DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 14-15, and 20) in the reply filed on 8/4/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 6-10, 13, 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/25.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0205391 A1 (“Kidani”).
Regarding claim 1, Kidani discloses a video decoding method, comprising: partitioning a current block into a first region and a second region based on a geometric partitioning mode (e.g. see partitioning a current block into two areas of partitioned area A and partitioned area B as shown in at least Fig. 5 based on geometric partitioning mode, paragraphs [0105]-[0114]); determining intra prediction mode candidates for the first region, based on at least one of a most probable mode (MPM) list, intra- prediction modes of one or more pre-reconstructed blocks adjacent to the current block, one or more reference pixels adjacent to the current block, or a third region adjacent to the current block (e.g. see constructing intra prediction mode candidate list, e.g. as shown in Fig. 7, paragraphs [0112]-[0114], [0119], [0130], [0196]-[0197], based on adjacent reference samples or adjacent reference blocks as disclosed in the text and shown in Figs. 8-11); generating an intra prediction block corresponding to the first region based on the intra prediction mode candidates (e.g. see after derivation of intra prediction mode (construction of the intra prediction mode candidate list) is completed, the intra prediction unit may select any one intra prediction mode in the intra prediction mode candidate list for each of the partitioned areas A/B, e.g. see Fig. 5, to be used for intra prediction sample generation, paragraph [0120]); generating an inter prediction block corresponding to the second region (e.g. see inter prediction of partitioned area B as shown in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0105]-[0114]); and generating a prediction block of the current block (e.g. see generating prediction signal for each prediction block as shown in Fig. 3, paragraphs [0089]-[0094]), based on the intra prediction block and the inter prediction block (e.g. see intra/inter-GPM in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0105]-[0114]), wherein determining the intra prediction mode candidates comprises: determining the one or more pre-reconstructed blocks adjacent to the current block based on an angle of a partition boundary between the first region and the second region (e.g. see defining adjacent reference blocks as shown in Fig. 11 based on angle of GPM partition line as shown in Fig. 9, paragraph [0196]; also see paragraphs [0159]-[0161]); and determining the intra prediction mode candidates using intra prediction modes of the one or more pre-reconstructed blocks (e.g. see constructing intra prediction mode candidate list, e.g. as shown in Fig. 7, paragraphs [0112]-[0114], [0119], [0130], [0196]-[0197], based on adjacent reference samples or adjacent reference blocks as disclosed in the text and shown in Figs. 8-11).
Regarding claim 2, Kidani further discloses wherein the first region is an upper left region of the current block, and the second region is a lower right region of the current block (e.g. see partitioning a current block into two areas of partitioned area A and partitioned area B as shown in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0105]-[0114]).
Regarding claims 11-12, 20, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidani in view of US 2022/0394269 A1 (“Cao”).
Regarding claim 4, Kidani discloses wherein generating the intra prediction block corresponding to the first region comprises: generating one or more prediction pixels by applying one or more candidate modes in the list to one or more reference pixels of the third region adjacent to the current block (e.g. see template-based intra mode derivation, e.g. for partitioned area A in Fig. 5, to generate intra prediction for template by using a predetermined intra prediction mode from candidate list for normal intra prediction on adjacent reference sample for template as shown in Fig. 10, paragraphs [0163]-[0165])); calculating variable values based on differences between the one or more prediction pixels and one or more reconstructed pixels of the third region (e.g. see sum of absolute transformed difference SATD, paragraphs [0163]-[0165]); and deriving, based on the variable values, the intra prediction block corresponding to the first region (e.g. see an intra prediction mode in which the SATD is minimum is derived as the intra prediction mode of the TIMD to generate an intra prediction sample, paragraphs [0163]-[0165]).
Although Kidani discloses the one or more candidate modes in the list, it is noted Kidani differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose MPM list. Cao however, teaches MPM list (e.g. see most-probable mode (MPM) list, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0077]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Kidani and Cao before him/her, to modify the Image decoding device, image decoding method, and program of Kidani with the teachings of Cao in order to improve coding efficiency and performance of intra prediction by further enhancing the efficiency of TIMD.
Regarding claim 5, Kidani further discloses wherein the third region is determined based on the current block or the first region (e.g. see adjacent reference sample (hereinafter, a template) of a predetermined line adjacent to the block to be decoded, adjacent reference samples for the template as illustrated in Fig. 10, paragraphs [0163]-[0165]; also see paragraph [0180]).
Regarding claims 14-15, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 8-9 of the Remarks that Kidani fails to disclose “determining the one or more pre-reconstructed blocks adjacent to the current block based on an angle of a partition boundary between the first region and the second region” because paragraphs [0105]-[0108], [0112]-[0113] of Kidani merely discloses that “the intra prediction mode may be determined based on already-decoded neighboring blocks or samples and from the partitioned shape of the GPM or from reference information.” Further, applicant asserts on page 9 that Kidani fails to disclose “determining the intra prediction mode candidates using intra prediction modes of the one or more pre-reconstructed blocks” because paragraphs [0112]-[0113] of Kidani merely discloses that “for the intra prediction additionally applied to the GPM, the intra prediction mode may also be derived based on adjacent reference samples or adjacent reference blocks that are adjacent to the block to be decoded and have been previously decoded.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. At least paragraph [0196] of Kidani discloses to define adjacent reference blocks as shown in Fig. 11 based on angle of GPM partition line as shown in Fig. 9. For example, when the partitioned shape (angleIdx) of the geometric partitioning mode is “0”, the partitioned area A refers to the intra prediction of only the adjacent reference block (B0, B1 and B2 in Fig. 11) adjacent only to the upper portion of the block to be decoded. Further, construction of intra prediction mode candidate list, e.g. in Fig. 7, is based on at least adjacent reference blocks, see paragraphs [0112]-[0114], [0119], [0130], [0196]-[0197]. For at least these reasons, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619