DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character “130” on figs 1, 3 are not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nooner (US 8,870,587).
Regarding claim 1, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses, a protection device 500 for an electrical connection including an electrical component 11, 21 and cables 10, 20, the protection device comprising: a first housing member 510 having a main body having a length, the first housing member comprising a main channel 40, 45, a first cable channel CH1, and a second cable channel CH2 that together extend longitudinally the length of the main body; and
a substantially identical second housing member 520 (lower half) configured to be mated and secured to the first housing member 510 via one or more locking mechanisms 524 configured to be received by or engaged with one or more corresponding apertures and/or recesses 514, wherein, when the first housing member 510 and the second housing member 520 are mated together, the aligned main channels of the first and second housing members form an internal cavity C sized and configured to hold the electrical component therein and the aligned first and second cable channels are sized and configured to hold a respective cable connected to the electrical component 11, 21 therein.
Regarding claim 3, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses, the one or more locking mechanisms extend upwardly from the main body of each housing member and reside proximate to an outer edge of the main body, and wherein the one or more corresponding apertures and/or recesses reside proximate to an opposing outer edge of the main body of each housing member and are configured to receive and/or engage with a corresponding locking mechanism of the other housing member when mated together.
Regarding claim 4, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses, each locking mechanism comprises a cantilevered latch or hook that is configured to deflect and engage with the respective aperture or recess when the housing members are pressed together.
Regarding claim 5, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses the first housing member and the second housing member are coupled together via a living hinge (see column 8, line 11-12).
Regarding claim 6, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses at least one of the housing members comprise one or more pockets or channels Rim (see column 8, lines 13-23), the one or more pockets or channels configured to hold mastic or other sealing material 512, 522 therein.
Regarding claim 10, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses one or more additional housing members 512, 522, 526 configured to mechanically secure the cables to each end of the electrical component.
Regarding claim 11, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses an electrical connection assembly, the electrical connection assembly comprising: an in-line electrical component 11, 21 having a pair of cables 10, 20 connected to and extending outwardly from opposing ends of the electrical component; and a protection device 500 surrounding the in-line electrical component11, 12 and creating a seal with the pair of cables (through 512, 522), wherein the protection device 500 comprises: a first housing member 510 having a main body having a length, the first housing member 510 comprising a main channel C, a first cable channel CH1, and a second cable channel CH2 that together extend longitudinally the length of the main body; and an identical second housing member 520 configured to be mated and secured to the first housing member 510 via one or more locking mechanisms 514, 524 configured to be received by or engaged with one or more corresponding apertures and/or recesses, wherein the first housing member 510 and the second housing member 520 are mated together such that the electrical component is held within the aligned main channels of the first and second housing members and each cable is respectively held within the aligned first and second cable channels (see figs. 5A, 5B).
Regarding claim 12, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses the main channel C of each housing member resides between the first and second cable channels.
Regarding claim 13, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses the one or more locking mechanisms 514, 524 extend upwardly from the main body of each housing member and reside proximate to an outer edge of the main body, and wherein the one or more corresponding apertures and/or recesses reside proximate to an opposing outer edge of the main body of each housing member and are configured to receive and/or engage with a corresponding locking mechanism of the other housing member when mated together.
Regarding claim 14, Nooner, fig. 5A, 5B discloses at least one of the housing members comprise one or more pockets or channels (Rim, see column 8, lines 13-23), the one or more pockets or channels configured to hold mastic or other sealing material 512, 522 therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nooner in view of Fitzgerald (US 5,844,171).
Regarding claim 2, Nooner discloses all the claimed limitations except for the first and/or second cable channels of each housing member comprise one or more rib members.
Fitzgerald, figs. 1-4 discloses first and/or second cable channels 30a, 30b, 32a, 32b of each housing member comprise one or more rib 30a, 30b, 44a, 44b, 46a, 46b,48a, 48b members.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and/or second cable channels of each housing member comprise one or more rib members as taught by Fitzgerald, in order to have better gripping and strain relief to the cables.
Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nooner in view of Liang et al. (US 2008/0266765) hereafter Liang.
Regarding claim 7, Nooner discloses all the claim limitations except for the main body of at least one of the housing members further comprises one or more drain holes extending into the respective main channel.
Liang, fig. 7, discloses a main body 11f of at least one of the housing members 11 further comprises drain hole 4 (fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the main body of at least one of the housing members further comprises one or more drain holes extending into the respective main channel as taught by Liang in order to have proper heat ventilation in addition to use as drainage for removal of heat and/or water and any other liquid.
Regarding claim 8, Nooner discloses all the claimed limitations except for at least one of the housing members comprises an additional aperture or recess that is configured to receive a sensor therein, the sensor being configured to collect information.
As discussed above, in claim 7, Nooner as modified by Liang discloses a hole 4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an additional aperture or recess, for appropriate purpose, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In instant case, a hole in the main boy is capable to use for to receive or inserted any sensor or wire.
It is to be noted that sensor is not positively claimed.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nooner in view of McDermott (US 4,695,926).
Regarding claim 9, Nooner discloses all the claimed limitations except for the device comprises a heat shrink layer applied to the electrical component.
McDermott, abstract discloses, a single heat shrink layer is wrapped around and encloses the electronic component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a heat shrink layer applied to the electrical component as taught by McDermott, in order to protect the electronic component and associated wiring and accessories.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not disclose or teaches a protection device for an electrical connection including
an electrical component and cables, the protection device comprising: a pair of pinch rings, each pinch ring having an annular main body with an opening extending therethrough that is sized and configured to receive a respective grommet, wherein each pinch ring is integral with or coupled to a respective threaded sections of a housing; and a pair of securing members, each securing member having a main body with at least a portion of an inner surface of a main body having a threaded section configured to engage a respective threaded section of the housing, wherein a bore of the housing is sized and configured to hold an electrical component therein and the pinch rings and grommets are configured to create a seal between the protection device and the cables connected to the electrical component as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Claims 17-20 depends on claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTOL 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831