DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Suenaga (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2015/0130325 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Suenaga discloses a piezoelectric vibration device (e.g., piezoelectric vibrating device) comprising: a frame (e.g., frame body 12) having an elongated shape (See pg. 2, paragraph [0033] and pg. 6, paragraph [0091]); a first vibration plate (e.g., vibrating plate 11) supported by the frame and having an elongated shape elongated in a longitudinal direction of the frame (See pg. 6, paragraph [0094]); and a piezoelectric layer (e.g., piezoelectric element 10) arranged on the first vibration plate (See pg. 2, paragraph [0032]; pg. 5, paragraph [0076]; and pg. 6, paragraph [0091]).
In regards to claim 2, Suenaga discloses the piezoelectric vibration device, wherein the frame includes a first long side portion, a second long side portion opposite the first long side portion (See pg. 6, paragraph [0094]), a first short side portion connecting a first end of the first long side portion and a first end of the second long side portion, and a second short side portion facing the first short side portion and connecting a second end of the first long side portion and a second end of the second long side portion, and wherein the first vibration plate is supported by at least one of the first short side portion or the second short side portion (See pg. 6, paragraph [0093]).
In regards to claim 3, Suenaga discloses the piezoelectric vibration device, further comprising: a second vibration plate connected to the first vibration plate through a connecting body and configured to vibrate in conjunction with vibration of the first vibration plate (See pg. 5, paragraph [0076]).
In regards to claim 4, Suenaga discloses a speaker unit (e.g., acoustic generating device 20) (See pg. 1, paragraph [0015] and pg. 6, paragraph [0098]) comprising: a piezoelectric vibration device (e.g., piezoelectric vibrating device), wherein the piezoelectric vibration device includes a frame (e.g., frame body 12) having an elongated shape (See pg. 2, paragraph [0033] and pg. 6, paragraph [0091]), a first vibration plate (e.g., vibrating plate 11) supported by the frame and having an elongated shape elongated in a longitudinal direction of the frame (See pg. 6, paragraph [0094]), and a piezoelectric layer (e.g., piezoelectric element 10) arranged on the first vibration plate (See pg. 2, paragraph [0032]; pg. 5, paragraph [0076]; and pg. 6, paragraph [0091]).
In regards to claim 5, Suenaga discloses the speaker unit according, further comprising: a housing (e.g., housing 30) having an elongated cylindrical shape and accommodating the piezoelectric vibration device, wherein the housing includes a first opening, and a second opening, wherein the housing includes a first space and a second space that are separated by the piezoelectric vibration device, wherein the first opening communicates with the first space, and wherein the second opening communicates with the second space (See pg. 6, paragraph [0098]).
In regards to claim 6, Suenaga discloses an earphone (e.g., electronic apparatus 50) (See pg. 6-7, paragraph [0099] – [0100]) comprising a speaker unit (e.g., acoustic generating device 20) (See pg. 6, paragraph [0098]) including a piezoelectric vibration device (e.g., piezoelectric vibrating device), the piezoelectric vibration device including a frame (e.g., frame body 12) having an elongated shape (See pg. 2, paragraph [0033] and pg. 6, paragraph [0091]), a first vibration plate (e.g., vibrating plate 11) supported by the frame and having an elongated shape elongated in a longitudinal direction of the frame (See pg. 6, paragraph [0094]), and a piezoelectric layer arranged on the first vibration plate (See pg. 2, paragraph [0032]; pg. 5, paragraph [0076]; and pg. 6, paragraph [0091]).
In regards to claim 7, Suenaga discloses the earphone according, wherein the speaker unit includes a housing having an elongated cylindrical shape and accommodating the piezoelectric vibration device, wherein the housing has a first opening and a second opening, wherein the housing includes a first space and a second space that are separated by the piezoelectric vibration device, wherein the first opening communicates with the first space, and wherein the second opening communicates with the second space (See pg. 6, paragraph [0098]).
In regards to claim 8, Suenaga discloses the earphone according, wherein the speaker unit includes a housing having an elongated cylindrical shape and accommodating the piezoelectric vibration device (See pg. 6, paragraph [0098]), and wherein a long side portion of the piezoelectric vibration device or a longitudinal direction of the housing is directed in a depth direction of an external auditory canal of an ear of a user (See pg. 6-7, paragraph [0100]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamauchi et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2007/0228893 A1) teach a piezoelectric sounding body.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693