DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendments
The amendments made to the claims 08/10/2026 have been entered.
In view of the amendments made, the claim objections made over claims 2, 3, and 5 is now moot and therefore withdrawn.
The scope of enablement rejection made over claims 8-9 is hereby withdrawn.
The 112(b) indefinite rejection over claims 1-9 is hereby withdrawn.
Response to arguments
The arguments regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejection over application 18/588,717 are acknowledged. A phone call made 10/19/2026 to attorney Michael Williams confirmed that the ‘717 application was abandoned. In view of the phone call, the non-statutory double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabriel (WO2013/189865) in view of Katzenellenbogen (Journal of Fluorine Chemistry, Vol. 109, Iss. 1, 2001).
Gabriel in example 5 (p. 35) teaches the following compound.
The critical differences between the reference compound of Gabriel, above, and the instant compounds is that the instant compounds have R1 that contain a fluorine atom at various positions on the phenyl group and which may or may not also have a methyl group branding off the connecting methylene group. See circled below.
The various positions of the fluorine atom amount to being position isomers of the compound in Gabriel. The lack of the methyl group on the methylene group in the compounds above amount to homologs wherein the methyl group is instead of hydrogen atom.
The MPEP 2144.09 states “Compounds which are… position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Katzenellenbogen in sec. 2.1 teaches methods for producing fluorine-18. Katzenellenbogen in sec. 2.3 teaches synthesis of steroids labeled with fluorine-18. Katzenellenbogen therefore teaches steroid compounds containing fluorine-18.
Regarding claims 17, and 18, the claim language simply states “wherein [R2] is selected from the group consisting of….”. The claims simply specify R2 and do exclude the compound of formula I. Language similar to claim 14 is suggested to exclude the compound of Formula I.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Gabriel to achieve the compound of the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would further find it obvious to modify the compounds to have Fluorine-18 via the teachings of Ketzenellenbogen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications as one of ordinary skill in the art would assume the compounds have similar properties.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (cited above) in view of Katzenellenbogen (Journal of Fluorine Chemistry, Vol. 109, Iss. 1, 2001) and Marshall (Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Vol. 104, Iss. 17, 2012).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 10, 12, and 14-15, Qian on p. 7927, Table 3 teaches compound 22, below.
Similar to Gabriel in the 103 rejection, the critical differences between the reference compound of Qian and the instant compounds is that the instant compounds have R1 that contain a fluorine atom at various positions on the phenyl group and which may or may not also have a methyl group branding off the connecting methylene group. See circled differences in the rejection over Gabriel above.
The MPEP section 2144.09, in section II states:
Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.).
Regarding claim 8, Qian in its abstract states “recent results from LPA1 knockout mice suggest that blocking LPA1 signaling could provide a potential novel approach for the treatment of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis. Here, we report the design and synthesis of pyrazole- and triazole-derived carbamates as LPA1-selective and LPA1/3 dual antagonists.”
Further, Marshall connects LPA1 inhibition to treating metastatic breast cancer tumors. Marshall on p. 1316, sec. Discussion states “Thus, LPA1 inhibition has the properties of a metastasis suppressor” and on p. 1317 further states “Inhibition of signaling by the ubiquitous serum phospholipid LPA through the LPA1 receptor resulted in tumor withdrawal from the cell cycle in metastatic niches and a statistically significant prevention of metastasis formation.”
Metastatic breast cancer is a specific form of breast cancer and falls under the broader limitation “breast cancer” of claim 8.
Qian does not teach compounds wherein fluorine in fluorine-18. This is addressed by the combination of Katzenellenbogen.
Regarding claims 11, 13, 16, and 18, Katzenellenbogen in sec. 2.1 teaches methods for producing fluorine-18. Katzenellenbogen in sec. 2.3 teaches synthesis of steroids labeled with fluorine-18. This teaching would make obvious the modification of fluorine to fluorine-18 in compounds.
Regarding claims 17, and 18, the claim language simply states “wherein [R2] is selected from the group consisting of….”. The claims simply specify R2 and do exclude the compound of formula I. Language similar to claim 14 is suggested to exclude the compound of Formula I.
Qian teaches compounds that embrace the claimed compounds. Marshall teaches nexus of LPA1 inhibition and treatment of metastatic breast cancer. Katzenellenbogen teaches radio-labeled compounds with fluorine-18. The critical difference between Qian and instant compounds are positional isomers and homologs of the compound of Qian.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have found it prima facie obvious to modify the compounds of Qian via the teachings of Katzenellenbogen and Marshall at the time of the effective filing date to arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable assumption of success. One of ordinary skill would have found motivation to make the modifications in that i) the instant compounds are positional isomers and homologs which one of ordinary skill would assume have similar properties to the compound of Qian and ii) Katzenellenbogen teaches fluorination of pharmaceuticals is an effective practice for creating radiolabeled tracers, which is a known practice within the medicinal chemistry art.
Response to Arguments
The arguments presented in the remarks of 08/10/2026 are not persuasive.
Regarding Gabrial, applicant states “Applicant’s compounds are directed to LAPR1 antagonists as anti-migration agents for the treatment of cancer, whereas Gabriel…claims LPAR1 antagonists for the treatment of inflammatory diseases….”. The claims rejected over Gabriel are drawn to compound claims. Their specific use in the art does not sufficiently exclude the reference compounds from embracing the instant claims.
Regarding Qian, Applicant states “It is believed that the amendments to claim 1 to overcome the objection by Qian overcome this objection as well, particularly in view of the amendments made to claim 8.”
Qian discusses LPA1 inhibition and idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis. The amended claim excludes idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis. The rejection has been modified to include Marshall which teaches a connection between LPA1 inhibition and metastatic breast cancer.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624