DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 4/5/2024 is fully considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed 4/5/2024 are accepted.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/13/2026 is entered and fully considered.
Response to Arguments
The 102 rejection is removed in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
New claim 6 requires that the second guide portion is wider than the first guide portion. However, the examiner could not find written support for changing the size of the guide portion (either a first and second portion of the same guide or different guides with different sizes). To the contrary, the specification indicates that the first and second guide portions 511 and 512 continuously mass-produce coated portions at regular intervals [0068], which indicates that they are the same size/width.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHI et al. (JP H11126602; citations to machine translation) in view of SASSA et al. (US 2018/0198095).
Regarding claims 1 and 2,
NISHI teaches a method of coating a negative and positive electrode material for a secondary battery onto a continuous substrate abstract. As shown in figs. 6, 7 and 13-14 the deposition is performed from discharge port (ejecting from a coating die) 56. A rotary screen 21 or moving film 65 (guide portion) with openings 22 allows for the formation of coating portions 16 and uncoated portions 16b (starting and ending of coating portions), [0037]. Negative and positive electrode layers for a secondary battery contain necessarily contain their respective cathode and anode active materials.
The NISHI reference does not expressly teach the coating die and guide portion as being located on a first side of the substrate while a first and second conveying roll are located on the second (opposing) side of the substrate. However, SASSA when performing a die coating method on a continuously conveyed substrate, the substrate 10 can be driven by two or more rollers 31 on one side of a substrate while die coating 50, see [0156], from the opposing side of the substrate as shown in SASSA Figs. 6 and 9. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to convey the substrate in NISHI using multiple rolls according to SASSA as a known conveying mechanism to work with slot coating. In addition, NISHI shows in fig. 10 that conventionally known methods of roll coating similarly use multiple conveying rollers on each side of the substrate to convey the substrate albeit in a roller deposition process. The examiner also notes that the claim language does not preclude the die coated from being positioned directly opposite a conveying roller, as long as there are two rollers positioned on the opposite side of the continuously long substrate.
Regarding claim 3,
NISHI teaches the formation of coating portions and uncoated portions using a rotary screen or moving film as described above. The moving film as shown in Fig. 8 is considered to have a “wide guide portion” that is associated with the start and end part of the coating area.
Regarding claim 4,
NISHI teaches the substrate is continuously traveling [0009], and the rotary screen and film 65 are designed to repeatedly pass between the discharge port (die) and substrate in Figs. 6-7.
Regarding claim 5,
NISHI teaches including a cleaning unit 80 can be used to clean a blocking shutter 68 after it passes between the discharge port and substrate Figs. 13-14.
Regarding claim 6,
NISHI teaches that the blocking member is used to form the non-coated part and further teaches that the length of the blocking portion can be changed to change the length of the coated portion [0021]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to use various lengths (widths) of blocking members to achieve a desired length/width of coating areas.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712