Acknowledgements
In response to the Amendment filed 8/25/2026, claims 1, 14-15 are amended. The 112(b) rejection set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170072118 to Makower.
As to claim 1, Makower discloses a method for managing breast milk expression [0203] comprising: providing an expected milk yield over time (figures 30 and 32); expressing milk and measuring the expressed milk yield at a given time [0195; 0197]; comparing the measured milk yield at the given time with the expected milk yield at the given time [0199; 0206]; and generating an alarm if the measured milk yield is lower than the expected yield (claim 7).
As to claim 2, Makower discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the expected milk yield is provided with reference to a baby birth, and a measured milk yield is measured with reference to the baby birth [0199].
As to claim 8, Makower discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is implemented by a software executed by a processor of a smartphone or tablet or computer [0196-0197].
As to claim 9, Makower discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is implemented by a software executed by a processor of a controller of a breast pump [0196-0197].
As to claim 10, Makower discloses the method as defined in claim 8, wherein the software outputs information on the daily yield over time together with a path of expected yield over a time [0198].
As to claim 14, Makower discloses a software comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one programmable processor, cause the at least one programmable processor to provide an expected milk yield over time (figures 30 and 32); express milk and measure the expressed milk yield at a given time [0195; 0197]; compare the measured milk yield at the given time with the expected milk yield at the given time [0199; 0206]; and generate an alarm if the measured milk yield is lower than the expected yield (claim 7).
As to claim 15, Makower discloses a breast pump comprising an aggregate (30) and a controller (52), the controller associated with the programmable processor (1604) that executes the software according to claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 11-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an expected milk yield of the user) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 1 as amended requires “providing an expected milk yield over time; expressing milk and measuring the expressed milk yield at a given time; comparing the measured milk yield at the given time with the expected milk yield at the given time; and generating an alarm if the measured milk yield is lower than the expected yield.” Examiner maintains Makower discloses the limitations as rejected above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841