DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CARO et al. (US 2023/0328171 A1), hereinafter CARO.
Regarding claim 1, CARO discloses an electronic device comprising (a computer system, see ¶ 0490, smart phone, tablet, laptop, etc… ¶0495): an antenna; memory storing instructions; a display; and at least one processor, wherein the instructions cause, when executed by the at least one processor, the electronic device to: execute an application related to a satellite,
display, within a display area of the application, an antenna indicator indicating a reference range of a direction of the antenna of the electronic device (each the computer system has a display area of the application, see figures 9),
obtain azimuth angle information and elevation angle information for a relative direction of the satellite in respect to the direction of the antenna of the electronic device (the computer system detects (1010) a change in orientation (e.g., azimuth, elevation, and/or rotation) of a predetermined portion of the computer system (e.g., a display of the computer system, and/or one or more satellite communication antennas of the computer system relative to the one or more satellites), see ¶ 0498),
display, on a horizontal position corresponding to the azimuth angle information within the display area and a vertical position corresponding to the elevation angle information within the display area, a satellite indicator indicating the relative direction of the satellite, wherein the satellite indicator is moved with respect to the antenna indicator in accordance with change of an orientation of the electronic device (the computer system displays (1008) the alignment element (e.g., a “fan” graphic and/or an indicator of a direction to orient the computer system (in some embodiments, the alignment element includes an arrow pointing in a direction to rotate the computer system, and/or or a picture of a satellite shown in space relative to the computer system) with a first alignment appearance (e.g., the “fan” is gray indicating no alignment) that indicates the computer system is not aligned properly for communication with the one or more satellites and includes a graphical indication (e.g., 931; e.g., text, a graphic, a color, and/or an animation) (e.g., a graphical indication of an orientation of a predetermined portion of the computer system), see ¶ 0498),
based on identifying that the relative direction of the satellite is out of the reference range of the direction of the antenna, display a visual object for guiding the orientation of the electronic device while the satellite indicator is displayed outside the antenna indicator, based on identifying that the satellite indicator is displayed on a left side or a right side of the display area, display a visual object for indicating turn-to-left or turn-to-right while the satellite indicator is displayed outside the antenna indicator (in response to a determination that the satellite is moving out of range, computer system 900 updates alignment element 909, including graphical element 931 and textual element 908O, and, optionally, outputs haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650 to indicate that the satellite is moving out of range. Graphical element 931 illustrates that the satellite is moving away from computer system 900 and indicates the direction in which the satellite is moving relative to computer system 900. Computer system 900 displays graphical element 931 with an indication, illustrated as an arrow, of the change in orientation needed to improve the alignment of computer system 900 with the satellite, see ¶ 0479), and
based on identifying that the satellite indicator is displayed on a top side or a bottom side of the display area, display a visual object for indicating tilting up or tilting down while the satellite indicator is displayed outside the antenna indicator (in response to a determination that the satellite is moving out of range, computer system 900 updates alignment element 909, including graphical element 931 and textual element 908O, and, optionally, outputs haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650 to indicate that the satellite is moving out of range. Graphical element 931 illustrates that the satellite is moving away from computer system 900 and indicates the direction in which the satellite is moving relative to computer system 900. Computer system 900 displays graphical element 931 with an indication, illustrated as an arrow, of the change in orientation needed to improve the alignment of computer system 900 with the satellite, see ¶ 0479).
Regarding claim 2, CARO discloses the azimuth angle information for the relative direction of the satellite is obtained using an azimuth angle of the satellite and an azimuth angle of the electronic device, and wherein the elevation angle information for the relative direction of the satellite is obtained using an elevation angle of the satellite and an elevation angle of the electronic device (Graphical element 931 includes computer system 932 representing computer system 900 as the origin of the communication window 930. As described herein, the orientation of computer system 900 includes an azimuth and elevation to align computer system 900 with the satellite. The azimuth is a direction or rotation of computer system 900. The elevation is a pitch or an angle at which computer system 900 is facing (e.g., pointing up or pointing down), see ¶ 0422).
Regarding claim 8, CARO discloses at least one sensor configured to obtain a pitch value and a roll value, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: in a portrait mode of the electronic device, determine the angle of the antenna as the pitch value, and in a landscape mode of the electronic device, determine the elevation angle of the antenna as the roll value (Device 100 optionally includes, in addition to accelerometer(s) 168, a magnetometer and a GPS (or GLONASS or other global navigation system) receiver for obtaining information concerning the location and orientation (e.g., portrait or landscape) of device 100, see 0128-0130).
Regarding claim 9, CARO discloses obtain, based on the execution of the application related to the satellite, position information of the electronic device and position information of the satellite, and calculate an azimuth angle of the satellite and an elevation angle of the satellite (in response to a determination that computer system 900 must change its orientation to achieve the alignment position, computer system 900 updates alignment element 909 to indicate instructions to align computer system 900. Computer system 900 displays satellite representation 929 in a position relative to computer system 932, and graphical element 931 includes an indicator of the direction computer system 932 should be rotated to align the azimuth with the satellite. Computer system 900 displays the indication as an arrow originating from the alignment position above computer system 932. Computer system 900 displays the magnitude of the arrow based on the amount of correction needed to place satellite representation 929 in the alignment position, see ¶ 0434).
Regarding claim 10, CARO discloses based on identifying that the relative direction of the satellite is within the reference range of the direction of the antenna, display information for notifying that a communication through the satellite is available while the satellite indicator is displayed at least partially within the antenna indicator (the computer system displays a prompt (e.g., 908C, 908D; e.g., instructions, text, and/or graphical indicator(s)) to avoid and/or remove the obstruction. Displaying a prompt to avoid and/or remove an obstruction that is preventing the computer system from communicating with the one or more satellites provides the user with more information about how to move the computer system into alignment with the one or more satellites and enables the user to align the computer system with fewer errors, which provides improved visual feedback and reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, see ¶ 0517 and figures 9C-9J).
Regarding claim 11, CARO discloses display a satellite object for indicating a location of the satellite according to a first characteristic while the antenna indicator and the satellite indicator are displayed before the communication with the satellite, and while the communication with the satellite is performed, display the satellite object according to a second characteristic different from first characteristic, and wherein the satellite object is displayed to be overlapped with the satellite indicator (the computer system displays a prompt (e.g., 908C, 908D; e.g., instructions, text, and/or graphical indicator(s)) to avoid and/or remove the obstruction. Displaying a prompt to avoid and/or remove an obstruction that is preventing the computer system from communicating with the one or more satellites provides the user with more information about how to move the computer system into alignment with the one or more satellites and enables the user to align the computer system with fewer errors, which provides improved visual feedback and reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, see ¶ 0517 and figures 9C-9J).
Regarding claim 12, CARO discloses the antenna indicator is displayed at a fixed position on the display area, and wherein the antenna indicator corresponds to a circle for indicating the reference range from the direction of the antenna according to the azimuth angle of the antenna and the elevation angle of the antenna (in accordance with a determination that the computer system (in some embodiments, in accordance with a determination that a predetermined portion of the computer system (e.g., a display of the computer system and/or one or more satellite communication antennas of the computer system relative to a satellite system)) is not aligned properly for communication with one or more satellites (e.g., in a system of satellites) (e.g., for initiating a communication such as a phone call or sending the message), the computer system displays (1008) the alignment element (e.g., a “fan” graphic and/or an indicator of a direction to orient the computer system (in some embodiments, the alignment element includes an arrow pointing in a direction to rotate the computer system, and/or or a picture of a satellite shown in space relative to the computer system) with a first alignment appearance (e.g., the “fan” is gray indicating no alignment) that indicates the computer system is not aligned properly for communication with the one or more satellites and includes a graphical indication (e.g., 931; e.g., text, a graphic, a color, and/or an animation) (e.g., a graphical indication of an orientation of a predetermined portion of the computer system); and while displaying the alignment element with the first alignment appearance, the computer system detects (1010) a change in orientation (e.g., azimuth, elevation, and/or rotation) of a predetermined portion of the computer system (e.g., a display of the computer system, and/or one or more satellite communication antennas of the computer system relative to the one or more satellites), see ¶ 0498).
Regarding claim 13, CARO discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising: executing an application related to a satellite,
displaying, within a display area of the application, an antenna indicator indicating a reference range of a direction of the antenna of the electronic device (each the computer system has a display area of the application, see figures 9),
obtaining azimuth angle information and elevation angle information for a relative direction of the satellite in respect to the direction of the antenna of the electronic device (the computer system detects (1010) a change in orientation (e.g., azimuth, elevation, and/or rotation) of a predetermined portion of the computer system (e.g., a display of the computer system, and/or one or more satellite communication antennas of the computer system relative to the one or more satellites), see ¶ 0498),
displaying, on a horizontal position corresponding to the azimuth angle information within the display area and a vertical position corresponding to the elevation angle information within the display area, a satellite indicator indicating the relative direction of the satellite, wherein the satellite indicator is moved with respect to the antenna indicator in accordance with change of an orientation of the electronic device (the computer system displays (1008) the alignment element (e.g., a “fan” graphic and/or an indicator of a direction to orient the computer system (in some embodiments, the alignment element includes an arrow pointing in a direction to rotate the computer system, and/or or a picture of a satellite shown in space relative to the computer system) with a first alignment appearance (e.g., the “fan” is gray indicating no alignment) that indicates the computer system is not aligned properly for communication with the one or more satellites and includes a graphical indication (e.g., 931; e.g., text, a graphic, a color, and/or an animation) (e.g., a graphical indication of an orientation of a predetermined portion of the computer system), see ¶ 0498),
based on identifying that the relative direction of the satellite is out of the reference range of the direction of the antenna, display a visual object for guiding the orientation of the electronic device while the satellite indicator is displayed outside the antenna indicator, based on identifying that the satellite indicator is displayed on a left side or a right side of the display area, display a visual object for indicating turn-to-left or turn-to-right while the satellite indicator is displayed outside the antenna indicator (in response to a determination that the satellite is moving out of range, computer system 900 updates alignment element 909, including graphical element 931 and textual element 908O, and, optionally, outputs haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650 to indicate that the satellite is moving out of range. Graphical element 931 illustrates that the satellite is moving away from computer system 900 and indicates the direction in which the satellite is moving relative to computer system 900. Computer system 900 displays graphical element 931 with an indication, illustrated as an arrow, of the change in orientation needed to improve the alignment of computer system 900 with the satellite, see ¶ 0479), and
based on identifying that the satellite indicator is displayed on a top side or a bottom side of the display area, display a visual object for indicating tilting up or tilting down while the satellite indicator is displayed outside the antenna indicator (in response to a determination that the satellite is moving out of range, computer system 900 updates alignment element 909, including graphical element 931 and textual element 908O, and, optionally, outputs haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650 to indicate that the satellite is moving out of range. Graphical element 931 illustrates that the satellite is moving away from computer system 900 and indicates the direction in which the satellite is moving relative to computer system 900. Computer system 900 displays graphical element 931 with an indication, illustrated as an arrow, of the change in orientation needed to improve the alignment of computer system 900 with the satellite, see ¶ 0479.
Regarding claim 14, CARO discloses the azimuth angle information for the relative direction of the satellite is obtained using an azimuth angle of the satellite and an azimuth angle of the electronic device, and wherein the elevation angle information for the relative direction of the satellite is obtained using an elevation angle of the satellite and an elevation angle of the electronic device (Graphical element 931 includes computer system 932 representing computer system 900 as the origin of the communication window 930. As described herein, the orientation of computer system 900 includes an azimuth and elevation to align computer system 900 with the satellite. The azimuth is a direction or rotation of computer system 900. The elevation is a pitch or an angle at which computer system 900 is facing (e.g., pointing up or pointing down), see ¶ 0422).
Regarding claim 20, CARO discloses an electronic device (the computer system 900, see figures 9A-9U) comprising: an antenna; memory storing instructions; a display; and a processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain, based on execution of an application related to a satellite, an azimuth angle of the satellite and an elevation angle of the satellite,
display a visual object for indicating a direction of the antenna according to a first azimuth angle of the antenna and a first elevation angle of the antenna through the display (Graphical element 931 includes computer system 932 representing computer system 900 as the origin of the communication window 930. As described herein, the orientation of computer system 900 includes an azimuth and elevation to align computer system 900 with the satellite, see ¶ 0422); and
display, while the visual object is displayed, a satellite indicator for indicating a direction to the satellite through the display, according to:
a first position in a first axis within a display area of the application, that is obtained using the azimuth angle of the satellite and the first azimuth angle of the antenna (in response to a determination that the satellite is moving out of range, computer system 900 updates alignment element 909, including graphical element 931 and textual element 908O, and, optionally, outputs haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650 to indicate that the satellite is moving out of range. Graphical element 931 illustrates that the satellite is moving away from computer system 900 and indicates the direction in which the satellite is moving relative to computer system 900, see ¶ 0479), and
a second position in a second axis perpendicular to the first axis within the display area of the application, that is obtained using the elevation angle of the satellite and the first elevation angle of the antenna (a user 950 holding the position of computer system from first position to second position, where the second position perpendicular to the first position, see figures 9I-9H).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: based on identifying that the azimuth angle of the satellite is out of an azimuth threshold range from the azimuth angle of the antenna, and the elevation angle of the satellite is within an elevation threshold range from the elevation angle of the antenna, display the satellite indicator on the left side or the right side of the display area, and based on identifying that the azimuth angle of the satellite is within the azimuth threshold range from the azimuth angle of the antenna, the elevation angle of the satellite is out of the elevation threshold range from the elevation angle of the antenna, display the satellite indicator on the top side or the bottom side of the display area.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: based on identifying that the azimuth angle of the satellite is out of an azimuth threshold range from the azimuth angle of the antenna, determine the horizontal position as an end point of a horizontal axis of the display area, and based on identifying that the elevation angle of the satellite is out of an elevation threshold range from the elevation angle of the antenna, determine the vertical position as an end point of a vertical axis of the display area.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: based on identifying that the azimuth angle of the satellite is within an azimuth threshold range from the first azimuth angle of the antenna, determine the horizontal position according to a relative angle of the azimuth angle of the satellite from the azimuth angle of the antenna, and based on identifying that the elevation angle of the satellite is within an elevation threshold range from the elevation angle of the antenna, determine the vertical position according to a relative angle of the elevation angle of the satellite from the elevation angle of the antenna.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 18-19, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: based on identifying that the azimuth angle of the satellite is out of an azimuth threshold range from the azimuth angle of the antenna or the elevation angle of the satellite is out of an elevation threshold range from the elevation angle of the antenna, display the satellite indicator using a first visual object, and based on identifying that the azimuth angle of the satellite is within the azimuth threshold range from the azimuth angle of the antenna and the elevation angle of the satellite is within the elevation threshold range from the elevation angle of the antenna, display the satellite indicator using a second visual object different from the first visual object.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412