DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on April 15, 2026 is being acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A and Species 1 encomssing claims 6-7 and 9-10 in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 7-9 are further withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter (note that subject matter discloses in claims 7-9 are non-elected subject matter of species 2 (figure 7) and species 3 (figure 8)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Kotaro et al. (US20180019041, herein referred to as Kotaro) or Hagi et al. (US20180248345, herein referred to as Hagi), and further in view of Noriyuki et al. (JP2019208325, herein referred to as Noriyuki).
Rejection of claim 6, Kotaro (figure 3) or Hagi (figure 1) discloses a wire harness comprising:
a cable including a plurality of insulated electrical wires and an outer sheath (a cable including insulated wires 12 and 13 and sheath 5 in figure 1 of Kotaro; or a cable including insulated electric wires 10 and sheath 11 in figure 1 of Hagi);
a cover member of an integrated type made of resin molded member (40 in Kotaro; or 16 in Hagi ); and
a fixing member that fixes the cover member to the cable (a fixing member 8 fixes the cover member to the cable in Kotaro; or a fixing member 22 fixes the cover member to the cable in Hagi),
wherein the cable includes a covered portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires are covered with the outer sheath (see the figure 3 wherein the cable includes a covered portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires 12-13 are covered with the outer sheath 5 in Kotaro; or see the figure 1 wherein the cable includes a covered portion from in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires 10 are covered with the outer sheath 11 in Kotaro ) , and
an exposed portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires are not covered with the outer sheath (see the figure 3 wherein an exposed portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires 12-13 are not covered with the outer sheath 5 In Kotaro; or see the figure 1 wherein an exposed portion in which the plurality of insulated electrical wires 10 are not covered with the outer sheath 11 in Hagi ), the cover member includes a first tubular portion into which a part of the covered portion on a side of the exposed portion is inserted (see first tubular portion at area A in figure 3 of Kotaro; see a first tubular portion 17 in figure 1 of Hagi), and
two or more second tubular portions branching and extending from an end part of the first tubular portion on the side of the exposed portion (see the plurality of guiding out portions 42 and 43 of Kotaro; or the plurality of guiding out portions 18 of Hagi) ,
two or more of the plurality of insulated electrical wires present in the exposed portion are inserted into the two or more second tubular portions, respectively (see figure 3 of Kotaro; or see figure 1 of Hagi ),
an inner peripheral surface of the first tubular portion is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the covered portion inserted into the first tubular portion (see figure 3 of Kotaro; see at 17 in figure 1 of Hagi) , and
Kotaro or Hagi fails to disclose the fixing member is a shrink tube covering a specific part straddling the first tubular portion and the covered portion not inserted into the first tubular portion.
Noriyuki discloses the fixing member is a shrink tube covering a specific part straddling the first tubular portion and the covered portion not inserted into the first tubular portion (see figure 5 wherein The fixing heat-shrinkable tube 7 covers a part of the branch portion outer 5 (the end on the extending side of the sheath 33) and the periphery of the sheath 33 extending from the tube 6.).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Kotaro or Hagi have arrangement of fixing portion as heat shrinkable tube as taught by Noriyuki doing so it increase covering area between so that keeps them together with a firm hold of or grasp tightly as well as It ensure waterproofness at the end of tubular portion.
Rejection of claim 10, Kotaro or Hagi in view of Noriyuki disclose the wire harness according to claim 6, wherein gaps are provided between inner peripheral surfaces of the two or more second tubular portions and the two or more of the plurality of insulated electrical wires inserted into the two or more second tubular portions, respectively (see figure 3 of Kotaro; or See figure 1 of Hagi).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various protection members.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847