DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Agiwal (US 20240155630 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal discloses:
1. A wireless communication apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (paragraph 30) configured to control to perform data communication when communication is performed with another wireless communication apparatus (fig. 5 555), the data communication selectively using a multiple-cell group (paragraph 41), the multiple-cell group being selected when communication with the other wireless communication apparatus in a non-communication mode is established and being able to perform data communication allowed even in the non-communication mode (paragraph 345 keep UE in RRC_INACTIVE state, per paragraph 10 RRC inactive includes SDT).
Regarding claim 2, Agiwal discloses:
2. The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to notify the other wireless communication apparatus of identification information that enables simultaneous identification on the wireless communication apparatus and the other wireless communication apparatus (fig. 5 510 paragraph 328 RNTI), when the wireless communication apparatus establishes communication with the other wireless communication apparatus in a non-communication mode (paragraph 345 RRC inactive paragraph 348 small data transmission)
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal discloses:
4. A wireless communication apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (paragraph 30) configured to control to perform data communication when communication is performed with another wireless communication apparatus, under control from the other wireless communication apparatus, (fig. 5 555), the data communication selectively using a multiple-cell group (paragraph 41), the multiple-cell group being selected when communication with the other wireless communication apparatus is established in a non-communication mode and being able to perform data communication allowed even in the non-communication mode (paragraph 345 keep UE in RRC_INACTIVE state, per paragraph 10 RRC inactive includes SDT).
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal discloses:
5. The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor circuitry is notified of identification information that enables simultaneous identification on the wireless communication apparatus and the other wireless communication apparatus by the other wireless communication apparatus (fig. 5 510 paragraph 328 RNTI), when the wireless communication apparatus in a non-communication mode establishes communication with the other wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 345 RRC inactive paragraph 348 small data transmission)
Regarding claim 6, Agiwal discloses:
6. The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor circuitry notifies the other wireless communication apparatus of information indicating that the other wireless communication apparatus is a base station able to be a communication counterpart of the wireless communication apparatus (fig. 5 510), when the wireless communication apparatus in a non-communication mode establishes communication with the other wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 10 SDT while in inactive state).
Regarding claim 8, Agiwal discloses:
8. A wireless communication system comprising: a first wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 41 master node); and a second wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 41 secondary node), wherein the first wireless communication apparatus is further configured to control to perform data communication when communication is carried out with the second wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 41 dual connectivity), the data communication selectively using a multiple-cell group (paragraph 41 master cell group), the multiple-cell group being selected when communication with the second wireless communication apparatus in a non-communication mode is established and being able to perform data communication allowed even in the non-communication mode (paragraph 323, fig. 5 small data transmission after RRC release), and the second wireless communication apparatus is further configured to control to perform data communication when communication is implemented with the first wireless communication apparatus, under control from the first wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 41 master cell group), the data communication selectively using a multiple-cell group (paragraph 41), the multiple-cell group being selected when communication with the first wireless communication apparatus is established in a non-communication mode and being able to perform data communication allowed even in the non-communication mode (paragraph 10 small data transmission after RRC is released and terminal is in RRC inactive state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US 20240155630 A1) in view Kim (US 20240073987 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Agiwal fails to clearly disclose and Kim discloses: 3. The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to acquire a measurement result of a received signal strength in the other wireless communication apparatus (paragraph 260), determines a base station corresponding to the multiple-cell group according to the measurement result (paragraph 260 paragraph 74), and requests identification information to be assigned to the other wireless communication apparatus from the base station (fig. 17), when the wireless communication apparatus establishes communication with the other wireless communication apparatus in a non-communication mode (paragraph 354). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Agiwal by reselecting based on RSSI. The motivation for the combination is improved small data transmission (abstract).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US 20240155630 A1) in view Deogun (US 20210153281 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Agiwal fails to disclose and Deogun discloses: wherein when data communication using a first cell included in the multiple-cell group fails, the processor circuitry performs data communication using a second cell included in the multiple-cell group (fig. 3, paragraph 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Agiwal. The motivation for the combination is improved failure recovery (paragraph 2).
Conclusion
/NATHAN A MITCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627