DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20220238649).
(Claim 1) Lee et al. teach a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern (fig. 1 #62) extending in a first direction on a substrate (50);
a gate stack (fig. 1 #124) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction on the active pattern; and
a source/drain pattern (fig. 1 #98) on at least one side of the gate stack, wherein the gate stack includes:
a first work function pattern (114A, paragraph 60);
a second work function pattern (114C, paragraph 60) on the first work function pattern; and
a diffusion prevention pattern (114B, paragraph 60) between the first work function pattern and the second work function pattern, and
wherein a concentration of aluminum in the second work function pattern is greater than a concentration of aluminum in the first work function pattern (paragraphs 62, 71, 72).
(Claim 2) Lee et al. teach wherein the diffusion prevention pattern (114B) includes silicon (Si) (paragraph 64).
(Claim 4) Lee et al. teach wherein the source/drain pattern includes P-type impurities (paragraph 47).
(Claim 5) Lee et al. teach wherein the first work function pattern (114A) does not include aluminum (Al) (paragraph 62).
(Claim 6) Lee et al. teach wherein the gate stack (114) includes a capping pattern (fig. 18A #114B3) between the diffusion prevention pattern (fig. 13 # 114B1) and the second work function pattern (114C).
(Claim 7) Lee et al. teach wherein the active pattern includes:
a lower pattern (fig. 1 #62) extending in the first direction, and a plurality of sheet patterns (fig. 1 #66) spaced apart from each other in a third direction on the lower pattern, and
wherein the third direction intersects the first direction and the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220238649).
(Claim 3) Lee et al. teach wherein a thickness of the diffusion prevention pattern is 7 Å or more and 40 Å or less (paragraph 65) for the benefit of inhibiting diffusion while maintaining threshold voltages (paragraphs 64 – 65), but lack wherein a thickness of the diffusion prevention pattern is 3 Å or more and 10 Å or less.
However, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the thickness for the benefit of inhibiting diffusion while maintaining threshold voltages.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 – 20 are allowable, because prior art do not teach:
(Claim 8) wherein the inner stack of the gate stack includes only the first work function pattern without including the second work function pattern and without including the diffusion prevention pattern.
(Claim 15) a second capping pattern in contact with the second gate insulating film, and
a second N-type work function pattern on the second capping pattern,
wherein the first N-type work function pattern and the second N-type work function pattern are formed of the same material,
wherein a concentration of aluminum in the P-type work function pattern is greater than a concentration of aluminum in the first N-type work function pattern, and
wherein the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction intersect each other.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
June 8, 2026