DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application filed on April 07, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 05, 2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to share prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, the limitations “a part of the covered portion on a side of the exposed portion is inserted, and two or more second tubular portions branching and extending from an end part of the first tubular portion on a side of the exposed portion,” are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
The term “a side of the exposed portion” lacks antecedent basis when introduced second time in above limitation.
Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite.
Rejections of claims 2-4, claims 2-4 are rejected by the same reason applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Eshima et al. (US20200262364, herein referred to as Eshima).
Rejection of claim 1, Eshima (figures 1-5) discloses a wire harness comprising:
a cable including a plurality of insulated electrical wires (a cable including insulated electric wires 2-3) and an outer sheath (sheath 4);
a cover member of an integrated type made of resin molded member (the molded member 5 made of urethane resin, paragraph 0057); and
a fixing member that fixes the cover member to the cable (a fixing member 7 fixes 5 to the cable),
wherein the cable includes a covered portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires are covered with the outer sheath (see the cable includes a covered portion at 4a in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires 2-3 are covered with the outer sheath 4) , and
an exposed portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires are not covered with the outer sheath (an exposed portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires 2-3 are not covered with the outer sheath 4), the cover member includes a first tubular portion into which a part of the covered portion on a side of the exposed portion is inserted (see first tubular portion at 5a in figure 2), and
two or more second tubular portions branching and extending from an end part of the first tubular portion on the side of the exposed portion ((see the plurality of guiding out portions (53, 54)) ,
two or more of the plurality of insulated electrical wires present in the exposed portion are inserted into the two or more second tubular portions, respectively (see figure 2 and figures 3A-3C),
an inner peripheral surface of the first tubular portion is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the covered portion inserted into the first tubular portion (see figure 2 wherein the first tubular portion at 5a or 4a is contact with the covered portion at 4a (sheath 4 of cable)) , and
the fixing member is (a) a band attached to an outer peripheral side of the first tubular portion (7 is band attached to an outer peripheral side of the first tubular portion, see figure 1) , (b) a tape wound around an outer peripheral surface of a specific part straddling the first tubular portion and the covered portion not inserted into the first tubular portion, (c) a shrink tube covering the specific part, or (d) a mold resin molded body covering the specific part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable Eshima in view of Sukuma et al. (US20130126232, herein referred to as Sukuma).
Rejection of claim 2-4, Eshima (figures 1-5) discloses a wire harness according to claim 1, but fails to disclose two or more protrusion parts extending along a circumferential direction of the first tubular portion on an outer peripheral surface of the first tubular portion (claim 2). wherein an outer peripheral surface of at least one of the first tubular portion or the second tubular portion has a shape in which protrusion parts extending in a circumferential direction and recess parts extending in the circumferential direction are alternately arranged in an axial direction (claims 3-4).
Sukuma discloses two or more protrusion parts extending along a circumferential direction of the first tubular portion on an outer peripheral surface of the first tubular portion. And an outer peripheral surface of at least one of the first tubular portion or the second tubular portion has a shape in which protrusion parts extending in a circumferential direction and recess parts extending in the circumferential direction are alternately arranged in an axial direction (see alternate protrusions and recesses on an outer peripheral surface of first tubular portion at 30 and second tubular portion at 11 or at 12 in figure 1 of Sukuma ).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Eshima have arrangement of tubular portions as taught by Sukuma by doing so it increase surface roughness so that user keeps a firm hold of or grasp tightly; additionally, these tubular portions are flexible, allowing routing around corners and through tight spaces without damage and reducing the risk of kinking or breaking, which is advantageous to protect cable or wire. This is particularly beneficial in vehicle.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various protection members.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847