DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lamb (US 2023/0360515) OR Dawes et al (US 2022/0141048) and (if necessary) further in view of Foisy et al (US 2012/0139718) OR Cohn et al (US 2021/0383675) and further in view of Kubler et al (US 2011/0007733).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A dialer capture communicator configured to communicate with a network access device for a local area network at a premises and a control device of a premises security system for the premises, the dialer capture communicator comprising: an RJ31X telephone jack; at least one processor; and at least one memory storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
perform a handshake procedure with the control device using a simulated dial tone via a telephone line connection and the RJ31X telephone jack to mimic a telephone connection to a telephone network;
receive an analog signal from the control device, the analog signal including tone-based event data that indicates a control device event associated with the premises security system; transmit, to the control device, a first acknowledgment message acknowledging the analog signal being received;
translate the tone-based event data into a digital event message compliant with a DC-09 protocol, the digital message indicating the control device event;
wirelessly transmit the digital message to the network access device for transmission of the digital message to a remote server; and receive, from the network access device, a second acknowledgement message indicating that the remote server received the digital message. (Claim 1 is rejected in the same manner as claims 3, 5, 6, 8 and 10 in combination).
Claims 3 and 12, Lamb or Dawes teaches a method implemented by dialer capture communicator in communication with a control device of a premises security system, the dialer capture communicator comprising: a wired communication interface; at least one processor; and at least one memory storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
Lamb/Dawes teaches “performing a handshake procedure with the control device via a wired communication interface” (Lamb: If DTMF tones are used to transmit information to remote monitoring facility 108, processor 200 may be configured to provide CID Handshake and Kissoff tone detection and generation, [0043]. Dawes: Security system interface panel through a wired or wireless connection, [0220] so that mobile device 206 can access the security system via “security system mobile Portal”, [0110] ) but “ using a simulated dial tone that mimics a telephone connection to a telephone network”, Kubler teaches, “should the pathway between the two telephones comprise a hardwired connection 5598, the telephones require assistance in, at a minimum, setting up the call. Such setup consists of simulating a connection with the telephone switching network by providing dial tones, busy signals, ring signals, etc., to each telephone. While the voice session is in progress, no assistance is needed and the telephones exchange voice streams over the hardwired link 5598, [0577]”.
receive an analog signal from the control device (Lamb: gateway 102; Dawes: security server 104) via the wired communication interface, the analog signal indicating a control panel event;
receive an analog signal from the control device via the wired communication interface, the analog signal including tone-based event data that indicates a control panel event; (Lamb: When personal communication device 106 receives the alert message from gateway 102, an indication is generated and provided to a user of personal communication device 106, i.e., smartphones, tablet computers, personal digital assistants, wearables, laptop computers, desktop computers, or other devices capable of communicating, via wired or wireless means, [0015-0016, 0019]. Dawes: A security server at a second location is coupled to the security system and receives a first signal from the security system. In response to the first signal, a heartbeat signal is initiated that monitors health of the security system. The security server detects a failure of the heartbeat signal and generates a report and sends the report to a central monitoring station, [0083, 0171] and Kubler: [0568] The access device 5509 also receives the voice stream from the telephone 5563 and begins converting it through an analog to digital conversion process into a sequence of voice packets. As the voice packets are generated, they are routed toward the mobile terminal 5523. Upon receipt of the voice packets, the mobile terminal 5523 queues up the packets then performs a digital to analog conversion process to generate a voice stream. The mobile terminal uses the generated voice stream to reproduce (via a speaker) the voice which originated at the telephone 5525, [0568] and further, “if the incoming call on the line 5605 constitutes a voice packet transmission destined for the telephone 5530, the control processing circuit 5609 and switching circuit 5607 deliver a busy signal onto the line 5603, and deliver a ringing message packet along the line 5605. If the switching circuit 5607 detects a pickup on the line 5603, a connect message packet is delivered onto the line 5605 to the sending device. Thereafter, the voice stream delivered via the phone input line 5603 is converted as described above into a voice packet form for delivery via the switching input line 5606 to the source device. Similarly, the voice packets received along the line 5606 are processed by the conversion circuitry (as described above) and delivered onto the phone input line 5603, [0620]”.
translate the tone-based event data into a digital event message compliant with a DC-09 protocol, the digital message indicating the control panel event; (Both Lamb and Dawes teaches, DC-09 protocol, i.e., Lamb: the message comprises a standardized “alarm code” used extensively by traditional security panels that allow home monitoring by remote monitoring facilities, for example SIA, Radionics, Tunstall, DC-09, Contact ID, SIA DC-03 or SIA 2000 alarm codes, [0029]. Dawes: When sending the heartbeat to the CMS, the protocol used for the heartbeat can be the Security Industry Association (SIA) DC-09 and DC-10 protocol (also known as FIBRO) transmitter heartbeat or analogous message types in other alarm reporting protocols, [0176]; Kubler: HELLO messages are used to communicate NET and premises LAN status messages, [0247]; The access device 5509 also receives the voice stream from the telephone 5563 and begins converting it through an analog to digital conversion process into a sequence of voice packets. As the voice packets are generated, they are routed toward the mobile terminal 5523. Upon receipt of the voice packets, the mobile terminal 5523 queues up the packets then performs a digital to analog conversion process to generate a voice stream. The mobile terminal uses the generated voice stream to reproduce (via a speaker) the voice which originated at the telephone 5525, [0568] and further, “if the incoming call on the line 5605 constitutes a voice packet transmission destined for the telephone 5530, the control processing circuit 5609 and switching circuit 5607 deliver a busy signal onto the line 5603, and deliver a ringing message packet along the line 5605. If the switching circuit 5607 detects a pickup on the line 5603, a connect message packet is delivered onto the line 5605 to the sending device. Thereafter, the voice stream delivered via the phone input line 5603 is converted as described above into a voice packet form for delivery via the switching input line 5606 to the source device. Similarly, the voice packets received along the line 5606 are processed by the conversion circuitry (as described above) and delivered onto the phone input line 5603, [0620] and where the remote site 5561 located some distance away from the premises 5501, [0558-0559] for remote experts for service, [0524] ”; and
cause transmission of the digital message to a remote server;
Lamb: processor 200 generates a message for transmission to a remote monitoring facility 108, informing remote monitoring facility 108 of an occurrence of an event at premises 116, at block 320, [0039];
Dawes: enabling users to remotely see live video and/or pictures and control home devices via their personal web portal or webpage, mobile phone, and/or other remote client device. Users can also receive notifications via email or text message when happenings occur, or do not occur, in their home, [0084]; The system of an embodiment includes a touchscreen with a configurable software user interface and/or a gateway device (e.g., iHub) that couples or connects to a premise security panel through a wired or wireless connection, and a remote server that provides access to content and information from the premises devices to a user when they are remote from the home., [0220].
Kubler: HELLO messages are used to communicate NET and premises LAN status messages, [0247]; The access device 5509 also receives the voice stream from the telephone 5563 and begins converting it through an analog to digital conversion process into a sequence of voice packets. As the voice packets are generated, they are routed toward the mobile terminal 5523. Upon receipt of the voice packets, the mobile terminal 5523 queues up the packets then performs a digital to analog conversion process to generate a voice stream. The mobile terminal uses the generated voice stream to reproduce (via a speaker) the voice which originated at the telephone 5525, [0568] and further, “if the incoming call on the line 5605 constitutes a voice packet transmission destined for the telephone 5530, the control processing circuit 5609 and switching circuit 5607 deliver a busy signal onto the line 5603, and deliver a ringing message packet along the line 5605. If the switching circuit 5607 detects a pickup on the line 5603, a connect message packet is delivered onto the line 5605 to the sending device. Thereafter, the voice stream delivered via the phone input line 5603 is converted as described above into a voice packet form for delivery via the switching input line 5606 to the source device. Similarly, the voice packets received along the line 5606 are processed by the conversion circuitry (as described above) and delivered onto the phone input line 5603, [0620] and where the remote site 5561 located some distance away from the premises 5501, [0558-0559] for remote experts for service, [0524] ”.
Regarding “analog signal”. Here examiner wishes to make a clarification regarding analog signal… Lamb teaches signals as electric(al) signal. As is well known in the art, electric(al) signal can either be analog or digital which Lamb does not specify. It is obvious that a minor modification in Lamb would clarify that. Same analysis applicable to Dawes.
To support this obviousness, Foisy, in the same field of analogous field of invention, i.e., security system, affirms that “the electrical signals may be analog or digital signals”, [0023-0024]). Similarly, Cohn teaches “Communication Processor/ATA 430 can process the analog signals received on Line (d) in a manner appropriate for transmission via cellular interface 450, if cellular telephone connectivity is desired, [0023]). Examiner further notices that Kubler also teaches the audio signal form (i.e., analog form), [0651, 0612, 0605].
In providing Foisy OR Cohn examiner by no means implies, suggests or insinuates that Lamb or Dawes does not teach the required feature of the current claims. It is just to specify the detailed clarification.
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to slightly modify Lamb’s teaching with a clarification of language use as shown in Foisy or Cohn to avoid any kind of confusion when carry out the method of the invention and also to include the teaching of Kubler to support voice and data communication within a premises with greater security.
Claims 2, 9 and 18, wherein the digital message comprises a time of occurrence corresponding to a time the dialer capture communicator received the analog signal. (Lamb: … time/date information pertaining to received alarm signals, etc., [0022]; a time that the event occurred, [0039]; Dawes: Such integration enables advanced security capabilities such as the ability for CMS personnel to view photos taken at the time a burglary alarm was triggered, [0107]).
Claims 5 and 14, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to transmit, to the control device, a first acknowledgment message acknowledging the receiving of the analog signal. (Lamb: [0015-0016, 0019] in the independent claim).
Claims 6-7 and15-16, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to wirelessly transmit the digital message to a network access device for transmission of the digital message to the remote server, (see the independent claims above); wherein the wireless transmission is a Wi-Fi transmission. (Dawes: The touchscreen supports broadband and/or WAN wireless connectivity. In this embodiment, the touchscreen incorporates an IP broadband connection (e.g., WIFI radio, Ethernet port, etc.), and/or a cellular radio (e.g., GPRS/GSM, CDMA, WiMax, etc.), [0220, 0273, 0275]).
Claims 8 and 17, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from a network access device, a second acknowledgement message indicating that the remote server received the digital message. (Lamb: Fig. 3, block 326: remote monitoring facility 108 may transmit an acknowledgement message to personal communication device 106, indicating that the signal had been successfully received, and perhaps other information, [0045]).
Claims 10 and 19, wherein the wired communication interface comprises a RJ31X telephone jack. (Cohn: see Figs. 3-4 for the RJ31X jack, [0017-0019]).
Claims 11 and 20, wherein the control panel event comprises at least one of: a periodic timer test; a low battery indication; a power failure indication (Dawes: power interruption, [0164]) ; a change in state of the premises security system; or an alarm event. (Lamb: false alarm, [0018]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2/12/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691