell); in response to the detection of the visitor, the A/V recording and communication device 100 sends an alert to the user's client device 114 via the user's home network 110 and the network 112; the A/V recording and communication device 100 also sends streaming video, and may also send streaming audio, to the user's client device 114; If the user answers the alert, two-way audio communication may then occur between the visitor and the user through the A/V recording and communication device 100 and the user's client device 114; the user may view the visitor throughout the duration of the call, but the visitor cannot see the user (unless the A/V recording and communication device 100 includes a display, which it may in some embodiments).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 11-12, 16, and 20, Siminoff discloses an audio/video (A/V) recording and communication device 100, located near the entrance to a structure (not shown), such as a dwelling, a business, a storage facility, where in various embodiments, a smart-home hub application 2412 may configure the processor 2408 to receive sensor data from the sensors 2214 and/or the automation devices 2216. For example, the sensor data may include a current state (e.g., opened/closed for door and window sensors, motion detected for motion sensors, living room lights on/off for a lighting automation system, etc.) of each of the sensors 2214 and/or the automation devices 2216. In some examples, the sensor data may be received in response to sensor triggers. The sensor triggers may be a door opening/closing, a window opening/closing, lights being turned on/off, blinds being opened/closed, etc. As such, the sensor data may include the current state of the sensors 2214 and/or the automation devices 2216 as well as any updates to the current state based on sensor triggers (para. 0334), but fails to specifically disclose sending a command to close the movable barrier (door) in response to a person being detected in the area outside the movable barrier. However, Siminoff discloses an audio/video (A/V) recording and communication device is located near the entrance to a structure (not shown), such as a dwelling, a business, a storage facility and the sensor data may be received in response to sensor triggers. The sensor triggers may be a door opening/closing, a window opening/closing, lights being turned on/off, blinds being opened/closed, it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to modify the system of Siminoff to include sending a command to open the movable barrier (door) when a person is detected to open or close the door based on the current status of the barrier of the facility. Such modification would facilitate the automatic operation of the barrier. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 2-5, 15, 18 the camera 102 can be set cover specific area, wherein the specific setting is just a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. Furthermore, the camera can be set using the user device (i.e. cellular phone) where the area can be adjusted by dragging the nodes on the display. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 6, 19, wherein capturing the image data is performed in response to detecting by a motion input in the region of interest (par.0048).
Regarding claims 8-10, 14-15, the prior fails to disclose setting a specific time period for keeping the door opened before closing the door. However, it would have been obvious to modify the teachings to include specific duration, such as for a delivery person to deliver items in the facility, before closing the door, wherein the door would be closing after detecting the person has left the facility. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 17, the camera has speakers for generating audio or sound output. Furthermore, the type of camera is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff in view of Nguyen et al, US Pub. 2020/0105078. The teachings of Siminoff have been discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7: Siminoff fails to disclose: wherein initiating the auto-secure operation further comprises transmitting a lock command to a controllable lockset associated with an interior access door to cause the controllable lockset to lock the interior access door.
Nguyen et al disclose: wherein initiating the auto-secure operation further comprises transmitting a lock command to a controllable lockset (para [0061] "Referring now to FIGS. 7A-7B and 8, methods of actuating an electronic lock 100 by cooperative signal processing by the electronic lock and a mobile device 200 are shown. An example electronic lock useable to perform the methods described herein is described above in connection with FIGS. 2-5, and the mobile device shown in connection with FIGS. 6A-6B. Regarding FIGS. 7A-7B and 8, it is noted that although discussed in connection with a mobile device communicating with the electronic lock 100, other arrangements may be possible in which a fob or other electronic device is used in place of a mobile device.") associated with an interior access door to cause the controllable lockset to lock the interior access door (para [0045]-[0046] "Referring to FIGS. 2-5 generally, in example embodiments, the electronic lock 100 may be used on both interior and exterior doors. Described below are non-limiting examples of a wireless electronic lockset. It should be noted that the electronic lock 100 may be used on other types of doors, such as a garage door or a doggie door, or other types of doors that require an authentication process to unlock (or lock) the door. In some embodiments, the electronic lock 100 is made of mixed metals and plastic, with engineered cavities to contain electronics and antennas. For example, in some embodiments, the lock utilizes an antenna near the exterior face of the lockset, assigned inside the metal body of the lockset itself. The metal body can be engineered to meet strict physical security requirements and also allow an embedded front-facing antenna to propagate RF energy efficiently.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to control the locksets of Spectrum Brand using the method of Nguyen et al since it would allow to lock the said interior door locksets, Nguyen et al) upon detection of an unwanted person in the region of interest (para [0051],).
Regarding Claim 12: Siminoff fails to disclose: wherein initiating the auto-secure operation further comprises transmitting a lock command to a controllable lockset associated with an interior access door to cause the controllable lockset to lock the interior access door.
Nguyen et al disclose: wherein initiating the auto-secure operation further comprises transmitting a lock command to a controllable lockset (para [0061] "Referring now to FIGS. 7A-7B and 8, methods of actuating an electronic lock 100 by cooperative signal processing by the electronic lock and a mobile device 200 are shown. An example electronic lock useable to perform the methods described herein is described above in connection with FIGS. 2-5, and the mobile device shown in connection with FIGS. 6A-6B. Regarding FIGS. 7A-7B and 8, it is noted that although discussed in connection with a mobile device communicating with the electronic lock 100, other arrangements may be possible in which a fob or other electronic device is used in place of a mobile device.") associated with an interior access door to cause the controllable lockset.to lock the interior access door (para [0045]-[0046] "Referring to FIGS. 2-5 generally, in example embodiments, the electronic lock 100 may be used on both interior and exterior doors. Described below are non-limiting examples of a wireless electronic lockset. It should be noted that the electronic lock 100 may be used on other types of doors, such as a garage door or a doggie door, or other types of doors that require an authentication process to unlock (or lock) the door. In some embodiments, the electronic lock 100 is made of mixed metals and plastic, with engineered cavities to contain electronics and antennas. For example, in some embodiments, the lock utilizes an antenna near the exterior face of the lockset, designed inside the metal body of the lockset itself. The metal body can be engineered to meet strict physical security requirements and also allow an embedded front-facing antenna to propagate RF energy efficiently.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to control the locksets of Spectrum Brand using the method of Nguyen et al since it would allow to lock the said interior door locksets, Nguyen et al) upon detection of an unwanted person in the region of interest .
Regarding Claim 20: Siminoff fails to disclose: wherein the server subsystem is further configured to transmit a lock command to a controllable lockset associated with an interior access door to cause the controllable lockset to lock the interior access door in response to receiving the person detection signal.
Nguyen et al disclose: wherein the server subsystem is further configured to transmit a lock command to a controllable lockset (para [0061] "Referring now to FIGS. 7A7B and 8, methods of actuating an electronic lock 100 by cooperative signal processing by the electronic lock and a mobile device 200 are shown. An example electronic lock useable to perform the methods described herein is described above in connection with FIGS. 2-5, and the mobile device shown in connection with FIGS. 6A-6B. Regarding FIGS. 7A-7B and 8, it is noted that although discussed in connection with a mobile device communicating with the electronic lock 100, other arrangements may be possible in which a fob or other electronic device is used in place of a mobile device.") associated with an interior access door to cause the controllable lockset to lock the interior access door in response to receiving the person detection signal (para [0045]-[0046] "Referring to FIGS. 2-5 generally, in example embodiments, the electronic lock 100 may be used on both interior and exterior doors. Described below are non-limiting examples of a wireless electronic lockset. It should be noted that the electronic lock 100 may be used on other types of doors, such as a garage door or a doggie door, or other types of doors that require an authentication process to unlock (or lock) the door. In some embodiments, the electronic lock 100 is made of mixed metals and plastic, with engineered cavities to contain electronics and antennas. For example, in some embodiments, the lock utilizes an antenna near the exterior face of the lockset, designed inside the metal body of the lockset itself. The metal body can be engineered to meet strict physical security requirements and also allow an embedded front-facing antenna to propagate RF energy efficiently.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to control the locksets of Spectrum Brand using the method of Nguyen et al since it would allow to lock the said interior door locksets (para [0061], Nguyen et al) upon detection of an unwanted person in the region of interest.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff et al in view of Ivarson, US Pub. 2022/0327881. The teachings of Siminoff have been discussed above.
Siminoff fails to disclose: enabling, by the access control platform component, an auto-secure disable timer in response to receiving the door opening state indicator, the auto-secure disable timer measuring the predetermined time period.
Ivarson discloses: enabling, by the access control platform component, an auto-secure disable timer in response to receiving the door opening state indicator, the auto-secure disable timer measuring the predetermined time period (para [0115]-[0117] "At step 818, the control circuitry 101 also starts a timer for counting a pre-defined period of time (which may be recipient-customizable) within which the courier 708 has to open the lockable door 104 and deposit the item into the enclosure 102. When the courier 708 opens the door, the parcel lock 106 generates a continuous beeping sound through speakers 308 and 408 or other means of sound alarm. Such a beeping sound provides additional security to the system with noticeable warnings to illegal attempts. When the timer ends (step 820), the control circuitry 101 checks whether the lockable door 104 is closed (step 822). If the mark reader 514 on the lockable door 104 reads the micro-mark 514 on the doorjamb 602, the control circuitry 101 determines that that the lockable door 104 is closed, and then automatically actuate the deadbolt 512 to its extended position to lock the door 104 (step 830).").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to use the timer of Ivarson in the method of Siminoff since it allows to determine when to open/dose the door (para [0115]-[0117], Ivarson).
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff in view of Lovejoy, US Pub. 2018/0108228. The teachings of Siminoff have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 10: Siminoff fails to disclose: receiving, at the access control platform component, a door unlocked state indicator associated with a controllable lockset associated with an interior access door; disabling the auto-secure operation in response to receiving the door unlocked state indicator.
Lovejoy discloses: receiving, at the access control platform component, a door unlocked state indicator associated with a controllable lockset (para [0042] "Fig. 4 is a flowchart of one embodiment of a method of operating the alarm system to receive and change a state of a cooperating lockset system. In this embodiment, at box 200, an authorized user first verifies a valid credential by an authentication device located on an alarm system control panel. The authentication device may comprise a keypad, RFID scanner, biometric scanner, or any of the other authentication devices identified above suitable for verifying a valid credential for an authorized user. Following the verification of the user credentials, at box 202, the alarm system may indicate, as noted above, the state of the lockset system by visual, auditory, or haptic indicator. Subsequently, at box 204, the authorized user may choose to change the state of the lockset system or leave the state unmodified. The user may alter the state of the lockset system by the authentication device or other suitable element located on the alarm system control panel. In some embodiments, the alarm system may prompt the user if certain pre-defined state criteria of the lockset system and/or alarms system are met. For example, the alarm system may prompt the user to lock a lockset of a lockset system when in an unlocked state, or unlock a lockset of a lockset system when in a locked state. Furthermore, multiple conditionals may be employed to cause a prompt for the user to change the state of the lockset system and/or ala.rm system. For example, the arming of an alarm system wherein one or more locksets of cooperating lockset systems are unlocked may cause the alarm system to prompt the user to lock the unlocked locksets.") associated with an interior access door (para [0027] "FIG. 2 depicts a schematic view of an access control system 30 including an indicator 40. In the depicted embodiment, the access control system is installed on a door 84 adjoining a protected space 82 within building 80.");
disabling the auto-secure operation in response to receiving the door unlocked state indicator (para [0044] "Accordingly, the parent may wish to change the state of the lockset system remotely to secure the protected space by locking the lockset or arming the alarm system. In a similar example, a parent who is an authorized user with a child who is also an authorized user may wish to receive an indication of a change in state of the lockset system when the child arrives at home to prevent a possible false alarm. In this example, the 'child may forget to disarm the alarm system upon entering the protected space of the home, which may trigger a false alarm if left unattended for long. Accordingly, the parent may wish to be notified of the state change of the lockset system (i.e. I6ckset changing from locked to unlocked) by the child and subsequently change the state of the alarm system to a disarmed state remotely, thereby avoiding a false alarm.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to disable auto-secure operations in response to receiving unlocked status from lockset as per Yale in the method of Siminoff since the said status an indication of authenticated entry and hence the said disabling prevents false alarms (para [0042]-[0044], Lovejoy).
Regarding Claim 14: Siminoff fails to disclose: wherein the method further comprises: receiving, at the access control platform component, a door unlocked state indicator associated with a controllable lockset associated with an interior access door; and disabling, by the access control platform component, the auto-secure operation for a predetermined time period in response to receiving the door unlocked state indicator.
Lovejoy discloses: receiving, at the access control platform component, a door unlocked state indicator associated with a controllable lockset (para [0042] "Fig. 4 is a flowchart of one embodiment of a method of operating the alarm system to receive and change a state of a cooperating lockset system. In this embodiment, at box 200, an authorized user first verifies a valid credential-by an authentication device located on an alarm system control panel. The authentication device may comprise a keypad, RFID scanner, biometric scanner, or any of the other authentication devices identified above suitable for verifying a valid credential for an authorized user. Following the verification of the user credentials, at box 202, the alarm system may indicate, as noted above, the state of the lockset system by visual, auditory, or haptic indicator. Subsequently, at box 204, the authorized user may choose to change the state of the lockset system or leave the state unmodified. The user may alter the state of the lockset system by the authentication device or other suitable element located on the alarm system control panel. In some embodiments, the alarm system may prompt the user if certain pre-defined state criteria of the lockset system and/or alarms system are met. For example, the alarm system may prompt the user to lock a lockset of a lockset system when in an unlocked state, or unlock a lockset of a lockset system when in a locked state. Furthermore, multiple conditionals may be employed to cause a prompt for the user to change the state of the lockset system and/or alarm system. For example, the arming of an alarm system wherein one or more locksets of cooperating lockset systems are unlocked may cause the alarm system to prompt the user to lock the unlocked locksets.") associated with an interior access door (para [0027] "FIG. 2 depicts a schematic view of an access control system 30 including an indicator 40. In the depicted embodiment, the access control system is installed on a door 84 adjoining a protected space 82 within building 80.");
and disabling, by the access control platform component, the auto-secure operation for a predetermined time period in response to receiving the door unlocked state indicator (para [0044] "Accordingly, the parent may wish to change the state of the lockset system remotely to secure the protected space by locking the lockset or arming the alarm system. In a similar example, a parent who is an authorized user with a child who is also an authorized user may wish to receive an indication of a change in state of the lockset system when the child arrives at home to prevent a possible false alarm. In this example, the child may forget to disarm the alarm system upon entering the protected space of the home, which may trigger a false alarm if left unattended for long. Accordingly, the parent may wish to_ be notified of the state change of the lockset system (i.e. lockset changing from locked to unlocked) by the child and subsequently change the state of the alarm system to a disarmed state remotely, thereby avoiding a false alarm.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to disable auto-secure operations in response to receiving unlocked status from lockset _as per Yale in the method· of Siminoff since the said status an indication of authenticated entry and hence the said disabling prevents false alarms (para [0042]-[0044], Lovejoy).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff in view of Schaak, US Pub. 2022/0044562. The teachings of Siminoff have been discussed above.
Siminoff fails to disclose: wherein the movable barrier operator is restricted from closing the movable barrier to the closed position in response to receiving the close command while the auto secure operation is disabled.
Schaak discloses: wherein the movable barrier operator is restricted from closing the movable barrier to the closed position in response to receiving the close command while the auto secure operation is disabled (para [0025] "In accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 102 is communicatively coupled to a central door locking unit 116 and an automatic window closer unit 118 of the vehicle 200. As the vehicle 200 is brought to a complete halt, the processor 102 sends a signal to the central door locking unit 116 to unlock the doors of the vehicle 200 subsequent to coming to the complete halt. In one embodiment, the processor 102 may be configured to provide repeated "unlock" signals to the central door locking unit 116 to keep the doors unlocked. In another embodiment, the processor 102 may send a "disable locking" signal to the central door locking unit 116.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to disable closing in the method of Siminoff as per Schaak after opening the barrier since it allows unwanted closing of the said barrier as people are exiting through the barrier (para [0025], Schaak).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff in view of Van Hoof et al, US Pub. 2018/0349708 and in further in view of Chae, US Pub. 2019/0145738. The teachings of Siminoff et al have been discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2: Siminoff fails to disclose: further comprising setting the region of interest by: overlaying, on the display, an adjustable region of interest; and receiving user input adjusting a position of one or more adjustable nodes associated with the adjustable region of interest to define a perimeter of the region of interest.
Van Hoof et al disclose: overlaying, on the display, an adjustable region of interest (region of interest 1004, para [0164] "Referring to FIG. 101, playback of the first video stream and the second video stream are presented concurrently on the client device 504. The second stream is played in a floating or movable overlay 1006 over the playing first stream. The first stream is played at the default scale level 'and shows the full field of view, and the second stream playing in the overlay 1006 is cropped and scaled up, to keep the region of interest 1004 in focus. The overlay 1006 is positioned approximately over the position of the region of interest 1004 in the field of view of the first stream, and may follow the movement of the region of interest 1004 (i.e., the overlay 1006 moves along with the motion activity with which region of interest 1004 is associated). In this manner, the floating overlay 1006 and the second stream playing within behaves like a magnifying glass or loupe that is placed over the portion of the field of view that includes the region of interest 1004 and follows the motion activity associated with the
region of interest 1004."); and receiving user input associated with the adjustable region of interest to define a perimeter of the region of interest (para [0161] "Referring to FIG. 10G, the second stream continues playback on client device 504, as the second stream continues to track region of interest 1004. In FIG. 1 0G, the portion of the front area of the house that ‘is shown has shifted compared to the portions shown in FIGS. 10D-10F, in order to track the driver reaching the mailbox to steal mail from the mailbox. As shown in FIGS. 1 0D-10G, the portion of the field of view that· is shown in the second stream changes (e.g., the cropping • area • pans, tilts, and/or zooms) to follow the motion activity with which region of interest 1004 is associated.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to adjust ROI as per' Van Hoof et al in the method of Siminoff since it allows to track a changing region of interest (para [0161]-[0164], Van Hoof et al).
Siminoff as modified by Van Hoof et al fail to disclose adjusting a position of one or more adjustable nodes.
Chae discloses: adjusting a position of one or more adjustable nodes (para [0082]-[0084] "FIG. 9 illustrates nodes generated at locations corresponding to those of targets. The node display 180 may use an average of coordinates of targets 152 as reference coordinates representing the targets 152 in an image 125. Since the coordinates of the targets 152 are (-80, -5), (-40, 10), (20, 10), (60, 10) and (75, -30), the average coordinates are (7, -1) obtained by taking the averages of the X-axis coordinates and the Y-axis coordinates, respectively. The node
display 180 calculates relative coordinates of the targets 152 with respect to the average coordinates (7, -1). The relative coordinates of the targets 152 with respect to the average coordinates (7, -1) are calculated to be (-87, -4), (-47, 11 ), (13, 11 ), (53, 11) and (68, -29). The node display 180 generates nodes 182 having the relative coordinates as their coordinate values by using the average coordinates as a reference point 181 of the nodes 182. As can be seen by comparing the nodes 182-generated by the node display 180 and the targets 152, the nodes 182 are arranged in the same manner as the targets 152. The nodes 182 generated by the node display 180 may be overlaid on the image 125 or displayed in a window 126 independent of the image 125 on a display panel 127 of the display 120. When the nodes 182 are displayed in the independent window 126, the reference point 1,81 of the nodes 182 may be located at the average coordinates, so that the locations of the nodes 182 in the independent window 126 are the same as the locations of the targets 152 in the image 125.").
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to use resize ROI by adjusting nodes as per Chae in the method of Siminoff as modified by Van Hoof et al since it allows to adjust ROI 'flexibly by simply dragging/moving the nodes in any directions (figs. 9-11, para [0082]-[0084], Chae).
Regarding Claim 3: Chae further discloses: wherein adjusting the position of the one or more adjustable nodes comprises dragging the one or more adjustable nodes on the display (figs. 9-11, para [0082]-(0084] "FIG. 9 illustrates nodes generated at locations corresponding to those of targets. The node display 180 may use an average of coordinates of targets 152 as reference coordinates representing the targets 152 in an image 125. Since the coordinates of the targets 152 are (-80, -5), (-40, 10), (20, 10), (60, 10) and (75, -30), the average coordinates are (7, -1) obtained by taking the averages of the X-axis coordinates and th1:1 Y-axis coordinates, respectively. The node display 180 calculates relative coordinates of the targets 152 with respect to the average coordinates (7, -1). The relative coordinates of the targets 152 with respect to the average coordinates (7, -1) are calculated to be (-87, -4), (-47, 11), (13, 11), (53, 11) and (68, -29). The node display 180 generates nodes 182 having the relative coordinates as their coordinate values by using the average coordinates as a reference point 181 of the nodes 182. As can be seen by comparing the nodes 182 generated by the node display 180 and the targets 152, the nodes 182 are arranged in the same manner as the targets 152. The nodes 182 generated by the node display 180 may be overlaid on the image 125 or displayed in a window 126 independent of the image 125 on a display panel 127 of the display 120. When the nodes 182 are displayed in the independent window 126, the reference point 181 of the nodes 182 may be located at the average coordinates, so that the locations of the nodes 182 in the independent window 126 are the same as the locations of the targets 152 in the image 125.").
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff in view of Van Hoof et al in further in view of Chae, and in further in view of Miller et al, US Pub. 2016/0178593. The teachings of Siminoff, Van Hoof et al, and Chae have been discussed above.
Chae further discloses: further comprising translating a user defined location of the adjustable nodes (para (0053)-[0055] "The target selection command includes an area division command and an area selection command. The area division command is a command to divide a displayed image into a plurality of areas. The area selection command is a command to select at least one of the areas. The area division command may be generated by displaying a boundary line for dividing an image on the image. When the input interface 130 is configured as a touch screen, the user may display the boundary line for dividing the image by directly touching the touch screen. Alternatively, when the input interface 130 is configured by a mouse, the user may display the boundary line for dividing the image by simultaneously clicking and dragging the mouse. The area selection command may be generated by selecting at least one of areas into which an image has been divided by the area division command. When the input interface 130 is configured as a touch screen, the user may select a desired area from the areas by touching the desired area. When the input interface 130 is configured as a mouse, the user may select a desired area from the areas by clicking on the desired area.")into specific regions or pixel areas of an image sensor portion of the camera system (photographing device control signal to control the photographing device 12 to track the target, para (0093)-[0094] "Referring back to FIG. 8, the control signal generator 170 generates a photographing device control signal to control the photographing device 12 to track the targets. Here, the control signal generator 170 may generate the photographing device control signal to control the photographing device 12 to track the targets by using the coordinates of the targets in the-image or the coordinates of the nodes. When the coordinates of the nodes are used, if a node farthest from the center point moves away from the center point while the reference point of the nodes does not move, the control signal generator 170 may generate the photographing device control signal to control the photographing device 12 to zoom out. Alternatively, if the node farthest from the center point approaches the center point while the reference point of the nodes does not move, the control signal generator 170 may generate the photographing device control signal to control the photographing device 12 to zooms in. Alternatively, if the reference point of the nodes moves, the control signal generator 170 may generate the photographing device control signal to control the photographing device 12 to pan or tilt. The control signal generation 170 may also generate the photographing device control signal in similar manner by using the coordinates of the targets.").
Siminoff, Van Hoof et al, and Chae, fail to disclose: storing the specific regions or pixel areas at the camera system, at a remote _computing resource, or both.
Miller et al disclose storing the specific regions or pixel areas at the camera system,
at a remote computing resource (para (0087) "In some embodiments, one or more ROls may be defined, at least in part, by user input, for example, or may be specified at manufacture. In other embodiments, one or more ROls may be defined, at least in part, through historical profiling of scene 130 to determine areas most susceptible to phase transitions of water for particular set of environmental conditions. In further embodiments, one or more ROls may be defined, at least in part, by operation of one or more pattern recognition routines to detect a particular surface or surface characteristic, motion of an object within scene 130, and/or one or more combinations of environmental conditions (e.g., type of precipitation, orientation relative to the sun), for example. In some embodiments, ROls may be defined by any combination of the above. Extracted ROls may tie stored separately in memory 113, for example, or may be stored within their originating images as pixels with an additional identifier segregating them from other pixels and other ROls."), or both.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to store ROI as per Miller et al in the ,method of Siminoff as modified by Van Hoof et al and Chae since it allows to access the previously stored multiple ROls for reference purposes (para (0087], Miller et al).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument that the prior art (Lemberger et al, 2021/0209881) fails to disclose “an auto-secure operation”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The new prior art (Siminoff 2018/0308328) render the claims obvious. The prior art disclose discloses an audio/video (A/V) recording and communication device 100, located near the entrance to a structure (not shown), such as a dwelling, a business, a storage facility, where in various embodiments, a smart-home hub application 2412 may configure the processor 2408 to receive sensor data from the sensors 2214 and/or the automation devices 2216. For example, the sensor data may include a current state (e.g., opened/closed for door and window sensors, motion detected for motion sensors, living room lights on/off for a lighting automation system, etc.) of each of the sensors 2214 and/or the automation devices 2216. In some examples, the sensor data may be received in response to sensor triggers. The sensor triggers may be a door opening/closing, a window opening/closing, lights being turned on/off, blinds being opened/closed, etc. As such, the sensor data may include the current state of the sensors 2214 and/or the automation devices 2216 as well as any updates to the current state based on sensor triggers (para. 0334), but fails to specifically disclose sending a command to close the movable barrier (door) in response to a person being detected in the area outside the movable barrier. It would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to modify the system of Siminoff to include sending a command to open the movable barrier (door) when a person detected is verified and to send an additional command to close the door the person is detected leaving the facility. Such modification would provide automatic access and ensure the facility is always secured. The applicant further detecting a person entering the field of view of the camera system from the inside, that is, the time-out being active for a person who is known to prevent being lockout unintentionally, such limitation is not in the claim. The applicant’s argument is more comprehensive than the claim’s language. No official notice was taken to establish the obviousness, the prior art teaches user sensor data to trigger closing/opening of the door, to employ the detection of a person to execute such command would have been obvious. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876