Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 – 10, 12, 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODERA (US 2025/0153768 A1) (herein after Kodera) in view of KIM et al. (US 2017/0166241 A1) (herein after Kim).
Regarding Claim 1, Kodera discloses, 1. A method for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis (Fig. 1, 2, ¶ 41 process of calculating and outputting a hysteresis correction amount for correcting the base target torque), the method comprising: receiving, from a torque sensor (Fig. 1, torque sensor 80), a first torque signal corresponding to a torque applied to a handwheel associated with a steering system (Fig. 1, steering wheel 12); — calculating a product (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 multiplication process M76, multiplying the output value of the proportional gain M72 by the proportional variable gain Gp) of the full hysteresis value (Fig. 14, ¶ 47 proportional variable gain Gp “Gp comprises target steering torque Th*, Th* is the full hysteresis value”) and the shift value (Fig. 14, ¶ torque deviation ΔTh); generating a modified torque signal (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 output value of the proportional element M70) based on the first torque signal and the product of the full hysteresis value and the shift value; and determining a torque assist value (Fig. 14, ¶ 144 torque that assists in torque applied to the steering wheel 12) based on the modified torque signal.
Kodera fails to disclose, — determining a full hysteresis value associated with the torque sensor; determining a shift value based on the full hysteresis value; —
In analogous art, Kim discloses, — determining a full hysteresis value (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 hysteresis, right direction error map, left direction error map) associated with the torque sensor (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 torque of the motor); determining a shift value (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 hysteresis characteristic; difference between the steering signal and the motor angle) based on the full hysteresis value; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera by combining the method performed by the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis comprising: determining a full hysteresis value associated with a torque sensor; determining a shift value based on the full hysteresis value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 5, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fails to disclose, 5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored calibrated value.
Kim further discloses, 5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored calibrated value (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 storage unit may store, a lookup table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored calibrated value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 6, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fail to disclose, 6. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored learned value.
Kim further discloses, 6. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored learned value (Fig. 1, ¶ 30 storage unit (not illustrated) for storing a compensation amount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored learned value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 7, Kodera and Kim disclose the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Kim further discloses, 7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored measured value (Fig. 1, ¶ 30 – 32 a storage unit (not illustrated) for storing a compensation amount, measurement characteristic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes identifying a corresponding stored measured value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 8, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fails to disclose, 8. The method of claim 7, wherein the measured value is measured during a manufacturing process.
Kim further discloses, 8. The method of claim 7, wherein the measured value is measured during a manufacturing process (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 a lookup table, and the lookup table may be designed in advance, according).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the measured value is measured during a manufacturing process; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 9, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fails to disclose, 9. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the shift value based on the full hysteresis value includes comparing the first torque signal to a stored previous right torque value and a store previous left torque value.
Kim further discloses, 9. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the shift value based on the full hysteresis value includes comparing the first torque signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 judge) to a stored previous right torque value and a store previous left torque value (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 judge whether the steering direction is left or right).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein determining the shift value based on the full hysteresis value includes comparing the first torque signal to a stored previous right torque value and a store previous left torque value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 10, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kodera further discloses, 10. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the modified torque signal based on the first torque signal (Fig. 14, ¶ 116 derivative element M80) and the product of the full hysteresis value and the shift value (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 output value of the proportional element M70) includes subtracting the product of the full hysteresis value and the shift value from the first torque signal (Fig. 14, ¶ 116 subtracting the output value of the derivative element M80 from the output value of the proportional element M70).
Regarding Claim 12, Kodera discloses, 12. A system (Fig. 1, steering system 10) for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis (Fig. 1, 2, ¶ 41 process of calculating and outputting a hysteresis correction amount for correcting the base target torque), the system comprising: a processor (Fig. 1, control device 70); and a memory (Fig. 1, storage device 74) including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: receive, from a torque sensor (Fig. 1, torque sensor 80), a first torque signal corresponding to a torque applied to a handwheel associated with a steering system (Fig. 1, steering wheel 12); — calculate a product (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 multiplication process M76, multiplying the output value of the proportional gain M72 by the proportional variable gain Gp) of the full hysteresis value (Fig. 14, ¶ 47 proportional variable gain Gp “Gp comprises target steering torque Th*, Th* is the full hysteresis value”) and the shift value (Fig. 14, ¶ torque deviation ΔTh); generate a modified torque signal (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 output value of the proportional element M70) based on the first torque signal and the product of the full hysteresis value and the shift value; and determine a torque assist value (Fig. 14, ¶ 144 torque that assists in torque applied to the steering wheel 12) based on the modified torque signal.
Kodera fails to disclose, — determine a full hysteresis value associated with the torque sensor; determine a shift value based on the full hysteresis value; —
In analogous art, Kim discloses, — determine a full hysteresis value (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 hysteresis, right direction error map, left direction error map) associated with the torque sensor (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 torque of the motor); determine a shift value (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 hysteresis characteristic; difference between the steering signal and the motor angle) based on the full hysteresis value; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis that is caused to: determine a full hysteresis value associated with a torque sensor; determine a shift value based on the full hysteresis value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 16, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fails to disclose, 16. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by identifying a corresponding stored calibrated value.
Kim further discloses, 16. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by identifying a corresponding stored calibrated value (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 storage unit may store, a lookup table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by identifying a corresponding stored calibrated value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 17, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Kodera and Kim fail to disclose,17. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value includes by a corresponding stored learned value.
Kim further discloses, 17. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value includes by a corresponding stored learned value (Fig. 1, ¶ 30 storage unit (not illustrated) for storing a compensation amount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value includes by a corresponding stored learned value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 18, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fails to disclose, 18. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by identifying a corresponding stored measured value.
Kim further discloses, 18. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by identifying a corresponding stored measured value (Fig. 1, ¶ 30 – 32 a storage unit (not illustrated) for storing a compensation amount, measurement characteristic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by identifying a corresponding stored measured value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 19, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Kodera fails to disclose,19. The system of claim 18, wherein the measured value is measured during a manufacturing process.
Kim further discloses, 19. The system of claim 18, wherein the measured value is measured during a manufacturing process (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 a lookup table, and the lookup table may be designed in advance, according).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the measured value is measured during a manufacturing process; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Regarding Claim 20, Kodera discloses, 20. An apparatus (Fig. 1, steering system 10) for compensating for signal hysteresis (Fig. 1, 2, ¶ 41 process of calculating and outputting a hysteresis correction amount for correcting the base target torque), the apparatus comprising: a controller (Fig. 1, control device 70) configured to: receive a first signal from a sensor (Fig. 1, torque sensor 80); — calculate a product (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 multiplication process M76, multiplying the output value of the proportional gain M72 by the proportional variable gain Gp) of the full hysteresis value (Fig. 14, ¶ 47 proportional variable gain Gp “Gp comprises target steering torque Th*, Th* is the full hysteresis value”) and the shift value (Fig. 14, ¶ torque deviation ΔTh); generate a modified signal (Fig. 14, ¶ 49 output value of the proportional element M70) by subtracting the product of the full hysteresis value and the shift value from the first signal; determine a control value (Fig. 14, ¶ 144 torque that assists in torque applied to the steering wheel 12) based on the modified signal; and apply the control value to at least one actuator (Fig. 1, steering motor 60).
Kodera fails to disclose, — determine a full hysteresis value associated with the sensor; determine a shift value based on the full hysteresis value; —
In analogous art, Kim discloses, — determine a full hysteresis value (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 hysteresis, right direction error map, left direction error map) associated with the sensor (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 torque of the motor); determine a shift value (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 hysteresis characteristic; difference between the steering signal and the motor angle) based on the full hysteresis value; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera by combining the apparatus for compensating for signal hysteresis disclosed by Kodera with an apparatus for compensating for signal hysteresis that is caused to: determine a full hysteresis value associated with a sensor; determine a shift value based on the full hysteresis value; disclosed by Kim for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by synchronizing a steering angle and motor angle to improve the degree of freedom and accomplish target performance. [Kodera: ¶ 43: and synchronize the steering angle signal and the motor angle signal with each other, thereby improving the degree of freedom in development of MDPS (Motor-Driven Power Steering) logic and accomplishing required target performance].
Claims 2 – 4, 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODERA (US 2025/0153768 A1) (herein after Kodera) in view of KIM et al. (US 2017/0166241 A1) (herein after Kim), and further in view of TSUBAKI et al. (US 2025/0229830 A1) (herein after Tsubaki).
Regarding Claim 2, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kodera in view of Kim fail to disclose, 2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes determining a difference between a second torque signal and a third torque signal.
In analogous art, Tsubaki discloses, 2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes determining a difference (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 – 35 hysteresis characteristic depending on a change in the turning angle target value; different compensation values) between a second torque signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the right) and a third torque signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the left).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein determining the full hysteresis value includes determining a difference between a second torque signal and a third torque signal; disclosed by Tsubaki for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle [Tsubaki: ¶ 6: provide a control device of a vehicle steering system capable of obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle].
Regarding Claim 3, Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki disclose the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Kodera and Kim fail to disclose, 3. The method of claim 2, wherein the second torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full right torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque.
Tsubaki further discloses, 3. The method of claim 2, wherein the second torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full right torque sensor stop (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the right) and returned to 0 torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki by combining the method performed by the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the second torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full right torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque; disclosed by Tsubaki for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle. [Tsubaki: ¶ 6: provide a control device of a vehicle steering system capable of obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle].
Regarding Claim 4, Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki disclose the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Kodera and Kim fail to disclose, 4. The method of claim 2, wherein the third torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full left torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque.
Tsubaki further discloses, 4. The method of claim 2, wherein the third torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full left torque sensor stop (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the left) and returned to 0 torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki by combining the method performed by the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the third torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full left torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque; disclosed by Tsubaki for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle [Tsubaki: ¶ 6: provide a control device of a vehicle steering system capable of obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle].
Regarding Claim 13, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Kodera in view of Kim fail to disclose, 13. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by determining a difference between a second torque signal and a third torque signal.
In analogous art, Tsubaki discloses, 13. The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine the full hysteresis value by determining a difference (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 – 35 hysteresis characteristic depending on a change in the turning angle target value; different compensation values) between a second torque signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the right) and a third torque signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the left).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis that is caused to, determine the full hysteresis value by determining a difference between a second torque signal and a third torque signal.; disclosed by Tsubaki for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle [Tsubaki: ¶ 6: provide a control device of a vehicle steering system capable of obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle].
Regarding Claim 14, Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki disclose the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends on.
Kodera and Kim fail to disclose, 14. The system of claim 13, wherein the second torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full right torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque.
In analogous art, Tsubaki discloses, 14. The system of claim 13, wherein the second torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full right torque sensor stop (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the right) and returned to 0 torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the second torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full right torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque; disclosed by Tsubaki for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle. [Tsubaki: ¶ 6: provide a control device of a vehicle steering system capable of obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle].
Regarding Claim 15, Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki disclose the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends on.
Kodera and Kim fail to disclose, 15. The system of claim 13, wherein the third torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full left torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque.
Tsubaki further discloses, 15. The system of claim 13, wherein the third torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full left torque sensor stop (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 wheel is turned to the left) and returned to 0 torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki by combining the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim in view of Tsubaki with a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the third torque signal corresponds to the torque sensor being actuated to a full left torque sensor stop and returned to 0 torque.; disclosed by Tsubaki for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle. [Tsubaki: ¶ 6: provide a control device of a vehicle steering system capable of obtaining a steering feeling reflecting a situation of a road surface and a state of a vehicle].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODERA (US 2025/0153768 A1) (herein after Kodera) in view of KIM et al. (US 2017/0166241 A1) (herein after Kim), and further in view of KIFUKU (US 2009/0254252 A1) (herein after Kifuku).
Regarding Claim 11, Kodera in view of Kim disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kodera and Kim fail to disclose, 11. The method of claim 1, wherein the shift value includes a value between -0.5 and 0.5.
In analogous art, Kifuku discloses, 11. The method of claim 1, wherein the shift value includes a value between -0.5 and 0.5 (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 fluctuation in the steering torque, is allowed to assume a value up to 0.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodera in view of Kim by combining the method performed the system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis disclosed by Kodera in view of Kim with a method performed by a system for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis, wherein the shift value includes a value between -0.5 and 0.5; disclosed by Kifuku for the benefit of compensating for a torque sensor hysteresis by suppressing the fluctuation in the torque of a motor and a disturbance in the motor in spite of the function of controlling the motor without directly detecting a current of the motor. [Kifuku: ¶ 10 an electric power steering control apparatus capable of sufficiently suppressing the influences of a fluctuation in the torque of a motor and a disturbance in the motor on a driver in spite of the function of controlling the motor without directly detecting a current of the motor].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TODA et al. (US 2017/0066474 A1) teaches, A method for compensating for torque sensor hysteresis (Fig. 7, 2, ¶ 46 provide hysteresis-width adjustment of steering torque in accordance with the vehicle speed).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858