DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/05/2024 was filed is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vitrone (EP 1655531B1, hereinafter referred to as “Vitrone”).
Regarding claim 1, Vitrone discloses a mounting arrangement ([0004] lines 1-5: mounting arrangement) for mounting a stator frame (Figs 1-2, footplate 14, title: rotary machines, [0002] steam turbines, large rotary machines, exhaust hood 10) of a rotating electrical machine (rotary machine) on a stationary foundation (Fig 2, stationary foundation 22, see also claim 1, line 2), the stator frame comprising a stator foot (Figs 1-2, footplate 14) adapted to support the stator frame on the foundation (Fig 2, to support footplate 14 on foundation 22) wherein the stator foot (14) has a lower surface that faces an upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, surface of 14 facing surface of 22), and an upper surface (Fig 2, surface of 14 facing 54, 56), the mounting arrangement comprising a first lubricant (Fig 3, low -friction pad 48 is a lubricant, which is a substance introduced between two moving surfaces to reduce friction, heat and wear) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot (Fig 2, 14) and the upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, 22), and wherein the mounting arrangement is adapted to allow the stator foot to move in a lateral and/or axial direction relative to the foundation to accommodate thermal expansion of the stator frame in use ([0014] various fasteners are used to permit thermal expansion of the exhaust hood 10 and footplate 14 in the longitudinal directions in Fig 3 with minimum friction, see also [0002] permitting axial movement due to thermal expansion).
Regarding claim 2, Vitrone discloses further comprising a lower shim (Figs 2 and 3, slide-plate assemblies 16, low friction pad 48, flat plates 50, or plate 42) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot and the upper surface of the foundation (Figs 2-3), and wherein the first lubricant is adapted to be positioned between a lower surface of the lower shim and the upper surface of the foundation and/or between an upper surface of the lower shim and the lower surface of the stator foot (Fig 3, low -friction pad 48 is a lubricant, which is a substance introduced between two moving surfaces to reduce friction, heat and wear, between upper surface of shim (42) and lower surface of stator foot (14) in Figs 2-3, note due to alternative language of “and/or” in above limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claim 4, Vitrone discloses wherein the lower shim is fixedly connectable to the stator foot or the foundation (Fig 2, low friction pad 48, flat plates 50, or plate 42 in Fig 3 is fixedly connectable to footplate 14; due to alternative language of “or” in limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claim 5, Vitrone discloses further comprising a first lower shim and a second lower shim (Figs 2 and 3, low friction pad 48, flat plates 50, or plate 42 can be lower shims, respectively) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot and the upper surface of the foundation (Figs 2-3), and wherein the first lubricant is positioned between a lower surface of the first lower shim and an upper surface of the second lower shim (Fig 3, low -friction pad 48 is a lubricant, which is a substance introduced between two moving surfaces to reduce friction, heat and wear, between upper surface of shim (42) and lower surface of 48 or 50 (shim) in Figs 2-3, note due to alternative language of “and/or” in above limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claim 7, Vitrone discloses wherein the first lower shim is fixedly connectable to the stator foot and the second lower shim is fixedly connectable to the foundation (Fig 2, low friction pad 48 or flat plates 50, or plate 42, can be lower shim, which fixedly connectable to footplate 14, and foundation 22, respectively, in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, Vitrone discloses a mounting arrangement ([0004] lines 1-5: mounting arrangement) for mounting a stator frame (Figs 1-2, footplate 14, title: rotary machines, [0002] steam turbines, large rotary machines, exhaust hood 10) of a rotating electrical machine (rotary machine) on a stationary foundation (Fig 2, stationary foundation 22, see also claim 1, line 2), the stator frame comprising a stator foot (Figs 1-2, footplate 14) adapted to support the stator frame on the foundation (Fig 2, to support footplate 14 on foundation 22), wherein the stator foot (14) has a lower surface that faces an upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, surface of 14 facing surface of 22), and an upper surface (Fig 2, surface of 14 facing 54, 56), the mounting arrangement comprising a first lubricant (Fig 3, low -friction pad 48 is a lubricant, which is a substance introduced between two moving surfaces to reduce friction, heat and wear) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot and the upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, 14), and wherein the mounting arrangement is adapted to allow the stator foot to move in a lateral and/or axial direction relative to the foundation to accommodate thermal expansion of the stator frame in use ([0014] various fasteners are used to permit thermal expansion of the exhaust hood 10 and footplate 14 in the longitudinal directions in Fig 3 with minimum friction, see also [0002] permitting axial movement due to thermal expansion), wherein the mounting arrangement further comprises: one or more studs (Fig 3, 52), each stud (52) being fixedly connectable to the foundation (Fig 2, 22) so that it projects upwardly and is adapted to pass through a respective opening (54) in the stator foot (14) with a predetermined lateral and/or axial clearance that allows the stator foot to move in the lateral and/or axial direction relative to the stud to accommodate thermal expansion in use ([0014] various fasteners are used to permit thermal expansion of the exhaust hood 10 and footplate 14 in the longitudinal directions in Fig 3 with minimum friction, see also [0002] permitting axial movement due to thermal expansion; [0014] elongated aperture 54), and one or more mechanical fixing assemblies, each mechanical fixing assembly being mechanically fixed to a respective stud and adapted to apply a compression load to the upper surface of the stator foot ([0014] washers and nuts).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (EP2774251B1, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a mounting arrangement (Fig 2, joint mounting assembly 200) for mounting a stator frame (Fig 2, equipment mount 204) of a rotating electrical machine ( electric power generator 104 is a electromechanical rotting machine) on a stationary foundation (Fig 2, base 105, skid 106, [0014] line 3, a chassis or base 105 in the form of a skid 106), the stator frame comprising a stator foot (Figs 2-4, equipment mount 204) adapted to support the stator frame on the foundation (Figs 1B and 2), wherein the stator foot (204) has a lower surface that faces an upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, lower surface of 204 facing upper surface of base105), and an upper surface (Fig 2, surface of 204 facing 210), the mounting arrangement (200) comprising a first lubricant adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot and the upper surface of the foundation (Figs 2 and 7, see also [0018], slip joint mount 112 in the form of a shim 206, a sleeve 208, a washer 218 and a mounting aperture 220, together serving as a lubricant, which is a substance introduced between two moving surfaces to reduce friction, heat and wear), and wherein the mounting arrangement is adapted to allow the stator foot to move in a lateral and/or axial direction relative to the foundation to accommodate thermal expansion of the stator frame in use ([0015], [0017], [0022], [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses further comprising a lower shim ([0024] shim 206 and Fig 2) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot (204) and the upper surface of the foundation (105, Fig 2), and wherein the first lubricant is adapted to be positioned between a lower surface of the lower shim and the upper surface of the foundation and/or between an upper surface of the lower shim and the lower surface of the stator foot (Figs 2 and 7, see also [0018], slip joint mount 112 in the form of a shim 206, a sleeve 208, a washer 218 and a mounting aperture 220, together serving as a lubricant, which is a substance introduced between two moving surfaces to reduce friction, heat and wear, positioned between an upper surface of the lower shim (206) and the lower surface of the stator foot (204) via 220, 218 and 208; note due to alternative language of “and/or” in above limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the lower shim is fixedly connectable to the stator foot or the foundation ([0024] shim 206 and Fig 2, fixedly connectable to stator foot (204) and foundation (105); due to alternative language of “or” in limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsubishi (JPS48303U, hereinafter referred to as “Mitsubishi”).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsubishi discloses a mounting arrangement for mounting a stator frame of a rotating electrical machine on a stationary foundation ([0001] stator frame fixing device of a rotating electric machine, Fig 2, stator frame fixing device, stator frame 5, foundation 8), the stator frame (5) comprising a stator foot (Fig 2, foot plate 7) adapted to support the stator frame (5) on the foundation (8), wherein the stator foot (7) has a lower surface (Fig 2, surface of 7 facing 11) that faces an upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, upper surface of 8), and an upper surface (Fig 2, surface of 7 facing 10), the mounting arrangement (Fig 2) comprising a first lubricant ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot and the upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2), and wherein the mounting arrangement is adapted to allow the stator foot to move in a lateral and/or axial direction relative to the foundation to accommodate thermal expansion of the stator frame in use ([0002]: thermal expansion of stator frame 5, thermal stress, and claim 1: to allow thermal deformation of the stator frame in the radial direction).
Regarding claim 2, Mitsubishi discloses further comprising a lower shim (Fig 2, buried plate 9 or alternatively sliding seat plate 14) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot (7) and the upper surface of the foundation (8)(Fig 2), and wherein the first lubricant is adapted to be positioned between a lower surface of the lower shim and the upper surface of the foundation and/or between an upper surface of the lower shim and the lower surface of the stator foot ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; positioned between upper surface of shim (9) and lower surface of stator foot (7); note due to alternative language of “and/or” in above limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claim 3, Mitsubishi disclose wherein the first lubricant is a coating applied to one or both of the lower and upper surfaces of the lower shim ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; Fig 2, buried plate 9 or alternatively sliding seat plate 14 can be lower shim).
Regarding claim 4, Mitsubishi discloses wherein the lower shim (Fig 2, buried plate 9 or alternatively sliding seat plate 14) is fixedly connectable to the stator foot or the foundation (Fig 2, 9 fixed connectable to foundation (8), or 14 is fixedly connectable to stator foot (7); due to alternative language of “or” in limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claim 5, Mitsubishi discloses further comprising a first lower shim and a second lower shim (Fig 2, buried plate 9 or alternatively sliding seat plate 14 can be first and second shims) adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot (7) and the upper surface of the foundation (8, Fig 2), and wherein the first lubricant is positioned between a lower surface of the first lower shim and an upper surface of the second lower shim ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; positioned between lower surface of shim (14) and upper surface of shim (9) in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Mitsubishi discloses wherein the first lubricant is a coating applied to one or both of the lower surface of the first lower shim and the upper surface of the second lower shim ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; Fig 2, buried plate 9 and sliding seat plate 14 can be first and second lower shims; and lubrication can be applied to either of upper surface of 9 or surface of 14, due to alternative language of “or” in limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding Claim 7, Mitsubishi discloses wherein the first lower shim is fixedly connectable to the stator foot and the second lower shim is fixedly connectable to the foundation (Fig 2, buried plate 9 or sliding seat plate 14 can be first and second shims) fixed connectable to the stator foot (7) and foundation (8) in Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitrone (EP 1655531B1, hereinafter referred to as “Vitrone”) in view of Postma (US6224288B1, hereinafter referred to as “Postma”).
Regarding claim 8, Vitrone discloses further comprising: one or more studs (Fig 3, 52), each stud (52) being fixedly connectable to the foundation (Fig 2, 22) so that it projects upwardly and is adapted to pass through a respective opening (54) in the stator foot (14) with a predetermined lateral and/or axial clearance that allows the stator foot to move in the lateral and/or axial direction relative to the stud to accommodate thermal expansion in use ([0014] various fasteners are used to permit thermal expansion of the exhaust hood 10 and footplate 14 in the longitudinal directions in Fig 3 with minimum friction, see also [0002] permitting axial movement due to thermal expansion; [0014] elongated aperture 54), one or more mechanical fixing assemblies, each mechanical fixing assembly being mechanically fixed to a respective stud and adapted to apply a compression load to the upper surface of the stator foot ([0014] washers and nuts),
However, Vitrone fails to sufficiently disclose a second lubricant adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and a facing lower surface of each mechanical fixing assembly.
However, Postma and Vitrone combined teach: a second lubricant adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and a facing lower surface of each mechanical fixing assembly (Postma: Col 4, lines 50-52: slider plates can be properly lubricated, enhance sliding action; Vitrone Figs 1-2, footplate 14 (stator foot)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by Postma based on the following rationale: Referring to Vitrone, which only teaches a first lubricant adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot (Fig 2, 14) and the upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, 22), but not a second lubricant adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and a facing lower surface of each mechanical fixing assembly. As a result, over extend usage, friction issues would result between the contact surface of the stator foot and the mechanical fixing assembly in the mounting arrangement setup of Vitrone. However, according to MPEP 2143, one common example of rationale which may support a conclusion of obviousness that falls under “(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;” is aligned with or matching with the using of known technique of multiple lubricants/slider plates properly lubricated as taught in Postma, for enhance sliding action in Col 4, lines 50-52. As a result, above discussed advantages of using the slider plates of Postma as a load bearing mechanism for disposition between two mounting plates having relative movement that may be due to thermal cycling or expansion thereby serving as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify Vitrone by Postma.
Regarding claim 9, Vitrone alone fails to sufficiently disclose further comprising one or more upper shims, each upper shim adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and the lower surface of a respective mechanical fixing assembly, and wherein the second lubricant is adapted to be positioned between an upper surface of each upper shim and the lower surface of the respective mechanical fixing assembly and/or between a lower surface of each upper shim and the upper surface of the stator foot.
However, Vitrone and Postma combined teach the following: further comprising one or more upper shims (Postma: Col 4, lines 50-52: multiple slider plates), each upper shim adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and the lower surface of a respective mechanical fixing assembly (Postma: Fig 2, 10c, 10d; Vitrone: footplate 14, and [0014] washers and nuts (mechanical fixing assembly)) and wherein the second lubricant is adapted to be positioned between an upper surface of each upper shim and the lower surface of the respective mechanical fixing assembly and/or between a lower surface of each upper shim and the upper surface of the stator foot (Postma: Col 4, lines 50-52: slider plates (upper shim) can be properly lubricated (second lubricant), enhance sliding action; Vitrone Figs 1-2, footplate 14 (stator foot); note due to alternative language of “and/or” in above limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by Postma based on the same rationale discussed above for claim 8, thereby omitted herein for brevity.
Regarding claim 13, Vitrone fails to sufficiently discloses wherein each mechanical fixing assembly comprises at least one internally screw-threaded nut that is received on an externally screw-threaded part of the respective stud that extends above the upper surface of the stator foot, and one or both of a washer and a spreader between the at least one internally screw-threaded nut and the upper surface of the stator foot or a respective upper shim.
However, Vitrone and Postma combined teach: wherein each mechanical fixing assembly (Vitrone [0014] washers and nuts) comprises at least one internally screw-threaded nut that is received on an externally screw-threaded part (Vitrone: Figs 2 and 3) of the respective stud (52) that extends above the upper surface of the stator foot (Vitrone: Fig 2), and one or both of a washer and a spreader (Postma) between the at least one internally screw-threaded nut and the upper surface of the stator foot or a respective upper shim (Postma: Col 4, lines 50-52: multiple slider plates, Fig 2, 10c, 10d; Vitrone: ([0014] washers and nuts).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by Postma based on same rationale as previously discussed for claim 8 above, thereby omitted herein for brevity.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitrone (EP 1655531B1, hereinafter referred to as “Vitrone”) in view of Postma (US6224288B1, hereinafter referred to as “Postma”), and further in view of Mitsubishi (JPS48303U, hereinafter referred to as “Mitsubishi”).
Regarding claim 10, Vitrone and Postma, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or teach wherein the second lubricant is a coating applied to one or both of the lower and upper surfaces of each upper shim.
However, Mitsubishi teaches mounting arrangement according to claim 9, wherein the second lubricant is a coating applied to one or both of the lower and upper surfaces of each upper shim ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; Fig 2, buried plate 9 and sliding seat plate 14 can be shims; and lubrication can be applied to either of upper surface of 9 or surface of 14, due to alternative language of “or” in limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by Mitsubish in view of Postma based on the following rationale: Referring to Vitrone, which only teaches a first (solid) lubricant adapted to be positioned between the lower surface of the stator foot (Fig 2, 14) and the upper surface of the foundation (Fig 2, 22), but not any other lubrication materials or techniques. As a result, over extend usage, friction issues would result between the contact surface of the stator foot and the mechanical fixing assembly from the mounting arrangement setup of Vitrone. On the other hand, Mitsubishi teaches in [0001] of a lubricating oil groove 11, and [0002] of a Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; Fig 2, buried plate 9 and sliding seat plate 14 can be shims; and lubrication can be applied to either of upper surface of 9 or surface of 14. Meanwhile, according to MPEP 2143, one common example of rationale which may support a conclusion of obviousness that falls under “(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;” is consistent with or matching with the using of known technique of multiple (liquid) lubricants as taught by Mitsubishi for reducing friction. As a result, above discussed advantages of using Mitsubishi over Vitrone thereby serving as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify Vitrone by Mitsubishi.
Regarding claim 11, Vitrone alone fails to sufficiently disclose further comprising one or more first upper shims and one or more second upper shims, each first and second upper shim adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and the lower surface of a respective mechanical fixing assembly, and wherein the second lubricant is positioned between an upper surface of each first upper shim and a lower surface of each second upper shim.
However, Vitrone and Postma combined teach further comprising one or more first upper shims and one or more second upper shims (Postma: Col 4, lines 50-52: multiple slider plates), each first and second upper shim adapted to be positioned between the upper surface of the stator foot and the lower surface of a respective mechanical fixing assembly (Postma: Fig 2, 10c, 10d).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by Postma based on the same rationale discussed above for claim 8, thereby omitted herein for brevity.
However, Vitrone and Postma fails to sufficiently disclose or teach and wherein the second lubricant is positioned between an upper surface of each first upper shim and a lower surface of each second upper shim.
However, Postma and Mitsubishi combined teach: and wherein the second lubricant is positioned between an upper surface of each first upper shim and a lower surface of each second upper shim (Mitsubishi [0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; Postma: Col 4, lines 50-52: multiple slider plates (shims)).
Regarding claim 12, Vitrone alone fails to sufficiently disclose wherein the second lubricant is a coating applied to one or both of the upper surface of each first upper shim and the lower surface of each second upper shim.
However, Mitsubishi teaches wherein the second lubricant is a coating applied to one or both of the upper surface of each first upper shim and the lower surface of each second upper shim ([0001] lubricating oil groove 11, alternatively, [0002] Q1 lubrication to reduce frictional resistance of the foot plate 7, injection hole 12 for injecting a lubricant such as grease; Fig 2, buried plate 9 and sliding seat plate 14 can be shims; and lubrication can be applied to either of upper surface of 9 or surface of 14, due to alternative language of “or” in limitation, portion of limitation is considered optional and can be omitted).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by Mitsubishi based on same rationale as previously discussed for claim 10 above, thereby omitted herein for brevity.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitrone (EP 1655531B1, hereinafter referred to as “Vitrone”) in view of WEG: "Horizontal electric motors Fastening Guide" 1 November 2016 (2016-11-01), pages 1-13, XP093119275, (hereinafter referred to as “WEG”).
Regarding claim 15, Vitrone fails to disclose wherein the compression load applied by each mechanical fixing assembly is between about 0.5 kN and about 500 kN.
However, WEG teaches wherein the compression load applied by each mechanical fixing assembly is between about 0.5 kN and about 500 kN (Page 5 foundation loads calculation equations are explained to combine with actual implementation setup for the mounting arrangement for rotating electrical equipment in the field would arrive at compression load at least fall in the specified range).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitrone by WEG based on the following rationale: Referring to Vitrone, which does not teach of a method for calculating compression load for each mechanical fixing assembly. As a result, one would not know whether the mechanical fixing assembly and the mounting arrangement setup is within the safety requirement. However, according to MPEP 2143, one common example of rationale which may support a conclusion of obviousness that falls under (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; is aligned or matching with the applying a known technique (foundation load calculation) to a known device (rotating electrical machine) ready for improvement to yield predictable results of calculated loading force on the foundation. As a result, above discussed advantages of using foundation load calculations from WEG to combine to Vitrone thereby serving as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify Vitrone by WEG. Furthermore, there would have been reasonable expectation of success because both references Vitrone and WEG belong as analogous art in the field of rotating electrical machine fastened or mounted to a foundation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dietz (US 5405118) discloses a resilient support assembly providing vibration suppression. Ban (US 5409283) discloses a body mounting structure for preventing horizontal displacement of vehicle. Vockler (US 3805102) disclose fastening arrangement for motor stator support. Lang (US 5110081) discloses vibration-isolating mount. Ingham (US 4995598) discloses resilient mounting for compressive loading. Auge (EP2899853A1) discloses a stator assembly support element.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DING Y TAN whose telephone number is (303)297-4271. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8:00am MT--5:00pm MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DING Y TAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632