Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 07/09/2024 and 04/30/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) inks with natural products including natural pigments that are dispersed in an aqueous carrier liquid, natural pigment metal oxides like iron oxide and zinc oxide exist natural and can be dispersed in water sources and muds. Elmaidomy et al (RSC Advances, 2026, volume 16, pages 7097-7119) teaches natural pigments and dyes that provide a rich interface between biodiversity and chemistry with these compounds occurring in plants, marine organisms, fungi, bacteria, insects, birds, animals and mineral sources (abstract of Elmaidomy). Elmaidomy teaches mineral dyes and pigments from minerals including iron oxide, titanium dioxide, and copper pigments (section 3.10.2 Minerals in Elmaidomy). Elmaidomy teaches carotenoids and their poor water solubility that can be dispersed in water (section 5). Hyaluronan/hyaluronic acid is found naturally in animals and applicant’s specification recognizes some plant derivatives of hyaluronan (e.g. vegan hyaluronan). N-acetylglucosamine is natural and a building block of hyaluronic acid. Ginger oil and cajeput oil are natural oils of plants. Auxiliary substances can include many natural compounds. Thus, the compounds and pigments of the claims are natural and exist in their natural state. Certain natural pigments will disperse in water. The claims do not provide for a non-natural form of the composition as dispersions of metal oxides occurs naturally and the claims contain many options of naturally occurring compounds that are still in their natural structure. An ink represents a pigmented formulation and pigmented substances are found naturally in plants, insects, animals and the Earth. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because although the specification provides for combinations of the natural products, each natural compound in their for the respective function that it provides. For example, natural pigments would naturally provide color and hyaluronan has natural benefits to the body/skin. The specification does not provide whether combinations of the natural products could provide significantly more than their expected contributions (e.g. pigments to offer color).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because these are “Use” claims and blur the line between being two categories of invention: product claims with an intended use versus method claims which provide for a use and step(s) of doing the method. See MPEP 2173.05(q) – “Use” claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – Written Description
Claims 1-5, and 7-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. These claims provide for “hyaluronan derivatives” but there is no particular definition of what hyaluronan derivatives will include and there are relatively few species of derivatives provided in applicant’s specification that relate namely to hyaluronates and what is termed vegan hyaluronan (plant compounds that have similar effects to hyaluronan although not structurally hyaluronan). This inclusion of vegan hyaluronan provides that what hyaluronan derivatives might encompass per applicant may be even broader and more diverse than what might originally be intended. Therefore, the specification does not define or provide enough representative species of what would be encompassed by hyaluronan derivatives to have description for this large, diverse genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 1-5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4, 7, and 14 provide for the recitation of “one or more hyaluronan derivatives” where the claim nor specification provide for a particular definition of hyaluronan derivatives. Paragraph 22 of the specification only indicates that hyaluronan derivatives are hyaluronan compounds and then provides some examples. Hyaluronan compounds does not provide for all the derivations that might be used to make such derivative compounds. Although applicant provides species, these do not provide all the possible derivative types that would exist for a compound. Thus, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of “hyaluronan derivatives” is when examining the limitation. The applicant does have species of particular derivatives as in claim 6 as well as hyaluronate or physiologically compatible salts thereof.
Claims 5, 8-13 and 15-17 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claims without repairing the deficiency.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the phrase “at least one oil selected from a ginger oil and cajeput oil” as it is unclear if the one option is “a ginger oil and cajeput oil” (both items) if the options are “one or both of a ginger oil and/or cajeput oil”. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner will consider this as “a ginger oil, cajeput oil or both”. Applicant might consider the Markush phrase of “at least one oil selected from the group consisting of a ginger oil and cajeput oil”.
Claims 2, 5-13 and 15-17 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claims without correcting the issue.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation of “0.1 to 11% by weight”, and the claim also recites “in particular from 1 to 8% by weight and particularly preferably from 2.5 to 7% by weight”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation of “0.05 to 10% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably 0.05 to 7% by weight and in particular 0.5 to 5% by weight of ginger oil”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation of “0.01 to 10% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably 0.01 to 7% by weight and in particular 0.5 to 3% by weight of cajeput oil”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation of “0.01 to 10% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably 0.01 to 7% by weight and in particular 0.5 to 5% by weight hyaluronan and/or one or more hyaluronan derivatives”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation of “a physiologically compatible salt of hyaluronic acid”, and the claim also recites “preferably sodium hyaluronate”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation of “one or more physiologically harmless solvents”, and the claim also recites “in particular lower saturated alcohols or particularly preferably glycerol”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation of “1 to 90% by weight”, and the claim also recites “particularly preferably to 5 to 50% by weight and in particular 10 to 45% by weight”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation of “a tattooing machine”, and the claim also recites “in particular a magnetic coil machine or a rotary tattooing machine”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "as pigment" in the claim which appears to be referring to pigment mentioned earlier in claim 1, however, claim 1 recites “at least one pigment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may amend the recitation to say “as the at least one pigment”.
Claim 12 is indefinite for the recitation of “white pigment from the group titanium dioxide, zinc oxides and boron nitride” as this wording makes it unclear if the all the items are chosen due to the group having “titanium dioxide, zinc oxides and boron nitride” or if these are meant to be a group of options where each can be individually chosen (titanium dioxide, zinc oxides or boron nitride). Applicant may consider using the group language of “a white pigment selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, zinc oxide and boron nitride” for the group of options.
Claim 13 is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim as it does not fix the issue since “contains boron nitride” still allows for both situations with either having all of titanium dioxide, zinc oxides and boron nitride or situations where each is optional and you might selected boron nitride. Here, “contains” is read as “comprising” (see MPEP 2111.03).
Claim 14 is indefinite for the final recitation of “by weight” at the end of the claim. It is unclear if applicant meant to close off by saying “by weight of the total ink”, “by weight of the total composition” or if “by weight” was just misplaced or accidentally added to the claim.
Claims 15 and 16 are indefinite for being “Use claims” where it is unclear if they are toward ink/composition with an intended use or if they are meant to be method of using claims. MPEP 2173.05(q) – “Use” claims. There does not appear to be a step in either claim that would allow for the “Use”. Normally, method claims begin with “A method….” or “A process….” And then elaborate steps in the body of the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the needles" in the claim without a prior recitation of “needles”. It is not inherent that all tattoo machines have to have needles until they are inserted into the machine for use There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may recite “applied to needles of a tattoo machine…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toprak WO 2019057822 (with Machine translation), Kim US 20200246408 and Klimova WO2015183129A1 (with machine English translation).
Toprak teaches a tattooing combination with tattooing ink and one or more topical anesthetics for skin in a liquid composition where the ink and local anesthetics are delivered to skin (abstract). Toprak teaches putting the ink composition along with local anesthetics on the needles of the tattooing device (abstract). Toprak teaches dispersing the pigments in aqueous solution (English translation). Toprak teaches including moistening or humectant agents including jojoba oil and anti-inflammatory agents including sea buckhorn oil, olive oil, jojoba oil and chamomile essential oil. (English translation of Toprak). Toprak teaches “From 30 to 95% by weight of one or more solvents, preferably water; 1 to 40% by weight of one or more colorants; and 0 to 30% by weight of one or more auxiliaries (English translation and claims of Toprak). Toprak teaches colorants including zinc oxides, iron oxides, cobalt oxides and titanium dioxide (English translation of Toprak). Toprak teaches organic pigment colorants that can be blended (English translation). Toprak teaches “exemplary auxiliaries are solubilizers or dissolution aids, dispersants, binders, thickeners, viscosity regulators, preservatives, stabilizers, emulsifiers, antioxidants, perfumes, buffers, pH regulators, moisturizers or humectants, anti-inflammatories or antiseptics and many others” (English translation). Toprak teaches electric tattoo machines, rotary machines or pneumatic machines to apply the ink to skin (English translation). Examples 1 and 2 provide for use of the ink and dipping the needles before use.
Toprak does not teach ginger oil or cajeput oil. Toprak does not teach hyaluronan or a derivative thereof.
Kim teaches a pharmaceutical composition for treating pain that includes plant oils and applying the composition locally to an area of skin corresponding to pain (abstract). Kim teaches essential oils including ginger oil and cajeput oil, which may be applied at 0.1 to 10 in a weight ratio with the malkangri oil (paragraphs 15-16, also claim 8 of Kim). Kim teaches malkangni oil at a wt ratio with carrier of 0.1 to 99 (claim 4 of Kim). Kim teaches “it may further include additives that are generally used in the skin science field, such as lipids, organic solvents, solubilizers, thickening agents, concentrating agents, gelling agents, softeners, antioxidants, suspending agents, stabilizers, foaming agents, aromatics, surfactants, water, ionic or non-ionic emulsifiers, fillers, sequestering agents, chelating agents, preservatives, vitamins, UV blocking agents, wetting agents, essential oils, dyes, pigments, hydrophilic or lipophilic activators, liposomes, or any other components. In addition, these components may be introduced in amounts that are generally accepted in the skin science field” (paragraph 69). Thus, ingredients such as pigments, water, solubilizers, thickening agents and gelling agents are acceptable among others. Although Kim does not teach tattooing, it is relevant to Toprak as containing plant oils that would be pain relieving and applied locally to areas of skin that would be associated with pain, since Toprak seeks to relieve the pain associated with tattooing skin. Kim teaches “Essential oil is known to exhibit holistic healing effects by increasing the body's resilience through mental and physical stabilization based on its anti-inflammatory, antimicrobial, antifungal, antiviral, relaxing, antidepressant, anti-anxiety and neuroprotective actions” (paragraph 48).
Klimova teaches a cosmetic agent with pigment intended for tattooing that incorporates 44-55 wt% inorganic pigment and 10 wt% hyaluronic acid along with distilled water and isopropyl alcohol (abstract). Klimova teaches “The technical results of the invention are an increase in the range of cosmetic agents for permanent makeup, an increase in the protective and regenerative effects on the skin and an adaptogenic effect on the receptors of epidermal cells” (abstract). Klimova teaches its embodiment as “At the first stage: use basic inorganic and organic pigments (black, red, yellow, white) with a particle diameter of ZOkn and mix them in certain proportions to obtain the desired color. Of the total volume of the finished product, this is 60%. The second stage: in a dry composition of pigments is introduced sequentially, in wt.%: Glycerin -15; distilled water - 10; 70% concentration of isopropyl alcohol-5; 2% stabilized low molecular weight hyaluronic acid – 10” (English translation). Klimova teaches “titanium dioxide (CI 77891); black, yellow, red, and brown iron oxides (CI 77499, 77492, 77491); manganese violet (CI 77742); ultramarine blue (CI 77007); chromium oxide (CI 77288); hydrated chromium oxide (CI 77289); ferric iron blue (CI 77510)” as pigments (English translation).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have modified Toprak’s tattoo ink formulation and methods by teachings of Kim and Klimova as Toprak recognizes a tattoo composition with dispersion of pigments as well as plant oils and other ingredients for controlling pain and inflammation after application of the tattoo to the skin, Kim provides for ginger oil and cajeput oil for pain treatment with local application to skin, and Klimova recognizes the use of hyaluronic acid in tattoo ink pigment containing formulations that can help protect and regenerate skin. Klimova also recognizes machines with needles where the formulations are applied to the needles before tattooing. The prior art also teaches amounts and overlapping ranges of oils, hyaluronan, aqueous carriers and pigments with applicant’s claimed ranges, which would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to work with such amounts and overlapping ranges to produce claimed formulations via routine optimization to acquire a tattoo ink with pain control and skin regeneration potential (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, there is a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of the references to arrive at a dispersed pigment formulation having water, ginger and/or cajeput oil and hyaluronan with better pain control, anti-inflammatory, healing, and skin regenerative potential that also tattoos the skin via application of pigments due to the recognition of the effects provided by such ingredients.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toprak WO 2019057822, Kim US 20200246408, Klimova WO2015183129A1 (with machine English translation) and Andre WO2023144487.
Toprak, Kim and Klimova teach the claims as discussed above. Klimova allows for the addition of hyaluronic acid into the formulations and Toprak recognizes the use of other ingredients/auxiliaries.
Toprak, Kim and Klimova do not teach the hyaluronic derivatives as in claim 6.
Andre teaches a combination including hyaluronic acid one of its salts or derivatives (abstract), Andre teaches sodium hyaluronate (claims 2-4 of Andre). Andre teaches “advantageously it is sodium hyaluronate. In an advantageous embodiment, the derivatives of hyaluronic acid are chosen from the derivatives usually used in cosmetics such as, for example, those chosen from esterified derivatives, in particular ascorbyl hyaluronate, benzyl hyaluronate, propylene glycol hyaluronate, acetylated sodium hyaluronate, sodium butyroyl hyaluronate or hydroxypropyltrimonium hyaluronate, organomineral silicon derivatives, in particular dimethylsilanol hyaluronate and mixtures thereof” (English translation of WO’487. WO ‘487 teaches 0.0001 to 10% by weight of the hyaluronic acid or one of its salts or derivatives.(English translation and tables of Andre’s disclosure as in example 4). Andre teaches “maintaining and/or improving the uniformity and/or radiance and/or luminosity of the complexion of the skin and/or mucous membranes, and/or preventing and/or treating the burning sensation skin and/or mucous membranes” (claim 11 of Andre).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have sought to use other acceptable hyaluronic acids or their derivatives as these are acceptable for skin formulations and the combination of Toprak, Kim and Klimova provides for their use in skin formulations including for tattooing inks. The prior art also recognizes pain and skin issues with tattooing where addition of hyaluronic acid compounds would be useful as for skin regeneration/healing. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in adding these other suitable hyaluronic acid compounds into a formulation motivated by Toprak, Kim and Klimova with the reasonable expectation of skin regenerative treatment after application of the tattoo.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toprak WO 2019057822, Kim US 20200246408, Klimova WO2015183129A1 (with machine English translation) and Chen et al (Marine Drugs, 2010, volume 8, pages 2493-2516).
Toprak, Kim and Klimova teach the claims as discussed above. Klimova allows for the addition of hyaluronic acid into the formulations and Toprak recognizes the use of other ingredients/auxiliaries.
Toprak, Kim and Klimova do not teach the N-acetylglucosamine of claims 7-8.
Chen teaches N-acetylglucosamine that is a component of hyaluronic acid (abstract). Chen teaches N-acetylglucosamine for cosmetics as it protects skin from environmental harshness and improves skin quality while also can heal wounds (section 3.4 of Chen).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included N-acetylglucosamine as being a recognized unit of hyaluronan as well as having beneficial skin improvement effects in teachings of Chen. Therefore, thee would be a reasonable expectation of success in producing a skin tattooing formulation with improved skin benefits by the combined teachings of Toprak, Kim, Klimova and Chen. As Toprak provides for 0 to 30wt% of auxiliaries in a formulation, they would have been capable of including other ingredients such a N-acetylglucosamine of the prior art in such amounts.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toprak WO 2019057822, Kim US 20200246408, Klimova WO2015183129A1 (with machine English translation) and NZROHA (Essential Oil of Plai, April 2019, https://www.nzroha.com/article/essential-oil-of-plai-1).
Toprak, Kim and Klimova teach the claims as discussed above. Toprak allows for plant oils while Kim provides for ginger oil as an option.
Toprak, Kim and Klimova do not teach plai oil as in claim 9.
NZROHA teaches plai essential oil as topical anti-inflammatory effect (Proof for Plai). Plai is also provided to have analgesic and anti-oxidant activities as well as being attractive for skin beautification (Proof of plai). NZROHA recognizes plai is of the ginger family.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have used plai oil of NZROHA as it is a plant oil that provides benefits that are recognized as optimal for formulations including tattoo formulations in the prior art. NZROHA also recognizes the plai being from the ginger family. Thus, there was a reasonable expectation of success in using plai oil as an acceptable oil that has anti-inflammatory, analgesic, anti-oxidative, and beneficial skin effects in formulations of the prior art to improve these effects of the formulation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toprak WO 2019057822, Kim US 20200246408, Klimova WO2015183129A1 (with machine English translation) and Butts US 20070207101A1.
Toprak, Kim and Klimova teach the claims as discussed above. Toprak allows for plant oils while Kim provides for ginger oil as an option.
Toprak, Kim and Klimova do not teach boron nitride as in claim 13.
Butts teaches cosmetic compositions with boron nitride powder (abstract). Butts teaches BN and other fillers in the prior art may be surface treated with lecithin, amino acids, mineral oil, silicone oil, or various other agents either alone or in combination (paragraph 6). Butts teaches nano-pigments selected from the group consisting of iron oxide, titanium dioxide, chromium hydroxide, calcium silicate, chromium oxide, kaolin, manganese violet, carbon black, bismuth oxychloride, and mixtures thereof (claim 8 of Butts). Butts teaches boron nitride fillers used in conjunction with nano-pigments including titanium dioxide and other metal oxides (paragraph 31). Butts teaches a dispersion (paragraph 23). Butts is applicable for teachings skin formulations with pigments.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included boron nitride in a pigmented skin formulation of the prior art as it is recognized for uses in skin products. It is recognized by Butts for the boron nitride that can be used in conjunction with pigments (nano-pigments). Thus, there was a reasonable expectation of success in further utilizing boron nitride in a dispersion formulation for skin with particles including pigments as boron nitride is seen as compatible for skin products and combinable with pigments in formulations by the teachings of Butts where Toprak provides for the tattoo inks with dispersed pigments.
Conclusions
Art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wolde DE202023105993U1 (published on 11-7-2023). However, it is within in the one year grace period and has the same exact inventor as applicant filed this application on 4-5-2024. Thus, it does not qualify as prior art due to the 102(b)(1)(A) exclusion.
No claim is allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613