DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 4/5/2024 as been considered by examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 16, 18, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the aromatic compound is selected from the group consisting an aromatic aprotic solvent and a solid aromatic compound … ” in lines 2-3. This should read “the aromatic compound is selected from the group consisting of an aromatic aprotic solvent and a solid aromatic compound … ”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein the mixture of boron cluster anions is selected form the group consisting of … ” in lines 1-2. This should read “wherein the mixture of boron cluster anions is selected from the group consisting of … ”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a cathode selected from the group consisting of an insertion cathode, a conversion cathode, an organic cathode … “ in lines 6-7. This should read “a cathode selected from the group consisting of an insertion cathode, a conversion cathode, and an organic cathode … “.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the aromatic compound is selected from the group consisting an aromatic aprotic solvent and a solid aromatic compound … “ in lines 2-3. This should read the aromatic compound is selected from the group consisting of an aromatic aprotic solvent and a solid aromatic compound …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 115275354, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Xie") in view of Kano et al. (US 2019/0006714, hereinafter "Kano").
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches an electrolyte for an alkali metal ion battery comprising an electrolyte salt and a solvent mixture comprising an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene (“aromatic compound”) [0007]. Xie teaches that the salt may be a lithium salt [0007], which would dissociate into a lithium metal cation (Li+) and a corresponding anion in the electrolyte. Xie is silent regarding the electrolyte comprising a boron cluster anion.
Kano teaches analogous art of a lithium secondary battery comprising positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte containing a nonaqueous solvent and a lithium salt containing a carborane anion (“boron cluster anion”) [Abstract]. Kano teaches that the carborane anion includes boron [0017], and has a clustering structure [0020].
Kano teaches that when a lithium salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte contains a carborane anion, a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) formed on a surface of the negative is thin and homogenous, which prevents the formation of lithium metal dendrites and suppresses a side reaction and swelling of the negative electrode, which improves the discharge capacity and the cycling characteristics of the lithium secondary battery [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by Xie to include a carborane anion as taught by Kano, in order to prevent lithium dendrite formation, suppress side reactions and selling of a negative electrode, and improve discharge capacity and cycling characteristics of the battery comprising the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 2, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Kano further discloses that the carborane anion may be contained in a carborane compound represented by the formula LiCB11X1aX2b, wherein X1 and X2 each independently represent H, F, Cl, or Br, and a and b each independently represent an integer of 0 or more and satisfy a+b=12 [0021], which overlaps the formulas recited for the boron cluster anion in instant claim 2. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)]. For example, when X1 is H, a = 12, and b = 0, the carborane compound would be LiCB11H12, which contains the anion [CB11H12]-, which satisfies one of the formulas recited in instant claim 2. Furthermore, Kano specifically teaches that the carborane compound may be LiCB11H12 [0022].
As described above, Kano teaches that when a lithium salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte contains a carborane anion, a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) formed on a surface of the negative is thin and homogenous, which prevents the formation of lithium metal dendrites and suppresses a side reaction and swelling of the negative electrode, which improves the discharge capacity and the cycling characteristics of the lithium secondary battery [0012]. Kano also teaches that LiCB11H12 has high chemical stability and easy handling [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to include a carborane anion such as [CB11H12]- as taught by Kano, in order to prevent lithium dendrite formation, suppress side reactions and selling of a negative electrode, and improve discharge capacity and cycling characteristics of the battery comprising the electrolyte. Further motivation for doing so would be that a carborane compound comprising [CB11H12]- as taught by Kano has high chemical stability and easy handling.
Regarding claim 3, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Kano further discloses that the carborane anion may be contained in a carborane compound represented by the formula LiCB11X1aX2b, wherein X1 and X2 each independently represent H, F, Cl, or Br, and a and b each independently represent an integer of 0 or more and satisfy a+b=12 [0021], which overlaps the formulas recited for the boron cluster anion in instant claim 3. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)]. For example, when X1 is H, X2 is F, a = 6, and b = 6, the carborane compound would be LiCB11H6F6, which contains the anion [CB11H6F6]-, which satisfies one of the formulas recited in instant claim 3. Furthermore, Kano specifically teaches that the carborane compound may be LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11F12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11Cl12, LiCB11H6Cl6, LiCB11Br12, or LiCB11H6Br6 [0022], which contain the anions [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]-, respectively, all of which satisfy one the formulas recited in instant claim 3.
As described above, Kano teaches that when a lithium salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte contains a carborane anion, a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) formed on a surface of the negative is thin and homogenous, which prevents the formation of lithium metal dendrites and suppresses a side reaction and swelling of the negative electrode, which improves the discharge capacity and the cycling characteristics of the lithium secondary battery [0012]. Kano also teaches that LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11F12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11Cl12, LiCB11H6Cl6, LiCB11Br12, or LiCB11H6Br6 have high chemical stability and easy handling [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to include a carborane anion such as [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]- as taught by Kano, in order to prevent lithium dendrite formation, suppress side reactions and selling of a negative electrode, and improve discharge capacity and cycling characteristics of the battery comprising the electrolyte. Further motivation for doing so would be that the carborane compounds comprising [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]- taught by Kano have high chemical stability and easy handling.
Regarding claim 4, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture of the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent (“at least one additional solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene (“aromatic aprotic compound”) [0007]. The fluorobenzene within the solvent mixture may constitute the claimed “aromatic aprotic solvent”, fluorobenzene being the same material taught and claimed in the instant application for an aromatic aprotic solvent (see subsequent claim 6), wherein if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties [see MPEP 2112.01(II)].
Regarding claim 5, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 4, as described in the rejection of instant claim 4. Xie teaches that the organic solvent may be propylene carbonate (“carbonate solvent”) [0007].
Regarding claim 6, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture of the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent (“at least one additional solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene, or benzene with partial substitution of hydrogen with fluorine (“aromatic aprotic compound”) [0007].
Regarding claim 7, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture of the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene (“aromatic compound”) [0007]. Xie further discloses that a molar ratio of the organic solvent to the co-solvent is 1:(0.1-10) [0014]. In other words, the organic solvent may comprise 9.1 mol% to 91 mol% of a total solvent content, and the co-solvent may comprise 9.1 mol% to 91 mol% of a total solvent content, which overlaps the recited range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Regarding claim 10, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture of the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) [0007]. Xie teaches that the organic solvent comprises propylene carbonate [0007], and that the propylene carbonate may constitute 100 mol% of the organic solvent [0014], meaning that the organic solvent is entirely propylene carbonate. Therefore, the organic solvent is 1 additional solvent.
Regarding claim 11, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Xie teaches that electrolyte may comprise a lithium salt [0007], which would dissociate into a lithium metal cation (Li+) and a corresponding anion in the electrolyte. Xie further discloses that the lithium salt is at least one selected from lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium perchlorate, lithium difluorophosphate, lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium bis(oxalate-borate), and lithium di (oxalate-borate) [0009], meaning that the lithium salt may actually be multiple lithium salts, including an additive salt in addition to the lithium salt which dissociates into lithium cations.
Regarding claim 12, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 11, as described in the rejection of instant claim 11. As described above, Xie discloses that the lithium salt is at least one selected from a list which includes lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide and lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [0009]. Therefore, the additive salt may be selected from one of these.
Regarding claim 13, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 11, as described in the rejection of instant claim 11.
As described above, Kano teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte containing a nonaqueous solvent and a lithium salt containing a carborane anion (“boron cluster anion”) [Abstract]. Kano teaches that the carborane anion includes boron [0017], and has a clustering structure [0020]. Kano teaches that a carborane compound comprising a carborane anion may be added to the nonaqueous electrolyte in an amount of 0.01 mol/L or more, and gives the example of LiCB11H12 (comprising the anion [CB11H12]-] being included in the nonaqueous electrolyte in an amount of 0.05 to 0.7 mol/L [0023]. Kano teaches that the nonaqueous electrolyte may also include a second lithium salt in addition to the carborane compound [0028], such as LiBF4, LiClO4, LiPF6 (lithium hexafluorophosphate), LiAsF6, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, LiSCN, LiCF3SO3, LiCF3CO2, imide salts, and lithium salts containing oxalate complexes as anions [0029]. Kano teaches that the second lithium salt may be added in an amount of 0.1 to 2.0 mol/L to the nonaqueous electrolyte [0028]. For 1 L of nonaqueous electrolyte, the amount of a carborane compound such as LiCB11H12 may range from 0.05 to 0.7 moles (with the moles of the carborane anion of the carborane compound being the same), and the amount of the second lithium salt may range from 0.1 to 2 moles, meaning that the additive salt may range from 13 mol% to 98 mol% of the carborane anion plus second lithium salt total content, which overlaps the recited range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Kano teaches that when the carborane compound is included in the nonaqueous electrolyte in the aforementioned range, the homogeneity of the formed SEI film is further improved, and the formation of dendrites is further readily suppressed [0023]. Kano also teaches that the second lithium salt is added to maintain the concentration of the electrolyte in the nonaqueous electrolyte due to the consumption of the carborane compound in the formation of the SEI film [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to include the additive salt and carborane anion in an amount such that the molar percentage of the additive salt is within the range disclosed by Kano, in order to further improve the homogeneity of the SEI film, further suppress the formation of dendrites, and maintain the concentration of the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 14, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1 comprising the lithium metal cation, the carborane anion, and the solvent mixture, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Xie teaches that the electrolyte may be used in an alkali metal ion battery [0001, 0015].
Regarding claim 15, Xie teaches an electrolyte for an alkali metal ion battery comprising an electrolyte salt and a solvent mixture comprising an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene, or benzene with partial substitution of hydrogen with fluorine (“aromatic aprotic compound/solvent”) [0007]. Xie teaches that the salt may be a lithium salt [0007], which would dissociate into a lithium metal cation (Li+) and a corresponding anion in the electrolyte. Xie is silent regarding the electrolyte comprising a mixture of boron cluster anions.
Kano teaches analogous art of a lithium secondary battery comprising positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte containing a nonaqueous solvent and a lithium salt containing a carborane anion (“boron cluster anion”) [Abstract]. Kano teaches that the carborane anion includes boron [0017], and has a clustering structure [0020]. Kano teaches that a carborane compound containing the carborane anion in the nonaqueous electrolyte may be LiCB11H12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11F12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11Cl12, LiCB11H6Cl6, LiCB11Br12, or LiCB11H6Br6, which contain the anions [CB11H12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]-, respectively, and that the carborane compounds may be used in a combination of two or more thereof (“mixture of boron cluster anions”).
Kano teaches that when a lithium salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte contains carborane anions, a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) formed on a surface of the negative is thin and homogenous, which prevents the formation of lithium metal dendrites and suppresses a side reaction and swelling of the negative electrode, which improves the discharge capacity and the cycling characteristics of the lithium secondary battery [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by Xie to include a mixture of carborane anions as taught by Kano, in order to prevent lithium dendrite formation, suppress side reactions and selling of a negative electrode, and improve discharge capacity and cycling characteristics of the battery comprising the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 16, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 15, as described in the rejection of instant claim 15.
Kano discloses that the carborane anions may be contained in carborane compounds represented by the formula LiCB11X1aX2b, wherein X1 and X2 each independently represent H, F, Cl, or Br, and a and b each independently represent an integer of 0 or more and satisfy a+b=12 [0021], which overlaps the formulas recited for the boron cluster anions in instant claim 16. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)]. As described above, Kano teaches that the carborane compounds containing the carborane anions in the nonaqueous electrolyte may be LiCB11H12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11F12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11Cl12, LiCB11H6Cl6, LiCB11Br12, or LiCB11H6Br6, which contain the anions [CB11H12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]- respectively, all of which satisfy the formulas recited in instant claim 16. Kano teaches that the carborane compounds may be used in a combination of two or more thereof (“mixture of boron cluster anions”).
As described above, Kano teaches that when a lithium salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte contains a carborane anion, a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) formed on a surface of the negative is thin and homogenous, which prevents the formation of lithium metal dendrites and suppresses a side reaction and swelling of the negative electrode, which improves the discharge capacity and the cycling characteristics of the lithium secondary battery [0012]. Kano also teaches that LiCB11H12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11F12, LiCB11H6F6, LiCB11Cl12, LiCB11H6Cl6, LiCB11Br12, or LiCB11H6Br6 have high chemical stability and easy handling [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to include a carborane anion such as [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]- as taught by Kano, in order to prevent lithium dendrite formation, suppress side reactions and selling of a negative electrode, and improve discharge capacity and cycling characteristics of the battery comprising the electrolyte. Further motivation for doing so would be that the carborane compounds comprising [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11F12]-, [CB11H6F6]-, [CB11Cl12]-, [CB11H6Cl6]-, [CB11Br12]- or [CB11H6Br6]- taught by Kano have high chemical stability and easy handling.
Regarding claim 17, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 16, as described in the rejection of instant claim 16. As described in the rejection of instant claim 15 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture of the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) [0007]. Xie teaches that the organic solvent comprises propylene carbonate (“carbonate solvent”) [0007], and that the propylene carbonate may constitute 100 mol% of the organic solvent [0014], meaning that the organic solvent is entirely propylene carbonate. Therefore, the organic solvent is 1 additional solvent.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 115275354) in view of Kano (US 2019/0006714) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al.(US 2006/0078792, hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 8, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture includes an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene (“aromatic compound/solvent”) [0007]. Xie does not specifically teach that the organic solvent is at least one additional aromatic solvent.
Kim teaches analogous art of an electrolyte including a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, and halogenated toluene (“aromatic compound/solvent”) [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Kim teaches that the non-aqueous organic solvent may include an aromatic hydrocarbon-based organic solvent (“at least one additional aromatic solvent”) [0020], such as benzene, fluorobenzene, bromobenzene, chlorobenzene, toluene, xylene, and mesitylene [0043].
Kim teaches that the disclosed electrolyte provides improved safety under overcharge and high-temperature storage condition [Abstract, 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to have the organic solvent be an aromatic hydrocarbon-based organic solvent as taught by Kim, in order to provide improved safety under overcharge and high-temperature storage condition.
Regarding claim 9, modified Xie teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture includes an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) comprising propylene carbonate (“another solvent/carbonate solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene (“aromatic compound/solvent”) [0007]. Xie does not specifically teach that the organic solvent also comprises an additional aromatic aprotic solvent.
Kim teaches analogous art of an electrolyte including a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, and halogenated toluene (“aromatic compound/solvent”) [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Kim teaches that the non-aqueous organic solvent may include at least one selected from the group consisting of cyclic carbonates, such as propylene carbonate, and non-cyclic carbonates [0038-0039]. Kim teaches that the non-aqueous organic solvent may further include an aromatic hydrocarbon-based organic solvent (“aromatic aprotic solvent”) [0020], such as benzene, fluorobenzene, toluene, xylene, and mesitylene [0043]. The benzene, fluorobenzene, toluene, xylene, and mesitylene may constitute the claimed “aromatic aprotic solvent”, these being the same materials taught and claimed in the instant application for an aromatic aprotic solvent (see claim 6), wherein if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties [see MPEP 2112.01(II)].
Kim teaches that the disclosed electrolyte provides improved safety under overcharge and high-temperature storage condition [Abstract, 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to have the organic solvent include a carbonate solvent such as propylene carbonate and an aromatic aprotic hydrocarbon-based organic solvent as taught by Kim, in order to provide improved safety under overcharge and high-temperature storage condition.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 115275354) in view of Kano (US 2019/0006714) and Peled (US 4,844,996, hereinafter "Peled").
Regarding claim 18, Xie teaches an alkali metal ion battery (“electrochemical cell”) including an electrolyte comprising an electrolyte salt and a solvent mixture comprising an organic solvent (“at least one solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene (“aromatic compound”) [0007]. Xie teaches that the salt may be a lithium salt [0007], which would dissociate into a lithium metal cation (Li+) and a corresponding anion in the electrolyte. Xie also teaches that the alkali metal ion battery comprises a positive electrode (“cathode”) and a negative electrode (“anode”) [0015]. Xie teaches that the positive electrode may be a lithium iron phosphate positive electrode, a lithium cobalt oxide positive electrode, a lithium manganese oxide positive electrode, a lithium nickel manganese oxide positive electrode, a lithium-rich manganese-based positive electrode, or a layered ternary positive electrode (“insertion cathode”). Xie teaches that the negative electrode may be a hard carbon negative electrode (“intercalation anode”), a graphite negative electrode (“intercalation anode”), or an alloy negative electrode (“alloy anode”). Xie is silent regarding the electrolyte comprising a boron cluster anion and an anode current collector comprising a reactive metal.
Kano teaches analogous art of a lithium secondary battery comprising positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte containing a nonaqueous solvent and a lithium salt containing a carborane anion (“boron cluster anion”) [Abstract]. Kano teaches that the carborane anion includes boron [0017], and has a clustering structure [0020].
Kano teaches that when a lithium salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte contains a carborane anion, a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) formed on a surface of the negative is thin and homogenous, which prevents the formation of lithium metal dendrites and suppresses a side reaction and swelling of the negative electrode, which improves the discharge capacity and the cycling characteristics of the lithium secondary battery [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte taught by modified Xie to include a carborane anion as taught by Kano, in order to prevent lithium dendrite formation, suppress side reactions and selling of a negative electrode, and improve discharge capacity and cycling characteristics of the battery comprising the electrolyte.
Peled teaches analogous art of a cell comprising an electrolyte with an aprotic solvent in which there is dissolved a lithium salt, an anode, and a cathode [Abstract]. Peled teaches that the cell may also include an anodic current collector (“anode current collector”) made of magnesium (Mg) or calcium (Ca) (“reactive metal”) [col. 2, lines 41-46].
Peled teaches that by using an anodic current collector made of magnesium or calcium, a passivating layer can be formed on the anodic current collector, thus eliminating deposition of metallic lithium into the cathode [col. 2, lines 18-45]. Peled teaches that the formation of the passivating layer may prevent a runaway reaction [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the alkali metal ion battery taught by Xie to include an anodic current collector made of magnesium or calcium as taught by Peled, in order to eliminate deposition of metallic lithium into the cathode and prevent a runaway reaction.
Regarding claim 19, modified Xie teaches the alkali metal ion battery of claim 18, as described in the rejection of instant claim 18. As described in the rejection of instant claim 18 above, Xie teaches that the solvent mixture of the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent (“at least one additional solvent”) and a co-solvent, wherein the co-solvent is fluorobenzene, or benzene with partial substitution of hydrogen with fluorine (“aromatic aprotic compound/solvent”) [0007].
Regarding claim 20, modified Xie teaches the alkali metal ion battery of claim 19, as described in the rejection of instant claim 19. As described above, Xie teaches that the salt may be a lithium salt [0007], which would dissociate into a lithium metal cation (Li+) and a corresponding anion in the electrolyte.
As described above, Peled teaches a cell comprising an electrolyte with an aprotic solvent in which there is dissolved a lithium salt, an anode, and a cathode [Abstract]. Peled teaches that the cell may also include an anodic current collector (“anode current collector”) made of magnesium (Mg) (“reactive metal”) [col. 2, lines 41-46].
Peled teaches that by using an anodic current collector made of magnesium or calcium, a passivating layer can be formed on the anodic current collector, thus eliminating deposition of metallic lithium into the cathode [col. 2, lines 18-45]. Peled teaches that the formation of the passivating layer may prevent a runaway reaction [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the alkali metal ion battery taught by modified Xie to include an anodic current collector made of magnesium as taught by Peled, in order to eliminate deposition of metallic lithium into the cathode and prevent a runaway reaction.
The feature claimed of “Li plating of the Mg anodic current collector exhibiting a lower overpotential for a plating capacity up to 3.5 mAh∙cm−2 compared to Li plating of a Cu anodic current collector under the same conditions” is a functional limitation evaluated for the implicit or explicit structure it provides to the claimed construct [see MPEP 2173.05(g)]. In this case, all of the structure that is necessary to achieve the functionality is recited in the claim. The instant specification discloses that by way of replacing a traditional Cu current collector with a Mg current collector, the functions claimed are achieved [0060 of published application]. Therefore, the functional limitation presented does not add any implicit or explicit structure to the claim and adds nothing further to the claim. All of the structure that is recited in the claim is met by the combination of Xie, Kano, and Peled, and as such, the alkali metal ion battery of modified Xie would intrinsically provide the functionality present in the claim. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference [or references] is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent [see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
Conclusion
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729