DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/05/2024 w is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9-10 recites the limitation "each inner anchor structure". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 7,872,394 to Gritters, et al. (hereinafter Gritters) in view of CN 110031966 to Chen (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Gritters discloses a microelectromechanical (MEMS) mirror comprising: a frame (substantially square frame outlining comb drives 14035, movable structure 14010, etc. Fig. 14) that defines a first rotation axis (up-down relative to Fig. 14) and a second rotation axis (left-right relative to Fig. 14) perpendicular to each other, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis forming four quadrants (Fig. 14); a plurality of support beams (torsional members 14030, Fig. 14) attached to an outside of the frame and extending away from the frame along the first rotation axis (Fig. 14); a plurality of fixing points (points of intersection between combs 14035 and frame, Fig. 14) on an inside of the frame, wherein one pair of the plurality of fixing points are on one side of the frame (see annotated image below, Fig. 14), and another pair of the plurality of fixing points are on an opposite side of the frame (see annotated image below, Fig. 14); a reflector (movable body 14010 in Fig. 14 shown in cross-section as 110 in Fig. 3A-3B; col. 3, ll. 33-43) with a reflective coating (embodiment of movable body 14010 in Fig. 14 shown in cross-section as mirror 105 in Fig. 3A-3B; col. 3, ll. 33-43) suspended the inside of the frame, the reflector including four connection points at an edge, and each of the four connection points (see annotated image below, Fig. 14) is in one of the four quadrants; a plurality of suspension springs (torsional members 14025, Fig. 14) extending from the inside of the frame to the opposite sides of the reflector in a direction of the second rotation axis; a plurality of actuators (comb drives 14035, Fig. 14) in the inside of the frame; a double device layer (e.g. lower layer 180, intermediate layer 182, upper layer 184, Fig. 2, 3A-3B) that defines a horizontal plane of the mirror and a vertical direction that is perpendicular to the horizontal plane (Figs. 3A-3B), the double device layer including a first device layer and a second device layer (e.g. lower layer 180, intermediate layer 182, upper layer 184, and insulator layers 205, 210, Fig. 2, 3A-3B), with the first device layer and the second device layer being stacked above each other in the vertical direction; a static support structure in the second device layer adjacent to each of the plurality of support beams (static comb drive portions of comb drives 14040, Figs. 2, 3A-3B, 14); and an electrostatic actuator (comb drives 14040, Fig. 14) at each of the plurality of support beams (col. 6, ln. 37-col. 10, ln. 52 & col. 16, ll. 29-58).
The teachings above rely on two disclosed species in Gritters, though a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the cross-sectional view and layer layout of Gritters Fig. 2-3 to be applicable to a different form factor of the overall structure in Fig. 14.
Gritters discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a plurality of piezoelectric actuators in the inside of the frame.
Chen discloses a plurality of piezoelectric actuators in the inside of the frame (“U-shaped folding beam 32 of each beam on a plurality of piezoelectric driving block 34 and the U-shaped folding beam 32 fixing the free end of the first connecting end 36 and the second connecting end 38”, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide piezoelectric drives as taught by Chen with the system as disclosed by Gritters. The motivation would have been to provide a MEMS deflector with sufficient drive efficiency, stability, and control (see Chen disclosure).
Regarding claim 2, Gritters discloses each electrostatic actuator comprises a plurality of static comb fingers on the static support structure alternating with a plurality of moving comb fingers on a corresponding support beam in the first device layer (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 3, Gritters discloses the plurality of support beams comprise elongated edges that are parallel to the first rotation axis, and the plurality of moving comb fingers is along the elongated edges of each support beam in the horizontal plane (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 4, Gritters discloses an additional plurality of static comb fingers is located in the first device layer (Figs. 2-3 & 14).
Regarding claim 5, Gritters discloses an outer anchor point (unlabeled ends of torsional beams 14030, Fig. 14) at an end of each support beam of the plurality of support beams.
Regarding claim 7, Gritters discloses an inner anchor structure inside the frame at each side from the second rotation axis (at intersection with torsion members 14025, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 8, Gritters discloses a torsion bar (torsion members 14025, Fig. 14) extending from each of the opposite sides of the inside of the frame to each of the inner anchor structure.
Regarding claim 9, Gritters discloses each inner anchor structure comprises an anchoring beam aligned with the horizontal plane, and one anchor point at each end of the anchoring beam, and a torsion bar is attached to the anchoring beam (torsion members 14025, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 10, Gritters discloses each inner anchor structure comprises an inner anchor point, and a torsion bar is attached to each of the anchor points (torsion members 14025, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Gritters discloses the frame is located in the first device layer (Figs. 2-3, 14).
Regarding claim 12, Gritters discloses the frame is located in the first device layer and in the second device layer (movable body is free to tilting out of default plane, Figs. 2-3, 14).
Regarding claim 13, Gritters discloses the actuators are located in the first device layer (Figs. 2-3, 14).
Gritters discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a plurality of piezoelectric actuators.
Chen discloses a plurality of piezoelectric actuators (“U-shaped folding beam 32 of each beam on a plurality of piezoelectric driving block 34 and the U-shaped folding beam 32 fixing the free end of the first connecting end 36 and the second connecting end 38”, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide piezoelectric drives as taught by Chen with the system as disclosed by Gritters. The motivation would have been to provide a MEMS deflector with sufficient drive efficiency, stability, and control (see Chen disclosure).
Regarding claim 14, Gritters discloses the reflective coating is attached to the second device layer of the reflector (Figs. 2-3, 14).
Regarding claim 15, Gritters discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the reflective coating is attached to the first device layer of the reflector.
Chen discloses the reflective coating is attached to the first device layer of the reflector (reflection layer 16 on a top layer MEMS, Fig. 1A).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reflector on a first MEMS layer as taught by Chen with the system as disclosed by Gritters. The motivation would have been to provide a MEMS deflector with sufficient drive efficiency, stability, and control (see Chen disclosure).
Regarding claim 16, Gritters discloses each of the plurality of fixing points is in one of the four quadrants (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 17, Gritters discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a plurality of piezoelectric actuators.
Chen discloses each piezoelectric actuator (piezoelectric driving block 34, Fig. 1A) comprises a piezoelectric layer deposited on an actuation spring (st5ructure 32, Fig. 1A).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide piezoelectric drives as taught by Chen with the system as disclosed by Gritters. The motivation would have been to provide a MEMS deflector with sufficient drive efficiency, stability, and control (see Chen disclosure).
Regarding claim 18, Gritters discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a plurality of piezoelectric actuators.
Chen discloses each piezoelectric actuator extends from one of the plurality of fixing points to one of the plurality of connection points of the reflector (“U-shaped folding beam 32 of each beam on a plurality of piezoelectric driving block 34 and the U-shaped folding beam 32 fixing the free end of the first connecting end 36 and the second connecting end 38”, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide piezoelectric drives as taught by Chen with the system as disclosed by Gritters. The motivation would have been to provide a MEMS deflector with sufficient drive efficiency, stability, and control (see Chen disclosure).
Regarding claim 19, Gritters discloses the frame, the support beams, the reflector and the piezoelectric actuator are in the double device layer (Figs. 2-3, 14).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 7,872,394 to Gritters, et al. (hereinafter Gritters) in view of CN 110031966 to Chen (hereinafter Chen) as applied to Claim 5, further in view of US Pat. 6,349,597 to Folkmer, et al. (hereinafter Folkmer).
Gritters discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a torsion bar that extends from each of the respective outer anchor points to a nearest end of the support beam.
Folkmer discloses a torsion bar (spring beams 504b, Fig. 5) that extends from each of the respective outer anchor points (anchoring 504a, Fig. 5) to a nearest end of the support beam (Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to torsion bars and anchor points as taught by Folkmer with the system as disclosed by Gritters. The motivation would have been to provide variable rigidity and relative motion in the structure to control mirror movement.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872