DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duan et al. (“V2I Based Environment Perception for Autonomous Vehicles at Intersections”).
Regarding claim 1, Duan et al. (“V2I Based Environment Perception for Autonomous Vehicles at Intersections”) discloses:
A position estimating device comprising:
a processor configured to:
detect a first position of a vehicle traveling a predetermined road section at a first time, based on a fixed sensor installed on or near the predetermined road section (Figure 1 and 10-13, pages 4, -10, 11, an road-side unit (RSU) communicates a global map with the autonomous vehicle at a first time used to identify the position of the vehicle),
estimate a second position of the vehicle at a second time, based on the first position of the vehicle at the first time, the second time being a time when a vehicle-captured image representing a predetermined feature is generated by a vehicle-mounted camera mounted on the vehicle (Figures 1 and 10-13, pages 4, 9-10, 11, the autonomous vehicle uses a vehicle camera and LiDAR captured images at a second time along with the information from the roadside sensor terminal at a first time to detect objects), and
estimate a real-space position of the predetermined feature, based on the second position (Figures 1 and 10-13, pages 4, 9-10, 11, the detected objects can be located in the point cloud)
Regarding claim 4, Duan additionally discloses:
the processor is further configured to detect the predetermined feature from the vehicle-captured image generated at the second time (Figures 1 and 10-13, pages 4, 9-10, 11, the autonomous vehicle uses a vehicle camera and LiDAR captured images at a second time along with the information from the roadside sensor terminal at a first time to detect objects), wherein
the processor estimates the real-space position of the predetermined feature, based on the position of the predetermined feature in the vehicle-captured image and the second position (Figures 1 and 10-13, pages 4, 9-10, 11, the detected objects can be located in the point cloud)
Regarding claim 5, the structural elements of device claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 5. Thus, claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The computer readable medium is explicitly taught as evidenced by the use of the disclosed computing components, including Baidu Apollo autonomous driving developer kit and Velodyne LiDAR executing the disclosed processes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan in view of Kim et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0176212).
Regarding claim 2, Duan discloses the device of the parent claim (claim 1).
Duan et al. additionally discloses:
wherein the fixed sensor is a surveillance camera that generates surveillance images representing the predetermined road section at predetermined intervals, the processor detects the position of the vehicle from each of the surveillance images generated at different times (pages 10-11, the RSU captures real-time images of the intersection; “real-time images” implies a stream of images taken at a predetermined interval of whatever the refresh rate of the system is), and
the processor estimates the second position, using the position of the vehicle detected from a surveillance image generated at a time closest to the second time of the surveillance images as the first position (page 11, the system uses the real-time global intersection perception information, in coordination with the vehicle camera/LiDar, to expand the automatic driving vehicle perception range and accuracy; the use of “real-time” information refers to using the most recently received data that is closest in time to the current moment)
Even assuming arguendo that Duan et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fixed sensor is a surveillance camera that generates surveillance images representing the predetermined road section at predetermined intervals
Kim et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0176212) discloses:
wherein the fixed sensor is a surveillance camera that generates surveillance images representing the predetermined road section at predetermined intervals, the processor detects the position of the vehicle from each of the surveillance images generated at different times (paragraphs [0149], [0162]-[0166], the RSU can capture images at particular interviews for tracking the VRU (see also paragraph [0141] regarding vehicle) and the surrounding environment)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kim et al. with the system of Duan et al. such that the fixed sensor was a surveillance camera that generated surveillance images representing the predetermined road section at predetermined intervals as described in Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of having “position…be measured/corrected more accurately using an image of an RSU” (paragraph [0045] of the Kim reference).
Regarding claim 3, Duan discloses the device of the parent claim (claim 1).
Duan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein depending on the difference between the first position and a first uncorrected position of the vehicle measured at the first time by a satellite positioning device mounted on the vehicle, the processor corrects a second uncorrected position of the vehicle measured at the second time by the satellite positioning device, thereby estimating the second position.
Kim discloses:
wherein depending on the difference between the first position and a first uncorrected position of the vehicle measured at the first time by a satellite positioning device mounted on the vehicle (paragraph [0148], position can be received by satellite, GNSS/GPS), the processor corrects a second uncorrected position of the vehicle measured at the second time by the satellite positioning device, thereby estimating the second position (paragraphs [0162], [0171], the vehicle positioning is corrected by way of the satellite positioning)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kim et al. with the system of Duan et al. such that the system corrects a second uncorrected position of the vehicle measured at the second time by the satellite positioning device as described in Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of having “position…be measured/corrected more accurately using an image of an RSU” (paragraph [0045] of the Kim reference).
Conclusion
/JOHN R WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682