Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20220152507A1) and Mao (EP2456160A1).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches a method comprising: receiving a position value for a feature within a rendered entity over a network, wherein a latency within the network varies (He; ¶0029, describes that “all position information cannot be transmitted to the clients in each frame” and “there is also a delay and an error in data transmission” and, ¶0037, the synchronization interval is not strictly fixed (varies). This teaches receiving a position value for a rendered entity feature over a network with varying latency) updating the position value for the feature (He; ¶0041, describes the client executes the correction policy to move the target object from the second position to the first position. This teaches updating the the position value for the feature) by retrieving a heuristic time difference value from a plurality of heuristic time difference values that correspond to variances within the latency of the network (He; ¶0037, states “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted according to an existing estimated server time when server information is received” and, ¶0038, “The farther the object…the greater the time interval for sending data…the greater the update time window period”. The client maintains time window values for each object that vary based on that object’s network situation/condition. ¶0056, describes logicServerTime is “a time generated by the server according to a current network delay situation, and can reflect a network transmission delay situation.” The client retrieves a time difference value from the multiple values that each correspond to a different network delay condition. This teaches retrieving a heuristic time difference value from a plurality of heuristic time difference values that correspond to variances withing the latency of the network.) determining an extrapolated value using the heuristic time difference value (¶0093-0096, describes acquiring “a maximum displacement [S1] of the target object within the update time window period” according to the first speed, first time difference (t), and maximum acceleration calculated using:
. The client calculates a displacement using the time difference value. This teaches determining an extrapolated value using the heuristic time difference value.) modifying the position value with the extrapolated value to generate an updated position value for the feature (¶0041, describes the client executes the correction policy during the update time window period so the target object moves from the second position to the first position. The extrapolated displacement is applied to the existing position to produce a corrected position. This teaches modifying the position value with the extrapolated value to generate an updated position value for the feature.)
However, He does not explicitly disclose the position value of the feature is for a virtual reality environment and transmitting the updated position value for the feature within the network, wherein the updated position value enhances smoothness of updating a position of the rendered entity in the virtual reality environment.
Mao teaches for a virtual reality environment (Mao; ¶0002, states “Network game is one of Virtual Reality (VR) application technique”) and transmitting the updated position value for the feature within the network, wherein the updated position value enhances smoothness of updating a position of the rendered entity in the virtual reality environment (¶0012, describes “a time that the network game client transmits a second data packet to the network game server”, the client transmits updated game-state information to the server within the network to synchronize the game-state (synchronized game-state information enhances smoothness). This teaches transmitting the updated position value within the network wherein the updated position value enhances smoothness of updating a position of the rendered entity in the virtual reality environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the position-correction method of He with the client-server transmission of Mao to maintain a synchronized state between client and server. The motivation for such a combination would have been to improve user experience by enhancing smoothness.
Regarding claim 10, He teaches a method comprising: receiving a position value for a feature, wherein a sampling rate for the position value varies (As previously discussed in claim 1, He; ¶0029, describes receiving a position value and, ¶0037, describes “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted according to an existing estimated server time when server information is received” and, ¶0038, “The farther the object… the greater the time interval for sending data…the greater the update time window period”. The client receives position values from the server at a rate that varies for each object based on transmission conditions. This teaches receiving a position value for a feature wherein a sampling rate for the position value varies.) updating the position value for the feature (He; ¶0041, describes the client executes the correction policy to move the target object from the second position to the first position. This teaches updating the position value for the feature.) by retrieving a heuristic time difference value from a buffer of a plurality of heuristic difference time values (He; ¶0037-0038, describe the client maintains and retrieves time window values, for each object, varying based on that object’s network transmission conditions. ¶0056, describes “describes logicServerTime is “a time generated by the server according to a current network delay situation, and can reflect a network transmission delay situation.” The client retrieves a time difference value from the multiple stored values. This teaches retrieving a heuristic time difference value from a buffer of a plurality of heuristic difference time values.) determining an extrapolated value using the heuristic time difference value (¶0093-0096, describes acquiring “a maximum displacement [S1] of the target object within the update time window period” according to the first speed, first time difference (t), and maximum acceleration calculated using:
. The client calculates a displacement using the time difference value. This teaches determining an extrapolated value using the heuristic time difference value.) modifying the position value with the extrapolated value to generate an updated position value for the feature (¶0041, describes the client executes the correction policy during the update time window period so the target object moves from the second position to the first position. The extrapolated displacement is applied to the existing position to produce a corrected position. This teaches modifying the position value with the extrapolated value to generate an updated position value for the feature.)
However, He does not explicitly disclose the position value of the feature is for a virtual reality environment and transmitting the updated position value for the feature for use in the virtual reality environment.
Mao teaches for a virtual reality environment (Mao; ¶0002, states “Network game is one of Virtual Reality (VR) application technique”) and transmitting the updated position value for the feature for use in the virtual reality environment (Mao; ¶0012, describes “a time that the network game client transmits a second data packet to the network game server”, the client transmits updated game-state information to the server within the network to synchronize the game-state (synchronized game-state information enhances smoothness). This teaches transmitting the updated position value for use in the virtual reality environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the position-correction method of He with the client-server transmission of Mao to maintain a synchronized state between client and server. The motivation for such a combination would have been to improve user experience by enhancing smoothness.
Claim 17, has similar limitations as of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, except claim 17 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions for performing operations”. He; ¶0009, describes a computer device with a processor and memory and, “the processor being configured to execute the program instruction stored in the memory”.
Regarding claim 12, He in view of Mao teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the feature having the updated position value is within a rendered image or entity (He; ¶0029, describes the NPC continues to move within the client’s rendered game display between server updates, the target object whose position value is updated is a feature within a rendered entity. This teaches the feature having the updated position value being within a rendered image or entity.)
Regarding claim 13, He in view of Mao teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the position value is received over a network (He; ¶0029, describes the client receives position data transmitted from the server, over a network; the position value for the object is received over a network. This teaches the position value being received over a network.)
Regarding claim 14, He in view of Mao teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the network is subject to the latency (He; ¶0029, describes “there is also a delay and an error in data transmission”. The network the position values are received is subject to latency. This teaches the network being subject to latency.)
Regarding claim 15, He in view of Mao teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising
generating an actual time difference value for each of the plurality of heuristic time difference values by determining a time difference between two host position packets for the respective heuristic time difference values (He; ¶0037, states, “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted according to an existing estimated server time when server information is received”. The client measures the time difference between successive packets (carrying position) received from the server for each target object. This teaches generating an actual time difference value for each of the plurality of heuristic time difference values by determining a time difference between two host position packets for the respective heuristic time difference values) wherein the time difference is determined by receiving the two host position packets (He; ¶0029, describes the client receives position data transmitted from the server over a network and, ¶0037, that “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted” when server information is received. This teaches determining the time difference by retrieving the two host position packets.) calculating a period of time between when a first host position packet of the two host position packets is received and when a second host position packet of the two host position packets is received ((He; ¶0037, describes that “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted” when server information is received and the update time window period is “is a time interval for interaction between the client and a server.” The client calculates the period of time between retrieval of successive packets carrying position data from the network. This teaches calculating a period of time between when a first host position packet is received and when a second host position packet is received.)
Claim 19, has similar limitations as of claim 15, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, He in view of Mao teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising generating an actual time difference value for each of the plurality of heuristic time difference values by determining a time difference between two host position packets for the respective heuristic time difference values (He; ¶0037, states, “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted according to an existing estimated server time when server information is received”. The client measures the time difference between successive packets (carrying position) received from the server for each target object. This teaches generating an actual time difference value for each of the plurality of heuristic time difference values by determining a time difference between two host position packets for the respective heuristic time difference values.) determining a total time difference value based on the actual difference values of the plurality of time values (He; ¶0058; describes determining idealServerTime from SmoothServerTime, realDeltaTime, and logicServerTime. The client combines multiple actual time difference values into a single time value. This teaches determining a total time difference value based on the actual difference values of the plurality of time values.) wherein the heuristic time difference value is based on the total time difference value and a number of the plurality of heuristic time difference values (He; ¶0058, describes determining idealServerTime from SmoothServerTime, realDeltaTime, and logicServerTime. The client derives the heuristic time difference value from both the aggregated total time value and one or more of the stored time difference values. This teaches the heuristic time difference value being based on the total time difference value and a number of the plurality of heuristic time difference values.)
Claim 20, has similar limitations as of claim 16, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 16.
Claims 2-9, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20220152507A1), Mao (EP2456160A1), and Skaljak (US20220051093A1).
Regarding claim 2, He in view of Mao teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising generating the heuristic time difference value and storing a plurality of heuristic time difference values (He; ¶0037-0038, describes the client maintains and retrieves time difference values for each object corresponding to variances within the latency of the network, which teaches generating and storing a plurality of heuristic time difference values.)
However, He in view of Mao fails to teach, but Skaljak teaches using a circular buffer (Skaljak; ¶0059, states “GPU 104 writes data to a ring buffer (also referred to as a cyclic buffer, circular buffer, circular queue, etc.) and GPU 106 reads data from said ring buffer.” A circular buffer used to write and read a plurality of data values in real-time graphics processing. This teaches generating and storing a plurality of values using a circular buffer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by He in view of Mao with the circular buffer storage structure of Skaljak to maintain a fixed size buffer. The benefit of such a combination would have been efficient generation and retrieval of the time difference values.
Regarding claim 3, He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising generating an actual time difference value for each of the plurality of heuristic time difference values by determining a time difference between two host position packets for the respective heuristic time difference values (He; ¶0037, states, “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted according to an existing estimated server time when server information is received”. The client measures the time difference between successive packets (carrying position) received from the server for each target object. This teaches generating an actual time difference value for each of the plurality of heuristic time difference values by determining a time difference between two host position packets for the respective heuristic time difference values).
Regarding claim 4, He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the time difference is determined by retrieving the two host position packets from the network (He; ¶0029, describes the client receives position data transmitted from the server over a network and, ¶0037, that “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted” when server information is received. This teaches determining the time difference by retrieving the two host position packets from the network.)
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising calculating a period of time between when a first host position packet of the two host position packets is retrieved from the network and when a second host position packet of the two host position packets is retrieved from the network (He; ¶0037, describes that “an interval between data received by each target object can be counted” when server information is received and the update time window period is “is a time interval for interaction between the client and a server.” The client calculates the period of time between retrieval of successive packets carrying position data from the network. This teaches calculating a period of time between when a first host position packet is retrieved from the network and when a second host position packet is retrieved from the network.)
Regarding claim 6 He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising determining a total time difference value based on the actual difference values of the plurality of time values (He; ¶0058; describes determining idealServerTime from SmoothServerTime, realDeltaTime, and logicServerTime. The client combines multiple actual time difference values into a single time value. This teaches determining a total time difference value based on the actual difference values of the plurality of time values.)
Regarding claim 7, He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the heuristic time difference value is based on the total time difference value and a number of the plurality of heuristic time difference values (As previously discussed in claim 6, He; ¶0058, describes determining idealServerTime from SmoothServerTime, realDeltaTime, and logicServerTime. The client derives the heuristic time difference value from both the aggregated total time value and one or more of the stored time difference values. This teaches the heuristic time difference value being based on the total time difference value and a number of the plurality of heuristic time difference values.)
Regarding claim 8, He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the total time difference value varies over a period of time (He; ¶0065, describes that SmoothServerTime is continuously recalculated each update using an algorithm that includes idealServerTime, logicServerTime, and SmoothRate. ¶0062-0063, describes adjusting smoothRate when the smooth server time needs to be adjusted, the aggregated total time difference value is continuously updated as network conditions change. This teaches the total time difference value varying over a period of time.)
Regarding claim 9, He in view of Mao and Skaljak teaches the method of claim 2. Skaljak further teaches replacing the heuristic time difference value within the circular buffer with a new heuristic time difference value (As previously discussed in claim 2, Skaljak; ¶0059, describes writing data to a ring buffer and reading data from the ring buffer. Continuous write operations to the circular buffer replace existing stored values with new ones as the buffer cycles. In the combination, this teaches replacing the heuristic time difference value within the circular buffer with a new heuristic time difference value.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by He in view of Mao with the circular buffer storage structure of Skaljak to maintain a fixed size buffer. The benefit of such a combination would have been efficient generation and retrieval of the time difference values.
Claim 11, has similar limitations as of claim 9, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Claim 18, has similar limitations as of claim 9, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Conclusion
/DAN F KALHORI/Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618